We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel AVA

Hostel | Trubarjeva 5, Ljubljana, Slovenia 1000

80.9% Overall Rating

80 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

Hagar Shahal thinks…

"Hostel AVA is smack in the center of Ljubljana, but is not noisy. It's a very cool setting - an academy for visual arts and a hostel! It was great value for money!"

Read all Hostel AVA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

RECEPTION WORKING HOURS: From July 1 to September 30 (Monday – Sunday / 8.00-24.00) From October 1 to June 30 (Monday – Friday / 9.00-13.00) Latest check-in until 24.00 In case your arrival is delayed or out of working hours, please inform us of the time of your arrival by e-mail or phone in order to arrange your check-in. CANCELLATION POLICY: Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). In case a potential guest fails to cancel the reservation, we reserve the right to automatically charge for the cost of one night for the reserved accommodation via credit card provided with the booking. Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ljubljana?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ljubljana

Apartma Trubarjeva
22.53 USD

Apartment 94.3% 5 reviews
Hotel Emonec Ljubljana
31.26 USD

Hostel 85.9% 27 reviews
Hostel Tresor
20.27 USD

Hostel 90.7% 107 reviews
AdHoc Hostel
22.53 USD

Hostel 89.9% 21 reviews
Zeppelin hostel
21.40 USD

Hostel 93.8% 108 reviews
Stari Tisler Guest House
45.06 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
fluxus hostel
15.77 USD

Hostel 85.0% 40 reviews
H2OSTEL
19.15 USD

Hostel 86.2% 446 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

80 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel AVA'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 98 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the building and atmosphere

Disliked: the smell in the bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luisa Lubomirska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2015 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: To many stairs :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hagar Shahal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2015 Hagar would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel AVA is smack in the center of Ljubljana, but is not noisy. It's a very cool setting - an academy for visual arts and a hostel! It was great value for money!

Disliked: The toilets are quite scarce and outdated.. they work fine, though.. The rooms are very functional, but a bit gloomy. And get ready for a lot of stairs!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the centre of the city. Rooms were average, great value for money however.

Disliked: Not much facilities and services.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Host were really nice and friendly. It is ideal for yound backpackers.

Disliked: It is not clean enough. There are no towels provided. It is in the centre of the city, however to expensive considering what you get. There is no wifi, just one PC to use by all guests. Sheest needed to be put on the bed by yourself. It is a nice place, but for the service they offer it should be sheaper, regardless of the location.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Suzanne Hofstee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: The beds were not comfortable, you had to go one floor up to take a shower and two floors up to go to the poorly equipped kitchen. The showers didn't provide much privacy. The reception was poorly reachable, they were either gone or people were standing in line.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lucy Knights

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff, one day we were looking to travel outside the city and they immediately gave us discounted taxi's and directions

Disliked: It would have been helpful to have small lockers in the rooms for small belongings, because it was hard to carry whole backpacks downstairs to lockers on the ground floor

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely building, friendly people!

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Simone Caroli

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2015 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Surely, the location and the convenience of AVA Hostel are its key points. Good the idea of unisex shower rooms :-)

Disliked: No breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dasha Oglezneva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2015 Dasha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the centre of town.

Disliked: The wifi did not work in the rooms so we had to sit in the out in the hall to get wifi, and even then in was very intermittent

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Kamil Dratwa

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2015

Liked: Location is great! Everything is just a few steps from hostel. Staff is nice and friendly, we were allowed to take a shower even few hours after checkout. Facilities are modest but enough for few days stay.

Disliked: Unfortunately, I have to confirm cleanliness problems in this property. But this is not a staff fault! This is guests fault! During our stay, hostel was filled with young people and they were making incredible mess. We experienced dirty toilets, rotten food in fridge, bad smell, used tampons in showers and facial hairs in washbasin. That was really disappointing. It's impossible to keep place clean when guests are behaving like that!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Melissa Dillon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2015 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is close to the bus stop and the staff were helpful.

Disliked: Bed was pretty uncomfortable but fine for one night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with lots of bathrooms. Excellent location. Good if you only need a place to sleep.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't always work. No sign for common room. The common room is like a classroom and noone goes there. Only a kettle and small hob so you can't cook. The staff are never there to check in and out. No lockers for your stuff and the rooms are too small if everyone has a bag.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and it has a great location

Disliked: You pay to get a bed. In the bedroom there was nothing more than a table and our beds. There's also no kitchen during the week, only a fridge and a microwave. The reception is open only from 9 to 14 so id you are planning to arrived after/before that you have to send an email. BUT it was clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2015

Liked: Good location, very good helpful staff.

Disliked: There is no common room, it is more like a classroom so no place to socialise. The smell is bad and it is not clean either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Hove Meringdal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2015 Lars Hove would recommend this property

Liked: Delightful staff and central location. This place met our needs.

Disliked: Wifi was alittle bad on some areas of the hostel. So not much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near to Preseren square.

Disliked: Some wardrobe or lockers in the room would be nice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good showers, great location, friendly staff

Disliked: Squeaky beds.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dominic Berkeley

Alone

City break

12 January 2015 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, just beside the main square. Sonja at reception was very helpful and friendly. Nice warm showers, generally very clean, overall a positive experience.

Disliked: Dominic left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a beautiful location.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Iona Summerson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2014 Iona would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpful staff, very welcoming. It's nice to stay in the Academy of Arts and see the students' art hanging on the walls. We didn't notice the common room on the first floor until the last day but there's a computer with internet and chairs and tables and some hotplates for cooking. And the location is perfect, right next to the central place. Also super cheap for Ljubljana.

Disliked: Iona left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Heleena Mistry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Heleena would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed at hostel Ava for one night. We arrived late and it was just about midnight when we checked in. Although we did inform the reception that we would be arriving on a late train from Sarajevo. The staff were really nice and let us leave our rucksacks at the hotel the whole of the following day as we were exploring Ljubljana until midnight, when we caught our next train to Budapest. Hostel is in a great location, just round the corner from the main Presernov square and the triple bridge.

Disliked: However IMO it's very basic compared to other hostels we've stayed in, in terms facilities and cleanliness which wasn't great. We also had to make our own beds when we got there and take the linen off too. Not really what we wanted to do after a 13 hour train journey!! The showers werent very clean.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victoria Vigilanti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how close it was to all the main events and restaurants in Ljubljana. It was nice to come home and night and not have to walk very far.

Disliked: There was no lockers to keep some valuables in the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right in the city center and quite close to the railway station. nice spacious room.

Disliked: no lockers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and easy to find.

Disliked: It was a pretty average hostel. Could of been clean and some lockers would of been nice but it was fine for a few nights