We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sant Jordi Mambo Tango

Hostel | C/ Poeta Cabanyes 23, Barcelona, Spain 08004

93.9% Overall Rating

300 out of 309 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/10/2014)

Vukasin Bozovic thinks…

"Sve je perfektno, ljudi su opusteni i atmosfera je ku! Sve preporuke i obavezno cemo se vratiti! :D 10/10"

Read all Sant Jordi Mambo Tango reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Very important: Our cancellation policy is 48hs - 2 days before arrival date Cancellation must be notified by email directly to the hostel. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Melon District Residence Poble Sec
24.04 USD

Hostel 91.0% 223 reviews
Hostel One Paralelo
14.05 USD

Hostel 96.7% 538 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
7.46 USD

Hostel 85.8% 574 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 87.3% 2362 reviews
BCN Market Inn
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
11.26 USD

Hostel 92.7% 401 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 84.7% 660 reviews
Zoo Loco
26.57 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

300 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sant Jordi Mambo Tango'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 253 of 287 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Taylor Russell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: People I met were awesome. There is a metro stop and a grocery store right near it.

Disliked: Too many people to too small a room. Did not have individual lights for each person. One electrical outlet in the room. Showers were "pump activated."

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roisin Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 February 2011 Roisin would recommend this property

Liked: Free tea and smiles:) Great staff and a good vibe

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: like a family, cool people, staff is great, service perfect

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the great enviroment and fun people to meet

Disliked: the stairs without elevator

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and I felt really safe.

Disliked: It was a little far from some of the things we wanted to see, but the staff could tell you which metros to take to get there quickly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the guys working there are awesome.had a real good time.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bianca Stommel

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 February 2011 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely a LOT of fun! Even went back to meet up with staff and hostelguests from the time before. Awesome *Sangrianights RULE!*

Disliked: Nothing to dislike actually

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was rockin fun. Good atmosephere, excellent staff, sweet basement with selection of movies. Daniel is the best receptionist EVER.

Disliked: Not the most central location, but this is only an issue if you´re soft.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Watson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great atmosphere, very cozy and friendly. It was perfect for me because I was traveling alone and was able to meet a lot of great people and enjoyed good conversations each night after a day of exploring. The location is nice, I walked every where but it's also close to the metro if you wanted. A short, lovely walk to the port.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly staff, good atmosphere. Nice and clean, good homey feeling, and very comfortable.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Vey cute, awesome staff.

Disliked: Nothing really. It's not a party hostel though. There are better hostels in Barcelona if you're there to party every night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ulf styren

Alone

Relaxation/spa

21 January 2011 ulf would recommend this property

Liked: very cool staff, very helpful and nice people!

Disliked: A bit too low temperature during the night Air condition could sometimes be better in the rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcin Platnerz

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 January 2011 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: There is all you need if you are looking for just a few cheap nights stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful in anything you want.

Disliked: Its located about 10-15 minute walk to the centre and the way to it can be dangerous at night. The hostel's location itself is ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24hr check in and great value. Hostel organised an activity (think these are weekly) which was a great way to meet people and discover Barcelona. Very friendly staff, no problems with security and overall great experience. The free computer / internet access and kitchen facilities were great.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to chill out after the bustle of Barcelona streets! I felt at home the moment I walked in. Both guests and staff were fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Raso

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at this hostel is the best i have encountered on my travels, it really is a home away from home. The staff are all so unbelievably helpful and some of the the nicest people you will ever meet. The cleanliness of the place is of a high standard thanks to Adela. Igor, Gustavo, Marta and Daves go above and beyond to help you with any issues you have and give you fantastic advice on food, sights and where to enjoy a night out. I especially love the sangria night they have at the hostel on a weekly basis, great idea!

Disliked: nothing!!!!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Braimbridge

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Above all, the friendly staff made my stay at Mambo Tango a pleasant and wonderful experience. They all have a great sense of camaraderie and humour. I don't enjoy partying like crazy, so the relaxed atmosphere was perfect. It's usually nice and quiet. However, they didn't even bat an eyelid when I stumbled in (drunk) at 7am on new year's day.

Disliked: There was sometimes an unpleasant smell (for a half-hour every few days) that seemed to come from Barcelona itself, that is, I don't think Mambo Tango could do anything about it. Any places close by would have the same problem too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and good atmosphere

Disliked: not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Hurtado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: It became Home! an amazingly comfortable environment and the nicest people. A great place to meet people! I have a new favorite hostel and a new home in Barcelona!!

Disliked: not enough outlets to charge stuff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Fuglsang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2010 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: I can't think of a better, more relaxing, cleaner hostel that I've stayed in. Ticks all the boxes needed/wanted, on my last night they put on a free meal which was absolutly fantastic. Great value

Disliked: Very, very little. Push button showers I guess, but they save water.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZITING WANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 ZITING would recommend this property

Liked: everything except location

Disliked: not much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, just a metro ride away from pretty much all the tourist attractions and main shopping areas, but most off all an amazing atmosphere!!met loads of friends, everyone got on really well and the hostel even organised nights out together!

Disliked: nada!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff was very helpful and friendly. They make you feel like at home, it's very safe and the fact that there's someone 24 hrs in the reception is really good, you also have drinks in the bar any time you want one. Great place, good price.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Farley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Movie set up

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010

Liked: Good location in Poble Sec- close enough to la Rambla (10 min walk) and main drag but far away enough to have some peace.

Disliked: If you're claustrophobic, abort your booking now! This place is tiiiiiiiiiny and there is nowhere to just hang out. Downstairs living room always full. Kitchen full. Entrance area full. Rooms tiny (try fitting 8 beds into what should be a 2/ 4 bed space?!), and the bunk beds are crammed - you can't even sit up in them. (no good if you're a night reader). Linen also old, male staff I found sleazy. also this place says it's 'not a party hostel', which is why I booked it as I needed to catch up on sleep and didn't manage to get to sleep before 1 or 2am every night.