HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of 5footway.inn Project Sultan

Hostel | 8 Aliwal Street, Singapore, Singapore 199901

81.4% Overall Rating

38 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/12/2013)

"The location is close to the MRT station and is next to the Kampong Glam. The WiFi is in the room. There is a nice coffee machine to make the milk tea, which tastes fantastic. It is an outdoor kitchen. Actually this…"

Read all 5footway.inn Project Sultan reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.60

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: In the event of cancellation within 5 days prior to arrival or no-show, one night charge is applicable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

5footway.inn Project Bugis
15.96 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
39.89 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Sleepy Kiwi
15.96 USD

Hostel 81.4% 77 reviews
Shophouse The Social Hostel
14.36 USD

Hostel 85.6% 30 reviews
Feel At Home Backpackers
18.35 USD

Hostel 72.7% 232 reviews
Plush Pods
19.95 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
b88 hostel
22.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bunc@Radius Little India
19.15 USD

Hostel 87.1% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

38 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '5footway.inn Project Sultan'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is close to the MRT station and is next to the Kampong Glam. The WiFi is in the room. There is a nice coffee machine to make the milk tea, which tastes fantastic. It is an outdoor kitchen. Actually this hostel name has been changed. The staff had some trouble to organise me a room on arrival.

Disliked: The location is next to a night club. It is pretty noisy in the middle of the night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

MOEGAMAT NAZIEN MENTOR

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 MOEGAMAT NAZIEN would recommend this property

Liked: it centrally located if u arrive by bus @ goldenmile complex.

Disliked: sharing a shower and toilet

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Justin Watson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the MRT and restaurants. 30 minute walk to the marina. rooms were clean. Staff were helpful as well, plus they offered discounts for some or the bigger attractions in singapore

Disliked: bathroom was small. bed was squeaky.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it provide free hot drink such as milo, teh tarek, coffee, capuccino. It also has a good ambience where I can just sit and relax on the roof deck.

Disliked: the flooring and the size of the room, and you can hear sounds from other rooms or outside.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely kind and very helpful. Accommodations were clean and felt very safe and secure, and the location was great - just a few minutes walk from bars, restaurants, shopping and the MRT station.

Disliked: The room we stayed in, a private double with a private bath, was very moldy and musty. There were no windows so the smells and the moisture just sort of fermented all week, and there was mold visible on the ceilings and walls. A few ants and small bugs in the bathroom and in our bed one night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nisa Aisyah Arifani

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 October 2012 Nisa Aisyah would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in 5footway.inn Project Sultan! I was staying in private room which was very clean and comfy (though it's quite small). The communal bathroom and toilet were very clean. the staff also was very helpful. there are plenty of restaurant and souveniers shops around the hostel. I would like to recommend my friend to stay in this hostel!

Disliked: the place is quite far from bus stop. the nearest one took me almost 8 minutes to go to the bus stop, and another 5 mins to go to nearest mrt station.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice roof terrace, shared bathrooms were clean

Disliked: breakfast was a mess and very dirty. rooms are very small and it's quite expensive for what you get.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Strouhal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, better atmosphere than in chinatown or central. Well connected to public transport. It does not really matter that the room does not have windows.

Disliked: Breakfast could be better and breakfast times should be longer/later.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ZARINA KHAIRUDDIN

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 ZARINA would recommend this property

Liked: modern interior

Disliked: no windows in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Located in the Arab quarter, it's smack in the middle of the hipster area of Singapore. It's surrounded by little restaurants and boutiques. And surprisingly the boutiques aren't that expensive! Which is great to do some great shopping and coming up with some stuff that you can't find in the multitude of malls of Singapore.Also a plus is the two apple computers available for the guests. The staff is extremely helpful and very friendly. The moment we arrived we got these amazing creme puffs, a great way to start your stay in Singapore.

Disliked: It's a bit further away from the MRT-stops than their Chinatown location. But on the other hand you have the choice of a bunch of different MRT-stops. Also there are busses that go directly from the hostel to China town, Geylong, the botanic gardens and Orchard rd.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012

Liked: The location is only a 20 minute walk away from the city. However it is also next door to a brothel and across the road from a lapdancing bar.

Disliked: I have never been to prison but after stopping at the hostel it now feels as though I have! We booked a deluxe loft room which is no bigger than a cell and has no windows, the only way of keeping fresh air in the room was to have the aircon on 24/7.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room doorm was very small, they had some internet problems and the staff was not sometimes quite overtaxed withe so many people...anyway the breakdfast and the fecailitries were good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decor and the location.

Disliked: No toilet paper encountered a few times. Toilet was not cleaned properly in some occasions too.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Burgers

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent internet, and great clean white sheets on the bed. Good pillows. Also the friendliness of the staff. The location is not too bad and the Arab neighbourhood is quite nice(I only found out the last day), however when travelling with luggage the subway/metro/MRT stations are a little walk away.... Nice to find places less expensive in Singapore. Good to have the possibility to book a 3-person room for 2 only and have some privacy.

Disliked: Two very strong dislikes: 1) the smell of the bathroom - very poor drainage and ventilation: horrible. 2) The room was very very small (about 2 m by 3m) without any windows. No way I could spend any time within the room without getting claustrofobic and no idea how we could have shared the room with a 3rd person (we paid for 3 persons to ensure some privacy. Compared with hostels elsewhere in the world: too cramped.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

WAN NING TEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Work / volunteering

05 September 2012 WAN NING would recommend this property

Liked: This is my second time stay in 5footwayin, it's still awesome. Just the toilet seems to be a little bit dirty by others. Other than that, everything is great!

Disliked: WAN NING left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice roof terrace to hang out!

Disliked: 10-15 minute walk to the next MRT-Station!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kieran Herron

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Free machine coffee

Disliked: 4 bed dorm very small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hayley Constantine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast

Disliked: its slightly over priced, not easy to meet fellow travellers if travelling alone

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Lunt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean property, looks like a hotel from the inside

Disliked: nothing really

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Derek Victorsen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Good lacation, and good starf. We stayed in a twin room, and to my suprise, we had two very large dobble beds. would stay agane

Disliked: I allways like to see airport pick up services, but it cost only $20 in a new meseds taxie.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location

Disliked: Going up 2 flights of stairs with luggage after long, hot trip

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location/ friendly staff

Disliked: dirty sheets

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Lindsay Bray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was their good

Disliked: the rooms not realy suitable for older big built men

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is in a good location, near the arab quarter and bugis and nicholl hwy mrt stations...... it is also kept quite clean

Disliked: the rooms are the size of a shoebox and you need to be an acrobat to negotiate the ladder to climb up to the bed ........ the coffee machine was not not working properly for the duration of my stay despite informing the staff a couple of times it was out of order ............ breakfast minimal i much prefer the footway inn at chinatown