We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Atlantic Point Backpackers

Hostel | 2 Cavalcade Rd, Greenpoint, Cape Town, South Africa -

93.7% Overall Rating

137 out of 141 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

"The atmosphere of the hostel is friendly and there's always something to do and people to talk to. The clientele is on the younger side so that's something to consider if you don't like that. There is a lot of common…"

Read all Atlantic Point Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

You may cancel your booking up to 48hrs upon arrival without losing your deposit that you have paid to us. If so for whatever reason you cancel within 24hrs upon arrival your deposit will be retained.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cape Town?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cape Town

De Waterkant house
29.99 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
A Sunflower Stop
9.00 USD

Hostel 89.1% 77 reviews
The Charles
33.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
De Waterkant Village
37.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Ashanti Green Point Backpackers
12.75 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Two Oceans Backpackers
7.50 USD

Hostel 76.4% 23 reviews
Mouille Point Village
44.99 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
backpackers on castle
9.00 USD

Hostel 60.4% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

137 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Atlantic Point Backpackers'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 138 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the hostel is friendly and there's always something to do and people to talk to. The clientele is on the younger side so that's something to consider if you don't like that. There is a lot of common area space and the staff is incredibly friendly.

Disliked: People stayed up a bit later than I would've liked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawn Cole

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2015 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and secure, located within walking distance to the waterfront and areas with other bars and restaurants

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

17 June 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the most luxurious backpackers I have ever stayed at. The rooms were extremely clean and everyone was friendly. There was a fantastic vibe to Atlanic point backpackers. The accommodation is set out on 3 levels giving a great view accross Greenpoint. This backpackers exceeded expectations and had secure parking which was my main concern as we had a university owned vehicle.

Disliked: The rooms were a little cold although we were provided with an amazing fleece blanket to snuggle up under.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location. Confortable beds, clean, spacious rooms, veryvery helpfull staff and nice athmosphere. I stayed a week instead of 2 nights. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location and the room was clean and comfortable

Disliked: We had three issues. 1. We left the room locked but when the cleaning staff came in they left it unlocked for two days in a row. 2. We wanted to rent bikes and I checked with the staff the night before to see if they were available. They said yes but when we went to get the bikes in the morning one was unusable. 3. One day there was no hot water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its staff very friendly and helpful, great time had. Would stay again and recomend to friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel provides very cool activities (e.g. mzoli's on sunday). The atmosphere is very relaxed and the area is considered safe.

Disliked: Really there is nothing to complain about. I would definitely recommend this hostel to my friends.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanne Bird

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2015 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff and other guests too. Great that there is a bar and the rooms are spacious too. Really great hostel!

Disliked: Leanne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful and the hostel was very clean and I felt safe in it. It is in a really good area of Cape Town and withing walking distance of Waterfront. They have loads of activities going on and an awesome bar upstairs. Stay here for sure!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the waterfront shopping and markets. Very helpful reception staff, clean

Disliked: Could do with toilets outside the bathrooms, for when you're sharing. But otherwise nothing - it's great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet.

Disliked: Common kitchen area could have better cleaned and kept.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, safe and lots on offer to do.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Rouiller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center. Nice staff. Clean

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014

Liked: Nice and clean, very good breakfast, good location

Disliked: Very loud, if you go, you should like parties and not be too sensitive with noice in the evening/at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vanessa Groß

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, in walking distance to waterfront. Nice double room.

Disliked: Vanessa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very clean, nice rooms and good choice of breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good facilities

Disliked: Needs more space for guests to store dry food

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Andrae

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 October 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast: fruit salads, pancakes,... Plugs in the lockers: you can charge your electronics without having to worry that someone might take it...good location: you can basically walk everywhere.

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

catherine kane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, very helpful and friendly staff... It has everything you look for in a hostel!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Hume

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: - clean - friendly staff - usage of computers and wifi for free - breakfast included - good mix of social events on offer

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Thorpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 October 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Atlantic point backpackers is just amazing. I've never stayed in a hostel quite like it. The staff and owners are very friendly and can give you great advice on what to do in Cape Town. The hostel itself is very clean and has great facilities. Its very easy to meet other international travellers in the hostel bar and TV lounge (Love the cocktail night!) The breakfast every morning was a real treat, they even have muffins and pancakes!! Thanks Tim and James for such a wonderful time!

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Barks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best 'hostel' I've ever stayed at. It's really more like a hotel with dorms! The staff are great & so helpful. You can book almost anything with them. There's something going on every night, movie nights, cocktail nights, BRAAI (be there on Wednesdays- amazing grub!), trips to local markets! The place is ridiculously clean, the bathrooms are immaculate. Breakfast is included, and there's everything from fruit cocktail to pancakes! I was travelling alone & it's a great place to meet new people. Location was perfect, great food places around & 5 minutes walk from the lovely waterfront. The perfect stay in Cape Town!

Disliked: Nothing- it was flawless

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeff platts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 jeff would recommend this property

Liked: its a perfect hostel! lots to do, but not a party hostel . super friendly and helpful staff! i would recommend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nidhi Vaishnavi

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 July 2013 Nidhi would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have been too, which is the actual reason am writing this review. The place is very safe with number coded entrances on all doors, spotlessly clean and has a great character! Nice vibrant colours and helpful staff. A good spread of breakfast in the morning, loved their pancakes :) We had two rooms in the back building, that whole area has been newly renovated. It has its own kitchen with all utensils and equipments you might need and can think of. Our rooms had a good decor, which usually you dnt tend to find in hostels.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...