We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sax Hostel

Hostel | Eipprova 7, Ljubljana, Slovenia 1000

89.2% Overall Rating

21 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2014)

"Very authentic and cozy hostel with extremely helpful and friendly stuff. The atmosphere was wonderful, felt like staying with your jazz loving aunt and uncle. Beds were comfortable and the place was spotless.…"

Read all Sax Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- Reception limited hours - Check-in: 9 am - 4 pm in Sax Hostel reception 4 pm - 11 pm in Sax Pub Rooms available after 3 pm - Check-out until 11 am Late check-in: For arrivals outside reception hours (9 am - 11 pm) gueste should inform us by email (hostelljubljana@gmail.com) so we can confirm your late check-in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ljubljana?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ljubljana

Funky apartment Trnovo
25.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Confidenti Hostel
28.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bell Rooms
35.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Antiq Palace Residences
79.06 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
AdHoc Hostel
19.61 USD

Hostel 91.4% 7 reviews
Hotel Emonec Ljubljana
25.30 USD

Hostel 82.7% 26 reviews
Penzion Pod Lipo
28.46 USD

Guesthouse 91.8% 179 reviews
Sweethome
41.75 USD

Apartment 99.4% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.2%

Overall Rating

21 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sax Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.0%
Location
87.0%
Facilities
84.4%
Cleanliness
97.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very authentic and cozy hostel with extremely helpful and friendly stuff. The atmosphere was wonderful, felt like staying with your jazz loving aunt and uncle. Beds were comfortable and the place was spotless. Definitely one of the best hostels stayed in.

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014

Liked: Very comfortable bed. Very clean facilities. The pub downstairs is nice but very full of locals. Pretty goodwifi and a really cool building.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities. Didn't once meet any staff nor the owner. The girl who checked us in didn't even know how to turn on the computer. Staff (if there even is staff here) was highly unavailable and hey give phone numbers to call if you need them. As a traveller from canada I dont have access to a phone to be able to do so. No common room unless you include the one small couch.it was hard to socialize with other travellers due to this. It seems more of a place to sleep and visit the town than a place to meet people. I wouldn't recommend to young travellers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location in the city center. A very pretty walk along the river to get to the main square. Staff was friendly, available, and eager to please. Lady at reception was kind and took the time to give me suggestions on what to do, where to go, and most importantly, where to eat :) Very clean-- beds and bathrooms! Funky jazz theme. Love the pub and the terrace out front. Great way to start the day-- coffee and a dose of spring sun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013

Liked: clean bed, close to old town

Disliked: staff was unavailable most of the time. it just really did not feel like a nice place to be. it was a nice, clean bed, sure--but i personally want my experiences to be more than that. the internet did not work. there was no one in the hostel and i was placed in a 10 bed dorm with no one, it was just uncomfortable and there was no reason i wouldn't have been moved to a private or something smaller. i've stayed at other hostels where this has been the case--that if there are no people, it is entirely possible to stay in a private. after all, what difference does it make to them? the biggest thing was that no one was ever around to help with anything. it was all very cut and dry.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucie Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers a good size, couldn't quite get my huge pack in but many could. Recommend the 9 bed dorm as no bunks so no clambering up for once! Free linen, small towel and padlock provided. Rooms were clean and air conditioned. Good location for getting to central area and about 25 minute walk from main train station.

Disliked: No communal area other than the bar downstairs, which is more expensive than the others on the road. Some noise from the bar can be heard until late but it's not hugely loud, I was just aware of it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Rodgers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was Jazz themed and had a lot of character. The staff were excellent,made us feel very welcome and helpful with any requests we had. A good location within Ljubljana and within walking distance of the city centre,restaurants,nightlife and train station!

Disliked: Aidan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hospitable and trendy

Disliked: Quiet, almost too quiet although the pub out front was a great place to hang out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, good location, secure, had a shared bathroom but never had to queue and was always clean! very quiet on a night too for a good nights sleep!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a decent location, five mins walk from town.

Disliked: Quite expensive but that seems to be reflective of Ljubljana at the time of year.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mari Kofstad

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Mari would recommend this property

Liked: The staff! The manager was incredibly nice and helpful. I was there with four of my friends, and we really didn't know what to expect from Ljubljana, but she gave us many ideas for what to fill our days with :) Otherwise the hostel was really clean and comfortable! Very cool Jazz theme :D Overall a great stay! Best we had on our whole trip in Europe :) We had one really rainy day where we spent many hours in the bar, had a good time there too, really relaxed mood with good music!

Disliked: Small mirrors and no common kitchen. insignificant things to my opinion! :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Muller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 April 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: That it had a really good artistic vibe to it. The hostel it self looks authentic in shape and characteristic style of graffity being used for the front wall . The rooms are neat and nicely decorated. Pictures of jazz musicians hanging on the wall and doors that looks cool. Staff is helpfull/flexible and the owner was verry welcoming. Smart way of using jazz music that really comes through when you having a drink on their colorful terrace and where the sun shines at you. Separates them from others. Orginal, 'spot on!' ''Keep it up guys'', greetz

Disliked: Nothing actually

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

igor rodrigues

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 igor would recommend this property

Liked: é um hostel muito bom, não e localizado no centro da cidade, mas nada que atrapalhe, na primeira noite fiquei sozinho no hostel, o que não me agrada muito.

Disliked: igor left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bethany Atack

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Bethany would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, ideally located slightly out of the town centre, but Ljubljana is so small that you really don't have to walk far along the river to be in the centre. Clean, comfortable, air-conditioned rooms. They also allowed us to cancel our second night at short notice as we wanted to head off early to spend a night in Bled. Overall a great hostel.

Disliked: No common room area apart from the bar, but socialising in the dorms was easy enough.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful lady. The air conditioned 9 bed dorm.

Disliked: The small or non-existent mirrors in the rooms or bathrooms. Not all the bathrooms have locks which is a must. Needs a common room as the hostel has no character and does not allow for travellers to meet (the best bit about travel)...they rely on people visiting the bar for this. Not ideal, when many of the people are locals with little interest in your travels.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The jazz theme is really good and being above a pub is obviously perfect for the social aspect of travelling. The room I stayed in was newly furnished and very clean, and was probably the most comfortable bed I've stayed in on my trip across Europe!

Disliked: There were only three showers shared with everyone and one was broken whilst I was there, although it was being fixed as I left. The showers are just curtained also which is not really an issue but one I've not come across before.