We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alternative Creative Youth Home

Hostel | Ronda Universitat, 17, (Entresuelo - 3), Barcelona, Spain 08007

89.8% Overall Rating

104 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2014)

Daniela Persike thinks…

"Super clean Hostel in a very convenient location. Beautiful majestic entrance. Felt well looked after and safe as a female solo traveler. They played great music and the atmosphere was really cruisy.…"

Read all Alternative Creative Youth Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. AGE RESTRICTION Please note we do not accept guests younger than 17 and older than 40 years. We reserve the right to refuse admission. Please contact the hostel right after confirming your reservation to provide time of arrival and nationality of the guest/s. This will help the hostel giving you an even better service.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
17.33 USD

Hostel 93.2% 13 reviews
AptBcn Super Balmes
18.98 USD

Apartment 90.4% 8 reviews
Lullaby Plaza Catalunya
15.05 USD

Hostel 76.1% 168 reviews
Hotel Ginebra
31.31 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
St Christopher's Barcelona
6.33 USD

Hostel 88.7% 662 reviews
LivingRoom Plaza Catalunya
7.83 USD

Hostel 80.5% 70 reviews
Somnio
25.30 USD

Hostel 84.8% 360 reviews
Hostal Ramcat
11.39 USD

Hostel 85.6% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

104 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alternative Creative Youth Home'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 90 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Persike

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean Hostel in a very convenient location. Beautiful majestic entrance. Felt well looked after and safe as a female solo traveler. They played great music and the atmosphere was really cruisy. Will return for sure!

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

JOSE CARLOS SILVA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013 JOSE CARLOS would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Should have a better socializing space.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, great staff and the atmosphere :)

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say about this hostel :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Schneider

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The Alternative Youth Home is a completely great choice of a hostel. What made my experience most memorable was the very helpful staff. The location is perfect, it's clean and safe. They provide free lockers and wifi which is fantastic. Thanks for giving us advice on where to eat or hang out. We will come again and recommend the place to all our friends! :-)

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norman Hoeller

Alone

City break

20 April 2013 Norman would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the place has managed to create a really cool and relaxed atmosphere. Staff was friendly helpful and the place is really clean. The location is an additional plus - it is close to the the old town and also not too far from the nice beaches in Barcelona. I definately recommend this place to friends...

Disliked: Norman left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jussi Tanskanen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 March 2013 Jussi would recommend this property

Liked: People, staff, location, cleaniness, cheapness, athmosphere, good music, kitchen, showers. Nice place to meet people and spend time and at the same time can sleep in peace. Staff was very very helpfull. There even is a weekly recommendations on happenings and weather forecast. WIFI worked very well and I could do also work very well.

Disliked: Jussi left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Just about everything was terrible. The people staying here were weird. The beds were uncomfortable. The staff very rude and unwelcoming. The bathrooms were disgusting. Don't listen to the other reviews! I've stayed at many hostels and this was my worst experience.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Issam Lamsili

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Issam would recommend this property

Liked: small familial atmosphere, central location, very clean and safe, friendly people

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tyson Hollitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Tyson would recommend this property

Liked: Small and close to the centre of Barcelona. The hostel must have only had about 25 beds so it was never crowded or loud.

Disliked: The bathrooms were pretty bad. Tiny showers with little pressure and no curtains to separate your clothes from getting wet. and the sinks were tiny as well. If you like a good healthy clean up after a day this isn't the best hostel for it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The name attracted me and I found it was a really nice atmosphere, in a great location and with great staff. There were lots of suggestions on what to do, where to eat etc.

Disliked: It was a little pricey for me for sharing a room with 8 people but that's not a big complaint. I did not find anything bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christie bessant

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Christie would recommend this property

Liked: Was so friendly from the word go helpful and informative on a daily basis! Bedding was lovely clean warm and comfortable,all of this hostel was spotless. Plenty of power points lockers and cuboard Space we immediatly booked 3more nights. Highly recommended :)

Disliked: Christie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: . Friendly staff . Cleanlines . Good atmosphere

Disliked: . Very very small bathroom . All the bedrooms face to the comum area and the doors are always opened, so if u wanna to take a nap during the day it is impossible!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, organized, try to keep quiet at night, helpful staff, located right by Placa Catalunya, the transportation hub of Barcelona. Nice to have fridge and kitchen, lockers with key, easy to get in and out of hostel at all hours.

Disliked: They did clean out the food in my cubby once, but I was able to retrieve most of it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

cemal Güngör

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 June 2012 cemal would recommend this property

Liked: staff--espacially Ali--,security,location were perfect, but its so quiet for me

Disliked: silent in common room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Timothy Fenner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012

Liked: Happy, helpful staff, friendly atmosphere amongst the guests. Very central location.

Disliked: The place is small and cramped. It is inside a normal residential apartment building, and there is no sign of any sort outside, making it impossible to find unless you read the special instructions before arriving. The are no locks to the dorms, the key they give you only works for your locker which can only fit a smaller backpack, after hours you have to get buzzed in. Showers aren't great, no space to put clothes etc. They wanted to keep my passport instead of a deposit, luckily I had my drivers license to give them instead. Generally, this wasn't a terrible hostel, I just felt it was quite over-rated on here, so thought I should provide an honest contribution. No offence intended to the very personable staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Zendner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This was our first experience staying at a hostel, and it was a great one. The place is very clean, which is important. The staff is very friendly and helpful (especially the 3 guys that work there), they were able to give us some advice for sightseeing and restaurants.There is a refrigerator in the common area and a kitchen with dishes and cookware that can be used. The lockers are not in the rooms, but in a hallway next to the office with video surveillance. Some reviewers didn't like this, but lockers aren't exactly quiet so I preferred this. The common areas (kitchen, computers and living room) close at midnight. If you aren't being noisy, the staff will most likely let you hang out after that time, but if the noise gets too loud they might ask you to go to the pub across the street. I know that this was an issue for some. In my opinion, it is more important to be able to sleep when you need to than to hang out in the common area after midnight. There are a couple of bars really close where everyone can go hang out after midnight. There are 3 showers. this didn't seem like a lot considering that there are 2 or 3 8 bed dorms and a private room, but I never had to wait to get a shower. If you forget something, there are free toiletries to use that other travelers have left behind. The common area has 3 computers to use for free and there is also free wi-fi. There are outlets in the common area and in the rooms. Our suitcase didn't fit in the lockers, so we put our somewhat valuable items in there and then put the suitcase under our bed. There are also cubby spaces for each bed in the dorms. No key is given to the front door, so you have to hit the buzzer when you want to come in, but that is one less key to lose :). We had no trouble finding the place. Look at the photo of the front door. The doorway is a big brown arch, which is different from the others on the block. There is a FC Barcelona (football team) store that sells jerseys, etc on the corner, and the hostel is on the same side of the street almost at the end of the block. The location is great- half a block from Plaza Catalunya, close walk to La Rambla (and La Boqueria), right by some bus stops and in between 2 metro stops. It's also close to the airport shuttle dropoff point at Plaza Catalunya. We will definitely stay here again! A word of advice: please leave your passport in your locker rather than taking it out in town with you. You really don't need it anywhere. The only place that needs any ID is the casino and I think you could get by with your national ID (driver's license etc) instead of your passport.

Disliked: I wish there was better lighting in the bathroom where the mirrors are, but not a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Groffman

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 May 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great property! Friendly people stayed there AND the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Doors to the rooms don't lock, but didn't seem to be a problem - and the hostel is small enough that it didn't matter.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception. free computers available in the lobby or free wifi. has a kitchen and a fridge. great staff. excellent location.

Disliked: internet was slow at times. breakfast not included.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joan Ng

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. Staffs are very helpful and nice^^ Full of informations provided on the desk. Would stay again if visit.

Disliked: There is no hot water in one of the shower room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a GREAT location, very clean, awesome beds / blankets, and amazing staff. When you walk in the guy (who speaks excellent english) shows you tons of places to go around Barcelona. He also is very friendly and talks to you a lot while you're there. The other staff are all like this as well. They also ask you to be quiet at night which for some people (the party crowd) may not like... but I liked it - being a solo traveller you don't want drunk people everywhere and keeping you up until 2 am. If you want to party though, don't come here. They clean a lot, you can tell. I actually have like no complaints about this place.

Disliked: It is a little bright in the rooms, but this can easily be fixed by bringing/buying an eye mask. Also they don't give you full access to the tv, but I'm assuming you will be travelling so it shouldn't be an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Li Shen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Li would recommend this property

Liked: Really excellent place. Very good bathroom/shower to resident ratio. So clean, so nice, and provides free toiletries. Good, new interiors and very friendly staff.

Disliked: 8 people per room may be a lot. But only 3 were there so it was okay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, who directed me to great little places to go which may have been difficult to find otherwise. Great location. Very clean.

Disliked: Atmosphere a little too clean, / sterile. Quiet time well enforced and rather early. ( although can understand, since walls are glass, and easy to hear through. But since I don't have trouble sleeping, I'd rather enjoy a later quiet time).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Zych

Alone

Partying / nightlife

10 January 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great vistors, great atmosphere, fantastic location !!!

Disliked: NONE

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kosuke Morihama

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Kosuke would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good, and staffs are kind.

Disliked: nothing!