We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Itaca Hostel

Hostel | Ripoll 21, Barcelona, Spain 08002

92.7% Overall Rating

452 out of 478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2015)

Amanda Clark thinks…

"We stayed in a private room in the apartments down the road. It was so quiet and clean. Great kitchen facilities and very adequate breakfast. Loved staying in this apartment."

Read all Itaca Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

BREAKFAST WON'T BE INCLUDED FROM 1ST NOVEMBER 2015 Barcelona City Taxes not included (0.72 Eur per person/day) For the apartments,we will not take bookings for less than 3 nights even if the booking system processes them.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Confortel Almirante
74.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
AAE Annex Hotel
42.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 152 reviews
Hotel Atlas
53.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
A&A ( Palermo)
39.42 USD

Hostel 78.1% 70 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
14.19 USD

Hostel 85.9% 677 reviews
Sun and Moon Hostel
16.90 USD

Hostel 73.7% 877 reviews
Bed&Art Hostel
28.16 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Urquinaona
54.44 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

452 out of 478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Itaca Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 369 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff nice place

Disliked: Make sure you get directions to this place beforehand its kind of hidden between small streets.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at an apartment a few hundred meters off the hostel it self, with four two-person rooms. The location was newly bought and the apartment itself was renovated and lovely. The kitchen and bathroom facilities were above average. The people staying there with us were couples of all ages, and it really was suitable for just that. Couples of any kind. The hostel itself seemed to be excellent for backpackers and youngsters alike, with a very hippie-feel to it and located nicely in a drawn back alley. If I do go back, as I intend to, I'll be staying in the dorms of Ithaca for sure.

Disliked: When we entered the hostel in the evening, we were told that the renovations on the stairs of the building we were to stay at were still going on. Because of this we got a 10 euro-discount and it seemed fair. What wasn't was of course the fact that we weren't informed about this untill the moment we got there. Now. We're pretty active people who wanted to see the city and not stay at the hostel all day, but unfortunetly one of us got a raging tooth-ache and had to stay back alot, sleeping and taking anaesthetic. This we deemed to be pretty freaking difficoult as the builders started at about 8:00 with their hammering and of course (it's catalonia!) didn't stop 'till 10:00 in the evening. The provided breakfast wasn't really worth much either, but we thought as much and bought our own. So that would be the only real complain, except for a straining door. The noise and the fact that we weren't warned about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cezar Antonio Rabelo da Silva

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

03 January 2011 Cezar Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: That there aren´t too many people there, só its calm, but really cool!

Disliked: The bathrrom... it was clean but I didnt like

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kukuh Kurniawan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Kukuh would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and easy access to main tourist attraction

Disliked: crowded and noisy, I can hear the voice across the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was super clean, staff mature, bilingual and helpful and as solo traveler I always felt safe in this area. They are also good about closing common areas near dorm rooms at 11pm so great if you are wanting non party place to stay.

Disliked: Spoiled me for other hostels!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Ford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great! It is a very safe facility with someone monitoring the front door. The common room is very nice but it does close at 11pm to prevent noise at night. Everything is clean. They had a wine social in the evening so it was a great way to meet other hostelers. It is a short walk from the Catalunya Plaza. I loved my stay!!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best location!!!

Disliked: Overall I thought a good hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marcin klocek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, lockers available, kitchen and dining area are big enough. Value for money - don't expect too much when you pay so little - you'll be positively surprised ;)

Disliked: They say it's very close to the beach - it is not that close. However I didn't bother to cry about it on December. Walls are thin and if you unlucky to have noisy people in other rooms you will not get sleep at all (but you'll always know where the party starts to join in:-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Itica was great! They put me in an all-girls room (although I didn't request it) which was nice. They have a great little kitchen and eating area. Also, although I checked in before 2pm they let me store my luggage and take a much needed shower. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: Only negatives...no bar, although they allow you to hang out in the reception area until 3am and there are push-button showers :(

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Morris Puegner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

05 December 2010 Morris would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central, the double rooms in calle beates are very nice rooms and the staff is very helpful. It is in the middle of barrio gothic, the beach (20 min) and rambla (10 min) are in walking distance.

Disliked: We booked a double room and after this we received infornation that we're not gonna stay in the main hostel but in an appartment with 4 double rooms and a small kitchen. This location is 3 blocks away from the main hostel (with recpption and stuff) and has no internet.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel and central location.

Disliked: Very thin walls and can be pretty noisy!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest hostel I've ever been! Fantastic location, and the staff was very helpful. We stayed at a flat two streets away from the actual hostel (it is part of the hostel though), which seems to be used for non-teenagers and was great because it was quiet and extremely clean. Would definitely recommend it to others!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, but still fun. The kind of place where you can meet other travellers who aren't just here to party, but still enjoy the occasional sangria or vino and simulating conversation about stuff that actually matters.

Disliked: Lockers were not as secure as I would like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole zeichick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 November 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, and comfortable. GREAT location!

Disliked: no breakfast included.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise McKeon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 November 2010 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not the best place for meeting people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and kindness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Ratcliffe

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

27 October 2010 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable. Had everything we needed.

Disliked: Nothing, would happily go again!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carola Stahr

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010 Carola would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very much the place, where the appartment was, so that we could get known with many places walking.

Disliked: I didn ´t like to sleep in a small bed with two persons with only one blanket.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff muito gentil, lugar limpo e bem localizado

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. The staff were lovely and very helpful. It was clean and well set out. Would recommend it to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quaint hostel in a great location in Barcelona. Not too far away from La Ramblas but not totally off the beaten path. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities were for the most part modern and all were clean.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit small, and the common room was rarely used making it hard to meet other people at the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, extremely friendly! Directly in the heart of the city in the old part of town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the Monec Apartment (exactly as it appears in the photos on Itaca's website). When we walked in, I immediately noticed the pop art vibrancy to the place. (Kind of hard to ignore since there is a giant Roy Lichtenstein screen print in your face when you enter.) The apartment definitely had a "cool" modern vibe to it, but thankfully the Itaca employees did not sport the matching attitude and were totally down-to-earth and helpful in every way. The Monec apartment had plates, cups, utensils, and random stuff like a cheese grater and DVD player. It even had a washing machine in the kitchen, although it took us a few tries to figure out how it worked (it wasn't that it was in Spanish... just that the explanatory symbols/icons were pretty cryptic, at least to American eyes). The beds were acceptable (a bit soft), linens clean, towels provided, and bathroom sparkling. All in all, it was a perfectly nice stay.

Disliked: The main complaint about the Monec Apartment where we stayed is location. Although a 5-10 minute walk to the hostel and Placa de Catalunya, the apartment itself is located amidst a jungle of narrow side streets. Our first walk there was led by an Itaca employee as there's no way we could have found it ourselves. After making the alley-walk several times, it became second-nature but as a girl I still wouldn't like to do it by myself at night (I was traveling with 3 others). In addition, the Monec Apartment is located on the third floor of a semi-rundown apartment complex in which normal people are living. It felt kind of strange to shoo away little kids who were hanging out on the front doorstep so we could get back to the apartment. On the other hand, I did get a taste of what it might be like to live in Barcelona so there may be some value in that!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sizhen / xiu ping wu / ni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010 sizhen / xiu ping would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to city centre, and really friendly and helpful staff over there! Because there are few people speak English in Sant station, the staff in itaca were really helpful , they help us to tanslate the information on paper, so we can communicate with staff who works in station

Disliked: sizhen / xiu ping left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Clark

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic. A small place but right in the area you want to be in, the Gothic Quarter and a very short walk to shops, restaurants and tourist info. The staff were so good to us and so helpful. I would totally recommend.

Disliked: I felt safe here but the staff would just kind of give up the room keys without much notice of who was asking.