HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Forest Hostel

Guesthouse | 7-1, Gwandeok-ro 15-gil, Jeju-, Jeju Island, South Korea 15-gil

90.1% Overall Rating

24 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2014)

"Good location...easy access to public transports.Eg.MRT, Taxis, Buses. Walking distance to all "shopping" spots, famous food streets, Markets. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, Rates are cheap, staff so helpful,…"

Read all The Forest Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Jeju Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Jeju Island

Greenday guest house & backpackers
18.94 USD

Apartment 95.9% 9 reviews
HK Jeju Guesthouse
14.21 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 33 reviews
YEHA Guesthouse
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 96.7% 32 reviews
Yeha Guesthouse CityHall Branch
20.84 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Backpackers in Jeju City Center.
18.00 USD

Hostel 95.4% 49 reviews
Worlang House
28.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Be Road House
17.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker's Home
23.68 USD

Hostel 96.1% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

24 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Forest Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 26 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Peacock

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff with excellent English

Disliked: Check in time of 3pm - difficult to enter room before that time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful and they also spoke English very well.

Disliked: Air conditioning was not working properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location...easy access to public transports.Eg.MRT, Taxis, Buses. Walking distance to all "shopping" spots, famous food streets, Markets. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, Rates are cheap, staff so helpful, kind and friendly. Most impressed with a male staff who arranged to have my deposit refunded at the Hostel in our next stop, Seoul....(we checked out before the office opened. Surprised that we even had complimentary breakfast in a big basement kitchen/dining hall......Can't find any negative comments for this nice hostel.

Disliked: can't think of anything unpleasant......

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

?? ?

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 ?? would recommend this property

Liked: no

Disliked: ?? left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, friendly staff and everything you require from a hostel. Also the front is like a mini forest!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well designed, clearly with boarders in mind. Rooms were clean, comfortable and had heated floors. Best of all staff there were just stunningly nice and helpful. Danny the owner knows the island like the back of his hand, so definitely ask him if you need travel advice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hafizah Hassan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Hafizah would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious & clean room, helpfull staff & only 10minutes bus ride from the airport. Shopping area are within walking distance

Disliked: The telephone number was not updated in hostelbookers & we drove to the wrong hostel as our GPS can be only set up using phone number becouse we can't understand Korean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HONG YIJING

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013

Liked: The staff are very nice and helpful!!

Disliked: Wifi is weak.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff at the hostel were superhelpful and cool. All facilities and rooms were clean. I would say that the hostel is really good value considering cost, location and the facilities available. They've also got a very spacious lounge downstairs. Just remember that if you are taking the bus to the airport, you need to take the 200 bus, not the 100 bus to go there. Ask the Hostel.

Disliked: Location wasn't so great, but its a small problem as the hostel provided very good directions to go everywhere. So I would stay here even though its not really close to the sites of Jeju, since public transportation is pretty good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Mehlich

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fancy design of the house, superfriendly staff and excellent service!

Disliked: Third floor south side: Noise of Noraebang (Karaoke) next door can be heard all night long.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

caroline do

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Danny and his staffs are very well versed in english and able to guide the tourists on the places of interests while we were visiting jeju. We had a good time while we were there and his constant caringness and ability to put us at ease like we are family.

Disliked: We are not sure whether it is the autumn season that we are manifested with mosquitoes, lots and lots of them. We had sleepless nights because of the mosquitoes that we had to catch and kill them before we sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aida Karamesic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Aida would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great!!! Centered and very easy access.

Disliked: Coffee is horrible! Even if just plain Nescafe was offered, it would be better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and staffs are really good.

Disliked: nil

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are all nice, friendly, helpful and alway ready to give good advice. Location is easy to approach everywhere. We enjoyed our stay at this hostel and would highly recommend to our friends.

Disliked: nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karly Fasth

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2013 Karly would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and fluent in English, which is hard to come across here. The room was very spacious and clean. There are lots of food options around and convenience stores.

Disliked: I liked everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel is amazing. They are friendly and helpful in every way. If you go to Jeju without a plan they are more than willing to tell you things to do and places to eat etc. Alex was amazing from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay. The free breakfast is simple toast and jam with coffee or tea but it is all you need and its free. We stayed in a private room which was great. It was small but it was all that we needed. We rented a car and they made sure there was room for us to park in front of the hostel. Anything we needed they were there to help with. The staff really made the hostel a great place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WENTING JIANG

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 WENTING would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, only 5 mins work from the traditional dongmum market and the underground shopping mall, and also near the black pork street. Staff is nice room is clean . The gentleman is so nice that drove me to HK 2 because the taxi driver had takene to HK 1 . Thank you very much!

Disliked: Breakfast is a little bit poor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Daniel Stamp

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly staff. The room was very clean too.

Disliked: The breakfast - whilst I wasn't expecting much - was dreadful, there was (for example) teabags but no amenities for obtaining hot water (which kind of defies the point of the teabags in my opinion). Also, some reviews say there is a beach nearby but this is not the case - there is certainly no beach in walking distance of the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Javed Mian

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 May 2013 Javed would recommend this property

Liked: Its good over all except tricky wording about breakfast

Disliked: They offer bteakfast, but it's not good at all. Better they say clearlym NO BREAKFAST. No eggs, no cerial, milk or butter. just junk bread jam and coffee.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, friendly and helpful staffs. Clean Korean style dorm room with bright/warm color deco. Super convenient WIFI connection. 5 minutes walk to the famous Dongmun market, Daiso, local restaurants, No.100 & 200 bus stop. 15 minutes walk to Emart and waterfront.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Lim

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly, patient and helpful- always ready to answer our questions. I took the double bed room and it was a pleasant surprise to discover ther was a TV and a mini fridge provided. Location-wise it is very conveniently near the dongmun market and 2min walk to the nearest bus stop.

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Kim

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2013 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and friendly and the pillow was the plushiest pillow I have ever slept on of all the hostels I have stayed at thus far.

Disliked: Quite a distance from nearly all of the main attractions in Jeju. Not all that central.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room

Disliked: a bit far from tourist attractions

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Levy Solomon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Levy would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very close to the airport. It was less than 4000 won, and only a few minutes away. Its also close to Black Pork Street and had a few shops in the area.

Disliked: Levy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for 2 nights because Yeha Hostel was full. I had stayed at Yeha Hostel for 3 nights beforehand and overall, Yeha is the better hostel. Still, HKjeju II was generally fine and rates are cheaper. Nice big, roomy dorms which I might add were far bigger than Yeha's dorms. Clean. I hear a lot of other hostels on Jeju are dirty and have cockroaches. My dorm was newly decorated and looked nice. Only 2 of us in a 6-bed dorm the first night which was lovely and on the second night I had the whole dorm to myself. Bliss. Comfy beds. New, good showers. Free lockers. Staff spoke good english and were quite helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit too basic, no powdered/fresh milk for tea/coffee. Definitely lacking in atmosphere, but this is a new hostel. The location is near Black Pork Street and the waterfront but there isn't much going on in the immediate area at night. Only one pc with a laboured internet speed but it was free which is always a bonus.