HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of THE BACKPACK

Hostel | 74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

94.6% Overall Rating

174 out of 185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

"Beautifully presented, really clean and tidy, and very helpful and friendly staff."

Read all THE BACKPACK reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation: If cancelled up to 14 days before date of arrival, a 10% administration fee will be charged. If cancelled up to 7 days before date of arrival, 50% of the total price of the reservation will be charged. If cancelled later or in the case of a no show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cape Town?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cape Town

Zebra Crossing Lodge
13.12 USD

Hostel 85.4% 184 reviews
Cape Town Backpackers
3.37 USD

Hostel 85.9% 57 reviews
Cat and Moose
12.18 USD

Hostel 87.8% 23 reviews
Daddy Long Legs Self Catering Apartments
41.58 USD

Apartment 94.3% 3 reviews
Carnival Court
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.2% 92 reviews
Blue Mountain Backpackers
15.18 USD

Hostel 79.2% 62 reviews
Lady Hamilton Hotel
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lady Hamilton
33.27 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

174 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'THE BACKPACK'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 150 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully presented, really clean and tidy, and very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: In the middle island of a busy road. It wasn't a problem for noise, but crossing it was sometimes a little hairy!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good food, clean, great atmosphere, safe, nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Melanie Simeons is the travel consultant and she did a great job helping me plan my trip!

Disliked: Bathrooms are oddly located and few and far between.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Kilah

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: Was very secure with a guard at front gate. was clean with great facilities.

Disliked: Drew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Fisher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of bathrooms and chill areas 10 main walk to Long street. Great staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is always friendly and ready to help with any request. The place is clean and in easy walking distance to all the places in the city center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cynthia howard

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 December 2013 cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Our booked room was not available. ( 3 beds in 8 room dorm) so they gave us a private 3 bed room with bath. Beautiful room. Exceptionally beautiful!! Decided to stay longer dorm was great too!

Disliked: Nothing was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cynthia howard

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 December 2013 cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great rooms. Great facilities wonderful staff. Highly recommended

Disliked: Nothing, it was great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Broadhead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely amazing. Whether it came to booking trips or socialising they were the friendliest and most helpful bunch of peeps I've ever encountered working in a hostel and I'll miss them all! The showers were the best I've experienced too, I usually look forward to my own shower when I get home but this time it was such a disappointment! Also, the work and contributions that the hostel makes to the local township communties such as with the school in Heideveld. Try and volunteer to help out at the school, even for just a few hours, as it will be a very rewarding experience. It was nice to give a little back after being made to feel so welcome. Best hostel ever!

Disliked: I didn't have a wifi appliance so was reliant on the computers at times which could be painfully slow!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Backpack was an absolutely wonderful place to stay - the best I know in South Africa. The atmosphere is great, we met loads of nice people, and got great help from the fantastic staff. It is within walking distance of Long Street and many sights, it is clean, and there is a good kitchen.

Disliked: Really the only downside I can think of is its name, 'The Backpack'. Whenever we called for a taxi or something, they always replied with, 'which backpackers?' To be clear: this is not a real downside. They have an address. Taxi drivers know it. The Backpack is a great palce.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ingrid Phillips

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2013 Ingrid would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting on the bottom of Table Mountain, lots of little sitting groups outdoors to chat or do computerwork. Bed linnen crisp, and in winter a hot water bottle that prvides comfort, it really does make a difference.

Disliked: Music in the common room with the warm fire in the stove way too loud, almost impossible to hold a normal conversation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and comfy rooms, amazing view of table mountain and great bar/restaurant area.

Disliked: A few more toilets/showers would be good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taissa Rodrigues Marques da Silva

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

27 November 2012 Taissa would recommend this property

Liked: One of the most well-strutured hostels I've ever been. Excellent view of the Table Mountain. Close to the city centre and just next to a city sightseeing bus stop. Large kitchen, provide several fridges and other places for food storage, have a travel desk, ATM, money exchange, bar with noce music. Bedroom with locker AND safe. Could have a sink near the toilets, though.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: a bit expensive, but a very good hostel anyway

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. They brought us to some nice places for dinner and parties. The hostel is very good for meeting people from all over the world and the bar open until midnight is one of the places for that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are fabulous and bend over backwards to help you out. It's got a great vibe and unlike some other hostels I've stayed at the staff here seem really happy. It's perpetually lovely and clean and there are lots of nice touches in the rooms such as hot chocolate and hot water bottles.

Disliked: I can't fault the place. This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in during my 3-month Africa trip.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with a great atmosphere. We booked a doubleroom with ensuite bathroom, and it was very clean and spacious. There's a water boiler in the room, so you can make coffee or tea and they even provide a hot-water bag for the chilly winter nights in cape town. The property has several small patios/gardens where you can sit outside and relax, furthermore they have a nice TV lounge to watch DVDs, a bar etc etc. They also have a travel desk where you can book cape town tours, but we didnt use that. Furthermore they do a lot of charity work ommunities in Cape town! Small spaces in the garden to read a book or just relax. The room was very spacious and clean with african style furniture. They do a lot of charity and work in the communities in Cape town,

Disliked: Breakfast is not included.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012

Liked: I think the facilities had a very nice lounge area. There was one sweet staff member who tried to help us when we said we were uncomfortable.

Disliked: It was unable to accomodate a room change after my female friend found that the dorm room only had men in it. We decided to leave early because we were so upset with the room setups, the lack of locks on our luggage racks in the room, and the general atmosphere. Even though my friend was harassed by the men in our room they would not refund our night because it was not "24 hours notice". Additionally, because we did not save a reciept for our mandatory room key deposit, my friend was unable to get her desposit back despite having the key.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eini Aho

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 August 2012 Eini would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and the hostel was very cosy and clean. I would definitely recommend staying in this hostel for it´s relaxed vibe and eco-friendly values.

Disliked: It is not right in the center but really not for either. The end of Long Street is just five minutes walk away so I don´t consider even the location really as a con. In other words I would recommend staying in the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central courtyard/common are where you can meet lots of people, enjoy a game of pool and knock back a cold one from lucas the man at the bar. Prudance is a legend and eveything is fun!

Disliked: Some of the staff are a little un organised.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgette Deleurence

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2012 Georgette would recommend this property

Liked: I was looking for a quiet place and I found it there.

Disliked: Georgette left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scarlett bodnar

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2012 scarlett would recommend this property

Liked: the bar was great!

Disliked: dirty pool

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

gary stinson

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 January 2012 gary would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, friendly folks, great location

Disliked: Expensive, raised their rates for the Soccer World Cup, then didn't lower them afterwards, but a least they pay their staff a good rates, unlike other places in SA!?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a very relaxed atmosphere and everything you need is there or nearby.

Disliked: The kitchen is quit small.