HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa con estilo

Guesthouse | Balmes 395 , 6º 1ª, San Gervasio, Barcelona, Spain 08022

88.8% Overall Rating

44 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2013)

"A very quaint and friendly bed and breakfast.. Rooms are clean, nice, and beautiful. In particular, the largest room is absolutely beautiful. Breakfast is included, which is a nice perk."

Read all Casa con estilo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Please, note that there will be an aditional cost for an extra person.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hotel Via Augusta
41.40 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Barcelona City Street
33.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Barcelona City Seven
32.24 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bohemia Barcelona
17.25 USD

Hostel 86.3% 137 reviews
Hostel Valls
27.60 USD

Hostel 81.4% 58 reviews
Petit Hotel
40.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.7% 25 reviews
AWA Barcelona Hostal Céntrico
23.02 USD

Hostel 69.1% 69 reviews
barcelo hostel
17.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

44 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa con estilo'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very quaint and friendly bed and breakfast.. Rooms are clean, nice, and beautiful. In particular, the largest room is absolutely beautiful. Breakfast is included, which is a nice perk.

Disliked: Only complaint I have is that the staff didn't speak Spanish. This is something that isn't necessary to check-in, but I guess would help. On my broken Spanish I was able to communicate with them just fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great and the staff is really nice and helpful. Terrace where breakfast is served in spring and summer has great views of the city, as well as some of the rooms.

Disliked: The wooden stairs between the upper and lower floor are really noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely place to stay, really nice clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly staff, brilliant breakfast. Feels like you're staying at a friends house. Feels really classy so I thought excellent value for money given some of the hotel prices in Barcelona.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike! On approaching the property for the first time its a bit confusing as there aren't really any signs on the building. You just have to ring the button for floor 6 and they let ou in, then get the (antique) lift to floor 6.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Sherrington

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 September 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Really beautiful rooms and equally stunning terrace with views over the city.

Disliked: Not a dislike just an observation - was very quiet and probably not suited to groups, more couples retreat!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conni Petersen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Conni would recommend this property

Liked: The "old" atmospere. The living/dining room was held in the old fashionned way and the balcony, where you enjoyed the good and richy breakfest, gave a excellent view over the town.

Disliked: The aircondition did not'work properly in our room and was very noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherane Worthington

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Katherane would recommend this property

Liked: It was great! A great view of the city from our room - the "Karen Room" . It was wonderful, such a nice building and really classy, it felt like we lived in Barcelona. The breakfast is nice too - it is in a residential neighborhood and away from the "main attractions" but me and my boyfriend loved this - it wasn't touristy at all.

Disliked: The only thing that we didn't like was that we don't speak Spanish and could not communicate with the really nice housekeeper who was extremely helpful despite the language barrier. The place is great - my favorite spot in Spain so far, a great deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The housekeeper is very friendly and welcoming. She is very helpful as well. The room is cleaned every day. Generally our stay in the place is very much satisfying!!!!!

Disliked: None I can think of at this moment.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere

Disliked: Bit far from the center, but quiet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa con Estila is a beautiful property, very Spanish and with authentic furnishings appropriate to the era of the apartment. The dining room in particular was stunning. Great views of Barcelona from our room and the balcony outside. Shared bathroom posed no problems. Breakfast was good, variety and hot breakfast (eggs in various forms) if desired, prepared by friendly staff.

Disliked: Water in the bathroom took a long time to warm up, so showers were usually tepid. Also the lift broke down on the last night so we had to carry our heavy suitcases down 6 flights of stairs when we left the next morning.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2011

Liked: I liked the room that I was staying in and the balcony, it was a really nice place to sit and relax. The rooms and shared bathroom was kept clean too. The air conditioner was good cos it kept the room cool!

Disliked: My room had no mirror which meant when I needed to get ready to go out I had to use a make-shift mirror from a shiny tray that was left in the room, because we only had a shared bathroom and I did not want to spend all my time in there when other people needed to use it. When I stayed there the owner was never there, only the house keepers, and they did not speak a word of english which meant if I needed anything it was very difficult to get anything sorted as I do not speak any spanish. On day 2 the front main door broke and we couldnt use our keys to get in the building, the internet was off for 2 out of 3 of the days we stayed there, which was really annoying as we wanted to look up places to visit and how to get there. These things should not happen for the money that we paid.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Blanford

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean room, good facilities, great breakfast, beautiful apartment. Free internet access was great. Limited number of guests at any one time meant very few problems with competition for bathroom or internet access time!

Disliked: The view from our rooms was a wall, but that wasn't much of an issue since we were just looking for a comfortable base for our trip.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very beautiful property. Our room was lovely and everything was very clean and well kept. The dining room was beautiful and the breakfast every day was very nice. Not the most ideal location but right at a metro stop and was about an hours walk from the water side. We only saw one staff person who spoke little english, but she was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The sound carried through the property a lot. The directions provided on hostelbookers are extremely unclear. You need to take the train from the airport, go a few stops, get off, get on another train to Placa de Catalunya, then leave the station, go to the FCG station, buy another ticket, and take a 3rd train to get to El Putxet stop. We had no idea there were 3 different metro services in Barcelona so it took us a very long time to get to the property. Make sure you have your eyes opened because the building has no big signs and when you enter you need to go all the way to the top floor. More signs would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Charming, clean, beautiful decorations, wonderful breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eszter Kiss

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break

01 April 2011 Eszter would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast and all

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Family Holiday

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very classy and very nicely furnished. The housekeep was very friendly and helpful. It was nice of the owners to provide a guidebook detailing how to get to various attractions in Barcelona.

Disliked: The housekeeper was very friendly and helpful. But it would help greatly if she could speak english. The guidebook providing the transportation details is not very accurate. It would help greatly if the details are more accurate, eg. no. of stops to take the bus etc.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Brooke

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old world apartment block, Located in quiet neighbourhood, close to metro with easy access to La Ramblas. Rooms are very spacious, clean and well appointed. Plentiful breakfast, charming dining room and terrace...access to internet. Just loved this property.

Disliked: Cindy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Hadley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying here as it's more like a period family home than a hotel and breakfasting on the terrace was a very elegant way to start each day. The decor is lovely and it's well worth being out of the very centre of the city for the suburban lifestyle experience of this place. Staying here really enhanced our experience of Barcelona.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Dahl

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

20 September 2010 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostess, Susie was wonderful, helpful, attentive and gracious. We would definitely stay again. The rooms were clean and elegant and the breakfast was delicious. It was a perfect place to stay during our visit.

Disliked: Everything was wonderful.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful view all over barcelona!

Disliked: Ants on the floor in our room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Fairclough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

29 August 2010 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Con Estilo was more like a bed and breakfast than a hostel. An absolutely beautiful hostel which was obviously a grand Barcelona apartment in its former days. Perfect place for couples or for people looking to escape the crazy chaos of La Ramblas and all parties that go on down there. Not for people looking to meet other travellers, very quiet.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Fuentes

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 August 2010 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful old house, really lots of style, super friendly staff, really clean, free breakfast, bus and train outside to get into town (10 minutes)

Disliked: Pamela left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great....

Disliked: The housekeeper doesn't speak English.....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very stylish, we felt ourselves like real aristocrats with those old designed wooden furnitures.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mesha Spicer

02 September 2009 Mesha would recommend this property

Liked: I could not believe my eyes when we got to Casa con estilo - it is the most amazing place we have stayed in Europe - the rooms are all themed and amazing. It was clean, friendly, free internet, breakfast was great under the grand chandelier, top floor has it's own balcony with sun beds and a shower to cool under - needed in Spain in summer! The staff were so helpful and friendly - we were very sad to leave. 2 metro stops from La Rumbla with a great view of Tibidabo and the close by supermarket is open during cesta !

Disliked: Mesha left no negative feedback.