HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The House Hostel

Hostel | 452-5 Dongmyeong Dong, Sokcho Kangwon-do, South Korea 217-809

96.5% Overall Rating

172 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Everything about the House felt comfortable and welcoming. The laundry room and kitchen felt especially homelike."

Read all The House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sokcho Kangwon-do?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

172 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The House Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 172 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sylvain gaffie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 sylvain would recommend this property

Liked: Mr Is really a nicevperson really helpfull. I love the rooms and the place. very clean and tidy.

Disliked: I recommend this hostel 100%

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool hostel, nice outside area to hang out. The owner is very friendly. When we arrived he sat us down with the tourist map of the area and gave loads of advice on what to see & do. The bus to Seoraksan National park is just around the corner from the hostel, and again he can tell you loads about the different hiking trails you can do.

Disliked: The free bikes aren't all that great, but they are free! And just a tip, wear bug spray when sitting outside in summer! Got a couple of bites.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

agus tinus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 agus would recommend this property

Liked: the vibe is very vintage and makes me felt like im at home

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nerissa Ng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Nerissa would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff! super beautiful lounger area.

Disliked: no aircon :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Kai Tong Seow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Leslie Kai Tong would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel that i had stay in. Good rooms, good atmosphere, good and helpful staffs. The owner had spent some time giving me detailed information of the things that I can do in Sokcho town, and how i could get around the town through bus services. Not to miss out that, the owner also helped out with places where I could get good food and try out local specialities. Has not good reasons to miss out this place, if im visiting sokcho again !

Disliked: Leslie Kai Tong left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mr and Mrs Yoo were soooo helpful. They gave us all sorts of tips on where to eat, where to get a cab so they wouldn't overcharge us and where to go in Sokcho.

Disliked: The shower had almost no water pressure so it was difficult to feel like you were getting clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dian Bestari

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Dian would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing! feels homey, clean, and easy to be located. Also, by the help of the manager, we've been equipped by a map and so many useful information. And moreover, the manager is able to speak in English, polite, friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: None, all great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and very good hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIAO ZHOU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 JIAO would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration is sooooo warm

Disliked: JIAO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Barber

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Located within walking distance of the bus terminal and near the harbour in Seokcho, The House is a great little hostel just off from the main road and near to a bus stop which takes you direct to the national park. As soon as you enter, you are greeted by the friendliest of hosts, who is more than willing to advise and assist with your needs. For the price I paid for a one room en suite, I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised by what I was given. A nice breakfast, cosy atmosphere and great location are just a few of the countless positives The House has going for it, I would highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Seokcho or the nearby area.

Disliked: Perhaps understandably, you are not allowed to play with the host's dog, some guests might be more than happy to accept this condition, however as an animal lover, it took a great deal of mental strenth to adhere to this rule. Besides this, there was nothing I disliked about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Perhaps the water pressure of the shower could be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marnix Verzijlbergen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2013 Marnix would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels i;ve stayed in South-Korea. The friendly owner gives you an area map at check-in and marks every good sightseeing spots, restaurants and all transport information. The rooms are very clean! They provide good free breakfast, free bike rental and have laundry service! And the hostel is at an good location.

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor, so the water pressure of the shower was not that great, but that didnt bother me much because of all the other facilities they provide!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location is very close to bus stop and a bus terminal. Restaurants are also within walking distance. Everything is clean. The owner and staffs are very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorie Fe Suplemento

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Lorie Fe would recommend this property

Liked: I love the free bike the most and the breakfast hehehe...and my room...the bed is warm hehehe

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasya Delima Gurning

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 March 2013 Natasya Delima would recommend this property

Liked: I love the environment, and how Yoo warmly welcome us. He also gave us some recommendation about the city and one very good korean bbq place! The location also fantastic, just 5 minutes walk to the bus station, we have to catch a very morning bus back to seoul, and we don't need taxi just walk. Very convinient

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yura Herawati

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2013 Yura would recommend this property

Liked: It really feels at home. Mr Yoo was very kind, and very helpful. He explained the surroundings area and gave us recommendation on the itinerary and the transportation to get the tourist sites. The room was very big and very clean. The hostel is very vintage and lively. It is to find and strategic access to transportation/station. I strongly recommend this hostel to everybody who wants to spend the night in Sokcho.

Disliked: Absolutely none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rieze Rose Calbay

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Rieze Rose would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very short but sweet stay in this hostel. The ambiance is so cozy. They have these cute and cool decors at the lobby, kitchen, dining area. :) I really feel like I'm staying in a Korean-style house. :D Yoo (the host) was very warm and nice. Despite arriving late, he still explained to us the basic how-tos and directions around Sokcho. I also liked their free breakfast, which was offered as early as 5am. :)

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay. Mr & Madam Yoo who run the hostel are helpful & informative. Short stay at Sokcho but very memorable especially Mt Soerak.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very nice and the introduction from the owner totally nice.

Disliked: the street outside of the hotel quite silent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the property location is very close to bus terminal. the house has very quiet and graceful environment. hostel owners are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: can't think of anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sentoso Palekahelu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 Sentoso would recommend this property

Liked: Mr yo and his partner... Was very nice people and very helpful... We love them much... The hostel was very clean and also the atmosphere of the breakfast room was. So adorableeee we love it...

Disliked: Sentoso left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Kung

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 November 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks to Mr. Yoo & his wife, this hostel / B&B was a great start to my adventures here in Korea! It's location is superb, mins' walk to the beach, lighthouse, main street and market. Almost right in front of The House, you can catch a bus to Naksan Temple, Soraksan National Park and other attractions around Sokcho. The intercity bus terminal is also just nearby! The room is sufficient for a really good night sleep before and after hiking in the mountains. Comfy bed and ensuit rooms. Check out the cute light switches!

Disliked: My room was a tad too pinky with roses... Probably it was a honeymoon room lol

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: none. everything is perfect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After talking to others who stayed in other hostels in Sokcho, this one is really the better choice. The friendly welcome and the detailed presentation of all that the city has to offer is the perfect start to a wonderful stay.

Disliked: We were told that there are bikes that we could use, but once we went to use them, none were in working condition. This was really disappointing because of how much it was advertised.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel owner Yoo gives very clear instruction as i am only at sokcho for 1 day to do some hiking. He is very friendly and polite and make sure the rooms are clean and tidy. He suggests good place for dinner and offer free bikes for cycling around town. He speaks very good english and i really appreciated his help alot. The hostel has a warm and cozy feeling and it gives me a break from the city life.

Disliked: Nothing