HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bled hostels

Reviews of Jakelj Backpackers House

Hostel | Selo 11a, Bled, Slovenia --

86.6% Overall Rating

175 out of 207 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"It's actually a lovely family home in a small town surronded by mountains. The owner is really friendly guy!"

Read all Jakelj Backpackers House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we do not accept groups of 5 or more people for August. All the group enquiries must go through the website's`s group department. All the bookings for 5 or more people will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bled?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bled

Milena Apartments & Rooms Bled
33.13 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Pension Bled
26.92 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 6 reviews
Budget Pension Hotel Pibernik
24.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.0% 19 reviews
B&B Stojanovic
27.61 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 7 reviews
Apartments Poklukar Bled
27.61 USD

Apartment 97.1% 14 reviews
Hosteller
16.55 USD

Hostel 89.5% 134 reviews
Union Travel Rooms and Apartments
28.99 USD

Apartment 85.7% 7 reviews
Hotel Krim Bled
44.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

175 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jakelj Backpackers House'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 166 of 169 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's actually a lovely family home in a small town surronded by mountains. The owner is really friendly guy!

Disliked: Nothing really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Lown

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: free pick up from the train station and a free shuttle to the lake every day. located in a nice little village just outside of the tourist area, which was lovely to actually get a feel for Slovenian life. rustic house, with lots of character from the owners grandfather's hunting background! be prepared! Milan was a delight, he made our trip very easy!

Disliked: the room was cold due to the rapid change in temperature!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2013

Liked: breakfast included. very quiet

Disliked: the hostel is far away from the lake/town so if you dont have a car you will have to keep asking the owner to drive you around. the bathroom was dirty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Scott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: MILAN!!!! This is without a doubt, the single best hostel experience of my life, and it was all thanks to the legendary Milan! The place might be a lil out of the way, but he'll pick you up and drop you off, and wake you up, and organise everything for you. He even did my laundry! The dude makes the place! Seriously, STAY HERE

Disliked: It's a bit out of the way so you have to split a taxi with a set rate (20euro, but the taxi will hold 8 people) when you're coming home after 10pm. That's the only fault though

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aisling McCurtin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2013 Aisling would recommend this property

Liked: What we loved most about this hostel was Milan, one of the owners. He really went above and beyond to make us feel at home and enjoy our stay. He collected and dropped us to and from the train stations and also to and from the Lake every day. He provided us with all the information we needed, helped to arrange activities for us cooked us lovely breakfasts and dinners, and in general made our stay in Bled an unforgettable one! I could not recommend this hostel enough, great value for money, great atmosphere, and great staff.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included, personal approach, welcome drink.

Disliked: No curtains on the window (daylight too early) - could be for somebody a con

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David O'Keeffe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and accommodating staff

Disliked: Good bit away from lake

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aimee McAfee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Many activities available and can be easily organised.

Disliked: Hostel is not right at the lake but transport by hostel owner to lake bled is free.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The staff is wonderful! Milan makes sure everybody has a great time in this hostel! -They drive you anyware you need to go -The atmosphere here is really really good -Choose this hostel!

Disliked: It's quite far from the lake so you can't come back by yourself in the evening if you don't have your own car/bike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Harman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: The guy who runs it (Milan) never stops trying to help you / make you comfortable / giving you lifts places and sorting out activities for you. Such a nice and funny guy. Room was great and clean, breakfast included was at a good standard.

Disliked: Location not on lake however not an issue as you get free drop off's to and from the hostel to lake, activities and the bus/train stations.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012

Liked: frendliness staff

Disliked: it was very dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brooke Chudleigh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2012 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: That the staff were so friendly and helpful. They bent over backwards to make sure you were ok and that you were happy. yeah its location is out of town but the views and hospitality are so worth. I broke my arm whilst doing one of the activities and they couldn't help me enough they took me to hospital waited with me, it was like they were close friends. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Milan and his team were great in organising everything. Free breakfast was really good and dinner available (for a price) was super filling. He was really helpful in organising the adventure trips too, like rafting and canyoning. Thanks for your great hospitality Milan, I really appreciate it! :)

Disliked: Toilets are quite dirty, but the rooms are good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard Griscom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The manager, Milan, is the man. He cooks a delicious bbq almost every other day (7 euro per person) and its well worth it. Breakfast is included which was also very good (eggs, toasts, cereal, juices, tea, coffee). The free shuttle is extremely convenient, so don't worry about getting into town. The staff was awesome. They help book any type of adventures and run the shuttle themselves. We stayed 6 nights and didn't want to leave. If you don't mind to hike (it's a pretty tough one), Stol Mountain is walking distance from the hostel...hike it and get to the cabin at the peak for a stamp that proves you were there, get a beer and some local cuisine. It's an incredible experience.

Disliked: My only complaint is that there is no kitchen or refrigerator you can use. Your staying in a smaller town with only 1 market and descent pizzeria in walking distance. There's one overpriced restaurant nearby. On days like sat. and sun., you need to plan ahead about your eating situation unless your going into Bled for the day.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are so so friendly and do whatever they can to help you. Regular lifts into town and free bike hire make it easy to get around. Cooked breakfast every morning. Great, cheap pizzaria down the road for dinners.

Disliked: The bed was very squeaky, so every time you or someone else turned over during the night it would wake you up. The place was clean enough, but not spotless.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic, and went the extra mile to see that you enjoyed your stay - even gave you lifts to the station out of town!

Disliked: The only thing I have a qualm with is that there was only one bathroom on our floor, and it was never free. Hot water was an issue too - there wasn't any!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Price

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: What an incredible place! Everything from food to atmosphere, it was perfect. The owner is the kindest man ever and makes you feel welcomed as a family member, whilst also leaving you to do as you like. I defy anyone to try and say a bad word about this place- just not possible!

Disliked: Abigail left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jane thomson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011 jane would recommend this property

Liked: THe owner was helpful and was very kind about picking me up and dropping me off in the town. The bikes were free though some were not that well maintained, but it was great to be able to just take one and ride around. The host really was very warm and interesting.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the hostel: the location is good - beautiful and quiet place not so far from Bled. Cosy bar and delicious breakfast; nice and friendly owner. We stayed for two more nights.

Disliked: Was not clean enough, but it is understandable - there was a repair of the house at that moment.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lina Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2011 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that the hostel is a little bit far from Bled didnt was a problem because the owner will take you when you need to. The house is located just behind the mountains so it is really beautiful there without and the best thing is that you dont have to deal with the huge amount of tourists. The breakfast is huge! and tasty.

Disliked: mm, maybe the house is a little bit of a mess now.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of hostel owner

Disliked: Location outside town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gergely Gazda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2011 Gergely would recommend this property

Liked: Was a nice stay in double room, good breakfast, transfer to the lake, and we got all information. Very kind people.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Maginness

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: staff was great! Home cooked breakfast as part of the fees was definitely worth it. Rooms were clean, and the staff was always available to hear about improvements. Great time!

Disliked: location is about a 15 minute drive from Bled itself. However, to caviot this, it keeps you away from the hussle and bussle of the traffic in Bled.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011

Liked: I liked the summer manager very much and I also. The bar was also very cosy and generous com just a nice place to sit.

Disliked: The shuttle times were once in the mornin and then again at 7pm so rather restrictive. The location though peaceful was just too far out. Also the transfers were gratefully received but I just felt like an inconvenience on my final morning. My bus was due to leave over breakfast time and there was one person doing the transfer AND the breakfast. I was reminded it was the breakfast time shortly before departure and truly felt like I was being a nuisance for taking up their services.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels i've ever stayed in - the most hilarious, helpful and friendly staff. An example of true hospitality.

Disliked: Difficult location to get dinners and no way of getting back from the lake if you want to have a late night out other than taxi


See all Bled hostels