We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

90.6%
78 reviews Book Now 
1

Bob's Bunkhouse

Hostel
40 St. Anne Rd, Edenvale, Johannesburg, South Africa 1610

72 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bob's Bunkhouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 87% Safety - 97%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 92%
Richard Wolters
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Richard would recommend this property 29 September 2014

Bob is a great guy- Stayed there with my brother and made us very welcome. Before leaving SA stayed there again and was great to be there again. Very safe and secure. Good atmosphere

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 30 April 2014

Bob and Joan are very welcoming and knowledgeable ppl. A joy to be around! Great tours on offers and clean kept beds and facilities.

88.4%
16 reviews Book Now 
2

Ghandi’s Back Packers & Guest Lodge

Guesthouse
15 Doris Street, Kensington, Johannesburg, South Africa 2094

15 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ghandi’s Back Packers & Guest Lodge

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 May 2014

Awesome place.. everything just felt like home. It's a beautiful house in a safe district, just not that easy to get there but they offer -free- airport pickup within 20min after calling! The kitchen was fully equipped, potatoes, onions, a lot of spices, free instant coffee all day, breakfast and towell included... what do you want more? I'll definitely come back. Highly recommendable! P.s. it's really cheap renting a car in JHB (like 20-24$/day)

Silvia Portela
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Silvia would recommend this property 26 April 2014

The location was very good (close to the city centre). The staff was friendly and helpfull.

88.2%
38 reviews Book Now 
3

Moafrika Lodge

Guesthouse
122 Sandham Rd, Norton Home Estates, Benoni, Johannesburg, South Africa 1501

35 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Moafrika Lodge

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 August 2014

Sitting by the bomb fire whilst the chef was making a South African barbecue and having some local beers was a real experience of South Africa!

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 08 June 2014

It was a very African lodge. And they have very friendly dogs which made me feel more at home. The bomb fire was very nice and so was the local beer and food. I got 5 star service all the way.

87.3%
84 reviews Book Now 
4

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Hostel
288 Trichardt Road, Parkdene, Boksburg, Johannesburg, South Africa 1459

80 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 94% Facilities - 84% Safety - 90%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 July 2014

I stayed here due to all the fantastic reviews I read and they weren't wrong! Mbizi Backpackers is a great place to stay and this was apparent when I saw many happy customers returning here during my 6 day stay. Patrick has been wonderful, you couldn't ask for a better host! He helped me with anything I needed and always with a big smile! :-) I felt like I was at my second home. I can't imagine there is a better backpackers in Johannesburg. It is away from the centre and has a lovely, quiet, relaxed, friendly vibe-which was just what I was looking for! Great garden too! Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

CHERYL REUM
With friends / other travellers
Business / conference
88.6%
CHERYL would recommend this property 28 April 2014

Quite funky and convenient to our Hotel conference location. casual vibe. Clean ablutions with loads of hot water. Quiet and safe. Our host turned our electric blankets on for us before we arrived home late. such a caring touch. We are both businesswoman and found the stay fun and affordable although we could afford 5 Star.

84.8%
6 reviews Book Now 
5

Johannesburg Backpackers

Hostel
14 Umgwezi Road, Emmarentia Ext 1, Johannesburg, South Africa 2195

4 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Johannesburg Backpackers

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 70% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 83%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 07 June 2013

Receptionist was great! Internet was down because of a thunderstorm and she arranged everything for us. Always willing to help. I definitely recommend the hostel.

Jordan Wurch
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Jordan would recommend this property 26 June 2011

Room was nice, nice bathroom, very safe and secure area. Some nice restaurants and pubs in the neighbourhood.

84.0%
79 reviews Book Now 
6

Mufasa Lodge

Hostel
21 Fourth Road, Cloverdene, Benoni, Johannesburg, South Africa 1501

71 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mufasa Lodge

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 64% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 October 2011

Staff were very friendly & helpful. A very relaxing location to stay in before a tour. Good sized private rooms and comfortable beds. Free airport pick-up. Free 30 mins per day internet. Evening meal was good value. Nomad Guides / Drivers stay so no transfer costs if going on tours with Nomad.

Susan HERON
As a family with children
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Susan would recommend this property 05 January 2011

The current staff are very helpful and friendly. The place is a way out of the city but they will help you with transport and car hire etc. There are plenty of tours available and there is stuff to do here too. It really is a family and family-friendly place and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Lodge to travellers.

80.2%
73 reviews Book Now 
7

Airport Inn B and B

Guesthouse
19 Halifax Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park, Johannesburg, South Africa 1619

68 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Airport Inn B and B

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 82% Facilities - 72% Safety - 83%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 82%
Linda Morris
Alone
Family Holiday, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Linda would recommend this property 13 November 2013

There is a large swimming pool at the property, so not only is it good for an overnight stay, but for longer ones as well. They also have facilities for lunch and dinner, which is also extremely handy when without transport.The staff were very helpful and all requests were dealt with promptly.

Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 14 January 2013

CLose to the airport, secure, free shuttle to and from the airport. Good breakfast and decent coffee! The common area has free wifi and I met some lovely people.

80.0%
15 reviews Book Now 
8

Emerald Backpackers

Hostel
19 Halifax rd, Rhodesfield, Kempton park, Johannesburg, South Africa 1619

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Emerald Backpackers

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 85% Facilities - 74% Safety - 85%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 81%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
09 September 2014

- close to the airport - restaurant area, so no need to eat out somewhere - only for people needing a place right near the airport

Karen Owens
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Karen would recommend this property 17 January 2013

This place is located near the airport, so it was very convenient for us as a base while we were travelling throughout Africa. Also very safe to leave your belongings if you are going on trips to other countries. Mavis cooks lovely breakfasts.

80.0%
88 reviews Book Now 
9

Accoustix Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
477 Jan Smuts Avenue, Bliargowrie, Randburg, Johannesburg, South Africa 2194

58 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Accoustix Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 84% Facilities - 75% Safety - 82%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 83%
modupe ganiu
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Shopping
100.0%
modupe would recommend this property 19 May 2014

it makes me feel like am home, they are so friendly, getting your needs at ease, really value for money.

Megan Langford
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Megan would recommend this property 26 February 2014

Nice staff, clean place! Kitchen was decent. Showers were hot and powerful, beds were simple but functional! Location is decent, though in Joburg, we kind of ended up taking taxis everywhere to avoid the minibuses and bus stations (shady). But Accoustix helped arrange rides all over the city, from Soweto to Montecasino, etc. Very affordable place and a decent stay!

79.2%
11 reviews Book Now 
10

Terrylin Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
2 Halifax Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park, Johannesburg, South Africa 1619

9 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Terrylin Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 65% Staff - 83% Facilities - 69% Safety - 92%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 74%
Jamie Connelly
As a family with children
Family Holiday
88.6%
Jamie would recommend this property 03 June 2011

The location near the airport was important for us as we were transferring. It was a safe and friendly place to stay.

Nikolay Dimitrov
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Nikolay would recommend this property 15 July 2010

Nice and convenient place to stay near the airport. Very helpful and friendly staff - thank you Joy and Steven for your hospitality!

Johannesburg

32 Hostels from 7.09 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Johannesburg hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Johannesburg. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.