HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel New York Barcelona Hostel

C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 60%

Location 93%

Safety 80%

Staff 79%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 2.66USD

Important Information

Registration Number AJ000542

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

RULES AND NORMS OF THE HOSTEL

• The hostel is open 24 hours.
• It is compulsory the use of sheets or sleeping bags. The hostel does have sheets for hire as well.
• After 10 pm, you are not allowed to make noise within the hostel.
• The kitchen and saloon, may be used free of charge within the established hours. Each person is then responsible for cleaning any utensils, pots or plates that they have used.
• Before 11am, one must inform reception if one wishes to prolong their stay or check out before 11am.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 60%

Location 93%

Safety 80%

Staff 79%

Value 70%

Showing 21-27 of 27 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful staff, relatively clean

Disliked: Did not really feel like a youth hostel, no common room etc. Breakfast was awful, wish I'd stayed in bed the first morning. Didn't expect much as it was free, but arrived and no one was there, kitchen open, no signs saying 'wash up after yourself' so assumed it was self service like many hostels are and went in, apparently not! Man comes along, quite annoyed, telling us to get out, even though he was off having a chat and left the door wide open. Shower so weak took about 30 minutes to rinse off, so didn't risk washing my hair all weekend. Paid 2.50 to rent a towel that could not even be called a hand towel, and since bathrooms are not in the rooms, couldn't even cover one leg with towel, had to bring clothes to bathroom, where of course, they got soaked. Can't imagine it would cost the hostel much to provide decent sized towels. Same for the breakfast, asked the man if we could heat the stale pieces of bread, but no we couldn't... And the shower, that's just a plumbing issue. I don't expect much from a hostel, but paying extra for a tiny rectangle of towel and not actually being able to wash my hair because the water runs a trickle, I just feel these are kind of basic necessities in a hostel.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: right location. Just far enough from rambla to let sleep. Good facilities, Barcelona is nice to visit.

Disliked: Breakfast started too late

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: inadequate toilet and shower facilities. very narrow choice of breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really cheap yet situated in a great location at Barri Gothic (Accessible to many tourist attractions by foot), Helpful Staff & Clean Hostel. A steal considering the price paid.

Disliked: Nothing to be honest, expected hostel standard.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: location, elevator, breakfast, common area

Disliked: no air heater in bathroom and taking shower so cold in december..)

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They gave me a room all by myself. It was not very busy when I went, so they could offer me a 4 bed dorm just for me. I paid and was supposed to be on a 6 bed dorm. But the next day a group of 5 was expected to come to my room. So the guy from reception thought it was better for me to go to another room. That's why he offeed me to move to another room, which I had all for myself. Plus the location is really great!!

Disliked: One of the showers has cold water only :(. and there are not enough showers and toilets, it was ok, because it was not very busy at the time I eent. But I wouldn't wanna be there during high season.Plus the bathrooms really need to be renovated!!Most of the staff was friendly, but all of them spoke very poor english.It is impossible to find this hostel with the instructions they give you, I had to aks more than 10 people to finally find it, which was really annoying as I had to carry all my luggage :(

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and price.

Disliked: No wifi on all floors.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's an easy walk away from the La Ramblas. Hostel and rooms are clean. Wi-fi works only on ground floor but is fast. Breakfast is fine for this price range. Staff are friendly.

Disliked: The hostel lacks character. It's more like a hotel than a hostel. No common area for travellers to communicate. Linens are not provided which is a big minus. Showers are absurd and you need to turn on the tap and pressure button together to have a shower.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great Staff, amazing free breakfast and superb location: walking distance to france train station so you can go directly to Sitges & Tarragona.

Disliked: Bedroom 308 with a window to common area in the building, and there are always drunk people that make a lot of noise even after 23 hs...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability