HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers & Pub

Hostel | 135 Lower Main Road, Observatory, Cape Town, South Africa 7925

77.6% Overall Rating

5 out of 7 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/05/2012)

Bolanle Akerele thinks…

"its in the heart of the city, staffs are very friendly, there is a kitchen where u can cook your meals, the environment is neat"

Read all Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers & Pub reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

“PLEASE NOTE : If you book your stay for the World Cup 2010 (June – July 2010), you will be contacted by the property management within 72hrs of making the booking. You will be required to pay a further 40% of your booked stay as pre-payment. Only then will your booking be officially confirmed by the property. The agency 10% deposit is non-refundable.” 3 day minimum stay Non refundable 50% deposit. Full payment by 1 May 2010. A 10% discount applies if you either stay for 30 nights or 2

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cape Town?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cape Town

Green Elephant Backpackers
7.09 USD

Hostel 90.2% 28 reviews
Observatory Backpackers
11.52 USD

Hostel 90.2% 9 reviews
33 South Boutique Backpackers
13.30 USD

Hostel 87.6% 6 reviews
Cape Town Deco Lodge
14.18 USD

Hostel 70.3% 13 reviews
Lighthouse Farm Lodge
4.43 USD

Hostel 72.0% 36 reviews
Riverlodge Backpackers
7.09 USD

Hostel 84.5% 16 reviews
The B.I.G
21.72 USD

Hostel 97.3% 35 reviews
Kimberley Hotel Backpackers
10.64 USD

Hostel 78.6% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

5 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Obviouzly Armchair Backpackers & Pub'

Atmosphere
74.3%
Location
68.6%
Facilities
71.4%
Cleanliness
74.3%
Staff
82.9%
Value
85.7%
Safety
85.7%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013

Liked: ...

Disliked: There was no WiFi even though this is advertised. It isn't in the city centre - it's 3 stops out! You can't get the train after dark as it's too dangerous, so you're very limited. The train station nearby is beside a bridge and isn't well lit. I felt unsafe walking to and leaving the station. There was no one else in my dorm for 3 nights, which isn't good when you want to meet people. The bar below is so loud that it's hard to get asleep. I decided to cook a pizza in the kitchen. I opened the oven and about 10 insects crawled out. Disgusting!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Darinka Mertsch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Darinka would recommend this property

Liked: really helpful staff, especially for arranging tours at short notice

Disliked: cockroaches in the kitchen

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Prasert Jindaborisutt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: This property is too noisy at night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bolanle Akerele

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Bolanle would recommend this property

Liked: its in the heart of the city, staffs are very friendly, there is a kitchen where u can cook your meals, the environment is neat

Disliked: Bolanle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mimmi Lindström Schedin

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2012 Mimmi would recommend this property

Liked: It was good price. And the hotel was rely charming ! 24 hours receptionist was relly calming.

Disliked: Mimmi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Felipe Alvarez

19 June 2010 Juan Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect!

Disliked: Juan Felipe left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen Luff

25 February 2010 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: I could not have chosen a more welcoming and friendly hostel if I tried. As the rather intrepid traveller that I was I was 1st greeted by Faith. Her warmth and eagerness to make me feel at home made me instantly feel at ease . Add to that her husband Michael who was also never without a smile and Michelle who I was able to share so much with and encouraged me to do many things on my own and my 2 night stay turned into 5. I consider them all good friends and would not hesitate to come back and stay at Obviously Armchair when I return to Cape Town.I felt safe at all times and it had a charm all of its own.

Disliked: Eileen left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...