We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers & Pub

Hostel | 135 Lower Main Road, Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa 7925

77.6% Overall Rating

5 out of 7 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/05/2012)

Bolanle Akerele thinks…

"its in the heart of the city, staffs are very friendly, there is a kitchen where u can cook your meals, the environment is neat"

Read all Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers & Pub reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

“PLEASE NOTE : If you book your stay for the World Cup 2010 (June – July 2010), you will be contacted by the property management within 72hrs of making the booking. You will be required to pay a further 40% of your booked stay as pre-payment. Only then will your booking be officially confirmed by the property. The agency 10% deposit is non-refundable.” 3 day minimum stay Non refundable 50% deposit. Full payment by 1 May 2010. A 10% discount applies if you either stay for 30 nights or 2

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cape Town?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cape Town

Green Elephant Backpackers
7.09 USD

Hostel 90.2% 28 reviews
Observatory Backpackers
11.52 USD

Hostel 90.2% 9 reviews
33 South Boutique Backpackers
13.30 USD

Hostel 87.6% 6 reviews
Cape Town Deco Lodge
14.18 USD

Hostel 70.3% 13 reviews
Lighthouse Farm Lodge
4.43 USD

Hostel 72.0% 36 reviews
Riverlodge Backpackers
7.09 USD

Hostel 84.5% 16 reviews
The B.I.G
21.72 USD

Hostel 97.3% 35 reviews
Kimberley Hotel Backpackers
10.64 USD

Hostel 78.6% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

5 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers & Pub'

Atmosphere
74.3%
Location
68.6%
Facilities
71.4%
Cleanliness
74.3%
Staff
82.9%
Value
85.7%
Safety
85.7%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013

Liked: ...

Disliked: There was no WiFi even though this is advertised. It isn't in the city centre - it's 3 stops out! You can't get the train after dark as it's too dangerous, so you're very limited. The train station nearby is beside a bridge and isn't well lit. I felt unsafe walking to and leaving the station. There was no one else in my dorm for 3 nights, which isn't good when you want to meet people. The bar below is so loud that it's hard to get asleep. I decided to cook a pizza in the kitchen. I opened the oven and about 10 insects crawled out. Disgusting!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Darinka Mertsch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Darinka would recommend this property

Liked: really helpful staff, especially for arranging tours at short notice

Disliked: cockroaches in the kitchen

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Prasert Jindaborisutt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: This property is too noisy at night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bolanle Akerele

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Bolanle would recommend this property

Liked: its in the heart of the city, staffs are very friendly, there is a kitchen where u can cook your meals, the environment is neat

Disliked: Bolanle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mimmi Lindström Schedin

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2012 Mimmi would recommend this property

Liked: It was good price. And the hotel was rely charming ! 24 hours receptionist was relly calming.

Disliked: Mimmi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Felipe Alvarez

19 June 2010 Juan Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect!

Disliked: Juan Felipe left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen Luff

25 February 2010 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: I could not have chosen a more welcoming and friendly hostel if I tried. As the rather intrepid traveller that I was I was 1st greeted by Faith. Her warmth and eagerness to make me feel at home made me instantly feel at ease . Add to that her husband Michael who was also never without a smile and Michelle who I was able to share so much with and encouraged me to do many things on my own and my 2 night stay turned into 5. I consider them all good friends and would not hesitate to come back and stay at Obviously Armchair when I return to Cape Town.I felt safe at all times and it had a charm all of its own.

Disliked: Eileen left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...