HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Itaca Hostel Barcelona Hostel

Ripoll, 21, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.13USD

Important Information

BREAKFAST WON'T BE INCLUDED FROM 1ST NOVEMBER 2015

Barcelona City Taxes not included (0.72 Eur per person/day)

Please note we won't take groups over 10 people (with 1 or several bookings). If you book, your booking will be cancelled and no refund will be made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

Showing 51-18 of 18 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff :D

Disliked: A tad congested

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location completely central, fantastic for all sightseeing and only a few minutes walk from the airport bus stop at Placa de Catalunya. We stayed in a private double room in a very secure and well organised apartment of 4 rooms. It's in a narrow lane 4 minutes walk from the main hostel. so you don't have much direct contact but can drop in there anytime for queries etc. The room/bathroom/kitchen were spotlessly clean, kitchen is very small but well equipped and a great breakfast gets brought over each morning with mueslis etc, bread, jams and cakes. Small but super friendly, bright room to sleep in, providing all you need. Even a hairdryer in the bathroom! Kitchen a good place to gather, despite lack of common room. Good mini supermarket around the corner. Is no problem to store luggage for some hours before or after checkin/checkout. Very good value for money. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing really, just remember, as in all these places, to take earplugs as all walls are thin and the windows are not double glazed, so noises come up from the dark "alleylike" echoey lane below (but no cars). Breakfast needs to be staggered as there is only room for 4 people in the kitchen, but that isn't really a problem.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel! I would stay there again if they fixed their blanket issue... see below

Disliked: I slept in one morning till about 11am and the cleaning people came in to change the sheets of the people who had checked out of my room. I watched the cleaning people change the fitted sheet and put the thicker blankets in a pile on the floor. After the fitted sheets were change the cleaning person then proceeded to refold the dirty blankets and put them on each of the beds. This bothered me a lot. If you´re staying at this hostel don´t expect a clean blanket. Bring your own.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's clean and comfortable, all as described. Awesome location!

Disliked: The only thing that puts me down was the male staff who was on duty during the night. We brought up an issue about one of our male roommate being almost fully naked (only had his underwear on) and stared at us (everyone else is female).Even though the problem was solved at the end, he came to us and said 'THIS IS EUROPE, IT'S NORMAL FOR GUYS TO SLEEP NAKED. EVEN IF HE GETS IN YOUR BED DURING THE NIGHT, THIS IS EUROPE!'. This is really irrespective and racist!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bed I slept it was ridiculously comfortable. As an insomniac, that's important to note. I could have slept all day in that bed. Also, the location is superb. Its pretty much in the center of the city, and just a couple blocks away from Las Ramblas, and even closer to La Seu. The staff was friendly and helpful, and thankfully, spoke English, and the place was a lot more secure than I was expecting, really, which is a good thing.

Disliked: Push button showers. Those are annoying, but they're really all I can complain about at this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We, a couple, stayed in the Sant Pere apartment which was well equipped, attractive, clean and quiet. Adjacent to an authentic placa with beautiful church. Great to be part of this friendly local community. Convenient for Barri Gotic, Cuitadella Park with easy access elsewhere via metro. Charming and helpful staff gave us good advice.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location absolutely couldn't be faulted, it was so easy to access all of the city. Staff were super friendly and the hostel was very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location! Has a well-equipped self-service kitchen. There are two common rooms, which are closed at 11 pm to keep noise down for those who want to sleep - very good idea.

Disliked: Non-detachable shower heads - I find them rather unpractical.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location was good, staff friendly, very clean, good breakfast, doubles rooms (which i stayed in) were suitabkey furnished and clean.

Disliked: The apartments with the double rooms (seperate from main hostel) have thin plasterboard walls, so you can here everything from other bedrooms and bathroom..... (use your imagination) and can be noisy because people are not aware of this like you would be in a dorm and make noise as you would in a private room.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was clean and in a great location

Disliked: The staff was not helpful, there was an 11pm curfew, meaning you could not drink in the hostel after 11pm. We had requested a mixed dorm and were placed in a all women's dorm which had males in it. When our friends arrived we were forced to switch rooms to accommodate our male friend. The other guests are not friendly.

Check Availability