We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

98.0%
7 reviews Book Now 
1

Curiocity Backpackers

Hostel
302 Fox Street, Maboneng Precinct, Johannesburg, South Africa 2029

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Curiocity Backpackers

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 97%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Ingmar Dietz
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Ingmar would recommend this property 04 May 2015

Great hostel next to the city center in an nice upcoming district with many good bars. Never met so many nice young people from all over the world just on one place before.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 April 2015

Super friendly staff, great facilities, and amazing location! I read some comment on the location here so will dive a bit further: Its a 24/7 guarded area to the east of the city centre with great restaurants and bars. Probably one of the safest places you can find, reminds me a lot of east london with the street art and hipster ish cafe's etc.

94.3%
3 reviews Book Now 
2

Randburg Boarding House

Hostel
477 Jan Smuts Avenue, Johannesburg, South Africa 2195

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Randburg Boarding House

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 100%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 100%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 16 March 2015

A true meeting place, very friendly staff, lockers in the rooms, strategically located close to Randburg Taxi Rank, excellent value. I couldn't think of a better place to stay in JHB!

Dorette Potgieter
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Dorette would recommend this property 07 October 2013

There is a relaxed atmosfere. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Awesome people!!!

90.3%
79 reviews Book Now 
3

Bob's Bunkhouse

Hostel
40 St. Anne Rd, Edenvale, Johannesburg, South Africa 1610

73 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bob's Bunkhouse

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 95% Facilities - 86% Safety - 96%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 92%
Richard Wolters
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Richard would recommend this property 29 September 2014

Bob is a great guy- Stayed there with my brother and made us very welcome. Before leaving SA stayed there again and was great to be there again. Very safe and secure. Good atmosphere

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 30 April 2014

Bob and Joan are very welcoming and knowledgeable ppl. A joy to be around! Great tours on offers and clean kept beds and facilities.

87.3%
21 reviews Book Now 
4

Ghandi’s Back Packers & Guest Lodge

Guesthouse
15 Doris Street, Kensington, Johannesburg, South Africa 2094

19 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ghandi’s Back Packers & Guest Lodge

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 89%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 04 May 2015

Very nice Hostel with a bar, lounge (with TV) and pool table. It was nice to hang around in the bar, thank you Hainz for a warm stay.

Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 May 2014

Awesome place.. everything just felt like home. It's a beautiful house in a safe district, just not that easy to get there but they offer -free- airport pickup within 20min after calling! The kitchen was fully equipped, potatoes, onions, a lot of spices, free instant coffee all day, breakfast and towell included... what do you want more? I'll definitely come back. Highly recommendable! P.s. it's really cheap renting a car in JHB (like 20-24$/day)

86.9%
43 reviews Book Now 
5

Moafrika Lodge

Guesthouse
122 Sandham Rd, Norton Home Estates, Benoni, Johannesburg, South Africa 1501

38 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Moafrika Lodge

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 89%
Location - 70% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 08 January 2015

The staff are nice. The bathroom in the dorm room was wonderful(has a full size bathtub). Good to meet new people and chill out around the pool area. The pool was fun to enjoy in the hot sunny day. The cook was nice and served a good breakfast. (They normally allow you to use the kitchen for your own meal. Transportation from/to the airport included.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 August 2014

Sitting by the bomb fire whilst the chef was making a South African barbecue and having some local beers was a real experience of South Africa!

86.7%
85 reviews Book Now 
6

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Hostel
288 Trichardt Road, Parkdene, Boksburg, Johannesburg, South Africa 1459

81 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 94% Facilities - 84% Safety - 89%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 92%
Blair Matarlo
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Blair would recommend this property 15 December 2014

Mbizi has a lot of character and a very laid back atmosphere. The owner was nice enough to put me and my friend into a 2 bedroom instead of the 5 person dorm we booked because we came during an off season and the room was open. There's also a bar in the backyard and the prices are pretty good.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 July 2014

I stayed here due to all the fantastic reviews I read and they weren't wrong! Mbizi Backpackers is a great place to stay and this was apparent when I saw many happy customers returning here during my 6 day stay. Patrick has been wonderful, you couldn't ask for a better host! He helped me with anything I needed and always with a big smile! :-) I felt like I was at my second home. I can't imagine there is a better backpackers in Johannesburg. It is away from the centre and has a lovely, quiet, relaxed, friendly vibe-which was just what I was looking for! Great garden too! Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

85.0%
8 reviews Book Now 
7

Johannesburg Backpackers

Hostel
14 Umgwezi Road, Emmarentia Ext 1, Johannesburg, South Africa 2195

6 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Johannesburg Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 92% Facilities - 77% Safety - 87%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 23 November 2014

heldfull staff, secure Environment and surrounding, easy to walk to the next Shops and restaurants

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 07 June 2013

Receptionist was great! Internet was down because of a thunderstorm and she arranged everything for us. Always willing to help. I definitely recommend the hostel.

84.0%
79 reviews Book Now 
8

Mufasa Lodge

Hostel
21 Fourth Road, Cloverdene, Benoni, Johannesburg, South Africa 1501

71 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mufasa Lodge

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 64% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 October 2011

Staff were very friendly & helpful. A very relaxing location to stay in before a tour. Good sized private rooms and comfortable beds. Free airport pick-up. Free 30 mins per day internet. Evening meal was good value. Nomad Guides / Drivers stay so no transfer costs if going on tours with Nomad.

Susan HERON
As a family with children
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Susan would recommend this property 05 January 2011

The current staff are very helpful and friendly. The place is a way out of the city but they will help you with transport and car hire etc. There are plenty of tours available and there is stuff to do here too. It really is a family and family-friendly place and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Lodge to travellers.

78.6%
54 reviews Book Now 
9

Africa Centre - Airport Hostel

Hostel
65 Sunny Rd, Lakefield, Benoni, Johannesburg, South Africa 1501

44 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Africa Centre - Airport Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 82% Facilities - 78% Safety - 88%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 66%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
54.3%
05 January 2013

The location is convenient for the airport. A free shuttle back and forth between the airport saves money.

Durk Pultrum
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Durk would recommend this property 02 May 2012

Very nice place to stay.I only stayed for 1 night but i had a very good stay. Good food, and very nice rooms is a reason to stay here,even when you want to book a tour. I will come back for sure!

77.1%
91 reviews Book Now 
10

Accoustix Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
477 Jan Smuts Avenue, Bliargowrie, Randburg, Johannesburg, South Africa 2194

60 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Accoustix Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 81% Facilities - 72% Safety - 80%
Location - 70% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 81%
Stephanie Deutscher
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway
94.3%
Stephanie would recommend this property 28 April 2015

I loved the backyard. It was great to sit and eat breakfast while watching the birds. Also, the other guests were very friendly and we got into many interesting conversations in the kitchen! It definitely made the experience.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
40.0%
19 April 2015

The first staff I encountered was nice and friendly, as was the cleaning staff. The hostel offers a good opportunity to mix with locals, I was the only white person there. I really enjoyed talking to different personas - a local church group, a group of plumbers doing work in the area etc. The pool looked very nice and refreshing - if I hadnt been in the local autumn/winter I really wouldve enjoyed a swim.

Johannesburg

22 Hostels from 7.03 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Johannesburg hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Johannesburg. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.