HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Itaca Hostel & Apartments

Hostel | Ripoll 21, Barcelona, Spain 08002

92.3% Overall Rating

442 out of 468 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/06/2014)

Grace Windeyer thinks…

"Free tea, coffee and daily breakfast, clean, secure (lockers included), good kitchen and lounge facilities."

Read all Itaca Hostel & Apartments reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights. For the apartments,we will not take bookings for less than 3 nights even if the booking system processes them.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Confortel Almirante
75.12 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Sercotel Barcelona Sailing
32.14 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hostal Layetana
20.09 USD

Guesthouse 67.7% 13 reviews
Rembrandt Hostel
30.80 USD

Hostel 70.4% 89 reviews
Ramblas Portaferrissa
26.78 USD

Guesthouse 79.5% 36 reviews
AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel
32.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 497 reviews
AAE Annex Hotel
50.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 151 reviews
Chill Out BCN
30.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

442 out of 468 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Itaca Hostel & Apartments'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 361 of 399 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ursula Machalett

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Ursula would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, in the middle of barcelona. you could reach every place really quickly. I liked the big common area, the kitchen and the dining room.

Disliked: the beds were squeaking, especially mine and the one below. it was often a big traffic in the facillities so there could be more for girls. and the showers could get another (longer) interval. they turned theirselves off after 10seconds. that's all. but allthough fine. :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Ainsley

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfy, makes good use of sometimes limited space. Nice kitchen and dining area (two balconies!). Really good friendly staff. Excellent central location. Beds firm, good quality, and have reading lights. Seems nice and quiet at night - I slept well. Excellent range of guidebooks in library. Good value continental breakfast. I extended my stay. Thoroughly recommend!

Disliked: All I can fault it on is the push-button light in the toilet that you have to press every 15 seconds if you want to see what you're doing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first stay at a hostel ever, but I have to say, I think I was spoiled. The staff was very friendly and helpful (my purse was stolen, and they gave us info on how to get to the consulate and police, and let me use their phone for free to make a collect call). I was also amazed at how clean the hostel was. By the end of the day, sure, things could get a little grimy, but, honestly, my sister's apartment looked way worse, and there were 5 people living there instead of 35. And, by the morning, everything was sparkling. The atmosphere was quiet. Nearly everyone there was young (early 20's), but perhaps the lack of a bar at the hostel and the dates we stayed (it was still winter) toned down any real rowdiness. And that was kind of nice. The hostel-stayers were all friendly and respectful; we made a couple friends that we went out with. I never was worried about having my things stolen within Itaca. And location! Oh my god, was it the perfect spot. We were right behind the Cathedral, a 2 minute walk from Jaume I, a 5 minute walk from Placa de Catalunya, La Rambla, and the Port. The city's best restaurants were at our doorstep. Try heading down Carrer de l'Argenteria; your stomach with thank you. Despite the killer location, I was never bothered by noise.

Disliked: Well, this isn't the fault of the hostel, of course, but with a great location, comes a price. NEVER let go of your purse once you step outside. You are right near La Rambla and the pickpocketing definitely oozes out to Via Laietana. Learn from my mistake, if you let your guard down for just one minute, your purse could be gone just outside the Cathedral and you will have to spend a day and a half cancelling credit cards, reporting it to the police, and going to the consulate for a temporary passport. So, no fault of the hostel, but it is a warning. Within Itaca, my only complaints were the 30-second timers on the bathroom lights, sinks, and showers. It's no biggie because you can toggle the buttons as many times as you want, but it just gets a little annoying. I also wished the Wi-Fi signal was stronger upstairs (it was often obsolete), but, hey, it's free Wi-Fi, so what's to complain about?

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The low number of fellow backpackers - I don't think there were even 50 people staying there. Also, the location was superb - right in the centre of the Gothic Quarter, and close to transport and sightseeing attractions.

Disliked: There were no lockers available.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and neat. Well located. Quiet place for rest and repose.

Disliked: You have to pay to use their internet workstations. There are no organized bar-crawls, etc, so if you want to party definitely look elsewhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Tardif

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: everything! The location is perfect, it's clean and the staff is very friendly.

Disliked: Anything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CLOE LEGRAND

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 CLOE would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and central, great atmosphere

Disliked: Computors are not free to use

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio Sebben

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly. The hostel is very good and the cite is wanderful.

Disliked: Fabio left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madhura Chakraborty

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Madhura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything from decor to facilities to location was excellent. Very good value for money. The lounge and eating area were both very relaxing places for hanging out. The kitchen and toilets were always very very clean. The best thing were the reading lamps at the head of the beds so everyone could continue reading late into the night without disturbing anyone.

Disliked: Madhura left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the interior and friendly atmosphere which was created by the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome staff, very clean, great location! it's no real party hostel but it has a very friendly atmosphere, great to chill out!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It was in the PERFECT location, the staff was incredible & it was extremely clean.

Disliked: absolutely nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is quite nice although it was not easy to find there firstly... and the staffs are very kind. itaka is very small and good place to take a rest in barcelona.

Disliked: breakfast does not include... but it's very tasty, especially the coffee made by marina.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent!

Disliked: Sometimes showers are quite cold...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Roper

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, fantastic location. We stayed for 4 nights and had a great break in Barcelona, exactly what is expected from a hostel.

Disliked: The only issue would be that the hostel advertises rooms of 8 and they are rooms of 10 beds instead but the price is still very good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment is all new and comfortable, very good location.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Deng Xunfei

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 October 2011 Deng would recommend this property

Liked: it is clean,location is very good,and safe.Especially the staff and reception is friendly.

Disliked: the room is a bit small, lack of enough neccessay facilities.No tv, Safe box

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, super clean and organised.

Disliked: No problems found.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanne Page

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

16 October 2011 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: apartment available for family stay

Disliked: wifi sometimes not available

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredible, they were so knowledgable and helpful with everything! The set up of the hostel is really cool with big personal lockers in your room.

Disliked: there was nothing to complain about!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roland Kuebert

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 October 2011 Roland would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean hostel at a good location in the heart of the city. Friendly staff, free WiFi, well-equipped kitchen, nothing to complain about.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Malasics

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: They actually serve you a nice breakfast in the morning. It's not free but, for 2 euro, it's pretty good: fresh bread toasted with nice jams, muffins, cold juice and hot brewed coffee. The common rooms are big with cushy furniture and small balconies with tables. The kitchen was great with lots of community food leftovers. Nice lockers. Friendly, competent and accommodating staff

Disliked: Can't think of any deal-breaking problems. It was a little stuffy in the rooms at night. But the beds are comfortable, and I stayed in two rooms, and neither one squeaked.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location!

Disliked: The musty smell on the stairway. The leaky roof that dripped on me when it rained- yuck!. The staff had to place buckets and towels along the stairs. Slight health and safety risk!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanne Gibbs

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, other guests were also friendly . The facilities were all as expected. The environment was relaxed.

Disliked: Only that you do not get the 1.50 euro back for that towel you borrow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fergus Meiklejohn

As a family with children

Business / conference

24 August 2011 Fergus would recommend this property

Liked: Nice flat

Disliked: The stairs are long, and the main entrance is very small.. difficult with little kids..