HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Ginger Monkey High Tatras

Hostel

294 Zdiar, High Tatras, Slovakia

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 91%

Location 93%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to High Tatras?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 91%

Location 93%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 93%

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: really a nice place to stay. the staff is very chill. you dont have to care anything. made nice friends there!And the vue is incredible

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only stayed for one night, but I plan to be back. Great facilities, friendly staff, gorgeous location!

Disliked: My only complaint was that there was almost never someone at the front desk and it was hard to know who was a hostel employee and where to find them.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the character of the hostel. Also the guy Ben who was very helpfull and of course the location is absolutely fantastic.

Disliked: The showers would need some attention :)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool staff! Highly recommended,

Disliked: Wally gone missing in those days while we were there.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is all awesome! Staff, location, facilities, all prefect. I spent two nights and was constantly surrounded by group of really really nice people. Got every info about what could I do around.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was like living in a mates flat, chilled laid back atmosphere. The hard drive with all the movies on it was awesome when you dont want to do much, the proximity to the hiking trails

Disliked: unfortunately I woke up one morning with a few bites not sure what from

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hostel is a great place to do some good treks through the Tatras mountains (trails of various difficulties exist, so there is something for both the novice and expert trekker). The views on these treks are spectacular; I will definitely be returning again to revisit both the trekking routes and the hostel. It is also a great place just to chill out though and enjoy the mountain views from the front porch. It is also an easy hostel for making friends and meeting fellow travellers. The entire time I felt like I was staying at home rather than in a hostel! Looking forward to my next visit!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: loved everything--the scenery, the hostel's location, its staff, its family atmosphere

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: If you want to get away from the regular city-hopping trail and experience a gorgeous hidden corner of the continent, I can't recommend this place highly enough! We ended up staying several days longer than planned - Apparently a common occurrence around there!The hiking in the area is unbelievable, the views from the terrace are exceptional, and it's virtually inevitable you'll fall in love with their adorable dog Wally by the time you leave. Hosts Brian and Dani (& Matt!) are so welcoming and helpful, and constantly going out of their way to make everyone as happy as possible. Their €3(!) homecooked meals are exceptional on the nights they don't take everyone out to one of the restaurants in town. We'll definitely return someday... thanks so much for a great stay!!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location of the hostel nestled in a quaint and tradtional Slovak resort village up against the High Tatras is an ideal spot for hiking or skiing, depending on the weather and the season. Ian, running the hostel solo over the holiday season, was more than helpful with any questions I had. He worked hard but also took the time to mingle with and get to know the guests. It's a 5-minute walk from the bus stop up to the hostel and groceries can be bought at decent prices from at least two shops in town, one of which is only a block away. Wally the dog is precious, well-behaved and looooves the River walk! This is the kind of place I'd like to come back to some day.

Disliked: I only disliked that I had to leave after a few short days due to an onward bus already booked.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability