We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The B.I.G

Hostel | 18 Thornhill rd., Cape Town, South Africa 8005

97.3% Overall Rating

35 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"The hostel was nicely decorated and perfectly clean. They had a lot of day-trips and activities on offer as well as a fully equiped kitchen with two big fridges. Also staff was very friedly and helpful."

Read all The B.I.G reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"After your booking is made through HostelBookers we will contact you to ask for further security to confirm your booking with us directly" Groups no bigger than 8pax can make a booking. If you wish to make a group booking bigger than 8 pax please contact us directly

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cape Town?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cape Town

Riverlodge Backpackers
7.10 USD

Hostel 84.5% 16 reviews
Lighthouse Farm Lodge
4.44 USD

Hostel 72.0% 36 reviews
33 South Boutique Backpackers
13.31 USD

Hostel 87.6% 6 reviews
Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers & Pub
13.31 USD

Hostel 77.6% 7 reviews
Green Elephant Backpackers
7.10 USD

Hostel 90.2% 28 reviews
Observatory Backpackers
11.54 USD

Hostel 90.2% 9 reviews
Cape Town Deco Lodge
14.20 USD

Hostel 70.3% 13 reviews
Kimberley Hotel Backpackers
8.87 USD

Hostel 78.6% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.3%

Overall Rating

35 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The B.I.G'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
99.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nicely decorated and perfectly clean. They had a lot of day-trips and activities on offer as well as a fully equiped kitchen with two big fridges. Also staff was very friedly and helpful.

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janeta Klaus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014 Janeta would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The property is in a great location, really safe, super comfortable, clean. The kitchen in awesome. The wifi is reliable. There is a tv room with a great reading space and a library.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Polina Ilieva

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Polina would recommend this property

Liked: Felt at home :) The best place I have stayed at. Guys, you are great, thanks so much for the fun :)

Disliked: Polina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Zwicker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location and property is great!!!

Disliked: nothing!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel in the world! From the moment you walk in, you feel genuinely welcomed. A tour of the facilities was given along with advice for local food and activities. The staff become your friends, which encourages guests to become friends with each other. The atmosphere over breakfast in the morning is like living with a big family. Love all the facilities. Clean pool, kitchen/dining areas are combined. Extra rooms for TV and quiet relaxation. Secure. Helpful. Happy.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was leaving.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katharina Geppert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2013 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this beautiful comfy boutique hostel and its funny and charming staff. We had a very warm welcome and felt like at home right from the staff. This is the best hostel I have ever seen anywhere in the world!

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great open atmosphere, nicely decorated, free internet, breakfast, movie room, pool, social but still privacy, close to waterfront, cute dogs. Staff helps out with everything and is pretty much always present.

Disliked: Showers went a bit cold sometimes if someone else was using water ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely decoration. Rooms were more like bedrooms than dorm rooms. Throughout the building, quirky designs and rooms to relax in. About a 10 minute walk to the V&A waterfront. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dung Van Tran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013 Dung Van would recommend this property

Liked: Best staffs - very friendly and helpfull Best room and facilities Best nutional brealfirst One suggestion they should change their name from B.I.G to B.E.S.T :))

Disliked: None!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: The B.I.G. is the BEST! All staff are super friendly and helpful right down to getting my pant cuffs sewed up before leaving for a 6-week overlander. Their location is very convenient to the V&A wharf, supemarket, and hiking to Lion's Head. They offer a variety of the usual day tours but arranged an unusual one for me witha smile. They serve a very complete breakfast. The dorm has individual lights as well as bunks you can sit up in and which are solid. This is THE place to stay when in Cape Town.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful, full of great recommendations. Homely atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING house! Bright, cheerful environment that inspires conversation and fun. Lovely rooms, CLEAN!!, nice big kitchen, pool, communal areas for chilling out...wonderful place!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Instantly felt like home away from home. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and will handle everything from tour bookings to travel advice to laundry. There's a great TV room with couches, a library with reading chairs, and a wonderful common space in the kitchen by the fireplace to hang out and meet other travellers. Rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean and are equipped with all the little things that make a difference when you're traveling, such as sturdy creak-free wood-framed bunk beds, individual reading lamps, backpack-sized lockers, and hooks to hang clothing. Bedding and towels are supplied. There are keycodes for the gate, front door and individual rooms, which make the place very secure. This is a brilliant place to stay in Cape Town, and your only problem may be forcing yourself to leave.

Disliked: The only downside is that the hostel is located in a residential neighbourhood a bit out of the city centre. It's only a 15-minute walk to the Waterfront, but it does mean that you're pretty much stuck taking taxis if you want to go out after dark. Not a big deal or anything, but the lack of an onsite restaurant means that dinner requires a bit of advance planning, especially if you're travelling solo and don't have a car. But the upside to being in a residential neighbourhood is that it's quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Mejias

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCO AURELIO MARGARIDA TORRANO

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2013 MARCO AURELIO MARGARIDA would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stayl! Very helpfull and friendly staff. They did make all the efforts so I could enjoy my trip, suggesting things to do and helping me arrange the tours I wanted and couldn´t book in advance. The location is good, within walking distance from the Waterfront, in what felt like a nice and safe neighborhood. I stayed in two bedrooms there, one being outside, by the pool, wich was more private, and the other located on the upper floor, inside the main house, above the reception and the common rooms (kitchen, tv room etc.). Both were clean and very cosy. It´s a good place to be whether you´re travelling alone or as a couple, as was I, since there was always someone hanging around to chat and interact, and you could also have privacy and a quiet stay.

Disliked: MARCO AURELIO MARGARIDA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

michael wilder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 February 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean. Good breakfast.

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Pfeiffer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Newly renovated and VERY cool people! Gave me a very warm welcome!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcelo Guimaraes

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I stayed in South Africa... nice people! Thanks all the B.I.G Team for the wonderfull hospitality! I fully recommend them!

Disliked: Marcelo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Hostel. I can honestly say it's the best one I've ever stayed in ANYWHERE. The staff were fun to talk to and knowledgeable, the facilities top-notch, and the location unbeatable. What more do you want?

Disliked: My vacation ended?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Eckels

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was more like staying at a friend's house than a hostel. There was a major party going on in town (MCQP), and the staff at the BIG not only let the people staying know, they invited us to join them complete with suggestions to organize the outfits to join in on the theme. I wasn't planning on the night life aspect, but I'm glad I joined in. Coupled with the larger percentage of long-staying residents than I've seen at other hostels and a few locals and staff hanging out, it gives a much better chance to see more of the city, even if you're only visiting for a few days.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Morley

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Top quality room, excellent services and most of all the amazing staff that helped us and guided us so well throughout our stay

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Engy amr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Engy would recommend this property

Liked: everything! specifically the friendly Staff :)

Disliked: nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best Hostel i have ever been. And: great Location. Close to the waterfront and the long promenade at the sea (perfect for running, if you like...). There is no chance to top this place. Amazing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...