HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gap Year Hostel

Hostel | 322 Lavender Street, Singapore, Singapore 338821

84.9% Overall Rating

26 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Christoph Huber thinks…

"I think its a good price for a hostel in Singapur, nice staff, the room have no window but this was not a big problem for me."

Read all Gap Year Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.60

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

The Hive Backpackers' Hostel
18.39 USD

Hostel 88.4% 13 reviews
Moni Gallery Hostel
17.59 USD

Hostel 88.8% 27 reviews
Mori Hostel
17.59 USD

Hostel 85.0% 15 reviews
Mitraa Backpackers Inn
19.99 USD

Hostel 87.0% 159 reviews
The Mitraa
15.99 USD

Hostel 86.9% 408 reviews
Rucksack Inn@Lavender Street
17.59 USD

Hostel 91.2% 15 reviews
Pine Hostel
20.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker's Hostel @ The Little Red Dot
12.79 USD

Hostel 78.7% 184 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

26 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gap Year Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 28 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christoph Huber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: I think its a good price for a hostel in Singapur, nice staff, the room have no window but this was not a big problem for me.

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal area and Internet was fast although didn't really work within the bedroom.

Disliked: Only two toilet / shower combos was not enough for the number of guests. Often you had to wait. The layout of the dorm room was long and skinny which meant the door opens onto two beds.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was close to the stadium where the Singapore Lions play, but far enough away that you could not hear the crowd at night. The beds had a great personal space to keep things.

Disliked: The only toilet on the floor also had a shower so if that one was in use I had to search the other floors for one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Matt

Alone

City break

04 March 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff. Bathrooms are squeaky clean. Beds are comfortable. Fully recommended.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people, really helpful and interactive owners, modern, good common area and nice location.

Disliked: Like I say to most hostels I don't count bread as free breakfast, should say if it's just bread, breakfast includes cereals and fruits even if you make people choose just one. One of the showers upstairs in the other building doesn't get hot water, the other is fine, the main one may need looking at.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close enough to the MRT and there's a bus stop right in front. The staff is willing to help and has discounted tickets to everything. There's also a hawker market w good food open all night nearby.. Free coffee, descent meeting room.

Disliked: Felt like it was overpriced for a simple bunk bed in a dorm... Breakfast is just white bread. Felt disconnected and not in the "action" of Singapore. Maybe being in Cambodia/Thailand for months before spoiled me w way cheaper places just as nice...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Francis Daryl Molo

Alone

Events / festivals

19 November 2013 Francis Daryl would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here during the F1 Weekend, Its a great hostel, near the MRT Station, after a few back and forth from the MRT to the hostel, i feel like its like home already hahaha.. Its a great location, there are many routes you can take from and to the airport. quite vicinity. Its definitely a good value for money! I wasn't able to check if there is wifi because i have enrolled in the Bridge Alliance UnliData Roaming on my network, but the Mac at the lobby works great. Thanks Gap Year!

Disliked: Nothing much. As expected.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

xinqiong zhou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 xinqiong would recommend this property

Liked: near Subway

Disliked: good location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As I walked in, two lads greeted me from the lounge. "They are your room-mates" I was told by the receptionist. What a friendly start! Add to that, the guy who came out and helped me with my luggage - because I'd let them know in advance that I'd injured my arm skateboarding. Liked the free internet, the helpfulness of the staff, the lockable locker, individual reading lights and the efficient air conditioning. The hostel is owned and run by a lovely young couple - it is a new enterprise - and they deserve our support.

Disliked: This is my "room for improvement" box....not to be taken as negative criticism. The provision of an iron+ironing board would be good. Also, self-catering (kitchen) is not available (though cooked food locally is relatively cheap) and there are no fridges for guests to store food. It is not possible to dry yourself after a shower as the bathrooms are very steamy and not air conditioned. I wrapped in a towel to return to my room to dress...and felt people might not approve.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

moiz alibhai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 moiz would recommend this property

Liked: denis and his wife are great people, i wish you well with this hostel, this is a great place to stay, near to little india area of singapore, i would stay here again, thank you for your hospitality and advice for onward travel to indonesia

Disliked: moiz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Zapletal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, but especially the owners are really great people!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

alexandre abrahao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing extraordinary. Pretty ordinary

Disliked: Cold shower. For some reason the heater was not working while i stayed in the hostel. Asked the staff? Who said that would take of it but apparentely did not

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013

Liked: Its cleen, big beds in the dorms, hot water showers and close to the MRT.

Disliked: It was super cold in the dorm that i stayed in. I mean super cold, fans rotating on the highest speed and the AC on freezing temp, and really it wasn't even hot in sing nighttime so i couldn't sleep that night. Told the guy in the reception, he said that its because its so hot in Singapore, didn't feel like continuing the discussion. Then i told the girl that i wanted to cancel one night, she said sure but i had to tell her before 9pm, and so i did. When i was checking out the next day the guy tells me that i can only get half back, i tell him that the girl already said yes and im going to KL, he says sorry but no refund. Very frustrating.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vladimir Aleman Delfs

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, even in the 4 room dorm. Really pleasant staff! Gave lots of great advice and recommendations! Provide a lot of things for free or cheap during your stay like converters/towels etc.

Disliked: Mattress was a bit uncomfortable and 4 bed dorm had little walking space, so had to be extra cautious not to disturb others.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonard Mykhalevskyy

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 May 2013 Leonard would recommend this property

Liked: I'ts overall great. You can't find anything close to that even for twice the price. Not overcorwded, clean, secure, good location. VERY HELPFUL staff. Special regards to Dennis =)

Disliked: Nothing! Strictly worth it's cost.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVELY owners and the living room with really nice atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hans-Georg Pietruck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013 Hans-Georg would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, incredibly nice staff, best value for money I've had so far!

Disliked: Hans-Georg left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Duffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure.

Disliked: Only one toilet on the 1st floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Friendly. Cheap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Desbois

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly and helpful which creates a great atmosphere especially for lone travellers.

Disliked: Showers were sometimes cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stay Here! Denis and Jerlynn are awesome! Friendly, funny, helpful and giving. Had a blast! Location is close to Boon Keng metro station. Bus stop in front of the house. Little India in walking distance. Clean, new and stylish place. But the people make it unforgettable. Thanx for everything guys!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stay Here! Denis and Jerlynn are awesome! Friendly, funny, helpful and giving. Had a blast! Location is close to Boon Keng metro station. Bus stop in front of the house. Little India in walking distance. Clean, new and stylish place. But the people make it unforgettable. Thanx for everything guys!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. A very new hostel. Owners like to spend time with the guests, so you feel like at home. They have every day a little surprise for you.

Disliked: Not all the rooms have windows.

The property's response is...