HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Itaca Hostel & Apartments

Hostel | Ripoll 21, Barcelona, Spain 08002

91.8% Overall Rating

444 out of 470 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2014)

Caitlyn Ellwood thinks…

"I enjoyed my stay here. The location was great - tucked away in a back street near the cathederal, I almost missed it, but once there, it was so easy to get around and explore the Barri Gotic. Being…"

Read all Itaca Hostel & Apartments reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. For the apartments,we will not take bookings for less than 3 nights even if the booking system processes them.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Confortel Almirante
53.60 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Sercotel Barcelona Sailing
28.97 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hostal Layetana
19.76 USD

Guesthouse 67.1% 14 reviews
Rembrandt Hostel
26.34 USD

Hostel 70.4% 89 reviews
Ramblas Portaferrissa
26.34 USD

Guesthouse 79.2% 37 reviews
AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel
31.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.1% 499 reviews
AAE Annex Hotel
50.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 151 reviews
Chill Out BCN
30.29 USD

Guesthouse 76.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

444 out of 470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Itaca Hostel & Apartments'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 363 of 401 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best location!!!

Disliked: Overall I thought a good hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marcin klocek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, lockers available, kitchen and dining area are big enough. Value for money - don't expect too much when you pay so little - you'll be positively surprised ;)

Disliked: They say it's very close to the beach - it is not that close. However I didn't bother to cry about it on December. Walls are thin and if you unlucky to have noisy people in other rooms you will not get sleep at all (but you'll always know where the party starts to join in:-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Itica was great! They put me in an all-girls room (although I didn't request it) which was nice. They have a great little kitchen and eating area. Also, although I checked in before 2pm they let me store my luggage and take a much needed shower. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: Only negatives...no bar, although they allow you to hang out in the reception area until 3am and there are push-button showers :(

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Morris Puegner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

05 December 2010 Morris would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central, the double rooms in calle beates are very nice rooms and the staff is very helpful. It is in the middle of barrio gothic, the beach (20 min) and rambla (10 min) are in walking distance.

Disliked: We booked a double room and after this we received infornation that we're not gonna stay in the main hostel but in an appartment with 4 double rooms and a small kitchen. This location is 3 blocks away from the main hostel (with recpption and stuff) and has no internet.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel and central location.

Disliked: Very thin walls and can be pretty noisy!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest hostel I've ever been! Fantastic location, and the staff was very helpful. We stayed at a flat two streets away from the actual hostel (it is part of the hostel though), which seems to be used for non-teenagers and was great because it was quiet and extremely clean. Would definitely recommend it to others!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, but still fun. The kind of place where you can meet other travellers who aren't just here to party, but still enjoy the occasional sangria or vino and simulating conversation about stuff that actually matters.

Disliked: Lockers were not as secure as I would like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole zeichick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 November 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, and comfortable. GREAT location!

Disliked: no breakfast included.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise McKeon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 November 2010 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not the best place for meeting people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and kindness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Ratcliffe

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

27 October 2010 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable. Had everything we needed.

Disliked: Nothing, would happily go again!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carola Stahr

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010 Carola would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very much the place, where the appartment was, so that we could get known with many places walking.

Disliked: I didn ´t like to sleep in a small bed with two persons with only one blanket.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff muito gentil, lugar limpo e bem localizado

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. The staff were lovely and very helpful. It was clean and well set out. Would recommend it to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quaint hostel in a great location in Barcelona. Not too far away from La Ramblas but not totally off the beaten path. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities were for the most part modern and all were clean.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit small, and the common room was rarely used making it hard to meet other people at the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, extremely friendly! Directly in the heart of the city in the old part of town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the Monec Apartment (exactly as it appears in the photos on Itaca's website). When we walked in, I immediately noticed the pop art vibrancy to the place. (Kind of hard to ignore since there is a giant Roy Lichtenstein screen print in your face when you enter.) The apartment definitely had a "cool" modern vibe to it, but thankfully the Itaca employees did not sport the matching attitude and were totally down-to-earth and helpful in every way. The Monec apartment had plates, cups, utensils, and random stuff like a cheese grater and DVD player. It even had a washing machine in the kitchen, although it took us a few tries to figure out how it worked (it wasn't that it was in Spanish... just that the explanatory symbols/icons were pretty cryptic, at least to American eyes). The beds were acceptable (a bit soft), linens clean, towels provided, and bathroom sparkling. All in all, it was a perfectly nice stay.

Disliked: The main complaint about the Monec Apartment where we stayed is location. Although a 5-10 minute walk to the hostel and Placa de Catalunya, the apartment itself is located amidst a jungle of narrow side streets. Our first walk there was led by an Itaca employee as there's no way we could have found it ourselves. After making the alley-walk several times, it became second-nature but as a girl I still wouldn't like to do it by myself at night (I was traveling with 3 others). In addition, the Monec Apartment is located on the third floor of a semi-rundown apartment complex in which normal people are living. It felt kind of strange to shoo away little kids who were hanging out on the front doorstep so we could get back to the apartment. On the other hand, I did get a taste of what it might be like to live in Barcelona so there may be some value in that!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sizhen / xiu ping wu / ni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010 sizhen / xiu ping would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to city centre, and really friendly and helpful staff over there! Because there are few people speak English in Sant station, the staff in itaca were really helpful , they help us to tanslate the information on paper, so we can communicate with staff who works in station

Disliked: sizhen / xiu ping left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Clark

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic. A small place but right in the area you want to be in, the Gothic Quarter and a very short walk to shops, restaurants and tourist info. The staff were so good to us and so helpful. I would totally recommend.

Disliked: I felt safe here but the staff would just kind of give up the room keys without much notice of who was asking.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff an location.

Disliked: Notice that you should live a deposit of €6 for the keys...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was great and most of the people were really friendly

Disliked: it was pretty noisy at night, due to rubbish trucks (and, on occasion, other guests).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tuuli Pyykkönen

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

13 August 2010 Tuuli would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great and the location the best.

Disliked: No AC at rooms, so nights were pretty hot at august. Full sized mirror would be cool.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very nice, clean and in a very good location. Though it did take us sometime to locate it, once you know where it is, it's close to the metro stations.

Disliked: It's noisy at night as some people come back later at night, so we were disturbed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan Chan

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 August 2010 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Apartment is very clean and modern. Facilities in kitchen are good.

Disliked: Would be better if there was a lock on the balcony door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and homey. everyone was soooo friendly. the bedrooms were very clean. the free map they gave me was fantastic, i would have been totally lost without it. kitchen facilities were great.

Disliked: not so much about the property but as a warning you should know, Spain has there street signs high up on the side of buildings so it is not easy to see them if u dont know where they are and i got lost when i arrived cos i couldnt orrient myself. also as someone coming from outside of spain i didnt know that everything closes on sunday so u have to buy food ahead. you need a laptop to use the free wifi, the computers cost money to use.