HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Itaca Hostel Barcelona Hostel

Ripoll, 21, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.15USD

Important Information

BREAKFAST WON'T BE INCLUDED FROM 1ST NOVEMBER 2015

Barcelona City Taxes not included (0.72 Eur per person/day)

Please note we won't take groups over 10 people (with 1 or several bookings). If you book, your booking will be cancelled and no refund will be made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

Showing 61-18 of 18 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: The location was absolutely perfect :)

Disliked: One thing could be better..I wish there were even one mirror in the eight room dorm.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great, in the middle of barcelona. you could reach every place really quickly. I liked the big common area, the kitchen and the dining room.

Disliked: the beds were squeaking, especially mine and the one below. it was often a big traffic in the facillities so there could be more for girls. and the showers could get another (longer) interval. they turned theirselves off after 10seconds.that's all. but allthough fine. :)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, comfy, makes good use of sometimes limited space. Nice kitchen and dining area (two balconies!). Really good friendly staff. Excellent central location. Beds firm, good quality, and have reading lights. Seems nice and quiet at night - I slept well. Excellent range of guidebooks in library. Good value continental breakfast. I extended my stay. Thoroughly recommend!

Disliked: All I can fault it on is the push-button light in the toilet that you have to press every 15 seconds if you want to see what you're doing!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, clean facilities central location. Value for money

Disliked: If you like some privacy book the single/double room.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This was my first stay at a hostel ever, but I have to say, I think I was spoiled. The staff was very friendly and helpful (my purse was stolen, and they gave us info on how to get to the consulate and police, and let me use their phone for free to make a collect call). I was also amazed at how clean the hostel was. By the end of the day, sure, things could get a little grimy, but, honestly, my sister's apartment looked way worse, and there were 5 people living there instead of 35. And, by the morning, everything was sparkling. The atmosphere was quiet. Nearly everyone there was young (early 20's), but perhaps the lack of a bar at the hostel and the dates we stayed (it was still winter) toned down any real rowdiness. And that was kind of nice. The hostel-stayers were all friendly and respectful; we made a couple friends that we went out with. I never was worried about having my things stolen within Itaca.And location! Oh my god, was it the perfect spot. We were right behind the Cathedral, a 2 minute walk from Jaume I, a 5 minute walk from Placa de Catalunya, La Rambla, and the Port. The city's best restaurants were at our doorstep. Try heading down Carrer de l'Argenteria; your stomach with thank you. Despite the killer location, I was never bothered by noise.

Disliked: Well, this isn't the fault of the hostel, of course, but with a great location, comes a price. NEVER let go of your purse once you step outside. You are right near La Rambla and the pickpocketing definitely oozes out to Via Laietana. Learn from my mistake, if you let your guard down for just one minute, your purse could be gone just outside the Cathedral and you will have to spend a day and a half cancelling credit cards, reporting it to the police, and going to the consulate for a temporary passport. So, no fault of the hostel, but it is a warning.Within Itaca, my only complaints were the 30-second timers on the bathroom lights, sinks, and showers. It's no biggie because you can toggle the buttons as many times as you want, but it just gets a little annoying. I also wished the Wi-Fi signal was stronger upstairs (it was often obsolete), but, hey, it's free Wi-Fi, so what's to complain about?

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The low number of fellow backpackers - I don't think there were even 50 people staying there. Also, the location was superb - right in the centre of the Gothic Quarter, and close to transport and sightseeing attractions.

Disliked: There were no lockers available.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: everything! The location is perfect, it's clean and the staff is very friendly.

Disliked: Anything.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and neat. Well located. Quiet place for rest and repose.

Disliked: You have to pay to use their internet workstations. There are no organized bar-crawls, etc, so if you want to party definitely look elsewhere.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly and central, great atmosphere

Disliked: Computors are not free to use

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was very friendly.The hostel is very good and the cite is wanderful.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability