We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Seoul hostels

Reviews of Backpackers Inside

Hostel | 5 Sungkyunkwan-ro-4-gil, Seoul, South Korea -

87.3% Overall Rating

114 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

Jacki Thering thinks…

"I stayed here with my 76-year-old grandmother and sister in a private room. My grandma was very impressed with her first hostel stay -- large room, very clean, helpful staff, computer & sink & fridge…"

Read all Backpackers Inside reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 75.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept Korean Cash(won) or US $ in advance when check-in..( No Credit/Debit Card ) Cancelation: If you need to cancel your booking please email us. We only accept email cancelations.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seoul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Seoul

Yellow Brick2
18.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Korea Changdeokgung
21.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Khaosan Seoul Insadong
23.68 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 3 reviews
Yellow Brick
28.41 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
Fortune Jongno Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 96.1% 25 reviews
Apple Backpackers
20.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Windflower Guesthouse
14.21 USD

Guesthouse 67.8% 71 reviews
Sunshine Guesthouse
20.84 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

114 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Inside'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacki Thering

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2014 Jacki would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with my 76-year-old grandmother and sister in a private room. My grandma was very impressed with her first hostel stay -- large room, very clean, helpful staff, computer & sink & fridge in the room. I've stayed here many times during my year teaching in Korea!

Disliked: Jacki left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are nice and helpful . The room and the toilet are clean . And it has a great location which is near one of the most famous sightseeing point in Seoul and there is a lot of good restaurant around.

Disliked: 1 ) The deluxe three people bedroom is kindly of small ... we cant even walk around if all the luggage put inside... 2 ) Have to walk with bare foot in the common area .. kind of inconvenience 3 ) No lift , have to walk up stair which is not easy if you have heavy luggage.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

felipe montoya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Hi there is Felipe, I stayed in the Hostel for three weeks long. Ii Had a great experience in the place, the staff are awesome, the people that I meet in the hostel are unforgettable and the rooms are good enough for have a comfortable time in Seoul. Also the location is very convenient for tourist because is very close to the city Hall. Have to mention that I loss my debit card in the time that I was in Seoul. they were very comprehensive about my situation and helped me all the time Thanks!

Disliked: felipe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siraya.s@gmail.com Siraya.s@gmail.com

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Siraya.s@gmail.com would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything. Convention location( food, bus, metro, spa, museum) staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Don't have trash can around. Very difficult to find it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Schmid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, nice atmosphere, clean, nice breakfast

Disliked: the bathrooms were cold! (in January...)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Blowers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The people running backpackers inside were very friendly and helpful. There was a nice eggs and toast breakfast in the morning and everything was clean. The hostel was not very far from the subway/metro and was somewhat centrally located just a few stops in either direction away from sightseeing.

Disliked: The beds were very firm and the pillow was very small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is an old review. We stayed in summer 2012. We booked beds in a 6 bed dorm but were upgraded to a 4 bed dorm (ensuit) and that was great first impression! Our room was in another building 3-min walk away from the main reception. The bathroom is clean. Facilities are new. Computer in our dorm and wifi work well. No curfew which is great- we have the password to the door lock. The area felt secure and we can walk to the hostel after midnight, but maybe everywhere in Seoul is safe. There are restaurants and bakery at very affordable price nearby. The staffs are helpful and help carry my luggage for me. Overall very nice stay. Highly recommended!

Disliked: If you have heavy luggage then the 10-min walk between the hostel to the metro station/airline bus stop can be hard. In the other building I stay, there seems to be no common room so we did not see anybody from other dorms, no problem for us but maybe not to the liking of a solo traveler

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we booked a six bed dorm but were upgraded to a four bed dorm (ensuit), which is great first impression. wifi works well in room. room and the ensuit bathroom are clean. there are shops and restaurants at very affordable price nearby.

Disliked: we have heavy luggage so 10 min walk between the hostel and the station/bus stop is hard.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

HONG YIJING

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013

Liked: Valuable price. The staff explained the way to the hostel in a very detailed way, which is quite helpful!!

Disliked: The wifi collection is not fast enough when many people sharing it. The female only dorm is not at the same building for registration, but they didnot let me know before. So Ihave to take heavy luggage to the 2nd floor to register, and take it away again to another building of the female dorm. It is not far away though, but to bring the luggage and climb stairs is trouble some. Go to another building to have breakfast instead of the house originally stay is also troublesome.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location. helpful information on sights, given a map & will make show or tour bookings for you

Disliked: room with window has cold draft come out bottom of curtains so room really quite cold.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice hostel. Staff and nice and main building is really nice. Location is also awesome.

Disliked: Let me just be clear about this to those thinking of staying. The hostel is split over two location (within a 1 minute walk of each other). If you pick the 6 bed dorm you will likely end up in the second location which is essentially a glorified shed. I will quickly add the building is warm, and has EVERYTHING you could possibly need (bar space, but those with hotel standard expectations be warned. I try to turn any negative into a positive with every place I go so I shall also say that staying in the secondary site did give me a strong bond with the other guests I often dont get in more conventional accommodation and I was kinda sad to leave the place. For me, just try it, at least for one or two nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippe Drolet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful, very close to the subway

Disliked: Philippe left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and me stayed in the main building so this review is only about this place. They have other buildings as well, but I didn't see them. I liked the friendly and open atmosphere but as I only stayed there for one night I cannot say that much. It felt a bit like my shared student flat - relaxed and colourful. We arrived a lot earlier that day (10 AM) and still got a free breakfast, which I thought was pretty cool. People are nice and even if you travel alone, I'm sure you'd find someone there to go for a sightseeing adventure or what you want. There are two PCs with Internet (free use) and there is free WiFi as well. You don't have to pay any additional fees for using a small towel and the bed sheets are washed and the beds are comfortable. The room might seem small for 6 people (We were in the 6 bed dorm (female dorm). But if you only stay there to sleep it's fine. I think for the price we got an amazing youth hostel which is in the city center and just 5 min from subway and 3 min to the Airport Bus Limousine (10.000 Won for one way). I'd come again.

Disliked: The shared toilets (man/woman) in the main building were a bit uncomfortable for me. Maybe personal taste, but I don't like the idea of having the pissoir next to the door and the 2 toilets behind it. Anyways. But else I don't have anything "negativ" to say. Just one small recommendation. If you did a full day of shopping and just want to sleep or rest from a long travel, maybe it's better to get a private room. Depends on the people who stay there, but for us it was still loud at 1am. If you are out at that time anyway - no problem then ;P

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are great, free breakfast, free laundry, free maps/info about what to do, living room with tv, cozy and homelike feel, and good location

Disliked: No balcony to smoke on, small hostel

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Tiny airless rooms with very poor air circulation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Allessie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean! And the most helpfull staff!

Disliked: Bit expensive drying machine

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere. Very helpful planning out our day's itinerary and helped us book events. Good location (semi-downtown)

Disliked: The 2-person private room (shared bathroom) that we booked was surprisingly small. I've stayed in many hostels and already expect cramped spaces but this was by far the least room we've had. The room size is basically large enough to contained a bunk bed against the wall and just enough walking space on one side of the bed that is about shoulder's width.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's convenient.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katie Dow

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good right by a couple palaces.

Disliked: We were put in an annex, which I really didn't like. It's a tiny place with no social atmosphere at all. I can't attest to the rest of the place but I did not really enjoy my stay in the annex.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Villarreal Carvajal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: staff is really helpful, breakfast and the extra commodities are just perfect.

Disliked: nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is lots of stuff to do in the neighborhood around the hostel and easy access to transportation. Would stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding staff, (thanks Britt your the best) great location and met some lovely people. Would definitely stay here again. Wifi always worked even in the bedroom, this hostel exceeded my expectations.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool staff, cheap food in the area, near the airport bus (less than 5 min) and less than 10 min from subway

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place, so friendly & helpful. Free brekkie & wifi. Lovely atmosphere. Great location, don't believe other reviews that its too far out of the way...v short walk to the subway & a nice refreshing walk to the palaces if your feeling healthy : ) travelled alone...always felt safe.

Disliked: Tad noisey at times but that just depends on whose staying there at the time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tomas Axler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: The "korean" experience. Very tiny private room with no windows. Excellent information, maps and hints provided by stav and even sent by email upon reservation. Well equipped bathroom. Didn't use the kitchen but it looked very well equipped. Free modest breakfast and 2 computers with free internet.

Disliked: The tiny private room with no windows :)


See all Seoul hostels