HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel New York Barcelona Hostel

C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 65%

Location 93%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 2.80USD

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

RULES AND NORMS OF THE HOSTEL

• The hostel is open 24 hours.
• It is compulsory the use of sheets or sleeping bags. The hostel does have sheets for hire as well.
• After 10 pm, you are not allowed to make noise within the hostel.
• The kitchen and saloon, may be used free of charge within the established hours. Each person is then responsible for cleaning any utensils, pots or plates that they have used.
• Before 11am, one must inform reception if one wishes to prolong their stay or check out before 11am.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 65%

Location 93%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 75%

Showing 21-27 of 27 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: location, elevator, breakfast, common area

Disliked: no air heater in bathroom and taking shower so cold in december..)

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They gave me a room all by myself. It was not very busy when I went, so they could offer me a 4 bed dorm just for me. I paid and was supposed to be on a 6 bed dorm. But the next day a group of 5 was expected to come to my room. So the guy from reception thought it was better for me to go to another room. That's why he offeed me to move to another room, which I had all for myself. Plus the location is really great!!

Disliked: One of the showers has cold water only :(. and there are not enough showers and toilets, it was ok, because it was not very busy at the time I eent. But I wouldn't wanna be there during high season.Plus the bathrooms really need to be renovated!!Most of the staff was friendly, but all of them spoke very poor english.It is impossible to find this hostel with the instructions they give you, I had to aks more than 10 people to finally find it, which was really annoying as I had to carry all my luggage :(

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and price.

Disliked: No wifi on all floors.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's an easy walk away from the La Ramblas. Hostel and rooms are clean. Wi-fi works only on ground floor but is fast. Breakfast is fine for this price range. Staff are friendly.

Disliked: The hostel lacks character. It's more like a hotel than a hostel. No common area for travellers to communicate. Linens are not provided which is a big minus. Showers are absurd and you need to turn on the tap and pressure button together to have a shower.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great Staff, amazing free breakfast and superb location: walking distance to france train station so you can go directly to Sitges & Tarragona.

Disliked: Bedroom 308 with a window to common area in the building, and there are always drunk people that make a lot of noise even after 23 hs...

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I had a four-bed-room completly to myself.

Disliked: The window of my room (309) opened only to the tiny courtyard, which had to accomodate the elevator as well. Nearly no air circulation, nois from the elevator and the reception down below. Maybe other rooms are better located within the building.At least one shower had a broken head and one of the toilets was out of order. The other one was tilting dangerously, if you sat down.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its in the middle of the centre, although its about 10 minutes walk to the metro.

Disliked: The staff seem not to care about anything once they have your money in their pockets. They gave no introduction or information at all, any information like the wifi password had to be asked for. The wifi works only in the lobby. There is no atmosphere, the lobby isn't a nice place to hang out and meet people. The place looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a week, the floors everywhere were dirty, and the shower was blocked up with heaps of dirty water. The showers were always cold and had barely no pressure, the water comes out so slowly that in the end I washed my hair in the sink, it was faster, and the shower roof is moldy, condensation forms and drips down on you, its disgusting. Most of the time there was no toilet paper. A bunch of students on my floor were really noisy and kept knocking on my door and running away late at night, I went and told the staff member and he said he couldn't do anything about it, even though the rules say you've gotta be quiet at night and respect others. After I made a fuss he told me to talk to the teachers with the group, but he didn't say anything to her himself, he just didn't seem to care. It was like this every night, people being loud, running in the halls and smoking out the windows so that the whole floor stank like smoke, and the staff did nothing. If it hadn't been high season I would have left after the first night.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is good and, other than the skinny woman serving breakfast, the staff is helpful.

Disliked: It just was not a hostel feel.. The doors to the dining room should be opened to the street for a more social feel and for a breeze.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A very nice place to stay. Just next La Rambla and close to Plaza Catalunya, the city center. Very clean room and fully equipped kitchen. Friendly and helpful staff. Will come back again.

Disliked: Need to buy padlock for 2 euro.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability