HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sant Jordi Mambo Tango

Hostel | C/ Poeta Cabanyes 23, Barcelona, Spain 08004

96.0% Overall Rating

294 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Andrew Taborda thinks…

"I loved that ll the people who worked there were so nice and willing to go the extra mile to help you with anything you need. It felt more of like a really fun house with cool people and there were…"

Read all Sant Jordi Mambo Tango reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

CHRISTMAS PACKAGE: If you are planning to book for Christmas period you MUST Check in on 30th December and Check out on 2nd January 2012, even though the system might allow you to book out of these dates, the property will NOT accept otherwise. Your deposit and booking will be cancelled and not refundable! Very important: Our cancellation policy is 48hs - 2 days before arrival date Cancellation must be notified by email. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Melon District Residence Poble Sec
46.33 USD

Hostel 90.9% 219 reviews
Hostel One Paralelo
21.35 USD

Hostel 97.1% 529 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
20.01 USD

Hostel 83.7% 566 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
24.17 USD

Hostel 88.0% 2353 reviews
BCN Market Inn
20.14 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
24.04 USD

Hostel 92.2% 399 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
21.35 USD

Hostel 82.9% 656 reviews
Zoo Loco
42.30 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

294 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sant Jordi Mambo Tango'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 280 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly place

Disliked: the bathroom was far from our room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lloyd

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

02 November 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were probably the best I have ever come across, honest and more then happy to help you with anything as well as making a great atmosphere 10 out of 10 right here

Disliked: nothing, I had to leave

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Ernst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: IGOR! The Staff is amazing and always willing to help. They allow alcohol, just not hard alcohol(but its not really enforced) Great common area. TV with movies, kitchen, free internet... Great place. You can get some great sleep here. Hostel designed well..

Disliked: a couple metro stops from las ramblas..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun place to meet people and the staff were incredible

Disliked: booked out too quickly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone there was great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amber Stone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: The BEST hostel I've stayed at! Wonderful helpful awesome staff, and a laid back atmosphere. Would definitely recommend especially for solo travelers. Returning back to the hostel after a day/night out is like coming home. :)

Disliked: The snoring guy in my dorm one night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NIKOLAOS MANDILAS

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 NIKOLAOS would recommend this property

Liked: Mambo Tango hostel it makes you feel that you are a long time friend to everyone there...Igor,Marta and Pablito are there all day and night long to help you in any way.During the last day Marta offer me the couch for some hours for resting because my flight was late at night.I will never forget my staying there and if some day i visit again Barcelona i stay there for sure!!!Hostel is very close to Paral-lel matro station in Barcelona and from there you can visit easy the town.

Disliked: NIKOLAOS left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Barry McDonnell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
City break

27 October 2010 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, quiet place to sleep.

Disliked: Not much to see in the area around the hostel so you need to use the subway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon entering the hostel, we were greeted by extremely friendly staff in a warm and welcoming environment with colorful and festive sights and sounds! The atmosphere was lively yet calming and comforting, with a lovely cup of tea offered to me while sitting in the reception area in the evening. That's just the kind of place it is :) BEST HOSTEL EVER!! I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Barcelona for a Spanish experience full of character and tradition, but like a home away from home! It's in a great location as well, with only a 10-minute walk from La Rambla and great shopping and restaurants!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second time staying at Mambo. Clean and so helpful! Easy to get to. Breakfast had great peach jam.. Ha! Igor was amazing! Please stay here!!!

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was wonderful--a comfortable place to stay with great people, in a perfect location!!!! I highly, highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Weir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Pablito and his Staff are really really great. Its like you're at 'home' when you are here. Especially if you're staying more than a couple of days. They are super friendly, approachable and helpful. The lounge area is great too with tv and hard drive full of movies. There is a kitchen to cook and fridge freezer which is great because the market is not far and you can pick up amazing produce.A great place to meet peeple as its small, only about 30 guests.

Disliked: the beds could be a little more stable and mattresses with springs would help. Other than that nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Crussell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Close to beach, Las Ramblas, metro stationLots of movies to watch at night

Disliked: Kitchen could be bigger

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Mora

Alone

City break

18 October 2010 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cozy place and the staff is very kind.Mambo tango is a quiet hostel but if one night you want to go out and meet new people you can ask for Hernan from Sant Jordi Sagrada Familia and He brings you to Barcelona's night life.

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly team, nothing is to much to ask. Well located with easy transport links, right in the centre of town, and awesome hill/mountain to walk on just a few blocks away. I can't rate this place highly enough - definitely the place to stay in Barcelona.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and very nice. The were quite lovely people. Igor and Marta were just great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff!

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena onda de la gente que trabaja, internet y peliculas

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, good atmosphere, friendly staff, great location!

Disliked: Not much, a little bit of pilling on the sheets... :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cozy, next to a brilliant tapas bar, great staff!

Disliked: 10 minute walk from la rambla

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was made easy and comfortable

Disliked: meeting areas were a bit too small to have larger social gatherings, most were limited to around 5.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Wilson

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about Mambo Tango was just too awesome for words! Igor, Marta and Pablo made me feel super welcome, I stayed and chatted with them all too many nights, they made me feel so welcome i decided to stay another 4 nights. The bedrooms and hostel seemed to be constantly being cleaned, the common area was a lovely place to hang out when you run out of plans, but the staff are quite happy to reccomend places for you to go too. The area seemed pretty safe, the metro is literally 2 minutes round the corner, and there are cool bars and tapas places on the same street. Overall, if I could, I'd move to Mambo Tango and call it my home!!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the communal space- down to earth and chilled out, and a great place to meet new people.

Disliked: I loved all of it- i hoped they might have had a washing machine to use, but they offered a laundry service instead. I like doing my own washing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELIZABETH RODRIGUEZ SANCHEZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2010 ELIZABETH would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities. Helpful and friendly staff. Clean. Free breakfast was good. Big and nice common areas. Close to the metro station.

Disliked: Internet was free, but wasn't working very well.