HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers Inn Chinatown

Hostel | 30A Mosque Street, Singapore, Singapore 058332

69.1% Overall Rating

19 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

Giovana Cremasco thinks…

"It's very handy. Close to the train station and lots of attractions in Chinatown. If you enjoy a little walking, it's about 20min walk from Marina Bay. There are many bar and restaurants around and…"

Read all Backpackers Inn Chinatown reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.57

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check-in: 1300 hours 1400 hours Checkout: 1200 hours 1100 hours

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Pillows & Toast
21.96 USD

Hostel 85.5% 11 reviews
Beary Best! by a beary good hostel
15.69 USD

Hostel 86.8% 11 reviews
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
17.26 USD

Hostel 78.9% 38 reviews
Adler Hostel
43.14 USD

Hostel 94.1% 19 reviews
A Beary Good Hostel
15.69 USD

Hostel 89.8% 232 reviews
Wink Hostel
39.22 USD

Hostel 88.0% 47 reviews
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
20.39 USD

Hostel 83.0% 174 reviews
Royal Hostel Singapore
14.90 USD

Hostel 83.2% 56 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

19 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Inn Chinatown'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
67.2%
Value
66.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014

Liked: Good located not far from the harborbay

Disliked: Smallest Dorms ever. No real kitchen. Less restrooms, no

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Stephanie Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2014

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: It was tiny, cramped and not very clean. It was also right next door to a karaoke bar that blared terrible singing all night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked its people hearty like me rr r

Disliked: Fine here

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Giovana Cremasco

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Giovana would recommend this property

Liked: It's very handy. Close to the train station and lots of attractions in Chinatown. If you enjoy a little walking, it's about 20min walk from Marina Bay. There are many bar and restaurants around and an open market. The location is very good.

Disliked: The room (private double) was too small and there was no way to open the windows. Not that I need much space, but my boyfriend and I couldn't even walk inside. We had to switch places every time to try to take something inside the bags. The air-conditioned was working, but there was no fresh air. For me, it gets hard to breathe. If you need a place for a short stay and only take a shower and sleep, that's the place for you.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: Singapore is an expensive country, this place is as cheap as we could find. With that in mind, this place is good value for money. The rooms are the size of as single bed, no windows, but has AC. Shared bathrooms and basic shower.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location Safe and security

Disliked: noisy at night The wall is too thin Tiny room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We travelled from New Zealand with parents and two year old daughter. Accomodation was as expected for private rooms in a Chinatown hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location just on the market fringe was perfect as not noisy but within 5 mins walking distance. This is not 4 Star Hotel quality accomodation but given the location neither is the price. The rooms are small but adequate with air conditioning. The place was spotless (I even witnessed a fan being disassemlbled and cleaned!). If you are after safe, quiet, modest hostel private room accomodation then I recommend this place. If you are after 4-5 Star Hotel qualitiy accom then you will need to extend your budget and look elsewhere. I highly recommend this accomodation to the modest traveller.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Risnandya Primanagara

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 Risnandya would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to Masjid and near to MRT

Disliked: The Ktv downstair is quite noisy... room quite small, but okay..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location helpful facilities like free to use washing machines and dryers

Disliked: the double room was really tiny

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2013

Liked: Localization

Disliked: Private room was incredible small. It was stuffy and smelly inside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Abner Castillo

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Abner would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe. Very close to shopping areas ang MRT.

Disliked: less room availability

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

David Hudson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was great - Chinatown MRT is a two-minute walk away which is very central. The staff were very helpful and even held onto our luggage when we had a late flight. Late checkout was also a plus.

Disliked: The rooms only had the most basic furnishings and were very cramped - claustrophobics beware. Once two suitcases were in the room, there wasn't any room left to manoeuvre. The room was a little untidy when we checked in, and we found the shared bathrooms to be a little dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good value for money

Disliked: There was a smell in our room when we arrived that I did not like but it disappeared when we used the aircon.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robin Robin

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very helpful, the location is pretty strategic to places like MRT, restaurants and shops.

Disliked: The lighting in the room is not the best, the private room is a bit too small.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

HAN-TSE-YU Françoise

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 January 2013

Liked: Son emplacement.

Disliked: Le confort, l'espace minimum.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cheng Jye Fung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Cheng Jye would recommend this property

Liked: facilities and wifi.

Disliked: The room is smelly even before we stayed in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, free locker, overall clean and good bathrooms, okey beds, free laundry and free working wifi.

Disliked: no doors between rooms, only curtains. no breakfast/water/tea/coffe included. no hang out area, just one table with two stools. Only two bathrooms, can be a wait if its fully booked.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mae Derby Goron

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Mae Derby would recommend this property

Liked: I liked thr cleanliness they maintain on all the rooms and the comfort rooms, and the friendly staff as well. Also, the location is good being at the center of the city. Everything is accessible from the Chinatown area.

Disliked: The rooms were small but that was just okay considering the value of the money one will spend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

irvan saputra

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2012 irvan would recommend this property

Liked: it is my first stay and everything is good so far, i like it, thank you so much.

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HAIHAN LIN

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 HAIHAN would recommend this property

Liked: high wifi speed. good location

Disliked: bed is too soft, harder is better

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: No common room to meet other travellers. Very loud if room at street side due to karaoke bar below.