HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sant Jordi Mambo Tango

Hostel | C/ Poeta Cabanyes 23, Barcelona, Spain 08004

99.1% Overall Rating

277 out of 285 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

Malina Cribbin thinks…

"This hostel definitely offered me a lifetime experience. As a solo traveller, I do not think my visit to Barcelona would have been as pleasurable. The staff are friendly, professional and make you…"

Read all Sant Jordi Mambo Tango reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

CHRISTMAS PACKAGE: If you are planning to book for Christmas period you MUST Check in on 30th December and Check out on 2nd January 2012, even though the system might allow you to book out of these dates, the property will NOT accept otherwise. Your deposit and booking will be cancelled and not refundable! Very important: Our cancellation policy is 48hs - 2 days before arrival date Cancellation must be notified by email. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Melon District Residence Poble Sec
42.82 USD

Hostel 91.2% 213 reviews
Hostel One Paralelo
26.11 USD

Hostel 96.5% 510 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
15.06 USD

Hostel 81.8% 554 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
13.81 USD

Hostel 91.0% 2340 reviews
BCN Market Inn
20.72 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
24.73 USD

Hostel 92.2% 392 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
21.96 USD

Hostel 82.7% 653 reviews
Zoo Loco
34.54 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
99.1%

Overall Rating

277 out of 285 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sant Jordi Mambo Tango'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
100.0%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 233 of 263 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, good atmosphere. Met almost everyone at the hostel. Clean, enough space and the common room was very social every night before going out.

Disliked: Only minor things.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in Europe. I stayed here 5 years ago and Had good memories of this place. Yes the ownership has changed and the free breakfast is gone, but if anything, the place is even better now. Daniel, Cacau and all the staff are pretty awesome. No wonder I love Barcelona!

Disliked: No free breakfast but its not a biggie given there are loads of cafes nearby.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Miranda Patterson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: My favorite part about the hostel was the staff. They were extremely friendly and helpful. Nice tv with good movies. The location of the property was very good. Close to La Rambla, metro line and other hot spots. pretty clean

Disliked: The showers are not designed well. You have to push and turn the nob, but water only runs for about 40 seconds before shutting off. Therefore, you have to push the knob with one hand for duration of your shower. Kinda hard to wash hair, etc with one hand! Also, hot water was not always working and the shower stalls are very small. I also did not like how my room and bathroom was so close to reception...the place is kind of small. I think the hostel is just a bit overpriced for the actual stay. You are paying for location and the staff because there is also no breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hakim Hellal

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

05 July 2012 Hakim would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff. Cacao, a member of the staff, was so nice and she tells you what to do in Barcelona when you arrive!!

Disliked: Hakim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place, close to but not in the main touristy part of town. Best one out of all sant jordi chain hostels

Disliked: Push spring return shower taps suck

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Davies

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: What an incredible place! You feel at home instantly in this comfortable, safe, and secure place. The intimacy made it easy to form friendships and share stories and advice with fellow travelers. This place is great for relaxing, comfy couches, hundreds of movies, free web and tea. It is also great for partying as with amazing Jeff's incredibly fun bar crawl of the city! I also have to give a shout out to Cacao who greets you each morning with a smile, a tea, and a pleasant conversation. I can't recommend this place enough.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Igbojekwe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Everything really! great atmosphere, very friendly staff, clean bathrooms and rooms, located in downtown area close to the substation. I traveled alone and I wasn't sure what to do or where to go and Barcelona, picking this hostel was the right choice because you get to know everything from the staff and fellow travelers......amazing 3 days here!! would definitely recommend to all travelers particularly if its your first time in Barcelona!

Disliked: ahhhh....i really cant think of anything...its not a 5 start hotel by any means but its def a 4-5 star hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful. all of the other guests were great fun and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riki Cockerton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Riki would recommend this property

Liked: Everything the place and people were amazing! All the staff were very friendly and helpful and was always on hand to give you advise or recommendations :)

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, within walking distance to most attractions,. Tea and coffee provided 24/7

Disliked: No smoking area

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

michael williams

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: location was good near to metro

Disliked: breakfasts not very appealing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so nice and the atmosphere was great all the people in the hostel were very nice i had such a great time. It's also really clean there and i felt save.

Disliked: Breakfast could be included to make it even better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Mason

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly! Felt like you were simply staying in a friend's house!

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and the showers were hot.

Disliked: That it was more of a party hostel than I was expecting, unless I'm well past it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuan Bin TOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Yuan Bin would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are incredible nice!especially Daniel!he makes such a great food for us!it feel comfortable at the downstair!i love it and i'll absolutely recommend it to my friends!

Disliked: Yuan Bin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and bathroom were clean, and all my belongings felt safe in the lockers. Daniel was very friendly and helpful. Close to the metro station

Disliked: A little far from the main part of town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my time in the hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you need help or have any problem they will try to find a solution. Also it is very easy to go to the city centre. You can take the metro but also by walking it is only about ten minutes. If you want to meet new people this hostel is probably the best place. Furthermore, the price is really good as well. The offered breakfeast was just like my one at home, therefore I can't say something bad about the food either. You also have the possibility to go out, what was organized by one of the staff members. All in all, if you want to have a great time in Barcelona, you simply have to choose this hostel.

Disliked: Everything was fine! I have nothing to complain about.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlotte Hammond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel organized great events and had lots of helpful recommendations and tips. great that they have free internet and essentially a full kitchen for guest use.

Disliked: found the beds uncomfortable

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good value for money. I would say quite a basic hostel, average for what i have stayed in. I did not pay much so it was a good clean place for that money. The common areas were nice, even though not so spacy. Bathrooms were spotless and they were plenty.

Disliked: The dormitory room was quite small for 8 people. The location is not very central but not far away either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Hoffman

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2012 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great, Staff was fantastic, clean, hot shower, warm room, no flas.

Disliked: Douglas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Reed Tomlinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2012 Reed would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The atmosphere is very relaxed, the staff is wonderful, and the location is excellent. The staff encourages a familial atmosphere by cooking/eating with guests, having sangria nights, etc. All of the Sant Jordi hostels (6 in total, I believe) meet up with some frequency at bars and clubs, so you can explore Barcelona's nightlife, carefree. The hostel is quiet, and I was able to get a lot of work done there (not something I can say about too many hostels!)

Disliked: Really, I have no complaints! My stay was wonderful, and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Daniel and Gustavo - both INCREDIBLE staff & PEOPLE who will cook for you, make you laugh, help you with anything, host sangria nights and take you on bar crawls with the other Sant Jordi hostels. Nice and cosy, pleanty of character, immaculately clean and safe. We extended our stay because we liked it so much. Honestly could not have been better, thank you guys! :)

Disliked: The internet would drop out on occasion, no biggie.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very nice, dorm has a balcony with a nice view, a lot of trust and respect towards the travellers (you can help yourself at the fridge with beverages, there's just a box to put the money in). The location was perfect for me because i went to Barcelona for a gig of my fav band, which played in Sala Apolo (only 3 minutes walk from the hostel), the beach isn't far either AND KFC and Burger King directly around the corner :D Would definitely stay with Mambo Tango again!

Disliked: my roommates... very very noisy and non-considerate :/ But i guess that was just bad luck.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Ewing

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location--not right in the thick of things, but within easy walking distance, and close to the metro. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Beds were quite comfortable. The common room was a great social space, and they have free wifi in addition to two computers. Lockers in the rooms for your stuff. Very clean, and a good breakfast.

Disliked: No complaints; it was a great place. Wish I could have stayed longer!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly, especially Igor and Dixon. They were helpful concerning where to eat and drink. Overall the hostel offers great value for money.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.