We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sant Jordi Mambo Tango

Hostel | C/ Poeta Cabanyes 23, Barcelona, Spain 08004

95.3% Overall Rating

297 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

Lynnette Fernandez thinks…

"I loved the events that took place every night. It was so easy to make friends and 'party boi' Humza (or do i spell it Hamza?) made sure that we all had a great time. The receptionist took me up to…"

Read all Sant Jordi Mambo Tango reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Very important: Our cancellation policy is 48hs - 2 days before arrival date Cancellation must be notified by email directly to the hostel. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Melon District Residence Poble Sec
44.32 USD

Hostel 90.5% 222 reviews
Hostel One Paralelo
19.27 USD

Hostel 96.6% 532 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
12.72 USD

Hostel 85.3% 573 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
12.85 USD

Hostel 85.1% 2360 reviews
BCN Market Inn
19.27 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
15.29 USD

Hostel 92.7% 401 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
12.72 USD

Hostel 83.1% 657 reviews
Zoo Loco
43.84 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.3%

Overall Rating

297 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sant Jordi Mambo Tango'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 249 of 283 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, within walking distance to most attractions,. Tea and coffee provided 24/7

Disliked: No smoking area

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

michael williams

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: location was good near to metro

Disliked: breakfasts not very appealing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so nice and the atmosphere was great all the people in the hostel were very nice i had such a great time. It's also really clean there and i felt save.

Disliked: Breakfast could be included to make it even better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Mason

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly! Felt like you were simply staying in a friend's house!

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and the showers were hot.

Disliked: That it was more of a party hostel than I was expecting, unless I'm well past it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuan Bin TOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Yuan Bin would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are incredible nice!especially Daniel!he makes such a great food for us!it feel comfortable at the downstair!i love it and i'll absolutely recommend it to my friends!

Disliked: Yuan Bin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and bathroom were clean, and all my belongings felt safe in the lockers. Daniel was very friendly and helpful. Close to the metro station

Disliked: A little far from the main part of town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my time in the hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you need help or have any problem they will try to find a solution. Also it is very easy to go to the city centre. You can take the metro but also by walking it is only about ten minutes. If you want to meet new people this hostel is probably the best place. Furthermore, the price is really good as well. The offered breakfeast was just like my one at home, therefore I can't say something bad about the food either. You also have the possibility to go out, what was organized by one of the staff members. All in all, if you want to have a great time in Barcelona, you simply have to choose this hostel.

Disliked: Everything was fine! I have nothing to complain about.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlotte Hammond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel organized great events and had lots of helpful recommendations and tips. great that they have free internet and essentially a full kitchen for guest use.

Disliked: found the beds uncomfortable

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good value for money. I would say quite a basic hostel, average for what i have stayed in. I did not pay much so it was a good clean place for that money. The common areas were nice, even though not so spacy. Bathrooms were spotless and they were plenty.

Disliked: The dormitory room was quite small for 8 people. The location is not very central but not far away either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Hoffman

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2012 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great, Staff was fantastic, clean, hot shower, warm room, no flas.

Disliked: Douglas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Reed Tomlinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2012 Reed would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The atmosphere is very relaxed, the staff is wonderful, and the location is excellent. The staff encourages a familial atmosphere by cooking/eating with guests, having sangria nights, etc. All of the Sant Jordi hostels (6 in total, I believe) meet up with some frequency at bars and clubs, so you can explore Barcelona's nightlife, carefree. The hostel is quiet, and I was able to get a lot of work done there (not something I can say about too many hostels!)

Disliked: Really, I have no complaints! My stay was wonderful, and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Daniel and Gustavo - both INCREDIBLE staff & PEOPLE who will cook for you, make you laugh, help you with anything, host sangria nights and take you on bar crawls with the other Sant Jordi hostels. Nice and cosy, pleanty of character, immaculately clean and safe. We extended our stay because we liked it so much. Honestly could not have been better, thank you guys! :)

Disliked: The internet would drop out on occasion, no biggie.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very nice, dorm has a balcony with a nice view, a lot of trust and respect towards the travellers (you can help yourself at the fridge with beverages, there's just a box to put the money in). The location was perfect for me because i went to Barcelona for a gig of my fav band, which played in Sala Apolo (only 3 minutes walk from the hostel), the beach isn't far either AND KFC and Burger King directly around the corner :D Would definitely stay with Mambo Tango again!

Disliked: my roommates... very very noisy and non-considerate :/ But i guess that was just bad luck.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Ewing

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location--not right in the thick of things, but within easy walking distance, and close to the metro. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Beds were quite comfortable. The common room was a great social space, and they have free wifi in addition to two computers. Lockers in the rooms for your stuff. Very clean, and a good breakfast.

Disliked: No complaints; it was a great place. Wish I could have stayed longer!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly, especially Igor and Dixon. They were helpful concerning where to eat and drink. Overall the hostel offers great value for money.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff :) free access to pc and internet. Comfort and fun :)

Disliked: Everything was nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cedric Capacchione

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Cedric would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Mambo Tango are its best asset. Definitely amazing people. Daniel especially is an awesome guy who knows how to liven the place up, send you out on the town, or relax when it's time to wind down. Great time, great people, great fun.

Disliked: The kitchen is a tad small for anything more complex than frying a steak or boiling a pot. Otherwise, no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kerim shaban

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2011 kerim would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you Igor, Danial and Gustafo. Your all cool guys, was great times. Great little hostel, lots of fun!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Davis

Alone

City break

23 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: A colourful little hostel and a great place to meet other travellers. The staff put a lot of effort into helping guests. The location is not central but it's an interesting enough neighbourhood and public transport is just around the corner.

Disliked: Despite claiming it's not a party hostel the staff organise clubbing events, including getting people drunk first. The combination of bunk beds with shaky (noisy) metal frames and partying guests returning to the hostel all through the night means you can expect to wake up a lot.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Scott Lillico

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011

Liked: Reasonably close to metro station. Staff helpful. interesting music playing. Self serve kitchen. Lots of outlets for charging electronics. lockers yay!

Disliked: The incense smell was too strong. The beds smelled a little funny. Laundry machines are not self serve, you must give them your laundry and they do it!!?!. Not much around that I was interested in eating without taking a metro - had to settle for fast food. Showers could use some updating... like doors instead of a plastic cloth so that the area you get dressed in doesn't get wet with water. Showers are auto - off, so you have to continually hit the button to get water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jagdeep Singh

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2011 Jagdeep would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Friendly Staff. Amazing parties organized by Saint jordi hostels

Disliked: Lack of infrastructure as compared to other saint jordi hostels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful stay at Mambo Tango. The atmosphere is very welcoming and the best part of the stay was the friendly and helpful staff. The staff will go out of their way to ensure that you have an amazing trip. Compared to other hostels I have stayed at Mambo Tango has a community vibe. It's a home away from home with a fun and funky decor. The free internet access and all you can drink tea was amazing. If I am ever in Barcelona again, I know where to stay! Thanks from 3 Eastern Canadians.

Disliked: There is not really anything bad I can stay about the property. The rooms are a little small so it got really warm at night but it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was easy to find and close to a metro station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Thornton

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

19 October 2011 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are some of the lovliest people Ive ever met! Igor, Daniel, Gustavo and Daves were so kind and I was so well looked after and never once felt lonley! The hostel has a great vibe and met some amazing people. I would deffinatley reccomend this hostel if your travelling alone as you will be adopted into the temporary family. I cant thank them enough.

Disliked: nothing- great if you want to party or if you want to chill!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is excellent! They were very friendly and helpful. The location is also great. We could walk every where we wanted to go from the hostel and there's a metro stop very close to it. The atmosphere is very friendly and social. We met a lot of people at the hostel and went out with them. It made my stay in Barcelona a lot more fun!

Disliked: I can't think of anything that I dislike