We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of THE BACKPACK

Hostel | 74 New Church Street, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

92.5% Overall Rating

184 out of 196 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Ben Kunz thinks…

"I booked the accommodation mainly because of its location, but found that it is a gem in the city. It has an amazing homely atmosphere with super friendly and helpful staff who gone the extra mile to…"

Read all THE BACKPACK reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

This property has a 30 day cancellation policy with the following terms · If cancelled up to 30 +days - no fee · If cancelled 7-29 days prior to arrival 50% · If cancelled 6 days or less prior to arrival 100% Christmas/New Years Special Conditions > from 20th Of December 2015 until 6th of January 2015 Prepayment: The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of booking. • Cancellation: Please note that bookings during this period are non-refundable. If cancelled or modified, no refund will be paid. In case of no-show, no refund will be paid.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cape Town?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cape Town

Zebra Crossing Lodge
11.41 USD

Hostel 85.9% 189 reviews
Cape Town Backpackers
11.03 USD

Hostel 85.9% 57 reviews
Cat and Moose
10.65 USD

Hostel 88.3% 24 reviews
Daddy Long Legs Self Catering Apartments
33.77 USD

Apartment 94.3% 3 reviews
Carnival Court
13.70 USD

Hostel 84.7% 93 reviews
Blue Mountain Backpackers
9.13 USD

Hostel 77.5% 64 reviews
Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel
34.05 USD

Hotel 88.9% 17 reviews
Anzac Backpackers
9.89 USD

Hostel 76.9% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

184 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'THE BACKPACK'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 161 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Walsj

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2015 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Continental breakfast, great community program's, friendly staff

Disliked: Bar is a bit pricey if I have to be picky

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Kunz

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2015 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: I booked the accommodation mainly because of its location, but found that it is a gem in the city. It has an amazing homely atmosphere with super friendly and helpful staff who gone the extra mile to make it a wonderful stay. The Madiba room was so beautiful and clean with an amazing view. Breakfast was great en the lounge/dining area is so vibrant and full of life. All the guest sat together in the morning chatting over a cup of coffee due to the wonderful setting.

Disliked: I don't have any negative comments with regards to the backpackers expect for the parking that might be a little unsafe, but perhaps that just my own perception of parking my car in an open parking lot and not behind a gate. This being said there is a dedicated car guard 24/7 looking at the vehicles.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

John Glen Zahara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2015

Liked: The view of table mountain and the showers.

Disliked: The BP claims to be the best hostel in Africa. After spending 5 nights here in late June, 2015 the claim has to be questioned. I've travelled the Globe and have seen 1000s of hostels and live/work in Africa. The BP is good but here are some concerns. First, after 4 emails requesting shuttle at night nobody replied. Not even an apology. Some staff are not friendly and voice their unhappiness openly. Also, very few safes worked during my stay which was a huge concern with travellers. Next, one employee tried to set me up on a 2000 Rand tour when another found one for 1400R after calling for 45 seconds. The bar is pricy with 50 Rand Cokes yet vending machines in hostel charge 13 R. Their small beers cost more than tourist area big beers. They host overland tours so beware of dozens or 100 yesterday showing up suddenly. Location is very far from waterfront and 3 muggings happened on the same st. in 5 nights. Only good side was view of T Mnt. and showers. I could go on but I'll pass next time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, new sheets every night. Lovely bed & duvet. Close to local amenities!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Davis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It's simply the best hostel I have ever stayed in, by quite some margin. The staff are especially wonderful and helpful. A lot of love has gone into creating this amazing place.

Disliked: The only thing I can possibly think of is the wifi was a bit slow!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukasz Dukala

Alone

Family Holiday

01 February 2015 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: I liked pretty much everything about it. One of the cleanest hostels I have ever stayed at. Amazing staff. Good location. Safe.

Disliked: It's situated on an island between two busy roads so it may be not pleasant to sleep in one of the rooms/dorms facing the road however it wasn't a case here. It would be also nice if they could sell more food at the bar in the afternoon/evening.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Normand junior Laflamme

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2015 Normand junior would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice place and nice bar. Sympatic staff.

Disliked: A bit expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Cuthbertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome facilities. The staff here are just awesome, letting you know what's going on around the place, getting other people involved at the hostel (such as having BBQ nights)

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully presented, really clean and tidy, and very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: In the middle island of a busy road. It wasn't a problem for noise, but crossing it was sometimes a little hairy!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good food, clean, great atmosphere, safe, nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Melanie Simeons is the travel consultant and she did a great job helping me plan my trip!

Disliked: Bathrooms are oddly located and few and far between.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Kilah

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: Was very secure with a guard at front gate. was clean with great facilities.

Disliked: Drew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Fisher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of bathrooms and chill areas 10 main walk to Long street. Great staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is always friendly and ready to help with any request. The place is clean and in easy walking distance to all the places in the city center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cynthia howard

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 December 2013 cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Our booked room was not available. ( 3 beds in 8 room dorm) so they gave us a private 3 bed room with bath. Beautiful room. Exceptionally beautiful!! Decided to stay longer dorm was great too!

Disliked: Nothing was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cynthia howard

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 December 2013 cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great rooms. Great facilities wonderful staff. Highly recommended

Disliked: Nothing, it was great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Broadhead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely amazing. Whether it came to booking trips or socialising they were the friendliest and most helpful bunch of peeps I've ever encountered working in a hostel and I'll miss them all! The showers were the best I've experienced too, I usually look forward to my own shower when I get home but this time it was such a disappointment! Also, the work and contributions that the hostel makes to the local township communties such as with the school in Heideveld. Try and volunteer to help out at the school, even for just a few hours, as it will be a very rewarding experience. It was nice to give a little back after being made to feel so welcome. Best hostel ever!

Disliked: I didn't have a wifi appliance so was reliant on the computers at times which could be painfully slow!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Backpack was an absolutely wonderful place to stay - the best I know in South Africa. The atmosphere is great, we met loads of nice people, and got great help from the fantastic staff. It is within walking distance of Long Street and many sights, it is clean, and there is a good kitchen.

Disliked: Really the only downside I can think of is its name, 'The Backpack'. Whenever we called for a taxi or something, they always replied with, 'which backpackers?' To be clear: this is not a real downside. They have an address. Taxi drivers know it. The Backpack is a great palce.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ingrid Phillips

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2013 Ingrid would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting on the bottom of Table Mountain, lots of little sitting groups outdoors to chat or do computerwork. Bed linnen crisp, and in winter a hot water bottle that prvides comfort, it really does make a difference.

Disliked: Music in the common room with the warm fire in the stove way too loud, almost impossible to hold a normal conversation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and comfy rooms, amazing view of table mountain and great bar/restaurant area.

Disliked: A few more toilets/showers would be good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taissa Rodrigues Marques da Silva

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

27 November 2012 Taissa would recommend this property

Liked: One of the most well-strutured hostels I've ever been. Excellent view of the Table Mountain. Close to the city centre and just next to a city sightseeing bus stop. Large kitchen, provide several fridges and other places for food storage, have a travel desk, ATM, money exchange, bar with noce music. Bedroom with locker AND safe. Could have a sink near the toilets, though.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: a bit expensive, but a very good hostel anyway

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. They brought us to some nice places for dinner and parties. The hostel is very good for meeting people from all over the world and the bar open until midnight is one of the places for that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are fabulous and bend over backwards to help you out. It's got a great vibe and unlike some other hostels I've stayed at the staff here seem really happy. It's perpetually lovely and clean and there are lots of nice touches in the rooms such as hot chocolate and hot water bottles.

Disliked: I can't fault the place. This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in during my 3-month Africa trip.