HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mambo Tango Youth Hostel Barcelona Hostel

Poeta Cabanyes 23, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.44USD

Important Information

Very important:
Our cancellation policy is 48hs - 2 days before arrival date
Cancellation must be notified by email directly to the hostel.

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Please note that the hotel is allowed to pre-authorize the credit card. If a pre-authorization is not possible, the hotel reserves the right to cancel the reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 89%

Showing 51-59 of 59 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Put simply and honestly you CAN'T go wrong by staying at this hostel, solo traveller or group! The atmosphere is great, I stumbled in late one night off my flight and was immediately assaulted with friendliness, my body simply was not ready. Fast forward half an hour and I was out on a pretty chilled out pub crawl (they run them every night so there is no pressure to go out on specific days), the Mambo Tango Pub Crawl leader Hannah is a bit of a champ, somehow she and a few other guides managed to control and direct the combined drunken prowess and power of all the Saint Jordi hostels and we arrived safely at every venue without fail! The next morning the staff were full of suggestions about what to do in Barcelona during the day and were happy to help wherever they could. I could keep ranting about how great this place is, how amazing all the staff and travellers are and how the music being played is always good (I.e zero Europop hitlists) but really you should just go and see for yourself, I promise YOU. WILL. LOVE. IT.10 out of 10

Disliked: Having to vamoose!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a great location! And a great price! I felt so welcomed by the staff and other guests. Every single night they had either dinner or Sangria night and they take you out to some of the hottest spots in Barcelona! It's really close to La Rambla !

Disliked: I liked everything except that my room was right next to the main lobby, and as Barcelona is a very vibrant city it was sometimes hard to sleep at night. But that is just a tiny complaint!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - This is an amazing hostel, you'll do youself a HUGE favour by staying here! I first spend two days in Barcelona in an average hostel but I didn't like it so I changed to this one, and as soon as I came inside I swear that I felt like home! Everyone is hanging out and speaking with everyone, I've made lots of friends in no time here. It's something nice going on every night and the staff is just unbelieable helpful and friendly. I first booked for 2 nights but now I'm just keeping on extending and extending my stay here.. it's hard to leave, haha! It has really good facilities and it's not so big so the atmosphere is amazing, perfect for solo travellers! Has pub-crawls, sangria nights, pasta nights, simply activities every night. Sweet common room downstairs, very clean, super valuable! :D Special thanks again to the lovely staff for your really outgoing and helpful spirit!! Nos vemos! XXX /Alva

Disliked: Nothing :))

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great atmosphere. not too big, which allowed for getting to know other people at the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything! The staff were really helpful and friendly, especially Hernan who was an absolute highlight! The hostel was really clean and immaculately maintained. The hostel organized a different themed activity every night and the people that were staying there were fantastic - I've made some great new friends! I would just like to say thank you to all the Mambo Saint Jordi staff for making my first ever hostel stay such a fantastic experience!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Highly recommend staying hereThe vibe is excellent met loads of great people here through the themed nights and pub crawls that leave from this hostelStaff were excellent really helpful and really friendlyGreat location right near the metro and la rambla

Disliked: Wifi could have been better and no lift but there not a big deal

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a small hostel but has a lot of character. The staff are extremely friendly. Everything is very clean and they provide lockers which is always a bonus. Location is great and a lot of sights are within walking distance. The kitchen is tiny but has everything that you need. Thank you Sant Jordi for an awesome stay!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Staff were so great, helpful and took care of us. The space was also really lovely and cute with everything you could need and no noise when we wanted to sleep. Would totally stay there again.

Disliked: The beds were a teeny bit squeaky....

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Besides great location in the center, close to the cafes in the Gothic quarter and to the beach, the stay was simply amazing! It was thanks to the staff that works at the hostel - they are simply amazing, super friendly and always helpful ( they called billions of pharmacies and took care of me when I had problems with asthma) . This hostel really made us feel like at home and made our stay in Barcelona unforgettable. It's the best hostel in Barcelona and I would recommend it to everyone looking for a place to stay :)

Disliked: ---

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best hostel! Such friendly and helpful staff - we were upgraded to a private room, and able to hang and out and leave our luggage when we arrived early before check-in and again after we checked out. Awesome atmosphere, have something on every night (pub crawl, tapas night, sangria night..), nice hang out lounge downstairs and really easy to meet people. Great facilities, nice showers! And really clean. Couldn't ask for anything more!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability