HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lake View Backpackers

Hostel | 39 Porto Amelia Road, Bonaero Park 1622, Kempton Park Johannesburg, South Africa 000

85.6% Overall Rating

36 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2014)

Katryna Knight thinks…

"Swimming pool was clean and big. Great kitchen and entertainment lounge with TV."

Read all Lake View Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.49
  • Breakfast USD 2.85

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Johannesburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Johannesburg

Emerald Backpackers
23.73 USD

Hostel 81.4% 14 reviews
Airport Inn B and B
21.83 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 72 reviews
Terrylin Backpackers Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 81.1% 10 reviews
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
15.18 USD

Hostel 87.5% 81 reviews
Life Aviator
33.22 USD

Hotel 4 star 74.3% 3 reviews
Moafrika Lodge
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 31 reviews
The Devonshire Lodge
22.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Africa Centre - Airport Hostel
28.47 USD

Hostel 77.7% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

36 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lake View Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katryna Knight

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014

Liked: Swimming pool was clean and big. Great kitchen and entertainment lounge with TV.

Disliked: No vibe No bar

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2014

Liked: The people were really great. Very friendly and accommodating. Gorgeous lake views and comfortable beds.

Disliked: The bathroom and kitchen were quite dirty throughout the time of our visit. No WiFi as advertised.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the airport

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

cynthia howard

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 December 2013 cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Close to airport. Nice building and grounds, quiet

Disliked: We arrived on a tough night, there had been a party the night before so staff was not prepared for us. Seems like a fun place to stay tho!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable and close to the airport

Disliked: Not the fanciest place but its worth the price.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vladimir Dolezal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is very close to the airport. There is a nearby supermarket (10 mins by walk). We felt safe in the neighbourhood. The staff in the hotel was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There are no locks in hostel rooms. There was a lot of noise during the night. Taxi fare back to the airport the hostel provides seemed to us a little bit overpriced.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Mena Garcia

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Ronel and the staff are really great, they make you feel like at home. It is so close to the Airport. The beds are better than in any other backpackers/hosel and in hot days you can make use of the swimming pool. Braais and parties are common, but you can also relax if you are tired. It is just the perfect place if you are going to Joburg

Disliked: I only dislike that I didn't have more holidays to stay there for longer

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Linda Murray

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 January 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: airport pick up and drop off. cheap

Disliked: its not the nicest, bit dumpy, but the people and their enthusiasm make up for this.. very nice people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Flower

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2012 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts Ronel and Cornelius were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a big fun to stay there, such a good ambiances... It was like a second home for us :-)

Disliked: Nothing...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lloyd Baraoidan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: The manager, Ronel, is the best thing about this property. She is the most attentive of all the hostel managers I have met so far, always making it a point that each and every guest's needs is attended to to her utmost best.

Disliked: None.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Ong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Ronel was very friendly! She helped us out even a week after our stay when we urgently needed transport to the airport. The hostel was clean, quiet and overall a good stay.

Disliked: The toilets are a bit old.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: accommodation acceptabel staff very helpful and friendly price worth stay

Disliked: bathroom quite old

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valeria Bono

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Valeria would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly service, close to the airport, clean room, kitchen and bathroom. More like staying at a friend's house.

Disliked: Valeria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely atmosphere and lovely people who work and run it! Such a nice hostel! :-) Would deffo stay there again if we needed too!

Disliked: None!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a warm welcome to south africa. extremly nice and helpful owner. you feel more like staying at your friends' place. sweet puppy dogs. unfortunatelly we had only one night but we will for sure come back.

Disliked: nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was peaceful

Disliked: not much to say

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Ronel was super helpful, organising transport etc. would stay there again.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner goes way out of her way to help guests out. Awesome place to stay!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was good!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathleen McCarthy

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

04 August 2011 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Hospitality

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Krohn

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2011 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The owner picked me up at the airport as part of the price for the lodging. It was a good value for the money. I was able to store my extra luggage with Lakeview for free while I spent the week in Swaziland and for a reasonable fee the owner delivered it to me at the airport between my flights.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mirela Fernanda Galvão Paraná

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2011 Mirela Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very friendly and the place is amazing.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Sponseller

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 June 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: I don't normally write reviews for places, but the service I received from the Lake View staff was above and beyond anything I've experienced before. It was a crazy day/experience, so let me explain: I live in Mokhotlong, Lesotho and was heading to Joburg to catch a flight the next day. I was travelling on a Saturday and only staying the one night. I told the owner that I would be arriving around 5 or 6 in the evening and that was the last time we spoke before I left. Didn't exactly work out as planned... Nothing went right- I was taking public transportation and we didn't leave Lesotho until 6, my phone died, no one else had a phone I could use, I was the last person to be dropped off in the taxi, etc... Long story short, I didn't arrive in Joburg until 2 am. I had to use the taxi driver's phone and try to get a hold of the hostel to tell them where I was. Two friends of the owner spent nearly two hours trying to track me down until they eventually convinced the driver to meet them at a petrol station. It wasn't until after 3 am that we arrived at the hostel. It was crazy. That kind of service is unprecedented. I met up with the owner's friends (at 3 am on a Saturday night!) and both of them just kept reiterating that the whole ordeal was not a problem because it only mattered that I was safe. I was only staying one night and they went through all this trouble to make sure everything was ok. I was very impressed and I owe a big thank you to everyone at Lake View. Basically, the house is beautiful, has a pool, the rooms are comfortable, nice kitchen, free airport service, and the staff is incredible. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a really nice and helpfull person, she drove me around for the supermarcet and helped me with my sim card of my mobile, so i would say perfect location for johannesburg!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guy Yehuda

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 May 2011 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived the place after I had to stay 1 day in J'burg since I missed my flight and lost my luggage. The lovely manager helped me a lot, drove me to some stores so I would buy stuff I needed, drove me to the airport for free (costs 150-200 Rands in Taxi - I know it since by mistake I didn't call her on my way to the hotel and took a taxi instead) & even gave my a lift to the Casino at night in a symbolic price. I highly recommend the place thanks to an excellent treatment.

Disliked: Nothing actually.