We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

97.3%
35 reviews Book Now 
1

The B.I.G

Hostel
18 Thornhill rd., Cape Town, South Africa 8005

35 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The B.I.G

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 99% Facilities - 97% Safety - 97%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 99%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 21 April 2014

The hostel was nicely decorated and perfectly clean. They had a lot of day-trips and activities on offer as well as a fully equiped kitchen with two big fridges. Also staff was very friedly and helpful.

Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 March 2014

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The property is in a great location, really safe, super comfortable, clean. The kitchen in awesome. The wifi is reliable. There is a tv room with a great reading space and a library.

94.9%
128 reviews Book Now 
2

Atlantic Point Backpackers

Hostel
2 Cavalcade Rd, Greenpoint, Cape Town, South Africa -

124 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Atlantic Point Backpackers

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 30 November 2014

Very close to the waterfront shopping and markets. Very helpful reception staff, clean

Kristina Andrae
Alone
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Kristina would recommend this property 25 October 2013

Great breakfast: fruit salads, pancakes,... Plugs in the lockers: you can charge your electronics without having to worry that someone might take it...good location: you can basically walk everywhere.

94.6%
186 reviews Book Now 
3

THE BACKPACK

Hostel
74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

175 out of 186 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend THE BACKPACK

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 96% Facilities - 93% Safety - 97%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 92%
Ian Cuthbertson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Ian would recommend this property 22 September 2014

Awesome facilities. The staff here are just awesome, letting you know what's going on around the place, getting other people involved at the hostel (such as having BBQ nights)

Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 30 August 2014

Beautifully presented, really clean and tidy, and very helpful and friendly staff.

90.2%
28 reviews Book Now 
4

Green Elephant Backpackers

Hostel
57 Milton Road, Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa 7925

26 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Elephant Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 98% Facilities - 90% Safety - 93%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 88%
Tiril Oestefjells
Alone
Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Tiril would recommend this property 16 December 2013

My third stay et the Green Ele. It is still well-run, friendly, and a good choice for social backpackers wanting to stay in Obz.

Sophie Drebes
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Sophie would recommend this property 08 March 2013

We felt at home from the first day on. Observatory has all you need:bars,supermarkets,restaurants. This hostel makes you want to stay longer!minibuses transport you easy enough into the city centre. Staff is always knowledgable, helpful, in a good mood and happy to chat. Long term residents give good advice, too. Security also satisfies, there are private lockers etc. Good wi-fi, laid-back common rooms and sea-view from the terrace. Enjoy :)

90.2%
9 reviews Book Now 
5

Observatory Backpackers

Hostel
235 Lower Main Road, Cape Town, South Africa 7925

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Observatory Backpackers

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 97% Facilities - 86% Safety - 91%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 91%
Susan Gorman
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Susan would recommend this property 07 June 2014

A very comfortable, hospitable place! We stayed in a double room, en suite. The room had a large window for natural light, a closet and a table for a desk and our stuff. The whole place was squeaky clean, kept that way by a diligent, motherly lady and her partners. The garden was large with plenty of seating and greenery. The lounge had a large flat screen TV and comfortable couches. The kitchen was well equipped and large enough for several people to fix food at once. A long table offered plenty of space for guests to eat. We could live here!

Max oganga
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
85.7%
Max would recommend this property 12 January 2014

I liked the cleanliness and the stillness within the property. Also the automatic unlimited free Wifi access.

89.6%
16 reviews Book Now 
6

Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Hotel
134 Long Street, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

15 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 78% Safety - 90%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Shopping
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2010

Awesome rooms, all the luxuries of a hotel at a hostel price. Wish I could have stayed in all of the rooms.

Peter Fancourt
97.1%
Peter would recommend this property 13 May 2010

What a fantastic experience! I would have no hesitation recommending any of the Daddy Long Legs hotels/self catering. We stayed in all three due to an extended holiday courtesy of the ash cloud. The staff were the difference. I have never stayed anywhere in the world where the hotel staff have gone out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and hastle free. We loved the quirkyness of all the locations and Long street itself was ideally located. Would love to go back.Peter & Josette Jersey UK

88.7%
75 reviews Book Now 
7

A Sunflower Stop

Hostel
179 main road, Green Point, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

68 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend A Sunflower Stop

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2014

Staff were awesome and they made the beds and rooms every day, nice touch for a hostel.

Corey Whatman
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Corey would recommend this property 21 July 2013

The staff at sunflower stop are fantastic!! They go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay....they helped us with everything like booking tours and just general advice on what to do. Our room was in a quiet part of the hostel which was nice, it was one of the smaller rooms but still had plenty of space. It was easy to get everywhere from here, a quick walk to the waterfront and a cheap taxi ride everywhere else. Very secure and our room had a safe which we could choose a combination for. Kitchen facilities were great we cooked most nights....the braai night was awesome and the staff cooked it all for us! Would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly to everybody!

88.7%
43 reviews Book Now 
8

Qbic Amsterdam WTC

3 star Hotel
Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, Cape Town, South Africa 1077 xx

40 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Qbic Amsterdam WTC

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 93% Facilities - 84% Safety - 94%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 87%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 09 July 2014

İt has beautiful designed rooms and big bed.besides in front of hotel there is tram and bus services avaliable

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 May 2014

The staffs are really welcoming and the stay is good. They were pretty efficient as well to do refunding upon overcharging Clean, tidy and it was quiet despite having to get allocate in a room on the ground floor, facing the road and highway. Good stay.

87.8%
23 reviews Book Now 
9

Cat and Moose

Hostel
305 Long Street, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

21 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cat and Moose

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 93% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 90%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 20 January 2013

Nice place to stay. Room had everything you need, shared facilities were clean. Central location, nice and friendly staff.

Nathan Middlebrook
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
94.3%
Nathan would recommend this property 03 December 2011

Staff were very helpful, location is ideal (plenty of bars and restaurants and easy walking distance to the markets), rooms were clean and kitchen come in handy as well.

87.6%
6 reviews Book Now 
10

33 South Boutique Backpackers

Hostel
33 South, 48 Trill Road, Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa 7925

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 33 South Boutique Backpackers

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 90%
Ramanpreet Singh Bhatia
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Ramanpreet Singh would recommend this property 10 May 2014

Very friendly staff, very clean and peaceful place. The main thing is its a very safe place to stay. Also the hostel provides safe big locker to keep my laptop and other stuff! I like the concept of self catering facilities. In kitchen you can cook food, keep your fruits and vegetables in boxes provided and also big refrigerators. Also i would like to thank Ferdinand for all the help!

Ben Duff
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
68.6%
14 April 2014

This place was pretty nice, the staff are friendly enough, abd will help out if you ask them. Rooms are clean and tidy and the facilities are pretty sweet

Cape Town

40 Hostels from 4.43 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cape Town hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cape Town. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.