We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Downtown Paraiso Hostel

Hostel | Carrer de la Junta de Comerç, 13 Ppal, Barcelona, Spain 08001

87.4% Overall Rating

688 out of 731 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2014)

"It looks like a family pension, very cosy, very quiet. The staff is also very kind and proactive: Leandro, Emi, cool people"

Read all Downtown Paraiso Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. PLEASE NOTE: Downtown Paraiso Hostel Hostel does not accept groups over 10 persons. The hostel reserves the right to cancel this booking in this case and the deposit will not be refunded

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Hotel Principal
77.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Center-Ramblas Barcelona
14.19 USD

Hostel 78.5% 348 reviews
Apartments Ramblas Massana
25.92 USD

Apartment 83.5% 156 reviews
Hotel Dalia Ramblas
45.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Welcome Inn
28.52 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 90 reviews
Hotel Barbara
47.05 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.7% 5 reviews
ideal youth hostel
16.79 USD

Hostel 83.2% 9 reviews
Blueberry Rooms
45.37 USD

Apartment 86.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

688 out of 731 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Downtown Paraiso Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 498 of 555 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivonne Kornelia Herr

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Ivonne Kornelia would recommend this property

Liked: It so nice prepare all the rooms and the atmosphere there!

Disliked: a safe for the "important things" would be great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was good

Disliked: The room smelt of drains and it was quite noisy by the kitchen

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shaham Elias

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2014 Shaham would recommend this property

Liked: No comment

Disliked: Shaham left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looks like a family pension, very cosy, very quiet. The staff is also very kind and proactive: Leandro, Emi, cool people

Disliked: Well, there was a guy snoring in my bedroom and I had a rather bad sleep. But that's not really the fault of the hostal, is it? (Just joking)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff

Disliked: Not much really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominic Munden

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 February 2014 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and really close to all the things you would want to do. Place was clean and secure and the staff we found were universally friendly.

Disliked: - It says that they accept credit/debit cards for payment, what they do not tell you is that they charge you 5% of the amount for this service. - We were in room 105, a private double room with bathroom, the lock on the door was faulty and we could not easily enter our room for the majority of the stay. We were told it would be fixed each day but it wasn't. The lock really should have been changed. - Our room was by one of the communal areas and was VERY noisey as the walls are thin. This IS a great hostel but I wish I knew about these things before I booked.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

RANGEL HRISTOV

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

29 January 2014 RANGEL would recommend this property

Liked: Low price, good location

Disliked: No private toilet and bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kah Fai Hong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Kah Fai would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist on my first two day was excellent, helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The receptionist on my last day was kinda rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, great outdoor seating area, clean facilities, good location, good for meeting other travellers

Disliked: Our room was quite hot and small (4 bed dorm), but it was the height of summer so the heat is probably to be expected

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Gonzales

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 July 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and extremely helpful staff . The location is just two blocks from Las Ramblas and close to everything you need including shopping, super market, laundry and public transportation. The staff was super nice and helped us with directions, answered questions and is there24 hrs a day.

Disliked: If you are visiting in summer be advised that this location does not have AC, which at times made it uncomfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philippe Bergeon

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: very nice set up, access to internet and common kitchen, terrace and lounge area. very friendly staff and in a great spot away from city centre but close to some great hidden gems.

Disliked: very noisy, busy on the streets outside until late and then again early in the morning. If you're looking for quiet and restful, this is not the place. The rooms are only separated by thin walls and so can hear the neighbors. even in a private room, there is only a shower and all toilets are outside in the common area so can hear shuffling outside your room from everyone coming in and out. We were also very close to the front desk so could hear alot of the travellers coming and going.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Trang Le

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Trang would recommend this property

Liked: close to Las Ramblas and La Plaza Catalunya, free printing

Disliked: kinda dark and dingy, why are there barely any lights?? The staircase was dark and eery to walk up, there was a woman on crutches trying to navigate her way in the dark up the stairs (seriously, they should turn on the lights there, it's dangerous!)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jitka Mansfeldova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Jitka would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very nice and helpfull, hostel is close to all the sights that is worth seeing in the city. They have fully equiped kitchen with really nice terrace and everything is clean.

Disliked: Although the hostel is in the very centre we did not feel safe as the area is quite run-down and full of strange people. On the other hand the staff is present 24/7 and let you in only if they are sure you are hostel guest. The first night we could not sleep at all as the walls are really thin and we could hear every single word of other drunk guests in the hostel and receptionist did not seem to be really bothered. The other night were allright.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For such a price, the hostel offer you a good location (walk distance from Ciutat Vella, Plaza Real), a friendly staff, and a surprisingly clean environment.

Disliked: The wifi is pretty much useless. Either work on improving the quality or just remove it...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcella Astini

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Marcella would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money and friendly staff

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ufuk yolsal

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 February 2013 ufuk would recommend this property

Liked: best location just 4 min from la rambla and liceu station.

Disliked: thin wall.You can hear the next room's braathing when they make out :) There are many hostel on the streets at night too many drunk people come to street.If you are night clubber there is no problem but if you want to sleep tis too hard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Balázs Harnos

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 January 2013 Balázs would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the room, the heating (!), the people and the staff!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location + clean bathrooms + facilities they offer:kitchen,terrace

Disliked: WiFi is not good enough in the rooms you have to be in the common area. Deposit for keys is exaggerated:10 euros It was very clean but there was a heavy lemon cologne smell even my all clothes had a same smell after 1 day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, lots of showers and toilets, lots of common areas, great staff.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Wielinga

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Not only were we given a free upgrade to a private bathroom when we first arrived, the room was clean, the services were great (two computers available for use), the staff was helpful and friendly. We said this was the best hostel we've ever stayed at.

Disliked: As other comments have mentioned, the hostel is difficult to fine. We walked past it once. The sign is small and it says Hostel Venecia instead of Downtown Paraiso.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, friendly and helpful staff. nice hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly & helpful staff clean hostel and worth the money the location of the hostel is perfect. (so close to the main attactions)

Disliked: a bit too noisy at night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

joanne edwards

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in the heart of the Barcelona yet no noise to disturb you in the rooms or on the terrace.

Disliked: The only confusion was that the hostel signage says Hostel Venecia, not Downtown Paraiso as stated on the booking form. Luckily, a kind local clarified the confusion

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's an excellent hostel, very well located and with very friendly staff. The room was comfortable and the facilities were all very clean.

Disliked: Nothing really.