We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Two Oceans Backpackers

Hostel | 47 LONG STREET, Cape Town, South Africa 8001

75.4% Overall Rating

16 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/12/2014)

Lucy Broatch thinks…

"Location is fantastic centre of a very lively long street. Party continues on the two oceans balcony."

Read all Two Oceans Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.73

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cape Town?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cape Town

backpackers on castle
15.07 USD

Hostel 59.0% 6 reviews
Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel
52.08 USD

Hotel 89.6% 16 reviews
De Waterkant Village
66.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Charles
57.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Blue Mountain Backpackers
18.08 USD

Hostel 79.2% 62 reviews
Carnival Court
18.08 USD

Hostel 82.2% 92 reviews
De Waterkant house
55.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Daddy Long Legs Self Catering Apartments
39.34 USD

Apartment 94.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

16 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Two Oceans Backpackers'

Atmosphere
69.5%
Location
86.7%
Facilities
68.6%
Cleanliness
67.6%
Staff
79.1%
Value
80.0%
Safety
76.2%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lucy Broatch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic centre of a very lively long street. Party continues on the two oceans balcony.

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Otto & Maretha Priem

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

24 November 2014

Liked: Room was extremely hot. The others guests made noise until early hours of morning. Sound of these voices was as if they were in our room. We could sleep much.

Disliked: Room extremely warm. No natural airflow through room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Antonela Terrizzi

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Antonela would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, right in Long Street with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. The staff very helpful and friendly. Very nice deck in where you can even do a barbacue! The beds and bathrooms are a little bit old but clean.

Disliked: Beds and bathrooms a little old.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located Great WiFi Friendly staff Towels included Cheap

Disliked: Had to pay for parking in a private lot Dirty bathrooms and showers Smoking allowed on terrace Noisy common areas Area has many homeless people Cars are unsafe with regular street parking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Jordaan

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 April 2014 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Its clean / safe

Disliked: Women in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. ...easy to get around

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alyssa Greiman

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic night manager- went out of his way to take hostel guests out in evenings and during day around cape town. fun guest group.

Disliked: lockers were broken in our room- they are getting new ones. Lots of people in same room so not much sleeping when everyone is in and out at all hours

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Georgia moxham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly an helpful. They book tours for you and suggestions of where to eat, drink and visit. Cleaners are in every morning, so remained clean. Also the communal kitchen is great to save money.

Disliked: On other end of long street, good to get a good night sleep but further to walk to nightlife. My room also didn't have fan so was very hot during day but at night was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & Perfect Location, very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lucinda Cronk

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011

Liked: Location Communal area Free pool Good Showers

Disliked: Kitchen was always left messy by the manager Manager usually hanging out in his room rather than at the front desk. Expensive WiFi Very small dorm room (room 10)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Marlene Mathisen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Marlene would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great and the hostel is quite new with some nice facilities.

Disliked: As the staff is never really there it is difficult to get any information and/or book different tours. It was also a problem checking out and getting our key deposit back as no one was there during check out hours. The fact that guests have to pay a fee to bring alcohol onto the premises is okay, however it is quite hard to pay this fee when no one is ever around. Also, if we wanted to purchase alcohol there, that was difficult too, for the same reason. The whole week we were there we only had hot water the last day, not so nice to shower and do the dished in cold water. The guy who runs the place lives there too, one night (midnight) he was having a loud argument with his girlfriend in his room, yelling some pretty nasty things to her. It was pretty uncomfortable for us as guests to listen to. When someone moved out of our room, it took 2-3 days before their beds were made and the bin in our room wasn't emptied once during our whole week there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolina Gaido

08 December 2009 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in Long Street, a great location to hang out! We loved the balcony! J.R. and Steve rock! They were really helpfull all the time! I highly recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Cape Town!!!

Disliked: Carolina left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and staff were friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found Two Oceans Backpackers clean, safe, convenient and comfortable enough place to stay. Staff members very helpful and I would definitively stay there when back in Cape Town for the World Cup. Mar. Switzerland

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.