HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Possonium

Hostel | Sancova 20, Bratislava, Slovakia 81104

86.4% Overall Rating

771 out of 843 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

David Hughes thinks…

"As soon as we arrived which was earlier than expected. Our room was ready and very clean and tidy. Martin was working on reception and was very helpful and friendly throught the stay great assist to…"

Read all Hostel Possonium reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bratislava?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bratislava

Freddie next to Mercury
13.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Matysak Hotel-Bratislava
64.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Apartment Presidential Palace
24.85 USD

Apartment 86.0% 11 reviews
Kiwihostel
27.61 USD

Hostel 54.3% 5 reviews
Bastion Apartments
44.86 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
19.33 USD

Hostel 96.7% 6 reviews
Hostel Mansard
19.33 USD

Hostel 88.8% 11 reviews
Bratislava Apartment Obchodna
20.71 USD

Apartment 84.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

771 out of 843 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Possonium'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 588 of 629 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hughes

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as we arrived which was earlier than expected. Our room was ready and very clean and tidy. Martin was working on reception and was very helpful and friendly throught the stay great assist to the hostel. Really nice outside bar area and the wether was great so really nice to sit out and have a beer.

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything really. Just take note that the Hostel is a 20+ min walk from the best bars and clubs, which is fine at the start in the sun but quite hard work later in the evening.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, there was a really nice atmosphere especially outside. The "Hostel" themed bar was a little creepy but a good story after :P

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liang-Yu Chen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Liang-Yu would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere is good, staff at the reception is nice : )

Disliked: There is not enough power socket in my room

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ashlea Wheeler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014

Liked: Cheap place. Bar is pretty cool, though noisy. Kitchen is really nice.

Disliked: My opinion is probably skewed as we had really terrible room mates, a girl with a hacking cough that kept me awake all night and made the room feel germy. But this is what I thought: The Location is not great, not near any of the sights. Rooms are crowded and not all that clean, there was hair and dust in the bathroom when we arrived. Walls are thin and we could hear loud music from the hostel bar until about 3am. Not great for a light sleeper. Also my locker didn't close properly. I never felt very comfortable here, I wouldn't recommend this place.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhihui Meng

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2014 Zhihui would recommend this property

Liked: Location, great staff and room decoration

Disliked: The room was a bit too hot; party people came back at around 3 (when the bar is coled) making a lot of noice

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Okada Yuki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2013 Okada would recommend this property

Liked: よかった

Disliked: キッチンが暗い

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is definitely worth visiting. It's clean, has a nice kitchen with everything you need and lots of friendly people, especially the staff. They really show they care about your stay and answer any question you might have. The reception is open 24/7 so there is always someone to help you. It has a great original bar downstairs and very nice garden in the back. It's close to the center and you can walk almost everywhere. I could also rent a bike and use it for the whole day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect staff, location, bar, garden... Hostel Possonium is defenetly one of the best hostels I have ever been. Hope I will come back soon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely best hostel! I will definitely come back.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was that I coud not stay longer :-)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, and the atmosphere was awesome. If you are looking for a nice hostel near the centre of Bratislava, plus a good value of money, then I definitely recomment this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Themed rooms, neat cellar bar

Disliked: Right next to road - can be very noisey at night

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Adam Jantz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Has character. You can't get closer to the train station than this.

Disliked: It can be a bit of a party atmosphere. Depends on if that's your thing or not.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beer garden. Close to station.

Disliked: Very little.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephen Devincenzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: nice bar, cool staff, nice garden, great location between centre and station.

Disliked: I feel like 15 euros is a lot in a country like Slovakia, but oh well, it was nice.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the approach of stuff there, they were great.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool basement bar, and garden just opened which would be really nice in summer :) Good kitchen facilities - not big but shiny and new, staff were helpful and good-humoured and made us feel welcome. Really liked the decor in the rooms (country themes) which adds character :) And not too far from the centre at all.

Disliked: Not the quietest - there were people in the bar til late and walking around the corridors, without someone telling them to be quiet. Okay if you like to stay up late, but if you're a light sleeper and you want a good night's sleep, it's probably not the place for you!

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013

Liked: Very clean and well located if you are arriving or departing Bratislava by train.

Disliked: Noisiest hostel I've ever stayed in, got about 2 hours of sleep the two nights we stayed. No effort is made to control the noise made throughout the night by customers and staff. There was a high level of noise right outside our room until after 4am both nights. The bar in the hostel was nice but the non-smoking area is disregarded and people were just smoking wherever they were.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's near the train station

Disliked: Bed was hard, sheets don't fit the mattress and the dorm I stayed in was right next to the front door and reception on the ground floor meaning you can hear everything outside, every time the doorbell rings (because you don't get a key to the front door) and anyone in the reception area. Also the bar is underneath you in the basement, fine if you're drinking not so good if you want to get to sleep.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matijaž Pecnik

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Matijaž would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cheap, clean. Cool bar!

Disliked: There's no designated parking. You can, however, try your luck finding a parking spot on the nearby streets.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Cronin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: I've been traveling now for 12 months alone. This hostel was alot of fun. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Couldn't have asked for more. Really good for the lone traveler, as well as groups of course. Made some good friends here & want to return again very soon. Great location near the train station & nice to have your own locker. It was the friendly reception & bar staff that made it so great for me. Some great parties at the hostel bar too (especially the End of the World party in December!!!) Miss the hostel lots already!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilhana Škrgic

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 January 2013 Ilhana would recommend this property

Liked: The overall atmosphere of the hostel was excellent! The whole concept of rooms named and decorated after a certain country, along with the Hostel-style bar in the basement, added to uniqueness of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

25 December 2012

Liked: The location is rather convenient, it is not in the center, but close to the railway station so you can sleep a little longer if you flee back early in the morning. It is still close enough to the center (15min walk). The staff is overly friendly, they do their best to help you.

Disliked: If you come to Bratislava and need a quiet place to sleep, avoid this place. It is noisy during the nights, even the staff often engages in loud conversations in reception hall at 2AM, which is all audible in the lower rooms. The bar in the basement smells like shit (alcohol, tobacco and whatever else), so there is no escape, because it is the only common room. I was staying in this hostel for 4 years straight, and it was OK, but my last visit was disappointing. Previous years the breakfast was free, now you can get it for extra cost.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiayang Fan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Jiayang would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: N/a

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Quast

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

19 December 2012 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful about directions from check in!

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest hostel staff I have ever met. Great location - 3 mins from the train station, and not too far away from the Old Town. The bar is fantastic, the rooms were great (and clean). Highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...