We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Kabul Hostel

Hostel | Plaça Reial 17, Barcelona, Spain 08002

81.5% Overall Rating

1293 out of 1448 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

"BEST HOSTEL we stayed in!!! Loved it all around! Amazing nights out! Staff was awesome and so friendly I even got my back cracked by the security. This place made Barcelona one of my favorite destinations of my whole…"

Read all The Kabul Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.34
  • Linen USD 2.24
  • Towel USD 11.19

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Important Information

Age restriction: -18 not authorized without tutor/parents supervision. If you will be arriving after 6pm, please contact the hostel directly by phone. Please note that if your credit card expires before your arrival, you must send us a new credit card number or the booking won't be guaranteed. We have a 24hr cancellation policy. We only accept credit cards for bookings over 100 Eur. It is necessary to pay a tourist rate of 0.72 € for person and day. the lockers have a cost of 1.5€ and a warehouse of 15 € for the key of the lockers that is returned to the exit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Cool Hostel
12.30 USD

Hostel 78.6% 153 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
22.37 USD

Hostel 85.0% 101 reviews
Stay in bcn suites
61.55 USD

Hostel 89.5% 6 reviews
Escudellers House
78.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sun and Moon Hostel
11.19 USD

Hostel 74.4% 868 reviews
Las Ramblas Apartments
30.21 USD

Apartment 89.7% 47 reviews
ideal youth hostel
13.37 USD

Hostel 82.4% 13 reviews
A & A Arco Youth Hostel
16.79 USD

Hostel 83.7% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

1293 out of 1448 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Kabul Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 964 of 1030 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 38 | 39   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to go if you want to meet people and want to be right where the action is at. They even will have events and clubs that you can go to as a group. I felt safe but still had a great time and got to rest. I think for the price it is one of the best places in Las Ramblas.

Disliked: I didn't like that you only get 15 minutes to use the internet and then it is 2euros for every 15 mins after that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal area. cheap beer. great location

Disliked: no shower on my floor. but not too much of an issue.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, which was just great! Close to everything and it was so easy going out from there. Also, the atmosphere was very nice and youthful. It was a place that you would really want to hang out. The staff was fine, good at english and helpful with informations. We liked the man, who served the breakfast - he was funny!

Disliked: The staff was, though friendly enough, very slow - they really took their time speaking over the phone instead of servicing the guests. But when they did, the service was good. The rooms were very small and not very cosy and when we arrived our room wasn't cleaned at all. Not so nice!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and great place to meet ppl

Disliked: staff were slow and rude

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything!!!!!!

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gabor Tuba

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2010 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: Ok

Disliked: Gabor left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

emma antoinette clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 emma antoinette would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location on the placa reial

Disliked: as a lone traveller, i felt isolated. it would have been excellent if i was 10 years younger with a group of friends

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Denis Fuzii

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 August 2010

Liked: Free Clubs

Disliked: Rude staff Everything you have to pay in the hostel, including internet and kitchen. Bathrooms cannot be used at night, they are only cleaned in the morning.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2010

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: They put an extra five people on mattresses in an already 20 person dorm. Also staff were soooo rude! Everyone was scared of them!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect!!

Disliked: Was no dinner

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: charge for everything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fiacre Mulhall

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Fiacre would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The bar area with happy hours and internet access was a great place to meet people.

Disliked: Probably a little too much of a party hostel for me as I wanted to see a lot of the city rather than party hard. The party set getting back at 5am, blind drunk every night was a bit of a nuisance.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010

Liked: great location

Disliked: Too big, too many people.. Not that easy to meet others. No real personal feel to the place... Hot rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really liked this hostel because it is located on one of the best places in barcelona and it is a nice hostel to meet people in the bar.

Disliked: there was nothing i didnt liked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its proximity to La Rambla, the atmosphere. Great place to meet people!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

18 July 2010

Liked: location is the only postive point to this hostel.

Disliked: we paid for a 20 man dorm. each night there was a minimul of 26 people in the dorm due to Kabul continuing to allow more off the street travllers to stay at half the price of people in bunks. beds were on the floor, including one half under my bed. Room, security and privacy was jepodised. When we asked recpetion about this they were very rude and told us 'no compliments can be made'. There is no free wifi. There is no power points in the rooms, and no working power points in 3/4 female bathrooms- the onlky bathroom with power points hasd no working lights, thus to bstraighten my hair i had to wait until daylight hours in an extremeply crowed bathroom. Staff were the most awful, arrogant i have ever come across- all they did was state the MANY rules of the hostel. Staff raised their voice at various customers enquiring about the power. one custoer was told to immediately remove himself from the reception desk. disgustuing, intimidating staff!! girls in our dorm were complaining fo bedbugs from their stay. worst hostel ive eve stayed at!!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Diego Freidson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

13 July 2010 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The best is the location and the fun, everyday you go to a different club

Disliked: There aren't plugs in the rooms You only have 20 mins of internet the first 3 days of your stay

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

12 July 2010

Liked: It's location was central if you want to be near to the bad beach and to the tourist party animals. Be prepared to spend a lot of money finding food at night, if at all.

Disliked: The hostel was a party haven for teenagers, and there were tons of guys, more than girls, all superficial and looking to get laid. It is not for the real traveller/backpacker and it is especially not for someone looking to have a normal schedule and do stuff during the day. If you want to get drunk at 2am and meet losers, sleep all day and get treated like crap by the staff, stay here.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun staff and people, lots of young travelers, the location close to the metro and off of La Rambla in a beautiful plaza

Disliked: the bathrooms because the showers had no locks on the doors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel I have been so far.Clean.Air conditioning.Free breakfast and free diner.Tapas Nights !!They took us out to night clubs...Free walking tour...Wonderful !

Disliked: You have to pay for the Wi-Fi. (the first 20 minutes are free)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010

Liked: It was a good place to meet people, and there was free dinner and breakfast

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly, the rooms were dirty, the bathroom was dirty, and the overall party atmosphere was obnoxious

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Syed Zahid Syed Zakaria

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2010

Liked: mohamad was alright.

Disliked: not a good place for backpackers. too many young, arrogant and loud people. they only interested in night clubs. too many americans and british ruined the culture and experience of real barcelona!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a blast here it is a must come in Barcelona

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, very nice the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.