HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hip Karma Hostel Barcelona Hostel

Ronda Sant Pere 39, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 72%

Location 86%

Safety 85%

Staff 77%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 2.24USD
  • Towel 2.24USD

Important Information

CANCELLATION POLICY is 48HRS. If you cancel within this period, you will be charged for the first two 2 nights of your booking.

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 72%

Location 86%

Safety 85%

Staff 77%

Value 75%

Showing 11-7 of 7 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very good value for money and good location near plaza catalunya. It's a clean atmosphere and the beds have curtains around them which creates some privacy and makes it easier to sleep. It's a good atmosphere if you don't want to be disturbed.

Disliked: It is not the most sociable hostel I've stayed at. There is a curfew and while the atmosphere is calm, the hostel is very small and lacks a little in the way of common areas. There is a kitchen and the reception area is a common area but these should not be used after 11pm.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating


22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Inexpensive

Disliked: Extremely HOT

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, clean, good beds with privacy curtains. Rooms are totally dark at night.

Disliked: No light in the first floor, so getting in to the second floor, where is a hostel located when it is dark is challenging. Some members of the staff are a little bit to nosy, keeps checking on people in rooms, unlocking lockers. Bathroom is quite small and too intimate - only frosted glass. Kitchen is small too and tv in kitchen is placed too high- cannot hear that well. One of the sinks in bathroom was not working. Also I think I was OVERCHARGED city tax (it was included in a bill, but i was charged on top of that) and for the bed set. The total overcharge was 5.5 euro. I cannot recommend this place based on that.


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments, they help us to improve everyday and provide a better service.

Hip Karma Hostel Team.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Clean, privacy curtains on beds, lockers, nicely equiped kitchen.

Disliked: No light at night in lobby that leads to the hostel, city charge is not included in price, broken sink in bathroom, really small bathroom/showers.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is clean and stay like at home.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments. They help us to improve every day and provide a better service.
Hip Karma Hostel Team.

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: I’m usually easily pleased with very basic hostels but not impressed with Hip Karma at all. Some key facts to mention, things that need improvement: Customer service: they don’t know or they don’t want to use essential words like Hello, please, I’m sorry and thank you; they are not interested if you ask a question or if you need help with anything. They lack of sympathy, smiles and kindness. Regardless you are a Hostel or a 6 star hotel you should keep professional, polite with an approachable and positive attitude towards your customers. Atmosphere: hostel areas are too small and it feels suffocating as there is no common area for guests to interact. Safety: if you borrow the hostel padlock (5 EUR refundable deposit) you might be at risk they will move your belongings -while you away- from one room to another without even giving you notice. They should not use their padlock backup key for this purpose and if you complaint they will not take this as disrespectful and they will probably just ignore you. There are no lights by the main entrance area of the buildings... so expect to walk along a completely dark corridor and stairs on your way upstairs to the hostel. Lift is dated, heavily dusted and it seems unsafe and there is a notice saying: for luggage only. Cleanliness: for my personal standards it’s not clean and paper hand towels smell really bad. I’ve been four times to Barcelona and this hostel was the worst overall experience. It was also the worst value for money deal. You might have a different experience; you can try at your own risk, good luck!


The property's response is

Dear Leonardo:

We are completely surprised by your review which seems unfair and not correct. Every client here is treated with respect and politenes. Your impressions about our hostel are not accurate and we do not remember you complaining about anything while you were here so you can imagine our suprise when we read what you wrote. We are very keen in keeping this place clean and safe and the products we used are of very good quality and they do not smell as you say. Hip Karma Staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - air conditioning was very useful in the over 30 degrees C temperatures!- hostel is SUPER clean- beds are very solid and don´t squeek which is very nice plus they have CURTAINS which prevent light getting in at night when people come late or if you want to sleep during the day- lockers are very big (under the beds) and safe- wifi works well

Disliked: - ladies bathroom had only 1 working tap and the other one was broken- can´t use the showers after 11pm which is quite bad if you come late from the beach/city/party (especially in summer!) and need to wash... though they seem to be relaxed about this rule

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked that it was so close to the bus station, I walked from there. It was also very close to the metro but I never really had to use it because I walked everywhere. The hostal was very clean and the staff were very helpful. I liked that each bed had a curtain, a reading light and a secure place to charge any phone, etc (by way of the locker under the bed). I had arrived into Barcelona early and the staff let me store my luggage until my room was ready. There was always a cleaning staff in every day cleaning the rooms.

Disliked: It was too bad that they didn't offer breakfast. It would have been nice if the showers were a bit more private, there were frosted glass doors to the showers but no real privacy for changing, it was a bit awkward, especially if the bathroom was busy. They had a "quiet time" posted for 11pm but didn't really enforce it. You could hear everything going on in the communal area. In my room, there were two girls that had music and light on and were still talking in a room of 16-18 people after midnight. Clearly most people were sleeping (or trying to) because they had their curtains drawn. Finally I had to ask them to at least turn the music off and they took the hint and stopped talking by that time.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: It was supposed to be quiet and it wasn't because of staff. They where shoutting all the time, even at 1 am.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: nice and clean

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability