HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The House Hostel

Hostel | 452-5 Dongmyeong Dong, Sokcho Kangwon-do, South Korea 217-809

96.5% Overall Rating

159 out of 160 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/03/2014)

ELENA TJAU thinks…

"I really recomended for this hostel to stay if you come to Sokcho to go to Mt. Sorak. The staff is very helpfull and care. I really enjoy stay in here with my friend. I want to go back again and stay…"

Read all The House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sokcho Kangwon-do?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

159 out of 160 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The House Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 147 of 159 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theeranan Limthong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Theeranan would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff Advice about travelling

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great owners, very good atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ELENA TJAU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2014 ELENA would recommend this property

Liked: I really recomended for this hostel to stay if you come to Sokcho to go to Mt. Sorak. The staff is very helpfull and care. I really enjoy stay in here with my friend. I want to go back again and stay here again. The location is good and not to far from local terminal bus station. The room is very clean and cozy

Disliked: Perfect and nothing to be complain

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

warita tinuphap

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 warita would recommend this property

Liked: - Clean room - Cloesd to Bus terminal - Low price - Good service

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

SHOOK KIEM LIM

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2014 SHOOK KIEM would recommend this property

Liked: Location and free bike.

Disliked: No cooking facilities and hospitallity.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Windi Wulandari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Windi would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, tocatioan and interior of hostel it's homy

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuan Li

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Yuan would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and wife are VERY FRIENDLY. Once we checked in, he explained to us all the tourist places in the area. The room was really cosy and clean. The room exceeded my expectations with available towels, hair dryer, clothes rack, tv and even bath tub! I would think of the House Hostel as a Hotel than a Hostel. The entire hostel was very homely.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tan Dewi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Tan would recommend this property

Liked: hommy

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helenka Jiricek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Helenka would recommend this property

Liked: It's very near to the Intercity bus terminal (NOT the Express Bus Terminal). It's very close to the bus stop for Seorak mountain. The interior decor was quirky and interesting with a variety of eclectic bits and pieces. I really liked the polished rock collection. The kitchen is a warm centre, great for chatting with other guests.

Disliked: Although wifi was good a few times I tried to go online on their free internet and the system was down. But I think that is more to do with the high mountains around Sokcho and the weather conditions than the Hostel itself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpful and enthusiatic in introducing the attractive places at Sokcho

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

see peng cheah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 see peng would recommend this property

Liked: nice environment and like a small world to gathering around with different country of people.

Disliked: see peng left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff nice rooms great value

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lecras Romain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2013 Lecras would recommend this property

Liked: Tout ! La meilleur guesthouse que j'ai occupé en Corée du Sud, le manager est d'une grande gentillesse, il nous a donné de tres bon conseils pour visiter Sokcho. Le cadre est vraiment sympa. Bref allez y !

Disliked: Rien !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly and helpful, giving us all the info we needed for Seoroksan. And the hostel had such a happy, home-like atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TONY WOO

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 TONY would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sylvain gaffie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 sylvain would recommend this property

Liked: Mr Is really a nicevperson really helpfull. I love the rooms and the place. very clean and tidy.

Disliked: I recommend this hostel 100%

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool hostel, nice outside area to hang out. The owner is very friendly. When we arrived he sat us down with the tourist map of the area and gave loads of advice on what to see & do. The bus to Seoraksan National park is just around the corner from the hostel, and again he can tell you loads about the different hiking trails you can do.

Disliked: The free bikes aren't all that great, but they are free! And just a tip, wear bug spray when sitting outside in summer! Got a couple of bites.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

agus tinus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 agus would recommend this property

Liked: the vibe is very vintage and makes me felt like im at home

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nerissa Ng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Nerissa would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff! super beautiful lounger area.

Disliked: no aircon :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Kai Tong Seow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Leslie Kai Tong would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel that i had stay in. Good rooms, good atmosphere, good and helpful staffs. The owner had spent some time giving me detailed information of the things that I can do in Sokcho town, and how i could get around the town through bus services. Not to miss out that, the owner also helped out with places where I could get good food and try out local specialities. Has not good reasons to miss out this place, if im visiting sokcho again !

Disliked: Leslie Kai Tong left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mr and Mrs Yoo were soooo helpful. They gave us all sorts of tips on where to eat, where to get a cab so they wouldn't overcharge us and where to go in Sokcho.

Disliked: The shower had almost no water pressure so it was difficult to feel like you were getting clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dian Bestari

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Dian would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing! feels homey, clean, and easy to be located. Also, by the help of the manager, we've been equipped by a map and so many useful information. And moreover, the manager is able to speak in English, polite, friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: None, all great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and very good hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIAO ZHOU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 JIAO would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration is sooooo warm

Disliked: JIAO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Barber

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Located within walking distance of the bus terminal and near the harbour in Seokcho, The House is a great little hostel just off from the main road and near to a bus stop which takes you direct to the national park. As soon as you enter, you are greeted by the friendliest of hosts, who is more than willing to advise and assist with your needs. For the price I paid for a one room en suite, I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised by what I was given. A nice breakfast, cosy atmosphere and great location are just a few of the countless positives The House has going for it, I would highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Seokcho or the nearby area.

Disliked: Perhaps understandably, you are not allowed to play with the host's dog, some guests might be more than happy to accept this condition, however as an animal lover, it took a great deal of mental strenth to adhere to this rule. Besides this, there was nothing I disliked about this property.