HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Cape Town, South Africa

Travellers Places 100%

Travellers Places

Hotel
69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay
Atmosphere
100%
Cleanliness
93%
Facilities
100%
Location
100%
Safety
100%
Staff
100%
Value
93%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Travellers Places

14 Feb 2014 100%

Great Location

would recommend this property

06 Feb 2014 97%

Everything, superb location, top quality hotel.

would recommend this property

Read all Travellers Places reviews

Observatory Backpackers 91%

Observatory Backpackers

Hostel
235 Lower Main Road, Observatory
Atmosphere
91%
Cleanliness
96%
Facilities
87%
Location
78%
Safety
91%
Staff
98%
Value
91%

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Observatory Backpackers

18 Jul 2014 83%
With my spouse / partner Business / conference

The external feature need to be upgraded

would recommend this property

10 May 2014 100%
With my spouse / partner Sightseeing & culture

A very comfortable, hospitable place! We stayed in a double room, en suite. The room had a large window for natural light, a closet and a table for a desk and our stuff. The whole place was squeaky clean, kept that way by a diligent, motherly lady and her partners. The garden was large with plenty of seating and greenery. The lounge had a large flat screen TV and comfortable couches. The kitchen was well equipped and large enough for several people to fix food at once. A long table offered plenty of space for guests to eat. We could live here!

would recommend this property

Read all Observatory Backpackers reviews

Cape Town Backpackers 89%

Cape Town Backpackers

Hostel
New Church Street 81, Tamboerskloof
Atmosphere
94%
Cleanliness
77%
Facilities
86%
Location
97%
Safety
97%
Staff
91%
Value
83%

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cape Town Backpackers

07 Apr 2014 83%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year

Nice and helpful staff. Good kitchen. Nice evenings in kommunal areas.

would recommend this property

16 Dec 2013 83%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Visiting friends or family

The location was very good en it has a great atmosphere!

would recommend this property

Read all Cape Town Backpackers reviews

Ashanti Lodge Green Point 87%

Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Hostel
23 Antrim Road, Green Point
Atmosphere
80%
Cleanliness
100%
Facilities
87%
Location
87%
Safety
93%
Staff
87%
Value
87%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ashanti Lodge Green Point

05 Dec 2015 66%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

Clean and safe

would recommend this property

24 Jul 2015 100%
Alone Work / volunteering

Professional, friendly staff. Met so much nice people from over the world. Ashanti also always had parking for my rental and is very close to sea point. Great jogging path along the ocean. Thanks Ashanti

would recommend this property

Read all Ashanti Lodge Green Point reviews

Cat and Moose Backpackers Lodge 87%

Cat and Moose Backpackers Lodge

Hostel
305 Long Street, 8001
Atmosphere
81%
Cleanliness
83%
Facilities
81%
Location
96%
Safety
87%
Staff
93%
Value
88%

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cat and Moose Backpackers Lodge

30 Nov 2015 86%
Alone Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Hostel staffs are always helpful. They try to find the answer on my questions even about the places outside Cape Town.

would recommend this property

04 Jun 2015 100%
Alone Work / volunteering

Its really relaxed atmosphere and great staff.

would recommend this property

Read all Cat and Moose Backpackers Lodge reviews

33 South Boutique Backpackers 87%

33 South Boutique Backpackers

Hostel
48 Trill Rd, Observatory
Atmosphere
73%
Cleanliness
87%
Facilities
80%
Location
73%
Safety
100%
Staff
87%
Value
87%

2 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 33 South Boutique Backpackers

18 Apr 2014 94%
Alone Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Sightseeing & culture

Very friendly staff, very clean and peaceful place.The main thing is its a very safe place to stay. Also the hostel provides safe big locker to keep my laptop and other stuff!I like the concept of self catering facilities. In kitchen you can cook food, keep your fruits and vegetables in boxes provided and also big refrigerators.Also i would like to thank Ferdinand for all the help!

would recommend this property

09 Apr 2014 69%
Alone Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture

This place was pretty nice, the staff are friendly enough, abd will help out if you ask them. Rooms are clean and tidy and the facilities are pretty sweet

Read all 33 South Boutique Backpackers reviews

Green Elephant 94%

Green Elephant

Hostel
57 Milton Road, Observatory
Atmosphere
91%
Cleanliness
89%
Facilities
94%
Location
94%
Safety
97%
Staff
100%
Value
97%

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Elephant

24 Nov 2013 89%

My third stay et the Green Ele. It is still well-run, friendly, and a good choice for social backpackers wanting to stay in Obz.

would recommend this property

28 Feb 2013 97%

We felt at home from the first day on. Observatory has all you need:bars,supermarkets,restaurants. This hostel makes you want to stay longer!minibuses transport you easy enough into the city centre. Staff is always knowledgable, helpful, in a good mood and happy to chat. Long term residents give good advice, too. Security also satisfies, there are private lockers etc. Good wi-fi, laid-back common rooms and sea-view from the terrace. Enjoy :)

would recommend this property

Read all Green Elephant reviews

Riverlodge Backpackers 91%

Riverlodge Backpackers

Hostel
Oude Molen Estate, Alexander Road, Pinelands
Atmosphere
100%
Cleanliness
94%
Facilities
89%
Location
74%
Safety
83%
Staff
100%
Value
97%

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Riverlodge Backpackers

12 Dec 2012 100%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

This hostel is on a big village that once was a mental institution. The mental institution that was for whites is still maintained. on the other side of the highway, the one that was for blacks is now an eco village where this hostel exist. It is a big space, they provide you with lots of information and access. There are few other restaurants, horseback riding place, pool and squatters on the property.

would recommend this property

01 Dec 2012 94%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

the staff is excellent, ive made a lot of good friends n i miss this place already

would recommend this property

Read all Riverlodge Backpackers reviews

Carnival Court 83%

Carnival Court

Hostel
255 Long Street
Atmosphere
87%
Cleanliness
74%
Facilities
77%
Location
91%
Safety
82%
Staff
94%
Value
79%

16 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Carnival Court

24 Sep 2015 100%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

Staff very friendly and helpful, especially as I had problems with onward travel. They also arranged airport pickup for me as I was unsure how to get there.

would recommend this property

15 May 2015 94%
With a large group / tour Sightseeing & culture

Location

would recommend this property

Read all Carnival Court reviews

Two Oceans Backpackers 78%

Two Oceans Backpackers

Hostel
47 Long Street
Atmosphere
71%
Cleanliness
67%
Facilities
73%
Location
91%
Safety
77%
Staff
84%
Value
81%

14 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Two Oceans Backpackers

03 Feb 2015 83%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year

This hostel is a very friendly place to stay so it is perfect for backpackers. Each time I left my room I would see somebody cleaning the toilet or stairs etc. Rooms and showers are very basic. The kitchen is very good so you can do your own cooking and not spend extra money on a meal out. I would certainly recommend a friend to stay here.

would recommend this property

05 Dec 2014 89%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year

Location is fantastic centre of a very lively long street. Party continues on the two oceans balcony.

would recommend this property

Read all Two Oceans Backpackers reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cape Town?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Cape Town hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cape Town. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Cape Town

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Cape Town. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!