HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sant Jordi Mambo Tango

Hostel | C/ Poeta Cabanyes 23, Barcelona, Spain 08004

96.0% Overall Rating

294 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Andrew Taborda thinks…

"I loved that ll the people who worked there were so nice and willing to go the extra mile to help you with anything you need. It felt more of like a really fun house with cool people and there were…"

Read all Sant Jordi Mambo Tango reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

CHRISTMAS PACKAGE: If you are planning to book for Christmas period you MUST Check in on 30th December and Check out on 2nd January 2012, even though the system might allow you to book out of these dates, the property will NOT accept otherwise. Your deposit and booking will be cancelled and not refundable! Very important: Our cancellation policy is 48hs - 2 days before arrival date Cancellation must be notified by email. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Melon District Residence Poble Sec
46.35 USD

Hostel 90.9% 219 reviews
Hostel One Paralelo
21.36 USD

Hostel 97.1% 529 reviews
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
22.70 USD

Hostel 83.7% 566 reviews
HelloBCN Hostel
20.15 USD

Hostel 88.0% 2353 reviews
BCN Market Inn
20.15 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 248 reviews
Be Sound Hostel
20.02 USD

Hostel 92.2% 399 reviews
Be Mar Hostel
17.33 USD

Hostel 82.9% 656 reviews
Zoo Loco
42.32 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

294 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sant Jordi Mambo Tango'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 280 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, big lockers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, awesome staff. Free computers to use.

Disliked: Showers are sometimes either to hot, or freezing cold.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patrycja Bogaczyk

Alone

City break

11 March 2013 Patrycja would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly and helpful. Balcony.

Disliked: The hostel looks older than I thought it is, but it was clean and fine. There was a elder guy in my room, who was acting weird, got naked in the room, and left the toilet dirty. I know it's not the hostel fault how people act, but I think hostel should be a place for young people to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brian farrell

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 brian would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere in this hostel.Excellent facilities,very clean,close to centre of Barcelona in a very pleasant neighbourhood with very helpful staff especially Hernan.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terence Chow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Terence would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, atmosphere and cleanliness of the rooms.

Disliked: NIL

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Belen Janezic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Maria Belen would recommend this property

Liked: Great place!!! Friendly staff, specially Luis was super sweet and very helpful showing me how to get everywhere I needed. Very clean bathroom and comfortable beds, few minutes walk from the metro station. I had a very good time in this hostel and I will definitely return if I go to Barcelona again. I can only recommend it.

Disliked: Maria Belen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernard Lauzon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Bernard would recommend this property

Liked: I was particularly impressed with the staff of this property notably Daniel and Louiz who were very helpful and always with good humour.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel are awesome (very helpful and a ton of fun!). The room was pretty decent with a balcony and a fan. The location is also great, close to metro and walking distance to Las Ramblas and the harbor.

Disliked: The only thing that was not fun at the hostel was the bathroom. I am not even sure if this is the staff's fault as I think maybe someone did not realize you have to keep the shower curtain inside the shower, repeatedly. There was always water all over the floor which was too bad because the bathroom itself was actually nice. But, I would still go back :D

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, safety, atmosphere, common room was comfortable and well set up (although a tad bit small if busy), events every night at hostel- 2 Euro dinners (so delicious and so much of it), sangria nights.

Disliked: Kitchen was small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Girard

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Le personnel, sa localisation

Disliked: Rien

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012

Liked: Ok location

Disliked: Front desk person was rude. Put me in a no air con room. Not enough outlets near the beds. Really rundown, old.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fidelio Lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Fidelio would recommend this property

Liked: Place was great! This is a more family oriented hostel. It is a smaller hostel than the ones i've stayed in but the staff is amazing & nice. If you needed information or directions they would provide a great deal of info. Cacau, Daniel, Luis thanks for everything. Also the place is very clean. Felt like they were always cleaning the bathroom. Location was very close to La Ramblas and very close to the subway. Very close to Ave Paralell so you can catch a cab instantly. They cook dinner or have sangria every night for 2 Euro. Breakfast isnt included but when Cacau was there she would generously prepare some food for us. Great tapas place close by. Ask Luis! Common room has a TV with a wide range of movies to watch. Highly suggest this hostel if you like something more on the quiet end.

Disliked: We stayed on the first floor and our bathroom was the common bathroom for the common area. Wasn't that big of a deal. The common room is kind of small but it worked. They only have 2 computers and the Wifi didnt work our first day there. This isn't really one of the "party hostels" but they do have a huge pub crawl in connection with the other San Jordi hostels in Barcelona which was loads of fun. But no real problems here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Besser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic Staff, very helpful and a great atmosphere. Fantastic Sangria night!

Disliked: Room was a tad small

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, good atmosphere. Met almost everyone at the hostel. Clean, enough space and the common room was very social every night before going out.

Disliked: Only minor things.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in Europe. I stayed here 5 years ago and Had good memories of this place. Yes the ownership has changed and the free breakfast is gone, but if anything, the place is even better now. Daniel, Cacau and all the staff are pretty awesome. No wonder I love Barcelona!

Disliked: No free breakfast but its not a biggie given there are loads of cafes nearby.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Miranda Patterson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: My favorite part about the hostel was the staff. They were extremely friendly and helpful. Nice tv with good movies. The location of the property was very good. Close to La Rambla, metro line and other hot spots. pretty clean

Disliked: The showers are not designed well. You have to push and turn the nob, but water only runs for about 40 seconds before shutting off. Therefore, you have to push the knob with one hand for duration of your shower. Kinda hard to wash hair, etc with one hand! Also, hot water was not always working and the shower stalls are very small. I also did not like how my room and bathroom was so close to reception...the place is kind of small. I think the hostel is just a bit overpriced for the actual stay. You are paying for location and the staff because there is also no breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hakim Hellal

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

05 July 2012 Hakim would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff. Cacao, a member of the staff, was so nice and she tells you what to do in Barcelona when you arrive!!

Disliked: Hakim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place, close to but not in the main touristy part of town. Best one out of all sant jordi chain hostels

Disliked: Push spring return shower taps suck

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Davies

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: What an incredible place! You feel at home instantly in this comfortable, safe, and secure place. The intimacy made it easy to form friendships and share stories and advice with fellow travelers. This place is great for relaxing, comfy couches, hundreds of movies, free web and tea. It is also great for partying as with amazing Jeff's incredibly fun bar crawl of the city! I also have to give a shout out to Cacao who greets you each morning with a smile, a tea, and a pleasant conversation. I can't recommend this place enough.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Igbojekwe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Everything really! great atmosphere, very friendly staff, clean bathrooms and rooms, located in downtown area close to the substation. I traveled alone and I wasn't sure what to do or where to go and Barcelona, picking this hostel was the right choice because you get to know everything from the staff and fellow travelers......amazing 3 days here!! would definitely recommend to all travelers particularly if its your first time in Barcelona!

Disliked: ahhhh....i really cant think of anything...its not a 5 start hotel by any means but its def a 4-5 star hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful. all of the other guests were great fun and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riki Cockerton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Riki would recommend this property

Liked: Everything the place and people were amazing! All the staff were very friendly and helpful and was always on hand to give you advise or recommendations :)

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, within walking distance to most attractions,. Tea and coffee provided 24/7

Disliked: No smoking area

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

michael williams

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: location was good near to metro

Disliked: breakfasts not very appealing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so nice and the atmosphere was great all the people in the hostel were very nice i had such a great time. It's also really clean there and i felt save.

Disliked: Breakfast could be included to make it even better.