HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The House Hostel Sokcho Hostel

#452-5 Dongmyeong-Dong, Sokcho, Kangwon Do, Sokcho, South Korea

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 96%

Location 99%

Safety 95%

Staff 99%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sokcho?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 96%

Location 99%

Safety 95%

Staff 99%

Value 97%

Showing 51-50 of 50 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This was one of the best hostels i;ve stayed in South-Korea. The friendly owner gives you an area map at check-in and marks every good sightseeing spots, restaurants and all transport information. The rooms are very clean! They provide good free breakfast, free bike rental and have laundry service! And the hostel is at an good location.

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor, so the water pressure of the shower was not that great,but that didnt bother me much because of all the other facilities they provide!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The place is amazing! feels homey, clean, and easy to be located. Also, by the help of the manager, we've been equipped by a map and so many useful information. And moreover, the manager is able to speak in English, polite, friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: None, all great.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Located within walking distance of the bus terminal and near the harbour in Seokcho, The House is a great little hostel just off from the main road and near to a bus stop which takes you direct to the national park. As soon as you enter, you are greeted by the friendliest of hosts, who is more than willing to advise and assist with your needs. For the price I paid for a one room en suite, I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised by what I was given. A nice breakfast, cosy atmosphere and great location are just a few of the countless positives The House has going for it, I would highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Seokcho or the nearby area.

Disliked: Perhaps understandably, you are not allowed to play with the host's dog, some guests might be more than happy to accept this condition, however as an animal lover, it took a great deal of mental strenth to adhere to this rule. Besides this, there was nothing I disliked about this property.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's location is very close to bus stop and a bus terminal. Restaurants are also within walking distance. Everything is clean. The owner and staffs are very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I love the free bike the most and the breakfast hehehe...and my room...the bed is warm hehehe

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: I love the environment, and how Yoo warmly welcome us. He also gave us some recommendation about the city and one very good korean bbq place! The location also fantastic, just 5 minutes walk to the bus station, we have to catch a very morning bus back to seoul, and we don't need taxi just walk. Very convinient

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had a very short but sweet stay in this hostel. The ambiance is so cozy. They have these cute and cool decors at the lobby, kitchen, dining area. :) I really feel like I'm staying in a Korean-style house. :D Yoo (the host) was very warm and nice. Despite arriving late, he still explained to us the basic how-tos and directions around Sokcho. I also liked their free breakfast, which was offered as early as 5am. :)

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It really feels at home. Mr Yoo was very kind, and very helpful. He explained the surroundings area and gave us recommendation on the itinerary and the transportation to get the tourist sites. The room was very big and very clean. The hostel is very vintage and lively. It is to find and strategic access to transportation/station. I strongly recommend this hostel to everybody who wants to spend the night in Sokcho.

Disliked: Absolutely none.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great stay. Mr & Madam Yoo who run the hostel are helpful & informative. Short stay at Sokcho but very memorable especially Mt Soerak.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is very nice and the introduction from the owner totally nice.

Disliked: the street outside of the hotel quite silent.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability