HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The House Hostel

Hostel | 452-5 Dongmyeong Dong, Sokcho Kangwon-do, South Korea 217-809

96.5% Overall Rating

172 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Everything about the House felt comfortable and welcoming. The laundry room and kitchen felt especially homelike."

Read all The House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sokcho Kangwon-do?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

172 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The House Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 172 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luc Rousselle

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Luc would recommend this property

Liked: I have never been to a more friendly and convenient hotel! First class. Would love to stay longer!

Disliked: Everything was wonderful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aranzazu Gonzalez Luna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Aranzazu would recommend this property

Liked: Me aloje en la habitacion 115, la conexion wifi llegaba perfectamente. La habitacion y el banyo son grandes y muy limpios. El hostel esta a 5 minutos de la Intercity Bus terminal, donde se encuentra tambien la oficina de informacion turistica. Al lado del hostel estan los autobuses que te llevan al parque de Seoraksan, se tarda 30 minutos. El desayuno empieza a las 5AM, con lo que te da tiempo de sobra a desayunar, coger el bus y entrar de los primeros al parque. En el hostel te dan un mapa e informacion basica para las distintas ruras dentro del parque. Es un hostal estupendo. Yo viajo sola y la habitacion me costo 20.000 won.

Disliked: Aranzazu left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

aditya wisnu wardhana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 aditya wisnu would recommend this property

Liked: as soon as we get to the hostel, the building is quite unique, it has its character from the decoration. the hotel manager, mr. yoo, was sooooooo kind and nice. he explain to us about sokcho city and its tourist location as soon as we put our luggage. overall, this hostel was soooo comfortable, and i'd like to recommend it for all tourist if they plan to go to sokcho city. :D

Disliked: aditya wisnu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: when you arrive the owner of the house explaines what there is to do in the surrounding area, he really makes you feel at home. I really liked the athmosphere of this places. a place to come back to, to explore some more, when it doen't rain.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cote Colisson Philippe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Cote Colisson would recommend this property

Liked: We've been traveling in Asia for 3 weeks and it is by far the BEST value!! The owners are so welcoming and helpful, they provided us with all facilities: free breakfast, free laundry they do themselves, free bikes ( a little old but who cares?) , all the informations you need to enjoy Sokcho and the Seoraksan park. The rooms are clean and comfortable, there is a very nice and pleasant deck . We were supposed to stay 2 night, we stayed 3 as we loved this hostel so much. And the price is so cheap for all what you get. If you go to Sokcho you MUST stay at the house hostel, you won't regret it.

Disliked: Absolutly nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really recommended guest house in Sokcho, nice, warm and good environment. Mr Lee the owner of The House really friendly and welcome us very nice. Easy to get from Bus station from Seoul.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find and not far from the intercity bus stop. The manager was helpful in giving information about Sokcho. It was cute and clean.

Disliked: There are two semi broken down/burnt down builings next to th ehouse hostel. So is doe not look so nice when you walk to the property.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very relaxied and usefull

Disliked: nothing actually

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great decoration, very homely! we spent quite a bit of time just taking pictures of the hostel common areas itself. Mr Yoo is so helpful with map and recommendations. Breakfast is great - bread which you can toast yourself, cereal with milk. Water dispenser in the room, tissue box, shampoo, liquid soap and toothpaste provided! They even have hair dryer (although ours wasn't working). Close to Sokcho Intercity bus terminal. Cute dog called Gulumi

Disliked: Bathroom dated could use some refurbishment. Have to allow some time for water pressure to build before you can flush the toilet again. Shower water pressure also weak and water not hot enough

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LENNY LENNY

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 LENNY would recommend this property

Liked: house' decoration, complete facilities, very delightful Mr. and Mrs. Yoo and their funny dog

Disliked: none. I love everything this hostel offers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Goran Malmberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Goran would recommend this property

Liked: That it has everything a real hostel needs to have including free breakfast and free loan of bikes.

Disliked: We didn't dislike anything, maybe a few things could have ben slightly better. A bigger inside common room for instance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, and my room had a bathtub! I accidentally left my kindle on the bus when I arrived, and the owner called the bus terminal for me to ask if anyone had turned it in (they had, yay!). I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: I got a bit lost looking for it: it's right near the bus terminal, but it's up a side street, so be sure to turn when you see the GS-25!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hwee Yin Lee

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 April 2012 Hwee Yin would recommend this property

Liked: It's just around 3~5 minutes walk from the intercity bus station. The owner was very friendly. He'll gave you around 20 minutes introduction of Sokcho. How to travel as well as the duration. Besides that, he'll recommend you to the nearest BBQ buffet at only 10,000 won. Worth for money. You can have anything you need inside the room and free breakfast is provided. The decoration was very nice and cozy.

Disliked: The room was a bit small but overall was clean & nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Copland

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2012 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and very friendly, good bus connections too from Dongseoul and to Seoraksan.

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like @ in our home, Good Concept of Interior.

Disliked: The Shower has a bit little water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arlin Maharani

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Arlin would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like home,everything in the house hostel are design so nice and the environment very warm. A lot of souvenir are received from customers around the world for Mr.Yoo. No wonder,its because he such a nice Owner of the hostel. At the 1st time we arrived this hostel,Mr.Yoo explain to us about Sightseeing in Sokcho and approximately tour around Mt.Seoroksan. He has a beautiful hostel that i have ever visit all around Korea. I regret that I just stay overnight in this place,I should take a week to stay in this comfortable hostel :( We booked twin bed,and they provide hair dryer,TV,heater machine,refrigerator,and private bathroom with shampoo for free.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about this hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: recommend

Disliked: recommend

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner went out of his way to give us information on places to visit and how to get to them.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilham Wibawa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 March 2012 Ilham would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, facilities, staff and value for money.

Disliked: Ilham left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome. The deco is wonderful. It has a great location in town, Rates are very reasonable and most importantly is that Mr Yoo gave his customers some briefing of the entire Sokcho. We are all very satisfy with the services provided and the great atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is near to shopping street & beach with lots of things to do/see. The House is like home away from home, feel relax with the interior & confortable room

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best!!!

Disliked: No heat in bathroom, but water is good and hot enought

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sutinee Inthasaen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2011 Sutinee would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration of the hostel is very nice, property is in the good shape, the staff is very helpful, the location is good I would definitely stay there again

Disliked: Sutinee left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Norshamshiah Ali Afandi

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Norshamshiah would recommend this property

Liked: The cozy atmosphere that relaxes the people staying there

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mr Yoo was really friendly and courteous. He actually spent time to explain to us on the local attractions and where abouts.

Disliked: Toilet was a little old.