We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Sleepy Kiwi

Hostel | 55 Bussorah Street, Singapore, Singapore 199471

77.7% Overall Rating

71 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2014)

Richard Wolters thinks…

"When persons are invited to comment on their stay i view that as honest question which deserves an honest answer. so here it goes. what i kikes was the location, nice neighborhood, very nice…"

Read all The Sleepy Kiwi reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.78

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Shophouse The Social Hostel
15.69 USD

Hostel 83.4% 38 reviews
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
35.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Five Stones Hostel
18.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
5footway.inn Project Bugis
17.26 USD

Hostel 71.4% 39 reviews
Feel At Home Backpackers
27.45 USD

Hostel 73.0% 241 reviews
Plush Pods
18.04 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
b88 hostel
21.96 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bunc@Radius Little India
18.83 USD

Hostel 87.9% 46 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

71 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Sleepy Kiwi'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Richard Wolters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: When persons are invited to comment on their stay i view that as honest question which deserves an honest answer. so here it goes. what i kikes was the location, nice neighborhood, very nice street,great restaurants right next door. friendly staff, nice sitting area outside, close to subway and good description of how to get to the place. The breakfast is great.

Disliked: Now, for what i disliked. In my opinion they try to get as much revenue out every m2 as possible. what obviously have been corridors in the past is now taken up with bed space. Although it stated a number of beds on the website i counted more than 18 beds in a confined space. upstairs is a bit of a warren and dimly lit. I would hate to think what would happen if a fire broke out. i think only the ones near the door would get out -if lucky. Therefor i view this as a dangerous place to stay. On departing i wanted to settle the bill which was "S$48" I pointed out that i booked through hostel bookers and my balance was S$38. Within a second the price came down to S$38. If they try this trick with every guest someone is pocketing extra money by ripping off the guests. The bathroom/toilet facilities are bad. The fact that one of the toilets was blocked and overflowing I dont woryt about, that could happen anywhere. the fact that the showers and toilet are combined main that if the showers are in use you have to search for a toilet somewhere. The place could do with some project management to left the standard and they would soon be classified as one of the best in Singapore as the location is second to none.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Toby Lawson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was banging! Fresh fruit, amazing!

Disliked: Not much really; fulfilled expectations. Weird layout with the beds though, not many places to put your bags in the room.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

KAI XIAN CHEN

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 July 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The room lighting was so poor. The light was very dimmed. Poor ventilation, not sure if the air-conditioner was even working, even we were told so. The staff responded to my mum rudely when she asked the reception to help her on the air-cond. Limited washroom and bathroom, considering the amount of beds they have. Majority of the lockers are not functioning. Leaking ceiling, wet my brother bed. Really uncomfortable with the whole atmosphere and environment.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Powell

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

14 March 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's quite clean and nice staff

Disliked: very few rest/comfort/shower room...20:2...i almost pee my pant waiting for the guest to finish using..we are 50 heads that time with only 4 comfort/rest rooms..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jeremy Wolhuter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: The location in Little India was great. Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: It didn't bother me - but basically all the rooms are connected - you have to go through two big dooms to get to the private rooms.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014

Liked: Good information on offer. Serve alcohol. Great location.

Disliked: Terrible private room - tiny, bunkbeds, not double bed, large gap in the slats in the door so everyone could see in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014

Liked: Location in Kampong Glam is OK, close to the subway station and in the midst of the Arab district. Downtown, Little India and the Quays are within walking distance. Free use of facilities and luggage store before or after checkout. Basic free breakfast and the drink sales suffice. Helpful staff.

Disliked: WiFi is very slow and is frequently unavailable when usage is high between 1800-0100. Very limited toilet and shower facilities for the amount of beds. Be prepared to wait. Being next to a mosque means being woke up for morning prayer at 0545h by the imams singing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good walking distance to main attractions and convenient for food/souvenirs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ming Cheung Chan

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Ming Cheung would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast with fruits is great. The areas indoors and outside are relaxing.

Disliked: The only problem we encountered was the lady called Sherry, who made our breakfasts in very rush manner. She said "Wait" to customers abruptly without basic courtesy, like Please, Thank You, Sorry. Her manners are different when serving different customers. European customers are treated more politely.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Almaz Rabb

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Almaz would recommend this property

Liked: Really close ti the mrt station and easy to get to many areas of the city from there. Location was really cool in the old Arab area and also within walking distance to little India. Really comfy beds and a delicious breakfast. The guy at reception was also so funny and really made us feel welcome and chatted to us like he's known us forever! Very cool.

Disliked: Maybe could do with a few more toilets and the bathrooms were a bit grubby.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, know you by name from day . Great location near metrostation Bugis. Breakfast included, with fresh fruit.

Disliked: The bigger dorm is basically the hallway where all smaller dorms open up to. That means a lot of traffic passing your bed 24/7, people on their way to bathroom or exit. This room room is also very small, no space for luggage. Also only 2 shower/toilets on the upper floor for all dorms and private rooms. I had to wait in line.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

King Nam ,Sirine Leung

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 King Nam ,Sirine would recommend this property

Liked: Nice style and the location is convenient, Right at the bar and restaurant district. Staffs are super friendly, nice common area to chill out.

Disliked: Wet and dissatisfying number of washrooms . Private room is NOT PRIVATE at all .It's just a separation from the big dorm and the door doesn't help much .I don't think they meet the standard if you expect an own room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

irlan yanuar

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Family Holiday

14 October 2013 irlan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, all of staff are very friendly and solve the problem when we have a trouble with the schadule when i was booking this hostel . the location is very close to Bugis MRT, allround happy place to stay and recomended!

Disliked: No comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john cunningham

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, staff are very friendly and make a point of learning your name...sometimes even before they've met you. location is very close to Bugis MRT, maybe a 4 min walk. but still easy walking distance to places like esplanade and the Singapore flyer. Beds are comfy, free locker, free brekkie is tropical fruits, toast and tea or coffee served anytime you get up. just an allround happy place to stay!

Disliked: even though for the general dorms, theres only like 4 toilets/showers. i never had to wait. so it works. thats about the only thing that comes even close to a negative

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MarkGlenn Harmony

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 MarkGlenn would recommend this property

Liked: The moment you arrive and are warmly greeted with a friendly "hello" and an ice cold glass of water you know it is time to relax and enjoy. The friendliness of the owner, staff and local people is refreshing and once you introduce yourself to the other backpackers then the entire experience is further enhanced. The location is great, close to bus and trains and walking distance to so many amazing places and sights. The staff were ready to assist in any way possible and added to the overall wonderful Singapore experience. I look forward to returning again in the future. Many thanks.

Disliked: Nothing to mention

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tony Judson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness & helpfulness of the staff was great! Location was great Internet was reliable & accessable in the rooms

Disliked: The allocated room on the first night was rugged to say the least and was not worth the cost, However we were relocated into a better room after we complained,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Johnson

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast really nice with fresh fruit and toast available

Disliked: Quite far from the MRT (Bugis) so had to get a taxi as dragging a suitcase in Singapore is a sweaty job

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amey Rajpurkar

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Amey would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome. Staff was awesome. People were nice and friendly. Got a nice $2 discount on tickets. Had an awesome sleep to be fit and healthy for an entire day tour

Disliked: Practically there was nothing to dislike in Sleepy Kiwi (except the internet). Ideally people shouldnt be more stuck on to the net apart from just checking mails and checking fb. In Singapore, you do not go for evaluating how posh or automized is the place considering the expensive cost of living. Normally the purpose is to sleep peacefully and hop out for your tours. Ideally Singapore is not more than 4/5 days touring place. So Sleepy Kiwi gave us the best sleep, privacy ( was with my wife) and at a cheaper rate as compared to other properties. What else can you ask for?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the fruits breakfast

Disliked: Rooms too gloomy, additional lights required

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Berghuis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, the breakfast is delicious and the staff is very friendly and helpfull. Amazing place for backpackers to stay.

Disliked: Toilets and showers are together in one. Overall not enough showers and toilets. Bothered by bed bugs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere and the staff were amazing! My only comment would be more bathrooms...or fewer to a bathroom and where I rated the cleanliness as average was only because of the bathrooms - the rooms were super and the beds comfy and clean and I enjoyed myself! The location is excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2013

Liked: Like said above, the location is nice. I like the old fashion houses around the Sleepy Kiwi. Free breakfast always helps the traveller so that is a big plus.

Disliked: I didn't like the crammed roomsyou had to walk trouhg or the lack of space in showers/toilets, and really the disappointment of the place compared to the discripition on the internet was just too much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great casual area, great street for dining. Charming building and very friendly staff. Secure and no queues for showers/toilets.

Disliked: 1. Private room only divided from main dorm by shutters, other guests disturbed sleep. 2. Mosque nearby which also disturbed sleep. 3. Bedbugs! Not value for money as a private room.