HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Albergue New York

Hostel | D'en Gignas 6-8, Barcelona, Spain 08002

75.8% Overall Rating

517 out of 631 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/01/2014)

"Really cheap yet situated in a great location at Barri Gothic (Accessible to many tourist attractions by foot), Helpful Staff & Clean Hostel. A steal considering the price paid."

Read all Albergue New York reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. RULES AND NORMS OF THE HOSTEL • The hostel is open 24 hours. • It is compulsory the use of sheets or sleeping bags. The hostel does have sheets for hire as well. • After 10 pm, you are not allowed to make noise within the hostel. • The kitchen and saloon, may be used free of charge within the established hours. Each person is then responsible for cleaning any utensils, pots or plates that they have used. • Before 11am, one must inform reception if one wishes to prolong their stay or check out before 11am.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

SHS APARTMENT & HOTEL IN BARCELONA, S.L.
27.62 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 3 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
27.16 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 23 reviews
Barcelona D-Guesthouse
46.26 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 5 reviews
AAE Annex Hotel
52.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 149 reviews
AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel
12.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.8% 484 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
14.50 USD

Hostel 81.9% 648 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
22.10 USD

Hostel 88.2% 96 reviews
Escudellers House
16.57 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

517 out of 631 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Albergue New York'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 440 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: it was really hard leave it :D

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located in the centre, open 24 h, friendly staff,

Disliked: the kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yolanda Leask

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Yolanda would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a really good location near the beach, la Rambla, Plaça Reial and Plaça Catalunya. There was no curfew and the staff were friendly. It was fairly quiet at night, not near a main road.

Disliked: Although there is a kitchen available, its use is restricted between 6 and 11pm, so it's rather busy. The showers could be improved with more space for changing and more control over temperature and water flow, instead of just the push button currently there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mohamed Ben meftah

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 August 2011 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that the property was near the beach, la rambla and had many different bars and shops just round the corners. I could buy everything I needed near me.

Disliked: It was so hot in our room, and we could'nt fix it, so it was a little bit hard to sleep. And that you could hear everything outside the room. It said that they would clean our room every day, but it never happened.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mikhail Melekhov

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: Very bad equirred small rooms like a prisoner chambers

Disliked: Location, price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Bevin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Albergue New York Hostel is in the best area of Barcelona with lots to see and do, and La Rambla just a stone throw away. They offer free breakfast and internet and the rooms are a good size.

Disliked: No air conditioning so had to survive with a fan, but it was ok.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location in the gothic area where all the young people go to find little shopy and nice bars.room was not really comfy ,had only a bed and lockers but ok. luggage room if you need to leave your suitcases somewhere.

Disliked: staff helped but wasnt really friendly.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location,the fact that it was close to a lot of nice bars,the old gothic building,the fact that you can walk to most worth visiting sites

Disliked: the fact that they give you wrong information on how to get from the airport to the hostel by metro(you had to change at Passeig de Gracias and this wasn't mentioned on the website) so we got lost for like an hour and a half, which is not a pretty thing on the heat in july; also when i told this to the reception they mumbled something and seemed not to care or not to understand what i was saying. the fact that in july it's terribly hot in the building at any hour during the day or night and there is no air conditioning, only a ventilator that doesn't do much; breakfast is extremely sweet for someone who's not used to this.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011

Liked: 24 hour opened

Disliked: room, breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big lockers in the rooms, free internet on two computers +WiFi, great location in the Gothic Quarter!

Disliked: Breakfast was mediocre, linens were not automatically included, a little difficult to find

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, very helpfull staff and i think best value for the money.

Disliked: nothing special...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect!

Disliked: Although the location was perfect, the total impression of the hostel was not very good. The staff was not always very friendly and the free breakfast was not tasty. You can use the kitchen only untill 10 pm and you can only grap sometime out of the refrigerator after the breakfast has been served. However, the location is perfect and in Barcelona you only need a place to sleep!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sergey Silnov

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

02 July 2011 Sergey would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from beach

Disliked: Absence of kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, safety, cheap drink

Disliked: Showers, rooms, matress

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security, some of the staff, location and the tango music that plays at the breakfast!

Disliked: No sheets for the bads (if you ask for some at the reception they will probably come very hairly), the stove turns off automatically at 10 p.m. and the breakfast was like 2 toasts, a cake, a mini-croissant and a glass of milk/juice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was functional, in a great place in the old citry centre. Not far from most of the important attraction in the the area and the sea for those who fancy it. It was cleaner and much more welcoming than i expected. The bathroom and the room was cleaned on a daily basis. The staff there were very friednly and very helpful and they did help made the stay and the experience better. Another very important thing is that the place has got a lift that helps with carrying luggages up and down to the room, which was not the case in other hostels we've been to. I would very much recommend this place to anyone who want a good place to stay during their travel to barcelona. On my next visit, i definitely will go back to stay at the same place.

Disliked: The only bit of let down was the breakfast, But then again, for a budget place, you could not really complain. We only bothered once, since we were mostly getting up a bit later and trying out different places to eat in barcelona.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Zlatozar Yordanov

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011

Liked: I just can't believe this thing won a HB award. The only good thing is its location - in the heart of the old town and now when I know Barcelona I can't imagine if one stays outside the old town.

Disliked: Everything else is so bad in this place. First, we hire a double private room, but is this really a room? It's like a prison cell. Literally. The only furniture are two beds - one up and one down. The floorage is no big than 3 square meters. The iron door just enhances the atmosphere of a prison. What to say about the never ending noise. Because of the thin walls and common baths and toilets you can hear every single thing that is happenning in the hostel. And if this is not enough, expect a construction worker to wake you 8 in the morning to start drilling the ceiling. So if sleeping or resting is no priority for you ( reaaally now priority) you can enjoy the never sleeping experience (litterally) in Hostel N.Y.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was big, the sheets clean, pillow and mattress comfortable. Staff really nice. So good to have free computer use.

Disliked: The bathroom had two showers but no privacy... Only communal area to change... And no lock on the door.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, clean abd helpfull staff.

Disliked: Noisy and the small breakasts.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Grimes

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 April 2011 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastically located, right where everything is. Close to the beach, metro, and Ramblas.

Disliked: I don't really have anything bad to say, to be honest.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: balconies

Disliked: too loud, rooms like prison cells

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The staff were very unfriendly. We had room without window. It was very dirty and noisy in the hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011

Liked: The location is very good.

Disliked: Our twin room was really puritan: only two beds and a coupboard, small window with the view inside yard (2 x 2 m), but on the same time it was good, we didn't want to spend much time in our room and were mostly outside discovering Barcelona. It is suitable only for sleeping. We didn't like the breakfast, because it was very unhealthy and non-environmental-friendly and too sweet ... nothing to nordic taste and commons. The room charge would include linen instead of breakfast!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2011

Liked: Very central, friendly staff, good if you are very short on your budget or come back JUST to sleep in a hostel (I mean JUST to sleep, spending time in a common area before bed is not included in that)

Disliked: Interior is very poor, two-storey metallic beds and a locker, nothing more in a room, no common lounge except for the dinning room with tables and chairs which is not very convenient for waiting, computers with internet just until 11.30 pm

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alessandro Olsen

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2011 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing ... so helpful and nice. Location was fantastic and overall just a great place to stay.

Disliked: The rooms were bare and the beds were pretty beat. It's a hostel ... what do you expect??