HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

97.7%
33 reviews Book Now 
1

The B.I.G

Hostel
18 Thornhill rd., Cape Town, South Africa 8005

33 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The B.I.G

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 100% Facilities - 98% Safety - 97%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 98%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 March 2014

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The property is in a great location, really safe, super comfortable, clean. The kitchen in awesome. The wifi is reliable. There is a tv room with a great reading space and a library.

Polina Ilieva
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Polina would recommend this property 26 February 2014

Felt at home :) The best place I have stayed at. Guys, you are great, thanks so much for the fun :)

92.5%
180 reviews Book Now 
2

THE BACKPACK

Hostel
74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

169 out of 180 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend THE BACKPACK

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 92% Facilities - 90% Safety - 94%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 January 2014

Staff is always friendly and ready to help with any request. The place is clean and in easy walking distance to all the places in the city center.

cynthia howard
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
100.0%
cynthia would recommend this property 28 December 2013

Our booked room was not available. ( 3 beds in 8 room dorm) so they gave us a private 3 bed room with bath. Beautiful room. Exceptionally beautiful!! Decided to stay longer dorm was great too!

92.3%
119 reviews Book Now 
3

Atlantic Point Backpackers

Hostel
2 Cavalcade Rd, Greenpoint, Cape Town, South Africa -

116 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Atlantic Point Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 92% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 89%
Kristina Andrae
Alone
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Kristina would recommend this property 25 October 2013

Great breakfast: fruit salads, pancakes,... Plugs in the lockers: you can charge your electronics without having to worry that someone might take it...good location: you can basically walk everywhere.

catherine kane
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
catherine would recommend this property 10 October 2013

Great place, very helpful and friendly staff... It has everything you look for in a hostel!

89.8%
7 reviews Book Now 
4

Observatory Backpackers

Hostel
235 Lower Main Road, Cape Town, South Africa 7925

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Observatory Backpackers

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 97% Facilities - 85% Safety - 91%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 91%
Max oganga
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
85.7%
Max would recommend this property 12 January 2014

I liked the cleanliness and the stillness within the property. Also the automatic unlimited free Wifi access.

Nina Schexnider
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Nina would recommend this property 17 January 2013

Observatory backpackers is your kind of place if you like a clean bed, friendly people and a good price. The staff are sooo helpful and friendly. Close to grocery store and metrorail. I really enjoyed staying in the private room.

89.6%
16 reviews Book Now 
5

Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Hotel
134 Long Street, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

15 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 78% Safety - 90%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Shopping
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2010

Awesome rooms, all the luxuries of a hotel at a hostel price. Wish I could have stayed in all of the rooms.

Peter Fancourt
97.1%
Peter would recommend this property 13 May 2010

What a fantastic experience! I would have no hesitation recommending any of the Daddy Long Legs hotels/self catering. We stayed in all three due to an extended holiday courtesy of the ash cloud. The staff were the difference. I have never stayed anywhere in the world where the hotel staff have gone out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and hastle free. We loved the quirkyness of all the locations and Long street itself was ideally located. Would love to go back.Peter & Josette Jersey UK

89.3%
73 reviews Book Now 
6

A Sunflower Stop

Hostel
179 main road, Green Point, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

66 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend A Sunflower Stop

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 90% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Corey Whatman
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Corey would recommend this property 21 July 2013

The staff at sunflower stop are fantastic!! They go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay....they helped us with everything like booking tours and just general advice on what to do. Our room was in a quiet part of the hostel which was nice, it was one of the smaller rooms but still had plenty of space. It was easy to get everywhere from here, a quick walk to the waterfront and a cheap taxi ride everywhere else. Very secure and our room had a safe which we could choose a combination for. Kitchen facilities were great we cooked most nights....the braai night was awesome and the staff cooked it all for us! Would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly to everybody!

Luisa Jochum
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Luisa would recommend this property 09 June 2013

Nice and clean rooms and situated near the waterfront and town in probably the safest area in cape town. The staff helped us so much with all our questions! We hardly recommend this hostel!

88.2%
22 reviews Book Now 
7

Cat and Moose

Hostel
305 Long Street, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

20 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cat and Moose

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 93% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 90%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 20 January 2013

Nice place to stay. Room had everything you need, shared facilities were clean. Central location, nice and friendly staff.

Nathan Middlebrook
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
94.3%
Nathan would recommend this property 03 December 2011

Staff were very helpful, location is ideal (plenty of bars and restaurants and easy walking distance to the markets), rooms were clean and kitchen come in handy as well.

87.9%
27 reviews Book Now 
8

Green Elephant Backpackers

Hostel
57 Milton Road, Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa 7925

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Elephant Backpackers

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 96% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 85%
Tiril Oestefjells
Alone
Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Tiril would recommend this property 16 December 2013

My third stay et the Green Ele. It is still well-run, friendly, and a good choice for social backpackers wanting to stay in Obz.

Sophie Drebes
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Sophie would recommend this property 08 March 2013

We felt at home from the first day on. Observatory has all you need:bars,supermarkets,restaurants. This hostel makes you want to stay longer!minibuses transport you easy enough into the city centre. Staff is always knowledgable, helpful, in a good mood and happy to chat. Long term residents give good advice, too. Security also satisfies, there are private lockers etc. Good wi-fi, laid-back common rooms and sea-view from the terrace. Enjoy :)

86.0%
18 reviews Book Now 
9

SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surf lodge

Hostel
20 Briza rd, Blouberg, Cape Town, South Africa 7441

16 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surf lodge

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 86% Facilities - 83% Safety - 88%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 86%
Cali McCorriston
100.0%
Cali would recommend this property 09 May 2008

I loved the location.. so close to the beach... the staff were awesome.. especailly the owner.. we had so much fun and would LOVE to come back

Brenda Pieters
85.7%
Brenda would recommend this property 16 January 2008

It was clean and had a fully equiped kitchen at our disposal. No noise after 11pm so it was easy to get a good night's sleep.

85.9%
56 reviews Book Now 
10

Cape Town Backpackers

Hostel
81 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

49 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cape Town Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 91% Facilities - 84% Safety - 86%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 16 October 2013

Stayed here on friends' recommendations. Felt secure as front door was always locked with passcode. Nice patio area and comfortable lounge area with guidebooks in front. The kitchen was big and clean. Staff were friendly and had lots of information about Cape Town and area sightseeing. They helped us book tours, call cabs, etc. Never took advantage of the fairly large bar or breakfast but it looked good!

Richard Jones
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Richard would recommend this property 24 July 2012

Loved this place. The staff are great, really helpful and fun. They organised a wine tour for me which was really cool. The location is cool, just round the corner from Long Street but I could still sleep at night and there are loads of cafes and a supermarket on the door step. I would go back again and stay longer, thanks to all the staff for a great start to my holiday.

Cape Town

46 Hostels from 4.75 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cape Town hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cape Town. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.