HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 10/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 10/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Johannesburg, South Africa

90.5%
75 reviews Book Now 
1

Bob's Bunkhouse

Hostel
40 St. Anne Rd, Edenvale, Johannesburg, South Africa 1610

69 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bob's Bunkhouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 87% Safety - 97%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 30 April 2014

Bob and Joan are very welcoming and knowledgeable ppl. A joy to be around! Great tours on offers and clean kept beds and facilities.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
65.7%
Customer would recommend this property 06 January 2014

Nice pool! Owners nice and honest. Free wifi AND breakfast (not that common in SA!)

88.7%
35 reviews Book Now 
2

Moafrika Lodge

Guesthouse
120 Sandham Rd, Benoni, Johannesburg, South Africa 1509

33 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Moafrika Lodge

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 93% Facilities - 89% Safety - 90%
Location - 70% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 93%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 08 June 2014

It was a very African lodge. And they have very friendly dogs which made me feel more at home. The bomb fire was very nice and so was the local beer and food. I got 5 star service all the way.

Silvia Portela
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Silvia would recommend this property 20 April 2014

The place had beautiful african decoration. Very quiet and definately a place where you can just sit back and relax after a long journey (very close to the airport). The staff was super friendly and really made me feel welcome and at home!

88.4%
16 reviews Book Now 
3

Ghandi’s Back Packers & Guest Lodge

Guesthouse
15 Doris Street, Kensington, Johannesburg, South Africa 2094

15 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ghandi’s Back Packers & Guest Lodge

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 May 2014

Awesome place.. everything just felt like home. It's a beautiful house in a safe district, just not that easy to get there but they offer -free- airport pickup within 20min after calling! The kitchen was fully equipped, potatoes, onions, a lot of spices, free instant coffee all day, breakfast and towell included... what do you want more? I'll definitely come back. Highly recommendable! P.s. it's really cheap renting a car in JHB (like 20-24$/day)

Silvia Portela
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Silvia would recommend this property 26 April 2014

The location was very good (close to the city centre). The staff was friendly and helpfull.

87.2%
83 reviews Book Now 
4

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Hostel
288 Trichardt Road, Parkdene, Boksburg, Johannesburg, South Africa 1459

79 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 94% Facilities - 84% Safety - 90%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 92%
CHERYL REUM
With friends / other travellers
Business / conference
88.6%
CHERYL would recommend this property 28 April 2014

Quite funky and convenient to our Hotel conference location. casual vibe. Clean ablutions with loads of hot water. Quiet and safe. Our host turned our electric blankets on for us before we arrived home late. such a caring touch. We are both businesswoman and found the stay fun and affordable although we could afford 5 Star.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 01 March 2014

Great place to stay! Patrick and Matthew were very helpful and accommodating. We highly recommend the airport pickup! The hostel is quiet, very clean, has a great kitchen, internet and living room area.

84.8%
6 reviews Book Now 
5

Johannesburg Backpackers

Hostel
14 Umgwezi Road, Emmarentia Ext 1, Johannesburg, South Africa 2195

4 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Johannesburg Backpackers

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 70% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 83%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 07 June 2013

Receptionist was great! Internet was down because of a thunderstorm and she arranged everything for us. Always willing to help. I definitely recommend the hostel.

Jordan Wurch
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Jordan would recommend this property 26 June 2011

Room was nice, nice bathroom, very safe and secure area. Some nice restaurants and pubs in the neighbourhood.

84.0%
79 reviews Book Now 
6

Mufasa Lodge

Hostel
21 Fourth Road, Cloverdene, Benoni, Johannesburg, South Africa 1501

71 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mufasa Lodge

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 64% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 October 2011

Staff were very friendly & helpful. A very relaxing location to stay in before a tour. Good sized private rooms and comfortable beds. Free airport pick-up. Free 30 mins per day internet. Evening meal was good value. Nomad Guides / Drivers stay so no transfer costs if going on tours with Nomad.

Susan HERON
As a family with children
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Susan would recommend this property 05 January 2011

The current staff are very helpful and friendly. The place is a way out of the city but they will help you with transport and car hire etc. There are plenty of tours available and there is stuff to do here too. It really is a family and family-friendly place and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Lodge to travellers.

81.4%
14 reviews Book Now 
7

Emerald Backpackers

Hostel
19 Halifax rd, Rhodesfield, Kempton park, Johannesburg, South Africa 1619

13 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Emerald Backpackers

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 87% Facilities - 75% Safety - 84%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 82%
Karen Owens
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Karen would recommend this property 17 January 2013

This place is located near the airport, so it was very convenient for us as a base while we were travelling throughout Africa. Also very safe to leave your belongings if you are going on trips to other countries. Mavis cooks lovely breakfasts.

Rebecca Dyck
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Rebecca would recommend this property 25 November 2012

The immediate proximity to the airport is terrific, and transfers to & from the airport are free and done attentively. We stayed there on two occasions and both times the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Very clean and safe. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and informative. The free breakfasts are tasty hot meals, making a stay here incredible value for the cost.

81.1%
10 reviews Book Now 
8

Terrylin Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
2 Halifax Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park, Johannesburg, South Africa 1619

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Terrylin Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 68% Staff - 88% Facilities - 72% Safety - 94%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 78%
Jamie Connelly
As a family with children
Family Holiday
88.6%
Jamie would recommend this property 03 June 2011

The location near the airport was important for us as we were transferring. It was a safe and friendly place to stay.

Nikolay Dimitrov
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Nikolay would recommend this property 15 July 2010

Nice and convenient place to stay near the airport. Very helpful and friendly staff - thank you Joy and Steven for your hospitality!

80.2%
73 reviews Book Now 
9

Airport Inn B and B

Guesthouse
19 Halifax Street, Rhodesfield, Kempton Park, Johannesburg, South Africa 1619

68 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Airport Inn B and B

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 82% Facilities - 72% Safety - 83%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 82%
Linda Morris
Alone
Family Holiday, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Linda would recommend this property 13 November 2013

There is a large swimming pool at the property, so not only is it good for an overnight stay, but for longer ones as well. They also have facilities for lunch and dinner, which is also extremely handy when without transport.The staff were very helpful and all requests were dealt with promptly.

Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 14 January 2013

CLose to the airport, secure, free shuttle to and from the airport. Good breakfast and decent coffee! The common area has free wifi and I met some lovely people.

79.0%
6 reviews Book Now 
10

The Melville Palm

Hostel
83 2nd Avenue, Melville, Johannesburg, South Africa 2092

4 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Melville Palm

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 66% Facilities - 73% Safety - 76%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 86%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 26 October 2012

The location is great, right near a lot of restaurants, grocery stores and other shops of interest. The atmosphere feels more like a house than hostel (though it is a house converted into a hostel) because there's no reception desk and everything else is very communal. Kitchen is well-stocked with plates and such. Overall, this hostel is a great deal for the money. Would definitely stay there again.

Dace Ozolina
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Dace would recommend this property 23 January 2012

The location is good - just some steps away from the 7th street in Melville and safe for being in Joburg. All the facilities - sports club, restaurants, bars are within walking distancem and one bike is available from the owner. However, the local minitaxis should be catched to go elsevhere (Apartheid museum is the must!) or the car is always a safe bet! The hostel is calm and most of the time, if it is not too busy, you would feel like renting a shared appartment rather than dorms!

Johannesburg

33 Hostels from 7.48 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Johannesburg hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Johannesburg. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.