HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Itaca Hostel & Apartments

Hostel | Ripoll 21, Barcelona, Spain 08002

90.2% Overall Rating

436 out of 462 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/11/2013)

"Good location - only a few minute walk to catedral and the center of the city. The staff was helpful."

Read all Itaca Hostel & Apartments reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. For the apartments,we will not take bookings for less than 3 nights even if the booking system processes them.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Confortel Almirante
54.73 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Emily Alhambra hostel
25.57 USD

Hostel 68.2% 29 reviews
Sercotel Barcelona Sailing
40.08 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hostal Layetana
20.73 USD

Guesthouse 68.9% 10 reviews
Rembrandt Hostel
27.64 USD

Hostel 70.4% 89 reviews
Ramblas Portaferrissa
23.49 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 33 reviews
AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel
12.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 485 reviews
AAE Annex Hotel
52.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 149 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

436 out of 462 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Itaca Hostel & Apartments'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 356 of 393 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoke Mui Lim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011 Yoke Mui would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice and centrally located. its is within walking to la rambla and many shops near by.

Disliked: Nil

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Georgia Zigou

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: i like how it gets people closer to know each other better

Disliked: dislike were not so safe

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Allan Picos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011

Liked: Location is excellent

Disliked: Not a fun place to meet people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, minus some people staying there.

Disliked: Everything was good except there were a bunch of students staying there who weren't actually traveling. Very unfriendly, especially to those who are looking for a good time. But, you'll probably have better luck. Everything else was WONDERFUL.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, everything within walking distance, save aria

Disliked: there was just one big bed, two separate beds would be better

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, free lockers

Disliked: quite small, common spaces close at 11pm too early 8 (especially for Spain)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was friendly and clean. Classic hostel environment, nothing too luxurious. Very colorful and a fun place to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Pay for internet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Newman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing. Its in the Gothic Quarter and near both a main thoroughfare as well as a well placed metro station.

Disliked: I can't think of anything I disliked. Its not a big fancy hotel but a nice, small, well located, hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Montoya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2011 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: It had a kitchen

Disliked: NA

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n

Disliked: The hostel is clean, but it is actually TOO clean. The smell of disinfectant throughout the hostel is overbearing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really cute little hostel, friendly and cozy feeling.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Leaper

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2011 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: - really central location - very clean, a cleaner does a super thorough clean every day - staff have been nicest of all hostels I've stayed in - rooms are pretty spacious

Disliked: - to keep the shower running you have to press the button about every 30seconds, but the pressure is alright & they can get quite hot which is nice

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff nice place

Disliked: Make sure you get directions to this place beforehand its kind of hidden between small streets.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at an apartment a few hundred meters off the hostel it self, with four two-person rooms. The location was newly bought and the apartment itself was renovated and lovely. The kitchen and bathroom facilities were above average. The people staying there with us were couples of all ages, and it really was suitable for just that. Couples of any kind. The hostel itself seemed to be excellent for backpackers and youngsters alike, with a very hippie-feel to it and located nicely in a drawn back alley. If I do go back, as I intend to, I'll be staying in the dorms of Ithaca for sure.

Disliked: When we entered the hostel in the evening, we were told that the renovations on the stairs of the building we were to stay at were still going on. Because of this we got a 10 euro-discount and it seemed fair. What wasn't was of course the fact that we weren't informed about this untill the moment we got there. Now. We're pretty active people who wanted to see the city and not stay at the hostel all day, but unfortunetly one of us got a raging tooth-ache and had to stay back alot, sleeping and taking anaesthetic. This we deemed to be pretty freaking difficoult as the builders started at about 8:00 with their hammering and of course (it's catalonia!) didn't stop 'till 10:00 in the evening. The provided breakfast wasn't really worth much either, but we thought as much and bought our own. So that would be the only real complain, except for a straining door. The noise and the fact that we weren't warned about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cezar Antonio Rabelo da Silva

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

03 January 2011 Cezar Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: That there aren´t too many people there, só its calm, but really cool!

Disliked: The bathrrom... it was clean but I didnt like

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kukuh Kurniawan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Kukuh would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and easy access to main tourist attraction

Disliked: crowded and noisy, I can hear the voice across the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was super clean, staff mature, bilingual and helpful and as solo traveler I always felt safe in this area. They are also good about closing common areas near dorm rooms at 11pm so great if you are wanting non party place to stay.

Disliked: Spoiled me for other hostels!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Ford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great! It is a very safe facility with someone monitoring the front door. The common room is very nice but it does close at 11pm to prevent noise at night. Everything is clean. They had a wine social in the evening so it was a great way to meet other hostelers. It is a short walk from the Catalunya Plaza. I loved my stay!!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best location!!!

Disliked: Overall I thought a good hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marcin klocek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, lockers available, kitchen and dining area are big enough. Value for money - don't expect too much when you pay so little - you'll be positively surprised ;)

Disliked: They say it's very close to the beach - it is not that close. However I didn't bother to cry about it on December. Walls are thin and if you unlucky to have noisy people in other rooms you will not get sleep at all (but you'll always know where the party starts to join in:-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Itica was great! They put me in an all-girls room (although I didn't request it) which was nice. They have a great little kitchen and eating area. Also, although I checked in before 2pm they let me store my luggage and take a much needed shower. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: Only negatives...no bar, although they allow you to hang out in the reception area until 3am and there are push-button showers :(

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Morris Puegner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

05 December 2010 Morris would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central, the double rooms in calle beates are very nice rooms and the staff is very helpful. It is in the middle of barrio gothic, the beach (20 min) and rambla (10 min) are in walking distance.

Disliked: We booked a double room and after this we received infornation that we're not gonna stay in the main hostel but in an appartment with 4 double rooms and a small kitchen. This location is 3 blocks away from the main hostel (with recpption and stuff) and has no internet.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel and central location.

Disliked: Very thin walls and can be pretty noisy!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest hostel I've ever been! Fantastic location, and the staff was very helpful. We stayed at a flat two streets away from the actual hostel (it is part of the hostel though), which seems to be used for non-teenagers and was great because it was quiet and extremely clean. Would definitely recommend it to others!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, but still fun. The kind of place where you can meet other travellers who aren't just here to party, but still enjoy the occasional sangria or vino and simulating conversation about stuff that actually matters.

Disliked: Lockers were not as secure as I would like.