HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Ginger Monkey

Hostel | 294 Zdiar, High Tatras, Slovakia 06401

93.1% Overall Rating

9 out of 10 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/09/2014)

Simon Palethorpe thinks…

"It was like living in a mates flat, chilled laid back atmosphere. The hard drive with all the movies on it was awesome when you dont want to do much, the proximity to the hiking trails"

Read all The Ginger Monkey reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to High Tatras?

Contact us directly

See other properties in High Tatras

Goralturist
13.92 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Pension Privat Cyprian
13.92 USD

Guesthouse 92.6% 36 reviews
Resort Beatrice
22.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cottage Tatry Holiday
0.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
House Tatry Holiday
14.55 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pension Litvor 1**
22.77 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Ginger Monkey'

Atmosphere
98.0%
Location
94.0%
Facilities
90.0%
Cleanliness
86.0%
Staff
98.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.0%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 10 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Palethorpe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: It was like living in a mates flat, chilled laid back atmosphere. The hard drive with all the movies on it was awesome when you dont want to do much, the proximity to the hiking trails

Disliked: unfortunately I woke up one morning with a few bites not sure what from

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander McCarron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hostel is a great place to do some good treks through the Tatras mountains (trails of various difficulties exist, so there is something for both the novice and expert trekker). The views on these treks are spectacular; I will definitely be returning again to revisit both the trekking routes and the hostel. It is also a great place just to chill out though and enjoy the mountain views from the front porch. It is also an easy hostel for making friends and meeting fellow travellers. The entire time I felt like I was staying at home rather than in a hostel! Looking forward to my next visit!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Goodhind

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to get away from the regular city-hopping trail and experience a gorgeous hidden corner of the continent, I can't recommend this place highly enough! We ended up staying several days longer than planned - Apparently a common occurrence around there! The hiking in the area is unbelievable, the views from the terrace are exceptional, and it's virtually inevitable you'll fall in love with their adorable dog Wally by the time you leave. Hosts Brian and Dani (& Matt!) are so welcoming and helpful, and constantly going out of their way to make everyone as happy as possible. Their €3(!) homecooked meals are exceptional on the nights they don't take everyone out to one of the restaurants in town. We'll definitely return someday... thanks so much for a great stay!!!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: loved everything--the scenery, the hostel's location, its staff, its family atmosphere

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 January 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel nestled in a quaint and tradtional Slovak resort village up against the High Tatras is an ideal spot for hiking or skiing, depending on the weather and the season. Ian, running the hostel solo over the holiday season, was more than helpful with any questions I had. He worked hard but also took the time to mingle with and get to know the guests. It's a 5-minute walk from the bus stop up to the hostel and groceries can be bought at decent prices from at least two shops in town, one of which is only a block away. Wally the dog is precious, well-behaved and looooves the River walk! This is the kind of place I'd like to come back to some day.

Disliked: I only disliked that I had to leave after a few short days due to an onward bus already booked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dylan Weiss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: The Ginger Monkey was a great hostel to get away from the big cities and get an amazing view of the High Tatras Mountains, easy to get to by bus from Poprad, 2 minute walk from the stop in Zdiar. Jim and Ian were great help felt like you were staying with old friends. Lots of trails and beautil senery nestled in a small mountain town.

Disliked: Dylan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irene Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the location, the atmosphere... everything! I really really enjoyed my stay there. After spending the day hiking for hours, I was always warmly welcomed by the dogs and the staff when I got back. Their friendliness and enthusiasm were the best part of my day. I would highly recommend this hostel and Zidar.

Disliked: Irene left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 July 2013

Liked: The location is good, but then again any lodging on that street would be considered a good location since it's right in the mountains. The staff are young and out-going, but some are volunteers and not fully knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was hit or miss. French toast was great when it was offered, otherwise it's one hard boiled egg per person and some bread.

Disliked: The hostel could definitely use a deep cleaning! The staff did what they could every morning, but it's an old house and some parts should've been updated when they turned it into a hostel. The fridge is packed which is annoying if you want to bring your own food. The walls are paper-thin. The dorm beds are terrible and the dorm room had a musky smell.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shaun Hoang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in! The young crowd is amazing, and the staff super-helpful. Its location is a perfect getaway spot for High Tatras, being the starting point of the long hike that most overlook, but still really amazing (my favorite hike actually) Definitely recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable common room and terrace. Never get bored. Have fun with Wally Jungle and Dav, their lovely dogs and cat. Great breakfast and surprsing homemade cake. Whenever visiting Tatra, I will choose Ginger Monkey again.

Disliked: none