We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Be Sound Hostel

Hostel | Nou de la Rambla 91, Barcelona, Spain 08001

90.4% Overall Rating

385 out of 409 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2015)

"The staff were really friendly and helpfull. The lady at the reception even found a flamenco show for me. It's a decently furnished hostel and all the flaws were due to other uncivilised guests and not much the hostel…"

Read all Be Sound Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.20
  • Linen USD 2.75

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Important note for Group bookings: Cancellations 7 days before the arrival will pay 100% of booking value. Cancellations between 7 and 14 days before the arrival will pay 75% of booking value. And cancellations between 30 and 15 days before the arrival will pay 20% of booking value. We do NOT accept changes in the last 7 days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Be Mar Hostel
10.87 USD

Hostel 83.7% 664 reviews
Be Ramblas Hostel
26.91 USD

Hostel 84.5% 281 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
16.47 USD

Hostel 90.1% 2372 reviews
Pars Teatro hostel
16.47 USD

Hostel 89.8% 286 reviews
The Hostel box
10.98 USD

Hostel 85.6% 53 reviews
Apartments Bahia
27.45 USD

Apartment 70.9% 157 reviews
Downtown Paraiso Hostel
25.26 USD

Hostel 87.4% 731 reviews
Pillow One Barcelona
68.09 USD

Hostel 78.9% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

385 out of 409 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Be Sound Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 264 of 303 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, well-equipped. No problems to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Werner Högel

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 May 2015 Werner would recommend this property

Liked: we had the 2bedroom apartment. it was wonderful. i loved the terrace.

Disliked: no Wlan in the apartments, only in the mean building

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpfull. The lady at the reception even found a flamenco show for me. It's a decently furnished hostel and all the flaws were due to other uncivilised guests and not much the hostel could do about it. Super cheap rates with good facilities.

Disliked: They should label the toilets and showers clearly, as some people don't actually understand pictures that indicate gender use.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Adrienne Legg

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015

Liked: Friendly.

Disliked: Not clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything that you would require from a modern day hostel. Huge secure lockers. 24 hour reception. Very helpful staff - very knowledgeable about local excursions, places of interest and public transport. 3-in-1 card key operates front door, room and locker - this avoids the need to carry lots of keys around.

Disliked: No cups or cereal bowls. If you want a hot cup of tea or coffee, there are no cups with handles so you have to have it in a plastic cup and often get burned. No freezer, but they have got a huge fridge.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The walking tours were my favorite part. I had only 1 day to see Barcelona and I feel that I would not have been able to see or learn as much about the city had I not gone on these tours. There is a tour of the Gothic Quarter as well as a Gaudí tour. The tour guides were super friendly, funny and knowledgeable. Best of all, the tours are free (although if you like the tour you should tip your guide, since they do not get paid)! I also loved the mojitos on the roof until 10 pm (only 3 euros per drink). The hostel was just a few minutes' walk to the Metro. Lastly, they had the biggest lockers I have seen so far while traveling, I was able to fit my suitcase and day pack inside.

Disliked: There are a lot of people coming through this hostel. As such, the rooms are somewhat cramped and the bathrooms can get dirty (although they do clean them daily). This is less the hostel's fault and more the fault of certain guests.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. Close to a metro station and a 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas

Disliked: Rooms are tiny. Only two showers and toilets on a floor with 18 beds but I never had to queue for either!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was a solo traveller and felt this hostel, with the free walking tours, rooftop area and free breakfast, provided a great way to meet new people. I also felt my stuff was really safe with huge lockers that i could store my whole backpack in.

Disliked: The hostel was slightly far away from the beach...about a 30minute walk...so if you are planning on spending your whole time at the beach you may find somewhere closer. Also the wifi is a little temperamental....but nothing you can't handle. I think the positives by far outweighed the negatives!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all extremely friendly, very welcoming and a good laugh. Great atmosphere, free wifi, rooftop terrace. 3 minute walk from the main strip. Very secure locker and very clean

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frankie Henry

Alone

City break

15 January 2014 Frankie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the young hip vibe! I felt I was around my age group all with the same purpose - have a bloody good time!! I also liked how safe and secure my things were, I felt fine leaving my things in the locker!

Disliked: I didn't like the shower area because there wasn't anywhere to get changed so I had to strip in front of girls haha! Entertaining!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvia Sevilla

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: The cleaning and the location. Aso the breakfast!

Disliked: That we have to leave at 11, it's better at 12...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's got all the stuff you need: comfy rooms, big lockers, kitchen, laundry, wi-fi + free use of 2 PCs. There's a lounge with TV as well. Staff are really great, and there's a nice buzz to the place. Roof terrace has good views, and they do some social activities and tours n that. Perfect location for exploring the labyrinthine streets around Las Ramblas.

Disliked: er... maybe the kitchen could do with some more cups? Struggling to think of anything else!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great roof top terrace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Cuthbertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really cool and friendly. The place also has a cool terrace area,good to chill out in

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Panagiotis Toloudis

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

10 October 2013 Panagiotis would recommend this property

Liked: Quite small hostel,in a very good price,not noisy at all,VERY clean,very good and safe location(very close to las ramplas and only a few metres from a pollice department),staff was either very helpful (including the cleaning ladies)or cool, breakfast was ok

Disliked: Panagiotis left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the best thing about the hostel. So helpful and friendly, and they really added to the laidback atmosphere of the place. The lounge area was really nice, and though the roof terrace is pretty small they do mojitos up there every night and it's a nice way to meet other guests. Bedrooms and bathrooms were always clean. Location is pretty good in terms of getting yourself around, but it's not the prettiest place to be late at night.

Disliked: 'Free Breakfast' was pretty disappointing, only ate it on the first day. But to be honest the place was quite cheap so I guess you get what you pay for! Also this isn't really a problem for me but if you are fussy about your privacy in the shower/bathroom then you may have a problem with this place as the shower is right next to the toilet with no lock on the door. This wasn't a problem for us at any point though! Also one of the guys that works on the desk is a bit sleazy but I just thought it was quite funny as opposed to actually feeling unsafe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: airconditioning was slightly broken, but they fixed it+

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location- between La Rambla and the metro, walking distance from everything. The staff were super friendly and very helpful. Secure lockers, clean rooms- very satisfied.

Disliked: Only one shower per floor- bathrooms not very private- the sinks are right next to the only shower which has a mildly transparent door (have to time your visits well!)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy, good location, friendly staff and it was clean

Disliked: Could use a bit more space in the rooms, or horizontal lockers which are more convenient since you can just lay down your suitcase

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Farhan Shakoor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Farhan would recommend this property

Liked: Poor air-conditioning in the rooms.

Disliked: aircondition in rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers in the rooms are brilliant, large enough to fit a big backpack, and securely locked with your keycard. The vibe of the hostel is friendly and open. We had a shared bathroom, but there was never a wait and they were clean and pretty good.

Disliked: The room was a little (really a very little) dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kenna Nielson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Kenna would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the hostel is visiting the restaurant owned by the owners of the hostel - the potatoes bravas are amazing! But the hostel itself is in a convenient location and good value for the money you spend.

Disliked: The first two nights I was in a six bed dorm which is very small and didn't have a lot of extra room to move around in. When I moved to the eight bed dorm my last night, it was so much roomier which was a lot nicer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is in the center of barcelona and it is very cheap. the breakfast is good.

Disliked: very loud and our room where very small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, very close to Paral-lel Metro station, and on the way to La Rambla. roof terrace is also great, met good people up there. local area is fun day and night, and very close to the hostel there are many good cheap places to eat. The hostel's kitchen/communal area on -1 level is fine if you're self-catering, and there are little supermarkets everywhere. There is free WI-FI and 3 free-to-use PCs at reception, but they run on Linux OS, so I couldn't back up photos to a USB memory stick.

Disliked: possibly a little pricey, but I did stay over Easter. I stayed on 5th floor, the top floor below the roof terrace, which was great but there are only 2 combined toilet shower rooms per floor - 1 each for guys and girls, so if the roof is busy you may find the toilet is more busy than you'd like, especially if you're trying to take a shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to center of action. Great staff.

Disliked: Nothing