We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Kabul Hostel

Hostel | Plaça Reial 17, Barcelona, Spain 08002

82.4% Overall Rating

1292 out of 1446 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

"BEST HOSTEL we stayed in!!! Loved it all around! Amazing nights out! Staff was awesome and so friendly I even got my back cracked by the security. This place made Barcelona one of my favorite destinations of my whole…"

Read all The Kabul Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.52
  • Linen USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 12.65

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please make sure you have a look at our T&Cs below: Age restriction: -18 not authorized without tutor/parents supervision. Cancellations only by email quoting booking reference number with 48 hour notice prior to arrival date. If you have multiple bookings please send us an email with the different booking reference numbers so we can combine them as one according to availability. If you are arriving after 6pm, please contact the hostel directly by phone or email. When making a reservation please ensure that your credit card does not expire before your arrival date. If so, we require you to advise us of the new card details as soon as you have them or the booking won't be guaranteed. Don't forget to quote the reservation number! Credit cards only accepted for amounts over 100 Euro. It is necessary to pay a tourist rate of 0.72 € for person and day. the lockers have a cost of 1.5€ and a warehouse of 15 € for the key of the lockers that is returned to the exit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Cool Hostel
8.84 USD

Hostel 82.1% 146 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
25.29 USD

Hostel 85.0% 101 reviews
Stay in bcn suites
56.93 USD

Hostel 89.5% 6 reviews
Escudellers House
88.55 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sun and Moon Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 73.1% 867 reviews
Las Ramblas Apartments
31.63 USD

Apartment 89.7% 47 reviews
ideal youth hostel
11.32 USD

Hostel 85.5% 11 reviews
A & A Arco Youth Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 83.7% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

1292 out of 1446 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Kabul Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
75.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 963 of 1028 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 38 | 39   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Nisman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The ambience and the location!

Disliked: The fact that you cant use debit or credit cards to pay for your stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BOUGHALI BACHIR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2012 BOUGHALI would recommend this property

Liked: Social event, friendly atmosphere, receptionist very helpful, Breakfast man very kind and willing to help,

Disliked: bathroom shower it's a Rigid Riser Shower which throw down water from a height (awkward), and to take a shower, First you need to turn the shower tap on, for a while to get hot water, resulting in wasted water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything.

Disliked: I don't know all the rooms but our 4 people room was very small.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mitch Rouse

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Mitch would recommend this property

Liked: It's Location

Disliked: 1. Lack of security, peoples stuff getting stolen 2. They canceled the pub crawl 3. Door to my room didn't lock 4. Lockers didn't really work 5. Randoms can easily just walk into the hostel with out being checked by reception.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

André Bustamante de Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 André would recommend this property

Liked: Kabul is awesome! nice location and very helpful staff, nice pub to meet people and enjoy your stay... cant wait to come back

Disliked: no trash cans in the rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012

Liked: the location, the people that i met, and the food

Disliked: some staffs are not friendly, and i needed ice because i hurt my self and they didn't give it to me!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location- and breakfast and dinner is included! Very easy to meet people.

Disliked: No comfortable living space. Bar music too loud during the day and no plugs except on the main floor. Could not relax in the hostel and as a woman traveling alone- did not feel particularly safe .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Willing to help you with anything at all. Provided all kinds of optional activities for day and night.

Disliked: If you are looking for somewhere quiet, this is not the place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location couldn't have been better, and the atmosphere was great. It's bio on hostelbookers didn't do it justice, there was so much more included then what was stated. We got a free walking tour, and free dinner! I've never been to another hostel that's done that for us. It was nice, and super unexpected.

Disliked: It could have been a little cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nick Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Its a party hostel so expect it to be noisy. We booked a 4 person room but were given a double which was nice. Breakfast is good dinner is better if you get in line first as its first in best dressed. The nights out were good as well as its good to go out with other travellers. Make sure ur around for happy hour - well worth it

Disliked: we had to wait an hour to check in at 3pm when there were 4 people waiting behind the desk not doing anything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the perfect hostel if you are looking to go out and party. There is a very open atmosphere making it easy to meet other people and it is in a great location. That said, with a party hostel comes people throwing up, smoking, and having sex in the room. All of the above happened during my stay. Choose to stay here only for your party nights and not your whole trip in Barcelona. Also, the pub crawl is only 7 euros ... and is only worth 7 euros, I reccomend skipping it.

Disliked: see above.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere at Kabul= the staff interact with everyone staying there, Pub crawls are organised every night and also free dinners. The common area is set up so that everyone has to mingle which is great for meeting new ppl. Very much a party hostel with a great vibe.

Disliked: The only downfall is the beer on tap at the bar is awful and there is no other drinks available, but we snuck in some of our own, although they dont encourage this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgio Yianni

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Georgio would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, very safe and clean would Absoloutly recommend this place . Also location location location is fantastic !

Disliked: nothing ticked all my boxes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good, clean, safe environment with awesome free dinners!!

Disliked: Office staff could do with a smile

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, with an awesome atmosphere at night. Met lots of great people, and the facilities were good.

Disliked: No chargers within the rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kevin Morrissey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

11 November 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast & Dinner. Bar staff was entertaining and funny. Nightly club is always free w/ ur room key, solid clubs and saving about 15€. Really easy to meet people and have fun if your a single traveler.

Disliked: Mon pub crawl was quite worthless for 7€ to empty bars. Sometimes sketchy people wondering the hallways of our floor, but Barcelona is supper sketchy in general.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe and well organised nights out

Disliked: small dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erika santos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011 erika would recommend this property

Liked: perfect people!! warm place!!!

Disliked: not charge in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihai Bosa

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2011 Mihai would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere, daily 2 free meals, free club entrance, staff

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super party atmosphere and opportunities, right in the center of Barcelona

Disliked: Noisy nights, but you can't have a real party atmosphere without them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location nice rooms andbalcony overlooking square below

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Coutinho

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 October 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: It's so bad that was the second time I was there and I can promise you that whenever I stay in Barcelona, I will not have doubts in choosing this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing... The Hostel is completly lovely.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

David Drouin

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Bed cleanliness is a bit sketchy. Beds are very short as well (ie. not great if you are 6 feet and over). The staff seems completely cynical of working there and not very willing to be helpful. And for some reason, the bar-loungy area really plays the worst music ever. From 80s soft-rock to questionable reggeaton to backstreet boys and spice girls marathon. You may find this to be an upside though. It's not a bad hostel, it's functional and well located, but there is definitely better in Barcelona.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing for meeting other young travelers. Great place if you like the party atmosphere.

Disliked: You only get 30 minutes of free internet a day, and the rooms are a little prison-esque.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Green

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Ecellent location, atmosphere and facilities.

Disliked: 1 aggresive staff member.