HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Downtown Backpackers Hostel Bratislava Bratislava Hostel

Panenska 31, Bratislava, Slovakia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.07USD

Important Information

The local city tax of 1.65 EUR/person/night is not included in the price. Students under 26 with valid student ID, youth under 18, disabled and elderly over 70 are excluded from the liability.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bratislava?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 84%

Value 92%

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: location, price could be good for people who are looking for partying, as it is just above a bar

Disliked: very crowded rooms, very busy atmosphere,

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Fantastic hostel with a homely atmosphere and great staff! Would definitely return!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved that they answeared all of my emails very fast and satisfactory. They were very helpful when we had questions, for example they showed us places on the map where to go eat traditional food and explained the way to get there. We were a large group and they still managed to check us all in very quickly and we all got a key for the room immediately. They were very friendly and welcomed us nicely. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Close to city center, nearly for free

Disliked: Nothing bad. I was surprised by the 'shared room' model, tried it for the first time, but yes, it was what I ordered :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us :). This "shared room" model is typical for youth/backpackers hostels, so we hope you liked it, althought you were surprised :).
Have a nice day
DBH

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's common room. Shower room was nice.

Disliked: It's a bit grotty, old fashioned and there was renovation work or something happening in the foyer which was unattractive. Also they have a problem with darkness generally.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for you review. Our hostel, as it is really old building, has it´s magic with being old fashioned, many guests love it but it´s not everyone´s taste so we are sorry to hear that you did not like it. We had to do renovation work outside just to make this place more attractive and take care of it. We hope that sometime you will come back and see the new face we are working on :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The girl receptionist was just great, really helpful!!! Other ones were good also! Good location! Restaurant downstairs....

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much :)

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating


05 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The courtyard terrace was really atmospheric, with a lot of locals coming there to eat and drink.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is a nicely done backyard patio, too bad it was cold out when I went. The upstairs living room and kitchen are nice and comfortable. Downstairs at the reception there is a bar/restaurant with good food. Locals come here to eat, so its a mix of backpacker types and locals. I got some hard stares from people so I don't think the restaurant people liked having backpackers walking thru, but you have to. Kozel is a good beer and only 1.30 at the bar.

Disliked: I don't expect people to speak English when I travel, but in a place like a hostel with tourists it is helpful to have someone who can. I only met other travelers, no locals, because of the language barrier.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: staff, pub and restaurant, large common room, clean toilets

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastically located very close to the old town. Had a private twin which was massive, and although it was -7 outside, the room was very warm. The bar downstairs offer discount for guests and had love music one evening. Great to start off your night!

Disliked: There's not enough toilets/ bathrooms for the number of guests as there were only two on our floor with 5 bedrooms (some being big dorms). Although in a private room, the walls are very thin so we felt like we were part of the dorm next door. Not a massive issue for us, but it would be if you need an early night!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thank you for your comment. The hostel is located in a historical building, so the number of toilets is limited. But our staff is checking the cleanness several times a day and during the night as well.

Check Availability