We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The House Hostel

Hostel | 452-5 Dongmyeong Dong, Sokcho Kangwon-do, South Korea 217-809

97.7% Overall Rating

182 out of 183 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2015)

Andrew Moss thinks…

"An excellent hostel with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Fantastic recommendations by the hostel's manager who was a wonderful host to us. We had a private double room and it was very comfortable and…"

Read all The House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sokcho Kangwon-do?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.7%

Overall Rating

182 out of 183 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The House Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
99.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 182 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tan Dewi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Tan would recommend this property

Liked: hommy

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helenka Jiricek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Helenka would recommend this property

Liked: It's very near to the Intercity bus terminal (NOT the Express Bus Terminal). It's very close to the bus stop for Seorak mountain. The interior decor was quirky and interesting with a variety of eclectic bits and pieces. I really liked the polished rock collection. The kitchen is a warm centre, great for chatting with other guests.

Disliked: Although wifi was good a few times I tried to go online on their free internet and the system was down. But I think that is more to do with the high mountains around Sokcho and the weather conditions than the Hostel itself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpful and enthusiatic in introducing the attractive places at Sokcho

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

see peng cheah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 see peng would recommend this property

Liked: nice environment and like a small world to gathering around with different country of people.

Disliked: see peng left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff nice rooms great value

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lecras Romain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2013 Lecras would recommend this property

Liked: Tout ! La meilleur guesthouse que j'ai occupé en Corée du Sud, le manager est d'une grande gentillesse, il nous a donné de tres bon conseils pour visiter Sokcho. Le cadre est vraiment sympa. Bref allez y !

Disliked: Rien !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly and helpful, giving us all the info we needed for Seoroksan. And the hostel had such a happy, home-like atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TONY WOO

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 TONY would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sylvain gaffie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 sylvain would recommend this property

Liked: Mr Is really a nicevperson really helpfull. I love the rooms and the place. very clean and tidy.

Disliked: I recommend this hostel 100%

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool hostel, nice outside area to hang out. The owner is very friendly. When we arrived he sat us down with the tourist map of the area and gave loads of advice on what to see & do. The bus to Seoraksan National park is just around the corner from the hostel, and again he can tell you loads about the different hiking trails you can do.

Disliked: The free bikes aren't all that great, but they are free! And just a tip, wear bug spray when sitting outside in summer! Got a couple of bites.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

agus tinus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 agus would recommend this property

Liked: the vibe is very vintage and makes me felt like im at home

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nerissa Ng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Nerissa would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff! super beautiful lounger area.

Disliked: no aircon :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Kai Tong Seow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Leslie Kai Tong would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel that i had stay in. Good rooms, good atmosphere, good and helpful staffs. The owner had spent some time giving me detailed information of the things that I can do in Sokcho town, and how i could get around the town through bus services. Not to miss out that, the owner also helped out with places where I could get good food and try out local specialities. Has not good reasons to miss out this place, if im visiting sokcho again !

Disliked: Leslie Kai Tong left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mr and Mrs Yoo were soooo helpful. They gave us all sorts of tips on where to eat, where to get a cab so they wouldn't overcharge us and where to go in Sokcho.

Disliked: The shower had almost no water pressure so it was difficult to feel like you were getting clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dian Bestari

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Dian would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing! feels homey, clean, and easy to be located. Also, by the help of the manager, we've been equipped by a map and so many useful information. And moreover, the manager is able to speak in English, polite, friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: None, all great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and very good hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIAO ZHOU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 JIAO would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration is sooooo warm

Disliked: JIAO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Barber

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Located within walking distance of the bus terminal and near the harbour in Seokcho, The House is a great little hostel just off from the main road and near to a bus stop which takes you direct to the national park. As soon as you enter, you are greeted by the friendliest of hosts, who is more than willing to advise and assist with your needs. For the price I paid for a one room en suite, I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised by what I was given. A nice breakfast, cosy atmosphere and great location are just a few of the countless positives The House has going for it, I would highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Seokcho or the nearby area.

Disliked: Perhaps understandably, you are not allowed to play with the host's dog, some guests might be more than happy to accept this condition, however as an animal lover, it took a great deal of mental strenth to adhere to this rule. Besides this, there was nothing I disliked about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Perhaps the water pressure of the shower could be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marnix Verzijlbergen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2013 Marnix would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels i;ve stayed in South-Korea. The friendly owner gives you an area map at check-in and marks every good sightseeing spots, restaurants and all transport information. The rooms are very clean! They provide good free breakfast, free bike rental and have laundry service! And the hostel is at an good location.

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor, so the water pressure of the shower was not that great, but that didnt bother me much because of all the other facilities they provide!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location is very close to bus stop and a bus terminal. Restaurants are also within walking distance. Everything is clean. The owner and staffs are very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorie Fe Suplemento

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Lorie Fe would recommend this property

Liked: I love the free bike the most and the breakfast hehehe...and my room...the bed is warm hehehe

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasya Delima Gurning

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 March 2013 Natasya Delima would recommend this property

Liked: I love the environment, and how Yoo warmly welcome us. He also gave us some recommendation about the city and one very good korean bbq place! The location also fantastic, just 5 minutes walk to the bus station, we have to catch a very morning bus back to seoul, and we don't need taxi just walk. Very convinient

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yura Herawati

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2013 Yura would recommend this property

Liked: It really feels at home. Mr Yoo was very kind, and very helpful. He explained the surroundings area and gave us recommendation on the itinerary and the transportation to get the tourist sites. The room was very big and very clean. The hostel is very vintage and lively. It is to find and strategic access to transportation/station. I strongly recommend this hostel to everybody who wants to spend the night in Sokcho.

Disliked: Absolutely none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rieze Rose Calbay

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Rieze Rose would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very short but sweet stay in this hostel. The ambiance is so cozy. They have these cute and cool decors at the lobby, kitchen, dining area. :) I really feel like I'm staying in a Korean-style house. :D Yoo (the host) was very warm and nice. Despite arriving late, he still explained to us the basic how-tos and directions around Sokcho. I also liked their free breakfast, which was offered as early as 5am. :)

Disliked: Nothing.