HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of fluxus hostel

Hostel | Tomšičeva 4, Ljubljana, Slovenia 1000

79.9% Overall Rating

29 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/03/2013)

Alastair McKenzie-Smith thinks…

"Clean beds and rooms with towels provided. Large rooms for shared guests. It was a bonus that I had it all to myself for the first two nights. A two minute walk from supermarket, bars, the city…"

Read all fluxus hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ljubljana?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ljubljana

Hostel Tresor
22.09 USD

Hostel 93.6% 73 reviews
Hotel Emonec Ljubljana
34.51 USD

Hostel 83.0% 25 reviews
Zeppelin hostel
22.09 USD

Hostel 91.2% 89 reviews
Alibi Hostel
19.33 USD

Hostel 68.8% 446 reviews
Antiq Palace Residences
37.27 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel AVA
15.17 USD

Hostel 79.4% 61 reviews
AdHoc Hostel
22.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Penzion Pod Lipo
40.03 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 178 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

29 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'fluxus hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SERKAN BULBUL

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 SERKAN would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alastair McKenzie-Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Alastair would recommend this property

Liked: Clean beds and rooms with towels provided. Large rooms for shared guests. It was a bonus that I had it all to myself for the first two nights. A two minute walk from supermarket, bars, the city center and only a short walk fro the station. Location = 10/10

Disliked: No oven or microwave plus the shower head had broken, otherwise a great stay.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fluxus hotel had a good central location, comfortable beds and was very clean. The free internet connection was very fast and there was a range of movies to watch on the communal television (ideal as the weather was bad when we stayed.)

Disliked: When we arrived for our stay, there was nobody at the hostel, we were forced to wait with our luggage until 15.00 when the check in was supposed to start, however when we returned at 15.00 there was still nobody there and we had to wait out in the snow for another 20 minutes. There was no staff there over the stay apart from in brief 10 minute periods, so if we had a problem or a question, there was nobody for us to approach.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet little hostel. Kitchen available as well as 1 computer and free wifi.

Disliked: both dorms are connected so its technically one dorm. 1 toilet and 1 shower available

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012

Liked: Good location, about 2minutes from the old town. Provided towels but thats about it

Disliked: To start with the 8 bed dorm is connected to the 5bed, you have to walk thru the 8bed to get out and both dorms share the same 1 shower which is inside the 5bed dorm. so really it is a 13 bed dorm room! the floors are timber and incredibly noisey you cant walk quietly at all! there were no bowels/plates in the kitchen, only 1 shower and 1 toilet for the hostel. the place smelt weird, which was added to one night by a guy urinating in the blanket basket in the 8bed dorm (yes some people are feral) I realise this is not the hostels fault however when i told them the next day i was told that can happen in hostels... and she didnt take the blankets out.. so warning dont use the blankets! its an ok hostel if it is your only option, otherwise dont bother.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly

Disliked: No elevator

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - midway between Bus/Train station and City Center

Disliked: Hostess did not share her choco-cookies with me. :-)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very friendly and helpful staff - distance to train/bus station is ok - distance to main sights is good - clean - nice colors in the room

Disliked: - noisy location: there seems to be a club quite close as we could hear bass sounds both nights; our bathroom was separated by a wall that did not "reach" the ceiling, so we shared one light with the neighboring bathroom and could hear every word spoken. - very small shower - soap in our bathroom was mixed with water - toilet was not included in our bathroom (would have been uncomfortable anyway as every noise from the other bathroom could be heard and probably vice versa) - there was only ONE toilet for all guests which must be shared by men and women, up to 16 guests. - no elevator

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012

Liked: Was an ok place but nothing particularly stood out.

Disliked: Only one bathroom/shower

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gusten Hollari Holmberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012

Liked: Location, nice place

Disliked: Just one toilet and shower. No security lockers. Not night lights. Staff coming in at 00.30 turning the lights on to show a new customer her bed (a night light or flashlight could be used)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Porter

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great - really close to town centre and easy walk from the train station.

Disliked: Squeaky floorboards

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms.

Disliked: Limited toilets. Not 24 hr staff.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Field

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location just a few minutes walk to the tourist attractions and to the train station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice clean private room.

Disliked: It was not a problem but because it's small staff are not always there. We stayed in the private room and did not realise the private bathroom did not have a toilet, had to share the toilet located at reception with the other 14 guests. Showers were connected to the dorms shower with an overhead space which could be noisy and kitchen/Living area just outside the private room which was noisy at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Misaki Ozawa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Misaki would recommend this property

Liked: 場所が良い。スタッフの対応もよく、広々としていて収容数も少ないのでくつろぐことが出来た。

Disliked: シャワーとトイレが一つづつしかない。シャワーが女性部屋にあるので、不便。

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Lemell

Alone

Relaxation/spa

28 May 2012 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: After 21 countries and well over a hundred hostels, this one is at the top.

Disliked: Carlos left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: It can get a little noisy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, just a few steps away from almost everything; staff was really helpful and friendly, and the hostel was clean and nice :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Sullivan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 November 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Nothing :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Anstee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Really freindly staff - very relaxed and comfortable hostel

Disliked: Toilets right next to reception - kinda awkward for the guests! But no major problems

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011

Liked: Not a lot.

Disliked: We booked an 8 person dorm, but it turned out to be a 14 person dorm as it was linked with the dorm room next door. There was only one shower and one toilet for all 14 people to use!!! The room was incredibly hot, so hot that the three of us were unable to sleep. The staff (WHAT STAFF)?! there was a lady there when we checked in, we asked to pay later that day as our friend was arriving and we wanted to pay altogether. When our friend arrived she had gone. The next day we went out and returned in the late afternoon (to pay our bill) there was a note left by the staff member saying 'back in five' we waited nearly 2 hours and no staff member returned. At 11pm when I was in bed, the staff member returned and got me out of bed to pay the bill!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Melanie Grigg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Large bunk beds and huge room with lots of space.

Disliked: Both the dorm rooms are connected, if you are in room 1 you have to go into room 2 for the bathroom and if you are in room 1 you have to go through room 1. I had some rude people in the next room when I stayed there, guys were going through our room with music going and throwing coins at the door at 3am?! No staff on site at night made it hard with them and after getting locked out someone had to bike down to let me in. If you get considerate people staying there it's a really nice place to stay.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the old town and the centre of the city, easy to get to anywhere. Kitchen was good and it was clean and spacious.

Disliked: If you're in dorm A, people from dorm B must go through your room to get to the front door or the (only) toilet so you have people opening the doors and walking through at all hours, and if you're in dorm B, you have people from dorm A walking through to get to the shower and the floorboards are very creaky and noisy. There are no lockers in the dorms, only one locker for everyone that is only accessible when the staff are there, which is not 24hrs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steven Davies

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect - on a quiet street off the main road and just a couple of minutes walk from the main square and old town. The 2 dorms were giant - the biggest I've ever stayed in. Spacious, comfortable, well decorated. Free internet and kitchen are there if you want it, and staff were nice when we did see them. Overall a nice small hostel with a laidback atmosphere and location.

Disliked: Its been mentioned by others already but there is just one toilet by the entrance and one shower through the second of the dorm rooms (the 2 dorm rooms are connected). Didn't bother us on this stay as we were expecting it, but I'd imagine there could be a wait at times and it means people in the other room have to walk through yours. The staff aren't around full-time, but if you normally do your own thing and just need them for checking in then it doesn't matter.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Boxall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: the location could not have been better! right off the main highstreet with a 5 minute walk to the old town centre! lovely building with the hostel on the 3rd floor so felt very secure. the rooms were fresh, clean and decorated nicely and the beds were very comfortable. nice little kitchen were we made food when we didnt fancy going out to eat and a balcony which was great. the staff were great and made us feel very welcome even when we turned up earlier than expected. we rang here and she was there withing 10 minutes! told us all the best placed to go and very chatty.

Disliked: only slight downside was the bathrooms, only one toilet and then a separate shower between everyone in the hostel (max 14 people) but this wasn't a massive issue as everyone was very considerate about each other!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right by the main street and the staff was extremly helpful!

Disliked: Because the location was so good there is probably no was escaping the noise from people on the street.