We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Betel Box Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 200 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore, Singapore 427471

81.7% Overall Rating

13 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2015)

"There's nothing better than another place to stay. Totally enjoy staying at there with my friend. Enjoy the music, environment, friendly staff..."

Read all Betel Box Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.46
  • Towel USD 0.73

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Wow Hostels
14.61 USD

Hostel 73.8% 127 reviews
Lodge@Siglap
21.92 USD

Hostel 71.0% 13 reviews
New Happy Hotel
18.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 41 reviews
Ideal Backpackers Hostel
13.15 USD

Hostel 66.1% 51 reviews
Just Inn Singapore
18.26 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Traveller@SG
13.15 USD

Hostel 86.5% 193 reviews
Mercury Backpackers Hostel
13.15 USD

Hostel 76.5% 94 reviews
Coziee Lodge
18.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Betel Box Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.3%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
81.3%
Cleanliness
78.7%
Staff
92.0%
Value
82.7%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There's nothing better than another place to stay. Totally enjoy staying at there with my friend. Enjoy the music, environment, friendly staff...

Disliked: The place is not really near to paya lebar mrt. My height is 160cm, so the distance from mrt to hostel, i had walk used 18mins to reach the destination. You need to bring along your umbrella if there's is raining day.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I definitely recommend this hostel to others. Best price and gorgeous staff and very helpful. I would stay again in the betel box if i were going to Singapore again?. The breakfast was the best i ever had in a hostel! Different delicious fruits, different kinds of toast with chocolatcreme and jam?, tea and coffee all day long available! Thank you for the nice stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yee Fui Lai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015

Liked: Ventilation by natural air is good, no foul smell left in the room

Disliked: Free wifi not able to cover to the room, access of wifi in the common room also not available after first use

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Likke Likke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2015 Likke would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast with different kind of fruits, cozy common room with many sofas, good quality matrasse and quiet bedrooms. The bedrooms are located far from common room, so people who want to sleep, won't hear much noisy from common room.

Disliked: The hostel is located in the middle of joo chiat road, so people must walk several meters from the closest mrt station which is paya lebar mrt.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Harmer-Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2015 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful, very friendly, great location!! Would definitely stay again!!

Disliked: Lara left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nele Schroft

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 January 2015 Nele would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and frindly hostleider with breakfast included.

Disliked: Not enough toilettes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the location is perfect, the staff is super helpful, smiling and cool.

Disliked: ehm nothing much

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i had a good time here would come back if i ever go to singapore again . Clean safe and easy to get to, in a nice area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rhea Houlker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Rhea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and friendly. They knew lots about what Singapore had to offer and went out of there way to help me organise my day to day activities. The dorm room was comfy and it was nice to be given fruit in the morning as well as bread.

Disliked: The WIFI did not work in the rooms and the train station was a 15-20 minute walk away. Although the hostel is situated on a road with lots of bars and at night I felt safe to walk on the streets and surprisingly I did not hear any noise at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. I did the food tour, and it was one of the best tours.

Disliked: The bathroom was slightly dirty as only one stall was shared my over a dozen people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast is actually good, you can also use the voucher for a discounted lunch, great common room, friendly staff, overall a pretty good value for Singapore.

Disliked: seems a bit hot in the dorm even when the ac is on, location is a bit far from the MRT station, but not too bad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Meredith Nosworthy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Meredith would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were very comfortable, 30 mins free internet per day, in a good location.

Disliked: Bathrooms could do with a reno, and a clean

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Tomasz Chmielewski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012

Liked: There is nothing good I can say about this hostel.

Disliked: We stayed at the double room, next to the female dorm room. The windows do not open because the neigboring roof is blocking it. But you can hear all noisy aircons just outside the windows that won´t let you sleep at night (now you know why they sell earplugs in the lobby!). If you turn on the aircon in your room, it suddenly smells moldy - very bad for your health! Bedsheets were not clean in our room - there were hair of previous guests on the pillow, linen etc. They never vacuum the floor and it's very dirty. There were piles of rubbish in our room on the floor. Visiting the toilet and shower makes you want to leave immediately - hairs that plug the shower, the showerhead the size of an quail egg, grease and filth on walls, floors, someones washing hanging in there to dry. The floor was always wet from a hose that is just lying across the bathroom floor. Included breakfast is very poor, and for most of the choices you have to pay extra. For example, if you choose a simple sandwich and glass of artificial juice for your breakfast, you have to pay $1 extra. To give you an overview, a free breakfast is just a "fruit and yoghurt". They should clearly say in the description that the wifi is available in the lobby only (i.e. there is no wifi in the rooms). Still, the wifi didn't work in the lobby as we stayed there.