HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sant Jordi Mambo Tango

Hostel | C/ Poeta Cabanyes 23, Barcelona, Spain 08004

99.1% Overall Rating

277 out of 285 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

Malina Cribbin thinks…

"This hostel definitely offered me a lifetime experience. As a solo traveller, I do not think my visit to Barcelona would have been as pleasurable. The staff are friendly, professional and make you…"

Read all Sant Jordi Mambo Tango reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

CHRISTMAS PACKAGE: If you are planning to book for Christmas period you MUST Check in on 30th December and Check out on 2nd January 2012, even though the system might allow you to book out of these dates, the property will NOT accept otherwise. Your deposit and booking will be cancelled and not refundable! Very important: Our cancellation policy is 48hs - 2 days before arrival date Cancellation must be notified by email. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Melon District Residence Poble Sec
42.85 USD

Hostel 91.2% 213 reviews
Hostel One Paralelo
26.12 USD

Hostel 96.5% 510 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
10.92 USD

Hostel 81.8% 554 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 91.0% 2340 reviews
BCN Market Inn
20.73 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
24.74 USD

Hostel 92.2% 392 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
21.98 USD

Hostel 82.7% 653 reviews
Zoo Loco
38.01 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
99.1%

Overall Rating

277 out of 285 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sant Jordi Mambo Tango'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
100.0%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 233 of 263 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZITING WANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 ZITING would recommend this property

Liked: everything except location

Disliked: not much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, just a metro ride away from pretty much all the tourist attractions and main shopping areas, but most off all an amazing atmosphere!!met loads of friends, everyone got on really well and the hostel even organised nights out together!

Disliked: nada!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff was very helpful and friendly. They make you feel like at home, it's very safe and the fact that there's someone 24 hrs in the reception is really good, you also have drinks in the bar any time you want one. Great place, good price.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Farley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Movie set up

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010

Liked: Good location in Poble Sec- close enough to la Rambla (10 min walk) and main drag but far away enough to have some peace.

Disliked: If you're claustrophobic, abort your booking now! This place is tiiiiiiiiiny and there is nowhere to just hang out. Downstairs living room always full. Kitchen full. Entrance area full. Rooms tiny (try fitting 8 beds into what should be a 2/ 4 bed space?!), and the bunk beds are crammed - you can't even sit up in them. (no good if you're a night reader). Linen also old, male staff I found sleazy. also this place says it's 'not a party hostel', which is why I booked it as I needed to catch up on sleep and didn't manage to get to sleep before 1 or 2am every night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the hostel was very cheerful. Pub crawls was so much fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved Mambo Tango. I appreciated their effort to keep the atmosphere mellow and comfortable rather than a wild party pad. People were respectful and quiet at night and yet it still felt fun and warm when you entered. The place is small enough that you actually meet the other guests and the central common areas bring you together even more. This is ideal for someone traveling alone. Everyone had a warm attitude and said hello and goodbye as you came through. The facility was very clean and well set up. I was amazed at all they offered for free, lockers, internet, movies and smiles. I like that it was a little out of the touristy area yet nearby the metro, and cute little bars and restaurants. I will go back for sure.

Disliked: The showers turn off every minute and you have to keep pressing them back on. (the water cycles between hot and just slightly warm)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff was so nice, the people staying there very friendly - the whole atmosphere were great! The location were also good, in the centre in a nice Spanish neighbourhood. The rooms were good and free internet! :)

Disliked: Hm.. No, the kitchen was quite small and not very well equipped but it worked:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything.

Disliked: not much

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hanna Salmisto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2010 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: The place has personality. It is nice and quite small, staff is very helpful and friendly. Location is good, near a metro station and also walking distance from La Lambra etc.

Disliked: Hanna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly team of staff. Nice big lounge area with couches which was great for chilling out.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marylou laplante

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

06 November 2010 marylou would recommend this property

Liked: MAMBO TANGO is amaysing hostel, the staff is really nice and fun, and I met so many people!! I am travelling by my self and I was always busy to do something when I was there. Made alot of new friends and had a really amaysing experience

Disliked: if you go to barcelona Go to Mambo Tango

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly place

Disliked: the bathroom was far from our room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lloyd

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

02 November 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were probably the best I have ever come across, honest and more then happy to help you with anything as well as making a great atmosphere 10 out of 10 right here

Disliked: nothing, I had to leave

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Ernst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: IGOR! The Staff is amazing and always willing to help. They allow alcohol, just not hard alcohol(but its not really enforced) Great common area. TV with movies, kitchen, free internet... Great place. You can get some great sleep here. Hostel designed well..

Disliked: a couple metro stops from las ramblas..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun place to meet people and the staff were incredible

Disliked: booked out too quickly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone there was great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amber Stone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: The BEST hostel I've stayed at! Wonderful helpful awesome staff, and a laid back atmosphere. Would definitely recommend especially for solo travelers. Returning back to the hostel after a day/night out is like coming home. :)

Disliked: The snoring guy in my dorm one night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NIKOLAOS MANDILAS

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 NIKOLAOS would recommend this property

Liked: Mambo Tango hostel it makes you feel that you are a long time friend to everyone there...Igor,Marta and Pablito are there all day and night long to help you in any way.During the last day Marta offer me the couch for some hours for resting because my flight was late at night.I will never forget my staying there and if some day i visit again Barcelona i stay there for sure!!!Hostel is very close to Paral-lel matro station in Barcelona and from there you can visit easy the town.

Disliked: NIKOLAOS left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Barry McDonnell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
City break

27 October 2010 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, quiet place to sleep.

Disliked: Not much to see in the area around the hostel so you need to use the subway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon entering the hostel, we were greeted by extremely friendly staff in a warm and welcoming environment with colorful and festive sights and sounds! The atmosphere was lively yet calming and comforting, with a lovely cup of tea offered to me while sitting in the reception area in the evening. That's just the kind of place it is :) BEST HOSTEL EVER!! I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Barcelona for a Spanish experience full of character and tradition, but like a home away from home! It's in a great location as well, with only a 10-minute walk from La Rambla and great shopping and restaurants!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second time staying at Mambo. Clean and so helpful! Easy to get to. Breakfast had great peach jam.. Ha! Igor was amazing! Please stay here!!!

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was wonderful--a comfortable place to stay with great people, in a perfect location!!!! I highly, highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Weir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Pablito and his Staff are really really great. Its like you're at 'home' when you are here. Especially if you're staying more than a couple of days. They are super friendly, approachable and helpful. The lounge area is great too with tv and hard drive full of movies. There is a kitchen to cook and fridge freezer which is great because the market is not far and you can pick up amazing produce.A great place to meet peeple as its small, only about 30 guests.

Disliked: the beds could be a little more stable and mattresses with springs would help. Other than that nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Crussell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Close to beach, Las Ramblas, metro stationLots of movies to watch at night

Disliked: Kitchen could be bigger