HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of 5footway.inn Project Bugis

Hostel | 10 Aliwal Road, Singapore, Singapore 199903

74.4% Overall Rating

26 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/02/2014)

"The property is somewhat out of town but is near to a couple of metro stations. The local area has restaurants and bars."

Read all 5footway.inn Project Bugis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Important Information

In the event of cancellation within 5 days prior to arrival or no-show, one night charge is applicable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

5footway.inn Project Sultan
31.95 USD

Hostel 81.4% 39 reviews
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
39.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Sleepy Kiwi
15.97 USD

Hostel 81.4% 77 reviews
Shophouse The Social Hostel
14.38 USD

Hostel 85.6% 30 reviews
Feel At Home Backpackers
18.37 USD

Hostel 72.7% 232 reviews
Plush Pods
19.97 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
b88 hostel
22.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bunc@Radius Little India
19.17 USD

Hostel 87.1% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.4%

Overall Rating

26 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '5footway.inn Project Bugis'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
64.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014

Liked: The property is somewhat out of town but is near to a couple of metro stations. The local area has restaurants and bars.

Disliked: The staff are rude (except for one girl) and unhelpful. The rooms are sold as twins but in fact bunk bed rooms. The bathrooms are a long way from the rooms and are filthy. There are four showers, two toilets and two toilet/showers to accommodate the entire place. Both myself and two other people contracted violent vomiting bugs whilst staying there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Suzanne Britt

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 January 2014 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good value for money and in a good area where everything is accessible!

Disliked: Small rooms and only a few bathroom facilities, but it did the job we needed of it and rarely had to wait to use the bathroom/shower.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014

Liked: Not too much... Not a window, the breakfast is not decent enough. I did like the internet connection

Disliked: The room has no window, the toilets are always with high levels of humidity, not so clean, the breakfast is really poor.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013

Liked: The roof terrace where you have breakfast is nice and the breakfast was pretty good (cereal, toast with peanut butter and jam, apples and coffee.) Location was also pretty good with the train station only 5-8 mins walk. The wifi is also pretty high speed.

Disliked: The rooms felt very prison like and I kept finding long black hair everywhere.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013

Liked: Rooms had lockers

Disliked: Staff didn't seem genuinely interested in helping, not very approachable. Sinks were blocked one morning and staff emptied dirty water into garden plant pots. Not great location if you want to walk to city centre.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location since it's practically within the Kampong Glam area. Bugis Village and Bugis Junction are within walking distance (if, like me, you find that 1 km can be considered as walking distance). Yes, the rooms are tiny and some are windowless, but that didn't really bother me. Breakfast was more or less the same with other Sg hostels (milk, cornflakes, toast with jam and peanut butter) - you should try out the hot beverage machine that dispenses several kinds of drinks all day long. If you prefer eating out, there are many places you could go to in the area and some of them open as early as 7.00 AM - lots of halal choices for muslims. I read some complaints about the noise from the plumbing, but I didn't really hear any of that since I got a twin room at the uppermost floor - nowhere near the bathroom. Though there was music coming from a nearby club, the sound was very faint and I slept pretty well without needing ear plugs. The staff was OK. Felt that they were more on the professional side than friendly, but then again I only interacted with them around 3 times...

Disliked: (1.) When I came, the room was ready. However, there were strands of hair on the bed that were definitely not mine. The pillow case was also stained with what seemed to be lipstick/foundation. Thankfully, this was handled quickly after I notified the hostel staff. (2.) If you or someone you travel with have trouble with stairs, this place might be a challenge for you. Even going to the nearest MRT station (Nicoll Highway) would involve going up and down more stairs. Try asking for a room on the ground floor, although I heard that's where the plumbing noise is loudest. (3.) There was a balcony with a black fence where you could hang your towels to dry but the fence was quite dirty. (4.) The twin room only has 1 key, so roommates with different itineraries might have to match their schedules to prevent one of them from being locked out. Try asking the staff beforehand if you could have 2 keys instead.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: WiFi

Disliked: - too small & humid room - bedbugs - noises from other guestrooms - NOT cosy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

abhinay mehta

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2013 abhinay would recommend this property

Liked: clean , courteous staff .

Disliked: small rooms and only hand showers for bath

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Holly Shanahan

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2013 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Location, safety & cleanliness

Disliked: Tiny rooms squashed 4 bunks in & no windows

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013

Liked: It was close to the city

Disliked: Lots of noise in your room from other people's bathroom/ shower use

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, accommodating, and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms very very small.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andreas Olsson

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013

Liked: Great staff.

Disliked: Windowless room.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was not hounestly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location. Has two roof terraces and a lounge area, great for chilling in in the evening.

Disliked: Rooms were very small (at least for a twin), without windows and very minimal; concrete and a bunk bed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013

Liked: good common area.. free coffee and wifi.. good location

Disliked: breakfast rather disappointing. just toast, jam and coffee. rooms are TINY! we had a private twin room. just a bunk bed in the room and the aircon. thats it! if that's ok for you you can stay there.. if you are getting claustrophobic then stay somewhere else.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Originally we booked bed in dorm but when we got there we were offered double room with bathroom for only a little bit more. Place has very nice terrace and smoking place which is a big plus. Also area is very nice - plenty good places to eat. It is actually pretty close to MRT (Nicolle Highway). Nice common area with computers, I could also use the phone for local call.

Disliked: The room was very dump and mouldy (although clean). We aslo could hear voices from other rooms and from the terrace.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nicely setup. I like the outdoor space it is very relaxing to sit out on the veranda.

Disliked: Quite pricey and the bathrooms are tiny and not very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Kolosova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, very helpful frontdesk, clean, cozy space.

Disliked: It's not what i dislike, actually. But first night in a private room on the ground floor i've been a bit disturbed with the tap sounds that are very loud in this old style colonial building. Still, if you want to be disappointed you'll be. As for me,i did't pay much attention to it. There are still way more advantages in this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fanny Halim

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2013 Fanny would recommend this property

Liked: the room is very comfortable for me and my family to rest after we walked and enjoyed Singapore all day

Disliked: nothing...all things are super good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Bennett

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great hostel and very clean and friendly. And in a short walk to either the MRT train or bus. And there is plenty of cheap places to eat at your door.

Disliked: Some people were a bit load on the steel staircase at night. And I did ask for the milo to be topped up and never was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YiChun Weng

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 YiChun would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Woolmer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was very comfy

Disliked: The bad smell from the toilet drain

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Susan Thouless

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 December 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: Room was small, little decoration and no windows

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and near to MRT station.

Disliked: The room is a little noisy due to aircond duct and step foot noise from upper level.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Musaab Al-Saleem

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Musaab would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good staff, accessible, relaxed atmosphere and free breakfast

Disliked: bed is about 3 meters high in double room. This was a problem climbing up and down to go to the toilet at night. I had to sleep on the couch below to not climb up and down all night.