HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Two Oceans Backpackers Cape Town Hostel

47 Long Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 72%

Location 91%

Safety 75%

Staff 83%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Foosball
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 14.75USD

Important Information

Please arrange with management for later arrivals first
Reception from 8:00am - 10:00pm daily

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cape Town?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 72%

Location 91%

Safety 75%

Staff 83%

Value 80%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: its location in city centre on long street near train and bus station

Disliked: the noise it was weekend a friday night and the party noise on the balcony went on all night and i mean all night from 10pm friday night till 9am on the saturday morning when i checked out and these party people were staff members i couldnt believe it if you put your head inside the engine of a 747 plane when it revs up for take off then that would be quieter than the party noise at the hostel its a crazy/wild place with lots of broken/damaged lockers what does that tell you about the place

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is a very friendly place to stay so it is perfect for backpackers. Each time I left my room I would see somebody cleaning the toilet or stairs etc. Rooms and showers are very basic. The kitchen is very good so you can do your own cooking and not spend extra money on a meal out. I would certainly recommend a friend to stay here.

Disliked: There was a power cut on one of our nights here so we had no electricity for a few hours. However, apparently it is quite a common occurrence in Cape Town anyway. The staff were really helpful providing us with candels etc and reassured is that it would be on again by the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is fantastic centre of a very lively long street. Party continues on the two oceans balcony.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Room was extremely hot. The others guests made noise until early hours of morning. Sound of these voices was as if they were in our room. We could sleep much.

Disliked: Room extremely warm. No natural airflow through room.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great, right in Long Street with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. The staff very helpful and friendly. Very nice deck in where you can even do a barbacue! The beds and bathrooms are a little bit old but clean.

Disliked: Beds and bathrooms a little old.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Centrally locatedGreat WiFiFriendly staffTowels includedCheap

Disliked: Had to pay for parking in a private lotDirty bathrooms and showersSmoking allowed on terraceNoisy common areasArea has many homeless peopleCars are unsafe with regular street parking

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Its clean / safe

Disliked: Women in the room

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location. ...easy to get around

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Fantastic night manager- went out of his way to take hostel guests out in evenings and during day around cape town. fun guest group.

Disliked: lockers were broken in our room- they are getting new ones. Lots of people in same room so not much sleeping when everyone is in and out at all hours

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were really friendly an helpful. They book tours for you and suggestions of where to eat, drink and visit.Cleaners are in every morning, so remained clean.Also the communal kitchen is great to save money.

Disliked: On other end of long street, good to get a good night sleep but further to walk to nightlife. My room also didn't have fan so was very hot during day but at night was ok.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability