HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The House Hostel

Hostel | 452-5 Dongmyeong Dong, Sokcho Kangwon-do, South Korea 217-809

96.5% Overall Rating

166 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2014)

Chung Keat Kwan thinks…

"I like how the place was decorated and the facilities that the hostel provides. The room was very clean and cosy. The staff were very friendly and helpful."

Read all The House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sokcho Kangwon-do?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

166 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The House Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 166 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dian Bestari

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Dian would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing! feels homey, clean, and easy to be located. Also, by the help of the manager, we've been equipped by a map and so many useful information. And moreover, the manager is able to speak in English, polite, friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: None, all great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and very good hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIAO ZHOU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 JIAO would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration is sooooo warm

Disliked: JIAO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Barber

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Located within walking distance of the bus terminal and near the harbour in Seokcho, The House is a great little hostel just off from the main road and near to a bus stop which takes you direct to the national park. As soon as you enter, you are greeted by the friendliest of hosts, who is more than willing to advise and assist with your needs. For the price I paid for a one room en suite, I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised by what I was given. A nice breakfast, cosy atmosphere and great location are just a few of the countless positives The House has going for it, I would highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Seokcho or the nearby area.

Disliked: Perhaps understandably, you are not allowed to play with the host's dog, some guests might be more than happy to accept this condition, however as an animal lover, it took a great deal of mental strenth to adhere to this rule. Besides this, there was nothing I disliked about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Perhaps the water pressure of the shower could be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marnix Verzijlbergen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2013 Marnix would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels i;ve stayed in South-Korea. The friendly owner gives you an area map at check-in and marks every good sightseeing spots, restaurants and all transport information. The rooms are very clean! They provide good free breakfast, free bike rental and have laundry service! And the hostel is at an good location.

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor, so the water pressure of the shower was not that great, but that didnt bother me much because of all the other facilities they provide!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location is very close to bus stop and a bus terminal. Restaurants are also within walking distance. Everything is clean. The owner and staffs are very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorie Fe Suplemento

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Lorie Fe would recommend this property

Liked: I love the free bike the most and the breakfast hehehe...and my room...the bed is warm hehehe

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasya Delima Gurning

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 March 2013 Natasya Delima would recommend this property

Liked: I love the environment, and how Yoo warmly welcome us. He also gave us some recommendation about the city and one very good korean bbq place! The location also fantastic, just 5 minutes walk to the bus station, we have to catch a very morning bus back to seoul, and we don't need taxi just walk. Very convinient

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yura Herawati

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2013 Yura would recommend this property

Liked: It really feels at home. Mr Yoo was very kind, and very helpful. He explained the surroundings area and gave us recommendation on the itinerary and the transportation to get the tourist sites. The room was very big and very clean. The hostel is very vintage and lively. It is to find and strategic access to transportation/station. I strongly recommend this hostel to everybody who wants to spend the night in Sokcho.

Disliked: Absolutely none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rieze Rose Calbay

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Rieze Rose would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very short but sweet stay in this hostel. The ambiance is so cozy. They have these cute and cool decors at the lobby, kitchen, dining area. :) I really feel like I'm staying in a Korean-style house. :D Yoo (the host) was very warm and nice. Despite arriving late, he still explained to us the basic how-tos and directions around Sokcho. I also liked their free breakfast, which was offered as early as 5am. :)

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay. Mr & Madam Yoo who run the hostel are helpful & informative. Short stay at Sokcho but very memorable especially Mt Soerak.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very nice and the introduction from the owner totally nice.

Disliked: the street outside of the hotel quite silent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the property location is very close to bus terminal. the house has very quiet and graceful environment. hostel owners are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: can't think of anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sentoso Palekahelu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 Sentoso would recommend this property

Liked: Mr yo and his partner... Was very nice people and very helpful... We love them much... The hostel was very clean and also the atmosphere of the breakfast room was. So adorableeee we love it...

Disliked: Sentoso left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Kung

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 November 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks to Mr. Yoo & his wife, this hostel / B&B was a great start to my adventures here in Korea! It's location is superb, mins' walk to the beach, lighthouse, main street and market. Almost right in front of The House, you can catch a bus to Naksan Temple, Soraksan National Park and other attractions around Sokcho. The intercity bus terminal is also just nearby! The room is sufficient for a really good night sleep before and after hiking in the mountains. Comfy bed and ensuit rooms. Check out the cute light switches!

Disliked: My room was a tad too pinky with roses... Probably it was a honeymoon room lol

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: none. everything is perfect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After talking to others who stayed in other hostels in Sokcho, this one is really the better choice. The friendly welcome and the detailed presentation of all that the city has to offer is the perfect start to a wonderful stay.

Disliked: We were told that there are bikes that we could use, but once we went to use them, none were in working condition. This was really disappointing because of how much it was advertised.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel owner Yoo gives very clear instruction as i am only at sokcho for 1 day to do some hiking. He is very friendly and polite and make sure the rooms are clean and tidy. He suggests good place for dinner and offer free bikes for cycling around town. He speaks very good english and i really appreciated his help alot. The hostel has a warm and cozy feeling and it gives me a break from the city life.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luc Rousselle

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Luc would recommend this property

Liked: I have never been to a more friendly and convenient hotel! First class. Would love to stay longer!

Disliked: Everything was wonderful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aranzazu Gonzalez Luna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Aranzazu would recommend this property

Liked: Me aloje en la habitacion 115, la conexion wifi llegaba perfectamente. La habitacion y el banyo son grandes y muy limpios. El hostel esta a 5 minutos de la Intercity Bus terminal, donde se encuentra tambien la oficina de informacion turistica. Al lado del hostel estan los autobuses que te llevan al parque de Seoraksan, se tarda 30 minutos. El desayuno empieza a las 5AM, con lo que te da tiempo de sobra a desayunar, coger el bus y entrar de los primeros al parque. En el hostel te dan un mapa e informacion basica para las distintas ruras dentro del parque. Es un hostal estupendo. Yo viajo sola y la habitacion me costo 20.000 won.

Disliked: Aranzazu left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

aditya wisnu wardhana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 aditya wisnu would recommend this property

Liked: as soon as we get to the hostel, the building is quite unique, it has its character from the decoration. the hotel manager, mr. yoo, was sooooooo kind and nice. he explain to us about sokcho city and its tourist location as soon as we put our luggage. overall, this hostel was soooo comfortable, and i'd like to recommend it for all tourist if they plan to go to sokcho city. :D

Disliked: aditya wisnu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: when you arrive the owner of the house explaines what there is to do in the surrounding area, he really makes you feel at home. I really liked the athmosphere of this places. a place to come back to, to explore some more, when it doen't rain.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cote Colisson Philippe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Cote Colisson would recommend this property

Liked: We've been traveling in Asia for 3 weeks and it is by far the BEST value!! The owners are so welcoming and helpful, they provided us with all facilities: free breakfast, free laundry they do themselves, free bikes ( a little old but who cares?) , all the informations you need to enjoy Sokcho and the Seoraksan park. The rooms are clean and comfortable, there is a very nice and pleasant deck . We were supposed to stay 2 night, we stayed 3 as we loved this hostel so much. And the price is so cheap for all what you get. If you go to Sokcho you MUST stay at the house hostel, you won't regret it.

Disliked: Absolutly nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really recommended guest house in Sokcho, nice, warm and good environment. Mr Lee the owner of The House really friendly and welcome us very nice. Easy to get from Bus station from Seoul.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.