We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HK Jeju Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 1192-14, SamDo 2-dong, Jeju Island, South Korea -

84.5% Overall Rating

31 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"The staff really made this hostel for me, they were polite and helpful. I asked so many annoying questions everyday and they always helped me! Great rooms, comfy bed and good breakfast!"

Read all HK Jeju Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.47
  • Towel USD 1.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Jeju Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Jeju Island

The Forest Hostel
14.21 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 26 reviews
Greenday guest house & backpackers
18.94 USD

Apartment 95.9% 9 reviews
YEHA Guesthouse
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 96.7% 32 reviews
Yeha Guesthouse CityHall Branch
20.84 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Backpackers in Jeju City Center.
18.00 USD

Hostel 95.4% 49 reviews
Worlang House
28.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Be Road House
17.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker's Home
23.68 USD

Hostel 96.1% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

31 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HK Jeju Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014

Liked: It was ok.

Disliked: There was a cockroach in the bathroom, the staff did not know much about the island. They mere looked on the internet and then told you want it said. This resulted in wrong directions and me wasting hours.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really made this hostel for me, they were polite and helpful. I asked so many annoying questions everyday and they always helped me! Great rooms, comfy bed and good breakfast!

Disliked: I didn't appreciate popping back to the hostel to grab something and finding the cleaners had left my dorm door wide open for anyone to go in and take something. Reading lights would be good, and a way to vent the bathrooms, but I'm sure they'll come with time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are really helpful and willing to share with travelers about the way to different places especially the girl who speak Cantonese (Malaysian)

Disliked: no lift, it is inconvenience for me to take the luggage to climb up the 3rd floor

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and reasonable location (around 20 min journey to main bus station to give access to local buses around the island). Maps of the island with main bus routes were in reception which was useful.

Disliked: The towels smell foisty as if they had been sitting damp in a pile before they were dried. IT was not all of them, but the first set, one of four smelled bad and of the second set we asked for two four smelled. Also, there is no house keeping (even for the private rooms) although we only stayed for 5 nights and it did not bother us, but if staying longer, it may bea problem. There were photos of typical dishes (such as horse meet and pheasant) on the walls but the staff could not advise where you could buy them. The hostel had a BBQ but we were not allowed to use it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Clean rooms. Location is OK. Quick to get there from the airport or bus terminal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and spacious rooms

Disliked: bathroom wasn't very clean, breakfast very sparse

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: It would be better if it has mixed dorms as well.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seemed a good value, very friendly staff. But it was 13000/night, so that's what i got.

Disliked: The bathroom in my 4-bed girl's dorm room was grimy and stuffy. No window or fan, so it was always wet in there, not to mention the toilet and bathtub could have used a good scrub (i.e. visible scum...yuck). Everything else was fine.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: in three days the room with bathroom wasn't cleaned once.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jude Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2013 Jude would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively easy to get to. Staff were nice and friendly and beds were pretty comfy.

Disliked: Just a bit tired and dated looking. There's not much of a communal area - it doesn't take many people to fill it so on a busy day you'd struggle. Although the staff are very nice, friendly and helpful, their advice on how to get anywhere/do anything involves either hiring a car or getting a taxi neither of which are practical or affordable for a backpacker. Also really not necessary as the bus station is an easy 25 min walk and from there you can get pretty much anywhere on the island. If you can manage a 10 min walk round the corner you can also save 3000 won on a taxi to the airport by getting a bus.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's near the sea...and the airport!

Disliked: The stated one egg per person policy at breakfast seemed a little unnecessary...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thuong ha

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2013 thuong would recommend this property

Liked: Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while in Jeju. Great location for food lovers as the black pork market and seafood port is nearby. Tarshya the hostel manager was helpful, friendly and made our stay extremely pleasant and memorable. Highly recommend this place to groups of friends. Thank you for making our Jeju experience a happy one unni <3

Disliked: The only bad thing about this property is having to leave it!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Anuar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: close to e-mart, and the dorm room has its own toilet/bathroom, free skype international call.

Disliked: can't think of one.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Oerlemans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: the girls at the reception like joking

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Mosbech

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was cheap and clean. The staff was friendly. The free wifi is important.

Disliked: It was a very basic hostel, I don´t think there is something to dislike. You get what you pay for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wan Shakirah Wan Abdul Kahar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2012 Wan Shakirah would recommend this property

Liked: Very nicely decorated and well maintained.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the counter were very helpful. They couldn´t find our reservation and needed a few minutes to deal with the problem and although in the end they never found any record of it they still checked us in and had no problem charging us the agreed upon price with hostelbookers

Disliked: The air conditioner unit in the room is very loud and it was difficult to sleep with it on yet to hot to turn off.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Bit dirty, not even toilet paper in bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

earlene tan

Alone

City break

30 July 2012 earlene would recommend this property

Liked: the staff can speak both english and mandarin! good enough to get information i need to get around. also they have free breakfast, wifi, use of washing machine and the best was the international phone call.

Disliked: earlene left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicola Cheeseman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location near to the main shopping streets. ensuite bathrooms and free laundry. Feels lovely and clean, kitchen with a gas stove which is definitely hard to find in some places in Korea. I would definitely stay again.

Disliked: There were no lockers, although they had a storage room to leave your bag. However on the day I left they were in the process of getting lockers delivered so that is good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in an awesome area. It makes a perfect first or last destination as its super close to the airport and Jeju being Jeju made it easy to travel round area. The staff were friendly and were very helpful! They even booked a taxi tour for us and we could set all the itinerary.

Disliked: We were on the 4th floor...many stairs for a tiered traveller! Only flaw to the atmosphere was the unwelcoming carpeting laid down everywhere. It was pretty filthy but the bedroom itself was nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wei Jiat Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Wei Jiat would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean kitchen and room

Disliked: Only one computer for web surfing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When i made my booking, there were no comments and so I was a little worried. But I was pleasantly surprised. This is a brand new and very clean facility. The girls at reception spread good English and are very helpful with maps and directions. Every room has an attached bath. Filtered water on every floor is very nice. They also offer free laundry, even though I didn't use it. The roof is very nice. Free breakfast - coffee and peanut butter and jelly toast. Located in a nice part of town, right across the main road from e-mart.

Disliked: You have to buy your own toilet paper. Bus services in Jeju is not very good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is nice. Good price/value ratio. Free washing!

Disliked: No bedsheets, not even for money. They claim they wash the mattress regularly, but I wonder how :-)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs there are very kind and helpful.

Disliked: -