HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Itaca Hostel Barcelona Hostel

Ripoll, 21, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 87%

Location 98%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.42USD

Important Information

BREAKFAST WON'T BE INCLUDED FROM 1ST NOVEMBER 2015

Barcelona City Taxes not included (0.72 Eur per person/day)

Please note we won't take groups over 10 people (with 1 or several bookings). If you book, your booking will be cancelled and no refund will be made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 87%

Location 98%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

Showing 31-30 of 30 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really nice staff, our room was lovely, the location is amazing

Disliked: The walls are really thin.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Shopping

Liked: This place is perfect. Really well located, super friendly and helpful staff, clean, rooms spacious, good common areas with wifi. I stayed with my 8 year old daughter and we both loved it. I come to barcelona quite a lot and try different hostels each time. Definately will come back here!!

Disliked: Location, space, clean

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: Walls are like paper so you can hear anything thast is happening outside your room. Very overpowering smell of disinfectant everywhere.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect location for many Barcelona-activities.Good overall impression of the hostel (e.g. kitchen maintenance, breakfast, cleanliness, staff...)

Disliked: Very small room, but I believe while being in Barcelona, nobody wants to stay in the room, anyway. So no big deal.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Todo! Nos movieron a los apartamentos relativamente nuevos y están super bonitos, limpios, ordenados, tienen todo para cocinar, el baño muy amplio, la ubicación está increíble, a 2min caminando del Mercado Santa Caterina y 5min de la Catedral, en pleno Barrio Gótico.

Disliked: Absolutamente nada.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the location as it couldn´t have been more central. it had a kitchen with a stove, fridge, water boiler, coffee machine... so you can buy and cook your own things if you want (though with the amazing restaurant offers in barcelona not really necessary).it had good wi-fi too.

Disliked: Breakfast was "included". however the breakfast was completely useless because it started at 8:30 (most of the time i got up earlier) and there was only a range of sweet not-fresh things available. there wasn´t a single normal item (like fresh bread, eggs, cheese, fruits, veggies, etc,) only sweet things like jam, toast, chocolate spread and cereal. It would have been much better to make the stay a few euros cheaper and without breakfast as i only made use of it once in 5 days and had to vomit afterwards.other problem is with the bed sheets. they did not fit the bed and kept coming off ALL the time. so be prepared to sleep on a bed without bed-sheets.the showers did not have shampoo or soap. the receptionist also had no stamps available for postage.. also didn´t offer to send it. kind of a big minus...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It is clean, centrally located and has everything you need. It was suitable for me and my teenager - we shared a room which was clean and a reasonable size. Staff were friendly, facilities were better than expected. I was very happy with the whole experience.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, right next to the Cathedral and only 10 minutes walking to Plaza Cataluña. Friendly, helpful staff. Lockers in rooms. Clean beds and rooms. Mine had a small balcony, great for fresh air and drying wet beach ware.

Disliked: No air conditioning. I stayed one night mid-August, wasn't so bad because there was a window and an enormous fan (tho a bit loud if you're not into white noise...didn't bother me tho). Also, the bathrooms were a bit sad, fluorescent lighting (yuck!) and not a lot of space to set things and un/dress when showering.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: The location was central and great! The accommodation was really nice and comfortable

Disliked: There was no airconditioning

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location, clean, safe, helpful, friendly, 24 hour desk, etc. Nice that it's not a giant place, and they have a nice common room and kitchen, makes it easy to meet people. Good social atmosphere. Don't need your own lock. Don't charge for sheets. Full service kitchen to use. Good computers that are free to use. Free travel books to borrow.

Disliked: The only thing that was a little annoying was that the lounge and eating area are closed/locked up after 11pm, supposedly to keep the place from getting too loud at night. You can still drink and hangout downstairs in the lobby, but it would have been nice to be able to use the lounge later in the night, especially if someone is sleeping early in your room. 1am would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability