HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sant Jordi Mambo Tango

Hostel | C/ Poeta Cabanyes 23, Barcelona, Spain 08004

96.0% Overall Rating

294 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Andrew Taborda thinks…

"I loved that ll the people who worked there were so nice and willing to go the extra mile to help you with anything you need. It felt more of like a really fun house with cool people and there were…"

Read all Sant Jordi Mambo Tango reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

CHRISTMAS PACKAGE: If you are planning to book for Christmas period you MUST Check in on 30th December and Check out on 2nd January 2012, even though the system might allow you to book out of these dates, the property will NOT accept otherwise. Your deposit and booking will be cancelled and not refundable! Very important: Our cancellation policy is 48hs - 2 days before arrival date Cancellation must be notified by email. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Melon District Residence Poble Sec
46.32 USD

Hostel 90.9% 219 reviews
Hostel One Paralelo
21.35 USD

Hostel 97.1% 529 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
20.01 USD

Hostel 83.7% 566 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
20.14 USD

Hostel 88.0% 2353 reviews
BCN Market Inn
20.14 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
17.32 USD

Hostel 92.2% 399 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
17.32 USD

Hostel 82.9% 656 reviews
Zoo Loco
42.29 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

294 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sant Jordi Mambo Tango'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 280 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was rockin fun. Good atmosephere, excellent staff, sweet basement with selection of movies. Daniel is the best receptionist EVER.

Disliked: Not the most central location, but this is only an issue if you´re soft.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Watson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great atmosphere, very cozy and friendly. It was perfect for me because I was traveling alone and was able to meet a lot of great people and enjoyed good conversations each night after a day of exploring. The location is nice, I walked every where but it's also close to the metro if you wanted. A short, lovely walk to the port.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly staff, good atmosphere. Nice and clean, good homey feeling, and very comfortable.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Vey cute, awesome staff.

Disliked: Nothing really. It's not a party hostel though. There are better hostels in Barcelona if you're there to party every night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ulf styren

Alone

Relaxation/spa

21 January 2011 ulf would recommend this property

Liked: very cool staff, very helpful and nice people!

Disliked: A bit too low temperature during the night Air condition could sometimes be better in the rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcin Platnerz

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 January 2011 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: There is all you need if you are looking for just a few cheap nights stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful in anything you want.

Disliked: Its located about 10-15 minute walk to the centre and the way to it can be dangerous at night. The hostel's location itself is ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24hr check in and great value. Hostel organised an activity (think these are weekly) which was a great way to meet people and discover Barcelona. Very friendly staff, no problems with security and overall great experience. The free computer / internet access and kitchen facilities were great.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to chill out after the bustle of Barcelona streets! I felt at home the moment I walked in. Both guests and staff were fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Raso

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at this hostel is the best i have encountered on my travels, it really is a home away from home. The staff are all so unbelievably helpful and some of the the nicest people you will ever meet. The cleanliness of the place is of a high standard thanks to Adela. Igor, Gustavo, Marta and Daves go above and beyond to help you with any issues you have and give you fantastic advice on food, sights and where to enjoy a night out. I especially love the sangria night they have at the hostel on a weekly basis, great idea!

Disliked: nothing!!!!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Braimbridge

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Above all, the friendly staff made my stay at Mambo Tango a pleasant and wonderful experience. They all have a great sense of camaraderie and humour. I don't enjoy partying like crazy, so the relaxed atmosphere was perfect. It's usually nice and quiet. However, they didn't even bat an eyelid when I stumbled in (drunk) at 7am on new year's day.

Disliked: There was sometimes an unpleasant smell (for a half-hour every few days) that seemed to come from Barcelona itself, that is, I don't think Mambo Tango could do anything about it. Any places close by would have the same problem too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and good atmosphere

Disliked: not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Hurtado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: It became Home! an amazingly comfortable environment and the nicest people. A great place to meet people! I have a new favorite hostel and a new home in Barcelona!!

Disliked: not enough outlets to charge stuff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Fuglsang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2010 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: I can't think of a better, more relaxing, cleaner hostel that I've stayed in. Ticks all the boxes needed/wanted, on my last night they put on a free meal which was absolutly fantastic. Great value

Disliked: Very, very little. Push button showers I guess, but they save water.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZITING WANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 ZITING would recommend this property

Liked: everything except location

Disliked: not much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, just a metro ride away from pretty much all the tourist attractions and main shopping areas, but most off all an amazing atmosphere!!met loads of friends, everyone got on really well and the hostel even organised nights out together!

Disliked: nada!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff was very helpful and friendly. They make you feel like at home, it's very safe and the fact that there's someone 24 hrs in the reception is really good, you also have drinks in the bar any time you want one. Great place, good price.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Farley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Movie set up

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010

Liked: Good location in Poble Sec- close enough to la Rambla (10 min walk) and main drag but far away enough to have some peace.

Disliked: If you're claustrophobic, abort your booking now! This place is tiiiiiiiiiny and there is nowhere to just hang out. Downstairs living room always full. Kitchen full. Entrance area full. Rooms tiny (try fitting 8 beds into what should be a 2/ 4 bed space?!), and the bunk beds are crammed - you can't even sit up in them. (no good if you're a night reader). Linen also old, male staff I found sleazy. also this place says it's 'not a party hostel', which is why I booked it as I needed to catch up on sleep and didn't manage to get to sleep before 1 or 2am every night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the hostel was very cheerful. Pub crawls was so much fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved Mambo Tango. I appreciated their effort to keep the atmosphere mellow and comfortable rather than a wild party pad. People were respectful and quiet at night and yet it still felt fun and warm when you entered. The place is small enough that you actually meet the other guests and the central common areas bring you together even more. This is ideal for someone traveling alone. Everyone had a warm attitude and said hello and goodbye as you came through. The facility was very clean and well set up. I was amazed at all they offered for free, lockers, internet, movies and smiles. I like that it was a little out of the touristy area yet nearby the metro, and cute little bars and restaurants. I will go back for sure.

Disliked: The showers turn off every minute and you have to keep pressing them back on. (the water cycles between hot and just slightly warm)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff was so nice, the people staying there very friendly - the whole atmosphere were great! The location were also good, in the centre in a nice Spanish neighbourhood. The rooms were good and free internet! :)

Disliked: Hm.. No, the kitchen was quite small and not very well equipped but it worked:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything.

Disliked: not much

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hanna Salmisto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2010 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: The place has personality. It is nice and quite small, staff is very helpful and friendly. Location is good, near a metro station and also walking distance from La Lambra etc.

Disliked: Hanna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly team of staff. Nice big lounge area with couches which was great for chilling out.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marylou laplante

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

06 November 2010 marylou would recommend this property

Liked: MAMBO TANGO is amaysing hostel, the staff is really nice and fun, and I met so many people!! I am travelling by my self and I was always busy to do something when I was there. Made alot of new friends and had a really amaysing experience

Disliked: if you go to barcelona Go to Mambo Tango