HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Kabul Hostel

Hostel | Plaça Reial 17, Barcelona, Spain 08002

83.5% Overall Rating

1290 out of 1443 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

"BEST HOSTEL we stayed in!!! Loved it all around! Amazing nights out! Staff was awesome and so friendly I even got my back cracked by the security. This place made Barcelona one of my favorite destinations of my whole…"

Read all The Kabul Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.52
  • Linen USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 12.65

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Important Information

Please make sure you have a look at our T&Cs below: Age restriction: -18 not authorized without tutor/parents supervision. Cancellations only by email quoting booking reference number with 48 hour notice prior to arrival date. If you have multiple bookings please send us an email with the different booking reference numbers so we can combine them as one according to availability. If you are arriving after 6pm, please contact the hostel directly by phone or email. When making a reservation please ensure that your credit card does not expire before your arrival date. If so, we require you to advise us of the new card details as soon as you have them or the booking won't be guaranteed. Don't forget to quote the reservation number! Credit cards only accepted for amounts over 100 Euro. It is necessary to pay a tourist rate of 0.72 € for person and day. the lockers have a cost of 1.5€ and a warehouse of 15 € for the key of the lockers that is returned to the exit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Cool Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 82.1% 146 reviews
Sunshine Hostel
25.29 USD

Hostel 85.0% 101 reviews
Stay in bcn suites
56.93 USD

Hostel 89.5% 6 reviews
Escudellers House
88.55 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sun and Moon Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 73.1% 867 reviews
Las Ramblas Apartments
41.75 USD

Apartment 89.7% 47 reviews
ideal youth hostel
11.32 USD

Hostel 83.2% 9 reviews
A & A Arco Youth Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 83.7% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

1290 out of 1443 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Kabul Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 963 of 1026 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 38 | 39   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: Good location, and they take you out to party for free every night. Good free breakfast, free dinner too although it's not great.Cons: Staff was unbelievably rude and inconsiderate. We waited in the bar for almost two hours while they said they were checking us in. Also staff didn't seem to know a lot about the city, aside from the very main touristy stuff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to sleep and a good shower- do not go here, however if you want to meet fun people with a lot of energy and get the opportunity to do some awesome things id recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joaquin vazquez

09 June 2010 Joaquin would recommend this property

Liked: Funny

Disliked: Joaquin left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maik Hesse

07 June 2010 Maik would recommend this property

Liked: Fun people - a great time!

Disliked: Maik left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you want a party hostel this is it!! At some points we just wanted to relax and there was nowhere you could go. I guess if you get your own room then its okay. we shared with 20 people so everyone was in and out, comming home at different times. the hostel was at full capacity so 250 people were at the hostel. you will meet alot of people here, so thats good. Everynight they go to a different club and its free. thats really fun since everyone at the hostel goes. They have free breakfast and dinner, thats a major plus since Barcelona is expencive. You cant beat the location of the hostel, right off La Rumba street.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcelo Caldas

01 June 2010 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything's great! I used just for sleep, but It's a good option for fun too.

Disliked: Marcelo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Wahab

01 June 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: pros: most amazing location ever (right in plaza real, next to a bar and many restaurants, beautiful square, right next to the main road la ramblas), clean plain rooms, free breakfast in the morning, 20 minutes of internet free per day (including wifi, but you can pay 5euro to have unlimited wifi for one day) - good but annoying, wish wifi was free, pool tables etc. BUTT you have to pay 1euro to play any of the games, staff takes you out every night to the biggest and best clubs (most of the time for free admission)cons - place is more like running a business (1euro to play pool and other games, no free unlimited wifi, must buy your towels (3euros for a medium sized towel which cant fit around your body and 10euros for a towel big enough to wear out - pretty expensive), our room smelled like cat food buttt we just closed the window and turned on the ac to get rid of the smell

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mila atmosfera, darmowe posilki w cenie (sniadanie i kolacja), dodatkowe atrakcje (darmowe wejscia do klubów nocnych, darmowe oprowadzanie po Barcelonie i tanie piwko (2 euro)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! Great atmosphere! One of the best hostels I have been to!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very noisy location and room but good at other things. Don't prefer the 24beds room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 May 2010

Liked: It's NOT a hostel, It's a BAR. Security sucks!!!!! Impossible to sleep. Drunk's everyway!!!!! Dirty bathrooms!!!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet people, super clean, fun atmosphere. party environment wasn't exactly conducive to getting things done the next day but was still loads of fun. staff were quite rude to me and my friends more than once without just cause, but other times they were friendly and nice... that was probably the biggest drawback at kabul, everything else was super!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: my first step inside the hostel was greeted by a dozen half empty cups of beer in the lobby, which is a pretty accurate view of the place. they say on their own website "if you want a place to sleep, go somewhere else" and this is true! i was so dead tired that i actually did get good sleep, but know that people won't settle down til very late and there is music bumping at the club next door. eventually you get used to it, and the beds are comfortable, plus a super secure locker in ur room. you get a bit of free internet time and access to a lot of brochures... the staff can seem a little bit shady at first, but they're harmless and a couple are pretty fun. the place is very clean, which is super important. my best advice: bring your own towel, wake up on time for breakfast (8-10), and ask the staff and other travelers about things to do. that will give you the most for your money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I wouldn't stay here if you aren't ready to party.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Acton

05 May 2010 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely awesome

Disliked: Jacob left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marguerite Norval

05 May 2010 Marguerite would recommend this property

Liked: The location!

Disliked: Marguerite left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the location of the hostel. the staff was friendly and very inviting.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ivana Rokolj

04 May 2010

Liked: This hostel is pratically on the La Rambla street. This is the best thing about it. The add says: "If you only want to sleep go somewhere else" THEY MEAN IT!!! in four nights that I was there only the last night I was able to sleep a little. Bagging the doors or long group conversations ,in the middle of the inight,in front of your room are normal there. Room and Bathroom weren't very clean but I guess it could been worse because neither the city or the restaurantes were clean. Friendliness of the staff is on the level that they have to do it with the exception of a nice older man that works on the breakfast bar who every morning had at least a friendly greeting for us.

Disliked: Ivana left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location, therefore easy to get around to see many things

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alanna Askew

01 May 2010 Alanna would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel I have ever stayed in, so much fun!!! Met lots of great people. Helpful staff. Free breakfast and dinner. Best place to be stuck when a volcano erupts. Great place for people who are wanting to have fun and don't mind a bit of partying.

Disliked: Alanna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely a great place to stay ! Kabul's parties were legendary...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Teresa Garcia

23 April 2010 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: They have a common area/bar so it's a great place to meet new friends. The location is in Plaza Real next to La Rambla and perfectly accessible by metro and bus. Definitely the place to go if you don't care about sleeping and just want to have fun and meet new people.

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

19 April 2010

Liked: the staff was quiet friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vanesa Cillo

14 April 2010 Vanesa would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to meet new people and have a real fun, then this place is your choice :)

Disliked: Vanesa left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I did like this place. It is fun to stay here. However, for the amount you pay it isn't worth it. You pay a minimum of 20 euro and only get 20 minutes of internet a day, you also have to pay 3 euro if you want a small towel. i have never met such rude staff at a hostel. They are inefficient and seem like they would always rather be doing something else. Checking in is a total hassle and sometimes you couldn't check in until a new shift started, we got there at 10 at night and had to wait till 11 to check in. They are not helpful and will outright be rude to your face. It is a good place to stay but don't expect to be well liked by the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.