We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Seoul hostels

Reviews of SEOUL HOSTEL

Hostel | 6 CheungJin-dong, JONGNO-Gu, Seoul, South Korea 110-130

82.7% Overall Rating

29 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2014)

Miyuki Yamagata thinks…

"The location is extraordinarily good. There are various historical temples around the hostel. And the staffs are kind and friendly (They speak English)."

Read all SEOUL HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seoul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seoul

Guesthouse Maru
28.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dongdaemun Hostel
42.62 USD

Hostel 82.9% 7 reviews
Hongdae Uncle Residence
19.89 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 6 reviews
Able hostel in Dongdaemun
18.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HostelWOW
30.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Yellow Brick
28.41 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
Sunshine Guesthouse
20.84 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 15 reviews
Fortune Jongno Hostel
17.05 USD

Hostel 96.1% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

29 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SEOUL HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clarence San

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Clarence would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Won Choi

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 June 2014 Won would recommend this property

Liked: :)

Disliked: :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miyuki Yamagata

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014

Liked: The location is extraordinarily good. There are various historical temples around the hostel. And the staffs are kind and friendly (They speak English).

Disliked: The toilet and bathroom are downstairs, so it's not convenient. And they're not clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They provide kitchen with its utensils and also cooked rice and microwave. It's good to safe money on food by heat some cheap food that sold in nearby minimarket. Also the place is downtown and near some places such as Jongno Tower etc that can be visit on foot.

Disliked: Very small room, but it's okay if you just need place to sleep for few hours.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: rooms too small and tiny common rooms staff could be more helpful

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: The rooms are very, very small ! We booked the room and we did not know, that it will be without the window and even we got window it was so noisy outside. The hostel doest have any common room. All around the hostel they r building something, so it was very noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice staff, super clean, good wifi, free coffee and free use of the washing machine

Disliked: Possibly the smallest hostel room in the world. A double basic room was 2m x 1.5m but it was half the price of any other hostel for a private room so you can't really complain. Could be hard to find if you don't print off the photo directions as there is no sign for the hostel outside the building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Soderstrom

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 May 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice with washingmashine and kitchen an so on, great wifi and the guy who works there is the BEST ever! really friendly and awnser every question!

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is central and have a lot of paces for eating, supermarket and transportation

Disliked: Has to go downstears for toilet

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: The walls were so thin you can hear everything from the rooms either side and the corridor. Ashtrays were provided in the toilet cubicles so people could -and did - smoke in there. There were no common areas to meet people. The staff spoke virtually no English and weren't helpful. The "new" address on their website is completely wrong and I had to stop people on the street, who called the hostel, then walked me there

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013

Liked: Nothing. Service was not with a smile. And the room was tiny, like the size of a closet. I couldn't even spread out my arms fully.

Disliked: The internet was terrible. At first it didn't work, then after hassling them for about 30 minutes, it started working, but was super slow. For a country with supposedly the fastest internet in the world, this hostel's internet sucked.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. You can go to subway on foot around 5~7 mins. If you travel alone, and you need something prviate. This hostel would be good for you!

Disliked: The stuff don't offer information too much. You must ask them and then, they will told you.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very flexible and the lack of curfew was nice. I liked that in the private rooms, you could really have your own private space, though because of that, people didn't congregate in a common room as they often do in other hostels--after staying for a night, I didn't meet any of the other guests. But, that did make it a more quiet night.

Disliked: The walls are paper-thin, so you do hear much of what goes on outside, and if you want to stay an extra night, you have to make sure to book it online, otherwise the price goes up.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great cheap single bedrooms. Nice little roof, could be cool in the summer. Good location.

Disliked: Super hard to find. No english sign outside!!!!! I arrived late at night in the snow, walked past the front door four times before I could find it, even with the directions copied from the web.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

guignard roland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 guignard would recommend this property

Liked: good location not expansive

Disliked: not very clean bedroom very small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location - ideal for visiting places of interest. Good value for money and well run.

Disliked: Would have liked curtains to the windows.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jan Oerlemans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: central location, cheap

Disliked: The boy at the reception. He forget to make my reservation to Panmunjon. So I missed this excursion, what was a big desillusion for me

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient transportation

Disliked: Poor soundproofing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, free laundry facilities (including detergent), no curfew, safe atmosphere, roof to hang your washing, good kitchen with complimentary coffee, water, etc, free use of phone to call abroad (even to mobiles in some countries), good central location. Pretty good value for money.

Disliked: Air conditioning was a massive problem. I am basing this on staying in the height of summer, so this negative point wont necessarily apply during different seasons... But yeah, the air con was off at night, and therefore we barely slept. It was SO HOT. Unbearable. Me and my boyfriend had to go out for a walk in the middle of the night because we couldn't stay in our room any longer. This means I WOULD NOT stay again during the summer months... other months maybe, as this was the only bad point. Bathroom could have been a little bit cleaner, but I wasn't too bothered. Also, if you are tall and stay in a private one bunkbed room like me and my boyfriend, you might not fit in the bed! My boyfriend, at 6"1 had to curl up a bit!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, and the staff was very nice.

Disliked: There was a lot of mold in the bathroom that could have been easily cleaned up. There is no sign anywhere on the outside of the building to indicate that the hostel is there. Also, they required a passport at check-in, although this is not mentioned anywhere in the description online.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DOROTA MIAGOWSKA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 DOROTA would recommend this property

Liked: bardzo dobre polozenie w centrum miasta

Disliked: jest bardzo blisko wszystkich ciekawych miejsc w Seulu

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wei Yuan Min

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Wei Yuan would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the places that I want to see in Seoul. Supermarket near by.

Disliked: Locks can be worrying sometimes..a bit insecure but hey all was cool.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEAN MARC JARAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 JEAN MARC would recommend this property

Liked: Situed in downtown.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Bardsley

Alone

Business / conference

23 December 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean and well-run hostel in an excellent location close to some of the main sights but in a quiet road.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TV in room, microwave and hot pot in common room

Disliked: Old room, you should change to colorful wallpaper or bed to refresh Small blanket No shower cream


See all Seoul hostels