We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Ciutadella Residence

Hostel | Passeig Pujades 33-37, Barcelona, Spain 08018

87.8% Overall Rating

140 out of 147 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

"The room was a small appartment including a small kitchen with a fridge, kitchenware and a stove for cooking, desk for working and a small table. Internet is by wire in the rooms. The place is clean and the breakfast is…"

Read all La Ciutadella Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Best Location in the Old city of Barcelona
45.32 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Melon District Marina Residence
38.42 USD

Hostel 88.2% 313 reviews
AWA Hostal Orleans
29.86 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 143 reviews
Confortel Auditori
59.11 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Arch of triumph Serenia Apartments
34.53 USD

Apartment 90.6% 44 reviews
AWA Nuevo Colon
30.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.9% 45 reviews
LA ISLA HOSTAL
35.61 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Serendipity Hostel Barcelona
21.58 USD

Hostel 82.1% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

140 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Ciutadella Residence'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah-Ann Guillermo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 August 2010 Sarah-Ann would recommend this property

Liked: The Kitchen had every utensil we needed to prepare breakfast and lunch to go. There was a market nearby that offered affordable groceries

Disliked: Not too many things were open around the area at night, I wouldn't walk alone here after dark.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a very clean room, nice open windows for plenty of air flow, the staff were very friendly, and the location was right between the beach and the markets. also included a free breakfast!

Disliked: the bathroom got very hot as there wasn't any exhaust. only one set of cutlery in the shared kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brenna O'Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010 Brenna would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were cleaned every day, stove&fridge in the rooms were good. There were some utensils, but not many (our room had no cups). Unfortunately our room wasn't ready when we arrived so had to stay in different rooms the first night. Breakfast is pretty good (cereal, toast, doughnuts!). The only thing was it was hot! There are fans but still hot. Very close to many sights&the beach

Disliked: Brenna left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great to have our own personal ensuite and kitchen.

Disliked: It was sometimes hard to communicate with staff as only some spoke fluent English.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: customer attention, location, cleanness,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a whole kitchen in my room. Very useful.

Disliked: there was limited computer acess, but at least there was some! ( free wifi access if you did bring your own computer)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and security good. Staff unwilling to help and give information.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: University halls. Clean and had a ensuite with kitchen facilites although only had a hob and no cooker. Only 10 mintue walk from the train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaston Barini

03 September 2009 Gaston would recommend this property

Liked: ITS OK good value for money, but is so hot in summer...

Disliked: Gaston left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place, safe and quiet. Only a few minutes from the metro and we were able to walk to most places, even to the beach!The place was also clean and had lots of room to put our stuff in. The kitchen area also allowed us to buy food and cook so we saved some money that way.There´s also a grocery store only a couple of minutes away.Definitely would recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and that you were independent. but it was very loud at night because of the street outside in front of the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Can ÇAKIR

28 August 2009 Can would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for the money, needs to be air-conditioned and cleaned more often.

Disliked: Can left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Austin Miller

28 August 2009 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Had private room with my own bathroom and kitchen for the same price as many dorm rooms at other hostels.

Disliked: Austin left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Abby Radovski Novella

27 August 2009 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: There was an ensuite kitchen which was nice

Disliked: Abby left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a clean, college dorm. The facilities are nice and new and we enjoyed the kitchen in the room. However, the rooms got a bit hot since there's no AC and the computers are outdated and s...l...o...w. The staff also seemed reluctant to help at times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elsa Gonçalves

26 August 2009 Elsa would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen in the bedroom, close to the city center.

Disliked: Elsa left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Francis

26 August 2009 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location, and the rooms are clean and the locks are very secure. There are lockers available if you wanted to store your passport, etc. although we didn't think it neccessary. It is nice and quiet, with lots of sofas around and a large computer room, pool table and football table. Very near to a supermarket, and the kitchen is fine, although no oven or microwave, so we had to fry some croissants! The only problem we did have, was that the rooms were extremely hot at the time of year (August), and we had a fan in the room which wasn't particularly great, so I would suggest booking an air-conditioned room, which isn't much more expensive. All in all, a great stay!!

Disliked: Tiffany left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Halberg

24 August 2009 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place with outstanding value for money. Included in our rooms were kitchen facility and en suite bathroom.. and all for the price of a hostel room elsewhere in the city! Reasonably large supermarket nearby means you can pick up some local ingredients and make a meal at home should you wish. Also, excellent location for those needing to be close to Barcelona's north bus terminal. All in all excellent value for money, and would definetely stay there again.

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like, that there was a kitchen...we have key from main door, so we can arrived when we want...and personal can speak english..:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet. about 15 - 20 minutes away from the beach. working stove and two fridge. I did not like how it did not have a/c and the location of our room does not get alot of air.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great private camera with bathroom and kitchen inside! Good place near the center, quite and safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Cowley

18 August 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: La Ciutadella Residence was a very good place to stay during my trip. I would certainly go back next time I stay in Barcelona. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very pleasant.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a calm and nice people, very well located. The only thing not so good, in the summer, is that the rooms can be very hot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Suszczak

16 August 2009 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: This university camp is close to bus station and it is located between two parks. In every room there are kitchen facilities so it is possible to buy half-ready local foood in nearby discount market and prepare the meal by yourself. Cheaper and taster. However it is about 25 minutes walk to Ramblas so the main atractions

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The main asset of La Citadella Residence is its location. It is very easy to get there from the airport by train - just jumping from the airport train to the other going to Franca railway station. The hostel is in a close neighbourhood to numerous city attractions which can be explored from the place on foot. For those who want to travel to other destinations in Catalunya, the neigbouring Nord station is a start. The other advantage is the kitchenette, however it is time to replace the old kitchen utensils by the new ones.As the window must be open at night because of the summer heat and the lack of the airconditioning, it happens to be too noisy sometimes.All in all, it is still a value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.