We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The House Hostel

Hostel | 452-5 Dongmyeong Dong, Sokcho Kangwon-do, South Korea 217-809

96.5% Overall Rating

172 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Everything about the House felt comfortable and welcoming. The laundry room and kitchen felt especially homelike."

Read all The House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sokcho Kangwon-do?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

172 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The House Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 172 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthieu rouchouse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 matthieu would recommend this property

Liked: individual room and individual bathroom for only 20 000 wons! The owner is very sympathic and explains a lot what to do in Sokcho when you arrive.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mairet dominique

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 mairet would recommend this property

Liked: bathroom,

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

orasri wittawatmongkol

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 orasri would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, cleanliness, lovely decorated, and price.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2011

Liked: Very good for travel in sokcho city.

Disliked: No.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Plant

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed at the House Hostel one night but it was an absolute pleasure. The guy who runs it could not have been more helpful in giving information on the local area, such as where to eat, what to see and do etc. The hostel itself is also lovely and has a really pleasant atmosphere and character that I haven't seen in a hostel previously.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We feel like at home. It is clean, safe staying in.

Disliked: no things to say about the dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The welcome & Sokcho tour on map by Owner Yoo at the start was fantastic. he was so helpful & friendly t boot. Rooms where nice & cosey & the location was stella. Free brekky, free bike hire, free patting of the freindly dog what more could you want.

Disliked: Struggled t find anything in all honesty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Manager Yoon is very helpful. He will brief you on all information you would need to know about Sokcho before you even check in to your room. He will provide map for your easy wonder around too. He is young and handsome and speak reasonably good English for a Korean. He and other staffs there are very friendly. Simple breakfast, FOC internet service and computer plus printer is at your disposal. Location is within 5 min walk from Intercity bus terminal and is by the seaside. Bus stop to Mount Seoraksan is just 2 min away by roadside. And this room rental is cheap

Disliked: So far no, everthing to my satisfaction

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUAN LUIS AYLLON PIQUERO

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2011 JUAN LUIS would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and value for the money.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Koh Xin Li Lynette

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2011 Koh would recommend this property

Liked: The host Mr Yew was very nice and he assisted to brief us about the attractions around Sokcho. He also lent us his bicycles for free to ride around the area and recommended us cheap and nice restaurants. Rooms are clean and very good atmosphere in the room and dining area (country style) and we love his dog. Thanks Mr Yew!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MENG FENG CHEW

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 MENG FENG would recommend this property

Liked: The environment is cozy and the rooms are value for money. In addition, Mr Yoo is very helpful and speak good English. He made our stay in Sokcho enjoyable and we would like to revisit this place in the future with a longer stay. We also enjoyed the free breakfast :)

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and friendly atmosphere

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good instructions from the owner about sightseeing around Sokcho.

Disliked: Unfortunatelly I couldn't tray Korean-BBQ, because restaurants don't let you in as single person.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to bus terminal, 5 minutes walk to Hostel. Near to bus stop, 1 minutes walk to bus stop for bus No. 7 to Mt. Sorak and Deapohang fish market at 1000 won for adults and 500 won for children per trip. Direct bus at bus terminal to Yongin bus terminal (transit bus No. 10 to Yangji Pine resort - Ski and/or Everland Bus No. 66 and others). Every convenient location, surrouder with restaurant s (buffet 7000 to 8000 won/pp, jiajiangmean 4000won/dish, near to local market by walk 15 minutes).

Disliked: The heater take too long time to heat up.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mun Choong Mah

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

30 November 2010 Mun Choong would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel looks exactly the same as in the picture - the front facade, the kitchen... And more importantly, the hostel owner, Mr Yoo is really the most helpful owner we've met so far. We really would like to thank him for making our trip so memorable. He had provided so many tips on eating places and sight-seeing spots around Sokcho and Seoraksan.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

King Ho Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 King Ho would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff. good location.

Disliked: Unstable hot water supply

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sin nee tan

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2010 sin nee would recommend this property

Liked: Mr yoo is friendly and he able to provide good information about sokcho. There is free bicycle rental!!

Disliked: Shower pressure low and insufficient lighting in room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wai chi, Helena CHOI

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

11 November 2010 wai chi, Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Warm atmophere sincere and welcoming staff introduce the town and places to visit eat and spa

Disliked: wai chi, Helena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best than price

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful proprietor and staff. Central location, clean, spacious. EVERYTHING

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Guillaume EGGINTON

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2010 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place, excellent people, excellent stay!

Disliked: Guillaume left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bettina Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

24 September 2010 Bettina would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the homey feel it had to it, it felt more like a House than a Hostel.Very aptly named!

Disliked: Our room had a couple of damp stains on the ceiling.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is great, free laundry and an informative introduction.

Disliked: damp patches on the roof in our room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very helpful and offered a lot of helpful services. The rooms were clean and the atmosphere was cozy and friendly. I would recommend this hostel to other travelers. The only thing I would like to see is sheets on the bed instead of just a mattress cover and top cover.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viviana Quaroni

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 Viviana would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at, in the whole world! The owner is a really helpful and kind guy who gave us some great suggestions about the town! Moreover, this hostel offers several free services (internet, laundry, bike rent...) and is just a relaly cool place!! Totally recommended!!

Disliked: Viviana left no negative feedback.