HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sant Jordi Mambo Tango

Hostel | C/ Poeta Cabanyes 23, Barcelona, Spain 08004

98.1% Overall Rating

281 out of 289 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Arvid Wallin thinks…

"Clean facilities, hostall overall was proffesional and secure. If you are looking for party i would recommend this!"

Read all Sant Jordi Mambo Tango reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

CHRISTMAS PACKAGE: If you are planning to book for Christmas period you MUST Check in on 30th December and Check out on 2nd January 2012, even though the system might allow you to book out of these dates, the property will NOT accept otherwise. Your deposit and booking will be cancelled and not refundable! Very important: Our cancellation policy is 48hs - 2 days before arrival date Cancellation must be notified by email. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Melon District Residence Poble Sec
40.08 USD

Hostel 91.2% 213 reviews
Hostel One Paralelo
23.36 USD

Hostel 96.7% 512 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
10.92 USD

Hostel 81.8% 554 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 91.0% 2340 reviews
BCN Market Inn
20.73 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
24.74 USD

Hostel 92.2% 392 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
21.97 USD

Hostel 82.7% 653 reviews
Zoo Loco
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.1%

Overall Rating

281 out of 289 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sant Jordi Mambo Tango'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 237 of 267 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Daniel and Gustavo - both INCREDIBLE staff & PEOPLE who will cook for you, make you laugh, help you with anything, host sangria nights and take you on bar crawls with the other Sant Jordi hostels. Nice and cosy, pleanty of character, immaculately clean and safe. We extended our stay because we liked it so much. Honestly could not have been better, thank you guys! :)

Disliked: The internet would drop out on occasion, no biggie.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very nice, dorm has a balcony with a nice view, a lot of trust and respect towards the travellers (you can help yourself at the fridge with beverages, there's just a box to put the money in). The location was perfect for me because i went to Barcelona for a gig of my fav band, which played in Sala Apolo (only 3 minutes walk from the hostel), the beach isn't far either AND KFC and Burger King directly around the corner :D Would definitely stay with Mambo Tango again!

Disliked: my roommates... very very noisy and non-considerate :/ But i guess that was just bad luck.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Ewing

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location--not right in the thick of things, but within easy walking distance, and close to the metro. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Beds were quite comfortable. The common room was a great social space, and they have free wifi in addition to two computers. Lockers in the rooms for your stuff. Very clean, and a good breakfast.

Disliked: No complaints; it was a great place. Wish I could have stayed longer!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly, especially Igor and Dixon. They were helpful concerning where to eat and drink. Overall the hostel offers great value for money.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff :) free access to pc and internet. Comfort and fun :)

Disliked: Everything was nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cedric Capacchione

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Cedric would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Mambo Tango are its best asset. Definitely amazing people. Daniel especially is an awesome guy who knows how to liven the place up, send you out on the town, or relax when it's time to wind down. Great time, great people, great fun.

Disliked: The kitchen is a tad small for anything more complex than frying a steak or boiling a pot. Otherwise, no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kerim shaban

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2011 kerim would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you Igor, Danial and Gustafo. Your all cool guys, was great times. Great little hostel, lots of fun!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Davis

Alone

City break

23 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: A colourful little hostel and a great place to meet other travellers. The staff put a lot of effort into helping guests. The location is not central but it's an interesting enough neighbourhood and public transport is just around the corner.

Disliked: Despite claiming it's not a party hostel the staff organise clubbing events, including getting people drunk first. The combination of bunk beds with shaky (noisy) metal frames and partying guests returning to the hostel all through the night means you can expect to wake up a lot.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Scott Lillico

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011

Liked: Reasonably close to metro station. Staff helpful. interesting music playing. Self serve kitchen. Lots of outlets for charging electronics. lockers yay!

Disliked: The incense smell was too strong. The beds smelled a little funny. Laundry machines are not self serve, you must give them your laundry and they do it!!?!. Not much around that I was interested in eating without taking a metro - had to settle for fast food. Showers could use some updating... like doors instead of a plastic cloth so that the area you get dressed in doesn't get wet with water. Showers are auto - off, so you have to continually hit the button to get water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jagdeep Singh

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2011 Jagdeep would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Friendly Staff. Amazing parties organized by Saint jordi hostels

Disliked: Lack of infrastructure as compared to other saint jordi hostels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful stay at Mambo Tango. The atmosphere is very welcoming and the best part of the stay was the friendly and helpful staff. The staff will go out of their way to ensure that you have an amazing trip. Compared to other hostels I have stayed at Mambo Tango has a community vibe. It's a home away from home with a fun and funky decor. The free internet access and all you can drink tea was amazing. If I am ever in Barcelona again, I know where to stay! Thanks from 3 Eastern Canadians.

Disliked: There is not really anything bad I can stay about the property. The rooms are a little small so it got really warm at night but it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was easy to find and close to a metro station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Thornton

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

19 October 2011 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are some of the lovliest people Ive ever met! Igor, Daniel, Gustavo and Daves were so kind and I was so well looked after and never once felt lonley! The hostel has a great vibe and met some amazing people. I would deffinatley reccomend this hostel if your travelling alone as you will be adopted into the temporary family. I cant thank them enough.

Disliked: nothing- great if you want to party or if you want to chill!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is excellent! They were very friendly and helpful. The location is also great. We could walk every where we wanted to go from the hostel and there's a metro stop very close to it. The atmosphere is very friendly and social. We met a lot of people at the hostel and went out with them. It made my stay in Barcelona a lot more fun!

Disliked: I can't think of anything that I dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Onur Ciritci

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Onur would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpfull. toilets and showers are clean. Rooms are not small and there is a lockable wardrope for everyone in the room.

Disliked: i stayed in a 6 people room and almost woke up every 4-5 am in the night. however it is not fault of hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cam Tran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Cam would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are super friendly and welcoming. The place are clean, lots of storage space for personal items and they will allow you to keep your passport in their safe while staying at the hostel. The common room is very nice to meet people and the wine and beer are cheap.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leon Melli

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really kind and helpful. I really felt at home!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taylor Myer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: Miguel and Igor were extremely nice and very helpful staff members, they went out of their way to make us comfortable. The rooms and toilets were kept very clean. It was overall an amazing hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

vanessa truong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is not the best in infrastructure, but the staff is so good that we do not care about the rest.

Disliked: O quarto é pequeno, chuveiro com sitema de corte, isso é bem chato.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great! Always people in the common area to hang out with.

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Igor was so helpful in telling us all about barcelona and where to go! the hostel itself is cute and clean, and there is a nice common room with free computers and a tv to watch movies. the hostel sets up activities at night for those who dont know their way around, making it really easy to meet other travelers..i would definitely stay here again

Disliked: no towels provided but that it

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean - very nice staff. Good atmosphere. :)

Disliked: Missed warm blankets on the 2nd night - in another dorm in the basement.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sunniva Breivik Innstrand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2011 Sunniva Breivik would recommend this property

Liked: Small&cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: The property is not in one of the best areas of Barcelona, but it is still not too far.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free computers with internet! Igor and David were FABULOUS! A 20 minute walk to reach Las Ramblas. Loved having a 2-person dorm room...wish more hostels offered that! Cold A/C.

Disliked: Stairs were really tough to get my large bag up and down.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011

Liked: Clean & kind of a loft feel to the place, nice people

Disliked: VERY small & overpriced, they had a sewage problem an hour after we checked in which left the place smelling like crap, literally, for hours