HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel AVA

Hostel | Trubarjeva 5, Ljubljana, Slovenia 1000

79.4% Overall Rating

47 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/09/2013)

"Very friendly and helpful staff, good kitchen and useful washing machine! Great location!"

Read all Hostel AVA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

RECEPTION WORKING HOURS: From July 1 to September 30 (Monday – Sunday / 8.00-24.00) From October 1 to June 30 (Monday – Friday / 9.00-13.00) Latest check-in until 24.00 In case your arrival is delayed or out of working hours, please inform us of the time of your arrival by e-mail or phone in order to arrange your check-in. CANCELLATION POLICY: Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). In case a potential guest fails to cancel the reservation, we reserve the right to automatically charge for the cost of one night for the reserved accommodation via credit card provided with the booking. Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ljubljana?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ljubljana

Apartma Trubarjeva
27.62 USD

Apartment 94.3% 5 reviews
Hotel Emonec Ljubljana
38.32 USD

Hostel 83.0% 25 reviews
Hostel Tresor
22.10 USD

Hostel 94.6% 72 reviews
Alibi Hostel
19.33 USD

Hostel 68.8% 446 reviews
AdHoc Hostel
22.10 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Zeppelin hostel
22.10 USD

Hostel 91.2% 89 reviews
Stari Tisler Guest House
55.24 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
fluxus hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 79.9% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

47 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel AVA'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 60 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location!

Disliked: The reception could only be contacted by phone if they weren't in the office and during low season the office was only open from 8am - 1pm. We were lucky to have a phone but others might not be as lucky. The only other complaint would be that the beds were not that comfy and were quite springy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013

Liked: that it was in a good location!

Disliked: its was the coldest place that I have stayed in! there was no heating, and the beds where the worst even for hostel standards.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Rogers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Great building and location, staff were fab.

Disliked: The showers are not great as shared between all and not proper cubicles. The kitchen also was not a proper kitchen with just a hot plate.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lance Brooks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Lance would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely staff

Disliked: Lance left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good kitchen and useful washing machine! Great location!

Disliked: Beds weren't that comfortable or quiet!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend AVA Hostel. Let's say the rooms aren't decorated or something but there's everything you need, the location is awesome as well as the staff - very helpful!

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: Building had lots of character, art on the walls very interesting and in a pretty street right in the middle of the nicest part of the city. The staff were also lovely and helpful.

Disliked: Huge echoing hallway meant I woke up every single time anyone entered the building, even from the top floor and the night I stayed in a private room the bed was so squeaky that everytime my boyfriend or me woild move even slightly we would wake ourselves up! Worst nights sleep ever! Also no lockers or safes so had to lug my valuables about with me!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff

Disliked: Quite a run down. Not very clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Isaura Cleen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Isaura would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was IN the center, close to everything and the rooms were nice.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, right in the centre of town! The staff were friendly and helpful, and everything was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Luckily we were right next to the showers, but others had a longer walk to them. The facilities were quite basic, but fine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location.

Disliked: Kitchen área very small for number of people staying.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Berglind Hreiðarsdóttir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Berglind would recommend this property

Liked: I love that this is an art school in the winter and there are projects from the students all over the place :) The staff was wonderful we came really early and exhausted but the staff helped us and got us a room as soon as possible. Wonderful location everywhere around are beautiful houses in the center of ljublana I only stayed one night but I definetly want to come back to check the town better out ;)

Disliked: Berglind left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Services, beds, rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: No forks in the Kitchen, no pans in the kitchen, cold showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mert Çangiri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2013 Mert would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing, right in the heart of the city. Close to the bars and shopping areas, as well as the central station.

Disliked: The bathroom. Water was so cold that it was like coming directly from Iceland or something. I hardly managed to wash my hair, not even mentioning my body.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Phillip Yeatman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - close to train station and right on the city's main square. Had some info about activities in Ljubljana & Slovenia.

Disliked: Tiny kitchen.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was pretty much as they described it, so no problems at all! We had a stunning view from our double room!

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, right at the main square.

Disliked: The room had an ant infestation.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

minna tapanimäki

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

06 July 2013

Liked: Clean rooms&bathroom, friendly staff, perfect location.

Disliked: NOISY! You can hear every step around the hostel. Beds were also creakiest ever.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wei Xu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Wei would recommend this property

Liked: 还好了. 就在市中心.

Disliked: 没有自己做饭的地方.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 June 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building! Stayed in a three bed dorm on my own, wouldn't be too keen to sleep on the mezzanine level of the room. It's about 50m to the triple bridge

Disliked: Reception not always open. kitchen facilities very limited. Some may not like the shared bathroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Toshie Maruyama

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013

Liked: friendly staff.shower good.

Disliked: i found some bed bugs and bited me.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: staff working only few hours, room was close to showerroom of 12showers, so it was humid in the room, no siiting room, no kitchen, even no microvawe!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

jeff goodhartz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2013 jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Helpful staff

Disliked: Too many 20-somethings who dont clean up after themselves in the shared bathrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean.

Disliked: None